View Full Version : Beach rods? what to get?
Mikeey
04-03-2009, 09:36 PM
hey,
ive had a serach to try and find some info but its all just numbers to me and i dont really understand to much of what it all means, so i thought i might aswell start a post,
Im after a beach rod, i was thinking around the 13ft mark, it will have to be a 2 piece rod otherwise i have no hope at fitting it into my car,
ive just been looking around BCF just trying to get an idea, i have about 250-300 to spend, (dont really want to spend to much more)
for that i would like to get, rod, reel, line, maybe a lure or 2?,
so for rod all i was thinking was over 12ft-13ft? not sure on brands
Reel i have heard the alvey reels are good for beach as the salt and sand shouldnt affect them to much?
line was probably going 20-30lbs not sure if to go braid or what would be a good choice
and then a couple of lures? what ones to get?
any help would be great,
04-03-2009, 10:29 PM
Mikeey,
Do a search in the tackle forum (..homework) before going to the shops. It will also benefit you if you know what species you want to catch. It's no good buying a rod for whiting if you want to target jewies...etc.
Before xmas I bought a Gary Howard light - medium surf rod for chasing whiting,flathead, bream & dart. Although it is a 1 pc it's very light for a 13 footer. Give the guys at the tackle warehouse a go at coopooroo. Very helpful.
Wags
Mikeey
05-03-2009, 06:12 AM
yeah i tried seraching the tackle area but i went through a fair few pages and still wasnt sure,
the fish im after are big 1's, like taylor, jew etc...., wouldnt mind getting some sharks and what not either, not really after flathead or whiting, i was thinking of just casting this rod right out the back and then using my other rod to try for whiting, its only a 7ft shimano rd with abu gracia reel (forgot size) 10lbs line, i will have another search this arvo and see what i can find,
if anyone has a link to a good forum about surf rods then could you post it up for me please,
Stonkered
05-03-2009, 09:07 AM
Mikeey,
Check out this thread. The are some comments you might find usefull.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=141563
(http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=141563)
Personally, I own Wilson surf rods. They have been making them for years and know what they are doing. BUT..... My dad has a Garry Howard Surf Classic in a one piece and a mate has it in a 2 piece. Lovely rod matched to an Alvey 650. Perfect for tailor. Not sure if you will get the drag model Alvey with it under your $300 budget.
Only other advise is to get something that is lightweight. I only say that because my back starts to give me grief after a couple of hours holding a heavy glass rod.
Oh yeah, and if you are after good advice, you will struggle at BCF. Go to a propper tackleshop like Tackle Warehouse in Coorparoo, Mossops in Woolloongabba, or Jones's Tackle in Lutwyche.
youngy
05-03-2009, 09:10 AM
Hi Mikeey, have a look at Gary Howard web site "austalian rod manufacturers", he is a local rod builder who would have a rod to suit your needs. cheers wayne
szopen
05-03-2009, 10:57 AM
Go to plat.co.jp and have a look at their range of Daiwa surf rods, your budget will get you a very nice one.
The telescopic ones are easy to travel with and much much lighter than most of our local stuff.
try to fish
05-03-2009, 01:47 PM
hey,
ive had a serach to try and find some info but its all just numbers to me and i dont really understand to much of what it all means, so i thought i might aswell start a post,
Im after a beach rod, i was thinking around the 13ft mark, it will have to be a 2 piece rod otherwise i have no hope at fitting it into my car,
ive just been looking around BCF just trying to get an idea, i have about 250-300 to spend, (dont really want to spend to much more)
for that i would like to get, rod, reel, line, maybe a lure or 2?,
so for rod all i was thinking was over 12ft-13ft? not sure on brands
Reel i have heard the alvey reels are good for beach as the salt and sand shouldnt affect them to much?
line was probably going 20-30lbs not sure if to go braid or what would be a good choice
and then a couple of lures? what ones to get?
any help would be great,
hi,if your budget can be stretch by a little bit,look at the nitro range.
Sniper (http://www.innovatorrods.com/nitro-sniper.html)
10'6"
3 - 6kg
1/3oz - 1 1/3oz (9 - 40 grams)
Surf Assassin (http://www.innovatorrods.com/nitro-surfassassin.html)
12'
4 - 10kg
3/4oz - 3oz (21 - 84 grams)
Messiah Spin (http://www.innovatorrods.com/nitro-messiahspin.html)
13'
8 - 15kg
1oz - 4oz (28 - 110 grams)
great rods as theres also the lifetime warranty that only required you to pay $60 for each broken section.im also in the market for one and am looking at the sniper or the surf assasin.hope this help you in your decession making.
Stonkered
05-03-2009, 02:54 PM
try to fish
I've heard good things about the Nitro rods. Never held one myself. What are those rods you listed worth?
Tailortaker
05-03-2009, 04:07 PM
iIf you want a good tailor rod go the Gary Howard Greenback..with a good Alvey
Cheers TT
Mikeey
05-03-2009, 05:41 PM
yeah i can stretch the budget a bit, but not that much lol, im unpaid for a year and dont have time for a job which sucks so im selling one of my cars, and to be honest once youve bought a fishing rod its not exspensive like it is to drive my car so i think this is the best option,
as for advice from bcf, i thought that would be the case thats why i asked on here, so alvey reel with drag if i can afford it?
wilson rod? i think i saw some going for about 150? might also check out this garry howard rods,
Cheers for the advice, i will let you know how i go,
Chamelion
05-03-2009, 06:46 PM
I've got
Silstar Crystal tip 12" surf rod and a Daiwa Emblem pro 5500a. Seems a good combo and I'm happy with it. I paid $200 for the lot on clerance, I'm not sure about full price though.
goat boy
05-03-2009, 06:54 PM
if you're gonna go an alvey, get a wilson or gary howard to match it...perfect.
have a look in the local pawn shops for an alvey, you might get one at a good price, even if its an older model. They're near indestructible so would probably just need a bit of a spit and polish and new line.
nuggstar
05-03-2009, 07:16 PM
im in the same boat as you dude. iv been looking now for a wile for the right beach rod but just cant deside on what to get. iv use the nitros and they are verry nice but its not quite what i want so im still in the hunt. has any one tryed them daiwa moonrakers or the new telascopic ones (emicast i think they call them). i want a ultra light hi graphite rod, like a over sized bream rod matched with one of them jap long cast spin reels like the emicast reel. can any one elce shed some light on these rods or should i just bight the bullet and get that saltiga surf iv been dreaming about. sorry to hijack ya post dude. please help if you can guys.
try to fish
05-03-2009, 08:17 PM
try to fish
I've heard good things about the Nitro rods. Never held one myself. What are those rods you listed worth?
same here.trying to find some time to get down to the nearest compleat angler to try them out as well.theyre round about $300-$350.for futher info,google nitro rods and you will be directed to innovator homepage.thats what i do!!!.
hoping to match either one with a shimano stradic 8000 or sustain 4000.will see which fits best on the rod that im getting.
trymyluck
05-03-2009, 09:10 PM
Mate it all depends on what sort of fishing you intend on doing, if its spinning, i'd go a reasonably good spin reel and rod to suit. If its your everyday beach fishing than i'd be looking at either alvey or overhead. Personally I'm a overhead person as I find when tailor are on they come into their own but thats my choice.They can be a pain when you are learning to cast but when you master them they cast just as far as an alvey and allow you to stay in touch.
Mikeey
05-03-2009, 09:26 PM
well i have had a look on a few sites, i think i might make up a combo,
wilson rod over 13' or 12' 2pc (sorry cant remember model number) for the surf rod i think it was around the $170 mark,
then the alvey reel (surf it had on it) will be $135 or around that mark, its a 6.5inch and does have a drag setting i believe, so i might go something like that,
get some 20lbs line, whats good for surf? braid or mono?
im defently going after the bigger fish, im sick of bream and whiting,
cheers for the help
Stonkered
06-03-2009, 09:26 AM
Wilson & Alvey - You can't go wrong.
I'd go for the 13'6 if you are after the big ones.
Not worth the extra dollars for braid in my opinion. Save your cash for some lures and terminal tackle.
I reckon Platypus Platinum is good value mono. I've been using it for a few years now.
rockfisho
06-03-2009, 08:28 PM
im surprised no one has mentioned snyder glas. they make great rods. a good one for your fishing would be a northcoaster, they are glass. also there is a mag surf for around 170 which is a great rod and will throw a big bait.
My rod for choice for big stuff like big greenbacks and jew and snapper from the stones is a home made FT5162, its a serious power pole and can put some hurt ona fish.
The alvey you have described sounds like one of the cheaper drag ones they make, if its the 650BC i recommend you spend the extra 10 bucks or so and go for the 650BCXl, that has an anti reverse switch which allows you to turn the reel backwards, the other one doesnt. this is especially helpful when you are fishing for jew
Owen
Mikeey
07-03-2009, 11:14 AM
im surprised no one has mentioned snyder glas. they make great rods. a good one for your fishing would be a northcoaster, they are glass. also there is a mag surf for around 170 which is a great rod and will throw a big bait.
My rod for choice for big stuff like big greenbacks and jew and snapper from the stones is a home made FT5162, its a serious power pole and can put some hurt ona fish.
The alvey you have described sounds like one of the cheaper drag ones they make, if its the 650BC i recommend you spend the extra 10 bucks or so and go for the 650BCXl, that has an anti reverse switch which allows you to turn the reel backwards, the other one doesnt. this is especially helpful when you are fishing for jew
Owen
o ok, well i think ive half made up my mind, had a bit of a search on the Wilson Seacoaster L 2P 13F6in rod, that seems to be a pretty good choice for $120 i think it was around,
as for the reel, the part number i was given off the bcf website was a 6000BCVRR 6inch alvey $124? i will have a search of the reel you have mentioned above though,
blueboy
07-03-2009, 02:52 PM
Hi Mikeey,
its up to you of course, but i would suggest a 6 1/2 inch alvey not the 6". The bigger reel will give you faster retrieve, plus look and feel more balanced.
Have fun with your search,
Cheers, Greg
07-03-2009, 06:59 PM
Go for a 6 1/2" spool. I prefer the A series without a drag. Just make sure you have a rag or beannie to help slow the spool on a long run;D
I have a 20 year old Snyder Mag Surf and it is still going strong. I would buy another if I lost the current one
For Steve
09-03-2009, 07:10 PM
For the bigger surf species, this is what I'd do.
Wilson MT7144 12' 2pc 6-8kg Alvey mount $140
Alvey 650BE1 (6.5" graphine backed star drag) $150, or Alvey 650E5 (6.5" metal backed star drag) $200
25lb Platypus Platinum $26
Alvey moulded rod bucket $13
Brad
rockfisho
09-03-2009, 09:01 PM
I would second that combo. I dont use teh 650 E though, although its a fantastic reel and i really want one ahahaha. i use a 650 A as i feel it gives me much more control on the rocks. Ive got a 700 E5 for the big stuff, and i burnt my hand a bit whilst palming a big shark of the rocks.
For teh surf, as far as reels go, for heavy fishing i always go for drag.
For the beach 20 lb is plenty. But since the platinum is 0.4 mm OD for 25 lb i would be inclined to go for that.
I use 20 lb schneider off the rocks, thicker and much more abrasive resistant.
The wilson sea coaster is a beaut rod too. but in my opinion there are too few runners.
Owen
NIZ180
10-03-2009, 12:39 AM
Wat area you in Mikeey? If your in Brisbane you are more than welcome to check out my 2 outfits.
I have been meaning to put up these 2 awesome surf outfits in the classifieds section but just haven't gotten around to it. 13' 6" Live Fibre Champion Trophy + Alvey 6500BCVRR & 12' Live Fibre Champion Trophy + Alvey 6000BCVRR. Both these outfits have been used for 1week on Fraser & both are loaded with 20lb platinum line, they have a couple of slight rash marks but other than that they are in excellent condition. If your interested drop me a pm & we can talk more.