View Full Version : brissie river sat 7th
chief
07-03-2009, 06:26 PM
Had big plans of hitting the river for a few squire around the wharves. Picked up a supply of plastics yesterday and had dreams of pulling some good fish . If you sound up and down these various wharves you find vast areas of constant barren bottom at consistant depths. there is a few places in the river where you will find some type of feature that may raise 60 cms to a meter and back down to the that constant level. there is probably 4 of these areas that i fish consistantly.Funny how bait will hold on such a small variation but where you find bait you find fish. Which leads me to the point of what happens to your plans when on every one of these areas there is a huge big stinking ship.Not much you can do but go to plan b and fish some where else and forget plan A. Very dissapointed but changed plans and tossed a few HBs around for a bream session. Scored a few and lost a few lures to a couple of good bream .Actually kept a few to make up a feed for my mum so it worked out fine , Cheers ,Hey check out the little bream that hit the crank, Just got blown away into the sticks ,rerigged and next cast was hyped for a big hit and he smashed me ;D ;)
tailorboi99
07-03-2009, 06:28 PM
That little fella's sure must have been hungry hehe. Excellent job there mate. Did you fish with the leckie? Or are you still waiting on it.
Tom
snagking
07-03-2009, 06:29 PM
Great fish! good work.
07-03-2009, 06:38 PM
Chief
You certainly have that River sorted. Bugger about those ships stealing your spots;D
chrisallangler
07-03-2009, 07:47 PM
Good fish how big ? from the wharves?
chief
07-03-2009, 08:08 PM
Hey Chris best one went 35 1/2 cms and they would have felt a dam lot bigger than him.
Tom got it back friday arvo so put it back on last night
brisboys
07-03-2009, 09:24 PM
Some good bream there, must have been a bit of fun
Sam
Saltdoggy
07-03-2009, 11:02 PM
pity about the boats being in your spots chief, but looks like u had a good session anyway!
nuggstar
08-03-2009, 12:59 AM
:thumbsup: the bream master dose it again:2thumbsup: :grin:
chief
08-03-2009, 06:49 AM
Saltdoggy.......but i wanted some squire ;D. Anyway I've got the leckie back now and I'll fuel up today and if I get a sniff of a early finish this week from work I'm gone ;D
duncan mcwhirter
08-03-2009, 10:26 AM
hey mate! was wondering when I would see a report! you must be working pretty hard. Well done on the bream, any fish is a good one.
08-03-2009, 11:30 AM
Well done Chief
Bloomin big boats yesterday, we went out to have a look at the big cruisers, the Sky Princess (?) is a biggun - no fishing for me though :(
RAT-KING
08-03-2009, 01:57 PM
I know wat u mean i have 3 spots like that, 1 that i know if i go there, i hook up 2 either jew or snaps every time at the right time at night! but theres always a ship there!
sweresy
08-03-2009, 02:41 PM
chief, gday mate....
nice fishing.8-)
MickThe
08-03-2009, 04:08 PM
Nice catch there Chief - one very nice bream.
See you're still on the Atomics and it was a deep runner , you fishing edges or deeper water?
Mick.
chief
08-03-2009, 04:29 PM
Nuggs... Thanks for the laugh old mate "bream master". Its embarrassing, you pull up throw in a HB, Slow roll it past a bit of structure and old mate bream committs suicide. I suppose being able to put a cast in some tight spots may be the only real requirement ;D
Dirtysanchez...I think I saw that ship a few weeks back when they had the dock prettied up with banners etc with welcome to Brisbane and security everywhere. I was impressed at the way it pulled into the wharves without assistance from the tugs. Bloody big dinghy that one.
Rat king... It is part of fishing the river, some times your well intentioned plans just go out the window. No dramas we just need plan D and E ;D
ddobson
08-03-2009, 07:08 PM
Well done again chief. You got spots for snapper in the river damb lucky bugger. Brim kept your mind off snapper but boy i got smashed by at least a 4 to 5 kilo on the south side inside the main warf last week at about 12 pm and it bit through my 15 pound leader like butter. I didn't even put any hurt on him. You must see the river through much more experienced eyes then us others. Well done on homework and hope to see some snapps soon. Geez that main warf looks so tasty at night when theres no ships on the inside if only.
stessco
08-03-2009, 07:47 PM
great stuff chief, always catching fish
Mossy247
08-03-2009, 08:16 PM
Nice bag their chief, would of been stoked with that. The rier was absolutely beautiful on saturday I hit my usual spots and raised a few flounders on the sp's for a first and a few nice tailor. Would love to know how you manage those bream on the HB's I seem to struggle even getting a hook up. Well Done :)
wombie
08-03-2009, 08:21 PM
nice work chief
cheers Paul
chief
08-03-2009, 08:32 PM
Mossy 247... Good to see you picking up on those tailor. I've been picking up a couple as well. There has been some solid fish amoung them. Got them on HBs as well. Give you a pm.
Jimbo73
08-03-2009, 08:38 PM
Gday Chief,Congrats on the spot in BNB mate.Good read,you just need to do a mud map of all your snapper spots in the river next month ;D .Cheers Jamie
jareyjareyjareyjarey
10-03-2009, 05:16 PM
lol yeah that was a good read in the BNB. i went out and bought a pack of squidgee critters and on sunday i managed my pb bream in schultz canal using your rock wall plastics method, went 36cm. so thank you.
chief
10-03-2009, 05:28 PM
jareyjareyjareyjarey... Gee mate thats one hell of a tag, had to check twice to make sure I had enough jarey in there. I was haveing a pretty ordinary day but you have made my day.You have no idea how pleased I am to see you get a PB and a very nice bream at that. Congrats mate here's to many more
385EXPLORER
10-03-2009, 05:38 PM
Mr consistancy strikes again.....top stuff mate u da man