View Full Version : Late notice Glass house mtn trip

BrandonH
03-03-2009, 12:38 PM
Hi guys,

I posted in shano's thread below about this also then thought I should start a new thread as not everyone will look at Shano's post just because I have posted something else on it LOL..

Anyways a couple of my work mates are keen to have a look around the Glass house mountains, 2-4 trucks this saturday 7th March. it will be a 9am start at the Caboolture BP. we plan to have a look around the same areas we went last time (Ausfish crew that is) and then maybe either look furthure in to the Glass house area or jump accross the highway over Coochin way ;)

Brandon...

shrunken pojie
03-03-2009, 06:17 PM
What kind of trucks and are you going hardcore or will the little trucks be able to tag along?

BrandonH
04-03-2009, 08:33 AM
Hey Phill, atm we have a TD Patrol with 4" lift and big tires, my 80 series cruiser 2" lift and not sure what the others will be. Shouldn't be a problem for a little truck, there is usually a way around the tough stuff if your not keen to give it a go;) last time I was there we had one of those toy Pajero's with us and he got through most of what we tackled ;)

what do you drive?

Brandon...

shrunken pojie
04-03-2009, 10:50 AM
I drive that toy Pojero that was there last time actually. I don't had too much of a problem with alot of it but I also know that there are some places that some guys like to go that I just don't have the clearance for. Will have to see what has been planned for me for Saturday and will get back to you.

BrandonH
04-03-2009, 10:59 AM
oh hello Phill!! I didn't know it was you sorry lol. I called your truck that cause I couldn't remember the model name for it:(

anyways see how you go mate, I am going to try and follow basicly the same path to begin with but would like to get to the dirt bowl section around there also but have to look into that..

Brandon...

shano
04-03-2009, 09:49 PM
ok will try to go ! gonna probably have another 3 cars with me if we go!

BrandonH
05-03-2009, 08:26 AM
Awesome!! Will be trying to get a plan of attack drawn up today at work, if not I will get something together tonight ;)

Brandon...

PS: will pm you my mobile.

shano
05-03-2009, 07:57 PM
ok im in will be just my car with the missus and kids!

shano
05-03-2009, 08:35 PM
come on people where is everyone!

bungie
05-03-2009, 09:19 PM
Yep, put Grumbles and I down for it too.

Hilux, no lift

shano
05-03-2009, 10:08 PM
ok so far people coming!
brandon cruiser
shano with wife and kids cruiser
bungie hilux
grumbles
shrunken pojie

05-03-2009, 10:12 PM
Well I am in. I will see if I can get my girlfriends folks in as well.

shano
05-03-2009, 10:22 PM
excellent the more the better will be good i will add u to the list what you drive?

BrandonH
05-03-2009, 10:40 PM
Awesome!! indeed the more the merrier!!

Update ;)

Brandon and Evert Cruiser
Shano wife and kids Cruiser
Bungie Grumbles Hilux
Phil mini Pajero (shrunken pojie)
Marc and Jason Pootrol (from my work)

Brandon...

shano
05-03-2009, 10:44 PM
thanks brandon im useless at making the lists!
ok so 5 cars lets have more!

BrandonH
05-03-2009, 10:55 PM
Yes!! lets have more Trucks!! I will send an email around work tomorrow letting the guy that haven't decided yet know we will have a decent list of trucks now and see if that prompts them to say yes :) Might also give Andy (4x4 recovery) a call and see if he wants to tag along ;)

PS: found the dirty weekends book with GPS marks to get into the Glasshouse tracks so we shouldn't get lost :P

Brandon...

bungie
06-03-2009, 05:42 AM
Did you just want to do just the dirty weekends stuff, or a bit more adventurous ??

Captain Seaweed
06-03-2009, 06:02 AM
I might be in too guys . I will know more this afternoon.
Marty
Red GU Ute

bigtez
06-03-2009, 07:14 AM
Sounds very tempting. My new truck needs to get dirty sometime. What time do you think you will be heading home?

BrandonH
06-03-2009, 08:24 AM
Hi guys,

the boys here want to do a bit more interesting stuff but I was mainly going to use it to get in there from Caboolture, Bungie I guess you would know that area quite well? did you want to be the lead truck? I will give it a go if I have to but have only been in there once before:(
We will have 1 or 2 smaller 4x4's so as long as there is a "wimp's" way around I am happy to at least look at some more adventurous stuff ;)

Marty would be good to have you along too!! I will add you to the list for now as tentative.

Bigtez, the boys at work are keen to stick around for awhile (part of the reasion for a 9am start) prob 4pm max. But at some stage I would say mid afternoon we will head over the highway to roys road witch at that point you could head home if you want.

Brandon...

BrandonH
06-03-2009, 08:48 AM
Update ;)

Brandon and Evert Cruiser
Shano wife and kids Cruiser
Bungie Grumbles Hilux
Phil mini Pajero (shrunken pojie)
Marty Red GU Ute (Tentitive)
Marc and Jason Pootrol (from my work)
Mason Pajero

Brandon...

BrandonH
06-03-2009, 09:20 AM
Does anyone know what the Optus mobile reception is like in the area we will be in? one guy at work here will be on call on the weekend but would like to come.

Brandon...

bungie
06-03-2009, 11:43 AM
Optus is a bit in and out around there, but SMS's still get through

shano
06-03-2009, 08:26 PM
this is good the more the merrier! marty yeah mate come along

shano
06-03-2009, 08:40 PM
ok what channel we gonna be on?

shano
06-03-2009, 08:44 PM
yeah come along bigtez, gonna be good! there is plenty easy tracks guys!

bungie
06-03-2009, 10:13 PM
40 on the highway
what ever when we leave the servo ??

shano
06-03-2009, 10:24 PM
ok then see you all there im goin to bed! i normally run late so wait for me will ya! lol

shano
06-03-2009, 10:31 PM
see you all at 9! at the bp

bigtez
06-03-2009, 10:33 PM
Will have to give it a miss this time. Will definately keep an eye out for the next meet up though.

Captain Seaweed
07-03-2009, 07:24 AM
Sorry for the late pull out but just cant get rid of a job that was booked in. Enjoy fellas and please put some piccies up when you get back.
Marty

shano
07-03-2009, 07:48 AM
just about to leave

shano
07-03-2009, 07:53 AM
see you there

shano
07-03-2009, 08:18 PM
oh man what a great day got home about an hour ago! stuffed will post pics tomorrow some time! and some of the zuk that rolled it.

bungie
07-03-2009, 08:46 PM
Had a great day guys, cannot beat a good day, with good company.

At the start of the day I said about going through a creek 4ft deep over the road. Video below.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/th_matcreeck.jpg (http://s298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/?action=view&current=matcreeck.flv)

The track a few of us went down and decided was not a good idea. This is what was beyond, from a few months back.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/th_bungiegully.jpg (http://s298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/?action=view&current=bungiegully.flv)

Language warning on this one.

http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/th_mathillclimb.jpg (http://s298.photobucket.com/albums/mm268/bungiesplat/4x4/?action=view&current=mathillclimb.flv)

shano
07-03-2009, 08:56 PM
so where are the ones from today

bungie
07-03-2009, 11:30 PM
<-- didn't get a camera out today

shano
08-03-2009, 04:42 PM
oh ok well i will have to get mine up!

bungie
08-03-2009, 04:49 PM
Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ?? Are they done yet ??

shano
08-03-2009, 05:40 PM
here is the zuk that rolled it!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/DSC00409.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/DSC00408.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/DSC00407.jpg

shano
08-03-2009, 05:42 PM
ok here is more
the ausfish group
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3381.jpg

phill stuck in the mud
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3383.jpg

one of the hill climbs brandon on the way up!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3384.jpg

having a look at the next play area!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3389.jpg

this is the track a couple of the boys did! bungie i think bent the bull bar on this one it is the track in the far left!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3390.jpg

shano
08-03-2009, 05:43 PM
watching them play on the hill we stayed up top eating ice blocks in the air con! nice!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3393.jpg

nice little puddle indy found out just how nice it is!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3395.jpg

indy stuck deep i give him 100 points for trying i have never seen anyone with that much determination well done mate keep it up!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3396.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3397.jpg

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3399.jpg

shano
08-03-2009, 05:44 PM
come on in guys the water is lovely! lol!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3400.jpg

on the tracks this is all we could see! this is looing out the front window to the dust!
http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3402.jpg

up and coming 4x4 driver! my little man airing up!

http://img.photobucket.com/albums/v200/shane0o7/100_3407.jpg

bungie
08-03-2009, 06:07 PM
Top pics Shane, got any more huh huh :)

shano
08-03-2009, 06:17 PM
nah thats it!

BrandonH
08-03-2009, 06:37 PM
Thanks Shane!!! I will put a couple I have up tomorrow morning. hows the vid going?

Brandon...

shrunken pojie
08-03-2009, 07:13 PM
Great photo's guys. Great day too. Thanks for time and experiance shared!

shano
08-03-2009, 07:55 PM
vid will take some time! something i dont got alot of this week sorry! will try though!

BrandonH
08-03-2009, 08:28 PM
Nps mate when you can it would be good though:)

Phil was good seeing the mini Pajaro getting dirty and going through some tracks I wouldn't have thoght it would go, especially with balding road tyres!!

Brandon...

The-easyrider
08-03-2009, 08:44 PM
looks like a fun day on the power line track have done a bit of damage on that one myself, the slop in that mud hole gets into every thing it is best avoided.

BrandonH
09-03-2009, 08:56 AM
Ok guys, here are my pics from the day! unfortunatly I gave up taking pics half way through the day and misse quite a few trucks:(

Brandon...

BrandonH
09-03-2009, 09:08 AM
PS: can someone give me a link to the 4x4 action forum? would like to keep an eye out for any pics they may have posted ;)

Brandon...

bigtez
09-03-2009, 09:36 AM
http://www.4wdaction.com.au/forum/

BrandonH
09-03-2009, 09:50 AM
Thank tez, I didn't think it was the one attached to 4wd monthly but it must be ;)

Brandon...

shano
09-03-2009, 06:13 PM
here is the thread
http://www.4wdmonthly.com.au/forum/showthread.php?t=65804&page=3

BrandonH
10-03-2009, 08:54 AM
thanks Shane, I have been following it and have signed up but after 24hours I am still waiting on a Mod to allow the post I tried putting on the thread:( I guess it will happen at some stage!!

Brandon...

PS: 3 videos now up on the thread shane has linked to above.

bigtez
10-03-2009, 09:48 AM
BH:Took almost a week for my account to go through. Hang in there.....:p

BrandonH
10-03-2009, 10:24 AM
dam!! thats a bit long isn't it!! oh well at least i know now thanks Tez ;)

shrunken pojie
10-03-2009, 11:05 AM
Nps mate when you can it would be good though:)

Phil was good seeing the mini Pajaro getting dirty and going through some tracks I wouldn't have thoght it would go, especially with balding road tyres!!

Brandon...

Thanks. It was good to be able to get out and have some fun again. She is a good little truck and punches well above her weight. ;D I will follow the big trucks most places (even if they have to pull me through some spots to get there ;) ) Might have to do something about the rubber soon though. ::)