View Full Version : Recommend me a OH rod to suit tld25.Please

Ammo79
02-03-2009, 08:35 PM
Hi all.
I was just hoping to get some advise on purchasing a new overhead rod to suit a tld25 real.
It would be used for a range of fishing so needs to be versatile I guess. Bit of bottom bashing with some trolling thrown in also.

I had a cheap shimano taipan extreme rod but the handles come loose so am after something to replace.

Can't spend a fortune at this stage either much as I'd like to get something real nice:'(

Thanks for any advice.

BTW anyone with a second hand rod looking to offload I am not adverse to buying used! lol

Thanks for your advise guys
Brian

02-03-2009, 08:44 PM
Possibly a Silstar crystal blue jig, they are around $160 and are quite nice to use and strong as, truly a stand out at this price. Above that possibly a t curve jig, nicer than the crystal blue but in no way truly worthy of the difference in price IMO.

Dan5
02-03-2009, 10:02 PM
Possibly a Silstar crystal blue jig, they are around $160 and are quite nice to use and strong as, truly a stand out at this price. Above that possibly a t curve jig, nicer than the crystal blue but in no way truly worthy of the difference in price IMO.

Ahhh Scott you should have consulted me on that rod purchase..........what were you thinking::) ::) ;D .......Mate the new monster mesh 5'8 rated @ 15kg drag........so a 45kg stand up........it's the duck's nut's brother and cheaper than the t-curve.....

02-03-2009, 10:16 PM
Yeah I know Dan you do have your finger on the good gear that works pulse but in my defence the T curve was on super special for $160 I think, next time I will consult i promise, how much a monster mash:)

Dan5
02-03-2009, 10:31 PM
Ahh just let me eat my word's a little there mate...........$160 hhhmmmm you got a BARGAIN........Monster mesh for around $250ish........T-curve is nice 37kg in those is fairly soft IMO........The MM is more like a JIGWREX than the curvy one.......it does'nt seem to ever bottom out.......

03-03-2009, 06:35 AM
If your happy with your old rod why not just fix the grips and maybe reel seat?
Where abouts are you Brian?

Ammo79
03-03-2009, 07:50 PM
I am on the northside of Brissy. Caboolture specifically.

I was happy with it when I first got it but that was before I started buying quality gear and it showed up just how cheap it was! ha ha

I have a monster mesh spin rod matched up to a capricorn j and it is my absolute favorite combo for pulling big fish (which I have not had the oppurtunity to do lately >:(::))

If you could get a monsta in the same sort of rating that would suit what I want to do I might try and find some extra money cause I know they are great.
I am over the broomstick overhead thing and some of the new rods around seem to retain heaps of action but be super strong once loaded up.

Does anyone have any reports on the backbone range of shimano's?

Thanks for the input keep it coming.
Brian

tailorboi99
03-03-2009, 08:01 PM
Brian, I just bought a Shimano Triton 24kg Stand up game. It's an excelent rod for it's price $110. The guides are super strong aswell. Check out the Shimano website for more information. Good luck finding a perfect match.

Tom

03-03-2009, 08:08 PM
I have been using the Shimano backbones for a few years now with TLD 20 and 25. Had no problems with them and very happy with them considering the price. The new elite range is out now and have one of those also. I use the 15-24kg 6 foot 6 inch boat rod without the roller tip. These are a bit hard to find as most stores seem to stock the 6 foot version which has a roller tip. The original versions were around $100 and the new elite range one was about $130 when I brought one a year ago. Good value tough rod. Have pulled many trout out of their holes with them. If the budget can stretch up to around $200 I would go with a wilson livefibre. I have the 10-15kg rod matched with a TLD20 and it is a great combo. The 15-24kg would team up nicely with the TLD25.

grave41
03-03-2009, 09:34 PM
Custom 15-24 super seeker , ducks nuts but cost a little bit more.
imo Graham

Dan5
03-03-2009, 09:52 PM
I am on the northside of Brissy. Caboolture specifically.

I was happy with it when I first got it but that was before I started buying quality gear and it showed up just how cheap it was! ha ha

I have a monster mesh spin rod matched up to a capricorn j and it is my absolute favorite combo for pulling big fish (which I have not had the oppurtunity to do lately >:(::))

If you could get a monsta in the same sort of rating that would suit what I want to do I might try and find some extra money cause I know they are great.
I am over the broomstick overhead thing and some of the new rods around seem to retain heaps of action but be super strong once loaded up.

Does anyone have any reports on the backbone range of shimano's?

Thanks for the input keep it coming.
Brian

Mate if you already have a monster and you are happy with it why not save for a little bit longer and get what you really want?.......Backbones are ok.......but if you held off you'll get something much better........i think the MM's are a bargain for what you get.

There's 2 @ 6'3"the 632mb-sic OH with 9kg max drag (i have this in spin) or the 632mhb-sic with 11kg max drag and the 5'8" xhb-sic with 15kg max drag (i have this one aswell it's a horse of a rod).

Dan,

Ammo79
04-03-2009, 08:57 PM
I am starting to think the same thing Dan5. I really like the monstas.

Wasn't sure if they had one available to suit the tld25 but will look further into it.

Anyone got any recommendations as to where to find one or order one from at the right price?
I got my other monster mesh spin rod up at hervey bay tackle warehouse but would be good to get something local if possible.

Brian

05-03-2009, 05:40 AM
Brian, I'm surprised a wilson live fibre is yet to get a mention, forget the m10 though, the top section has a habit of letting go, check out their ZWS70XJ blank - I'm sure you'll find them hard to walk past...nice and tippy, but the tip folds away and turns it into an absolute brute of a rod.

I recently had mine totally loaded, on sunset with 45kg braid on a huge shark, the drag was just ticking at that, and the live fibre just kept grunting (as did I) and got all my braid back to the 100lb leader which then let go - tough rod, very impressed with it. A well made piece of kit, and it was a tld25 that I was matched to - a nicely balanced outfit

levinge
05-03-2009, 08:30 AM
If you still love your original Rod, take it to one of the tackle shops and have it refurbished. Might find it comes in alot cheaper than throw away and buy.

But if your buying, spend a little more and go for a T-curve or Wilson Live fibre IMO

Dan5
05-03-2009, 02:25 PM
Brian, I'm surprised a wilson live fibre is yet to get a mention, forget the m10 though, the top section has a habit of letting go, check out their ZWS70XJ blank - I'm sure you'll find them hard to walk past...nice and tippy, but the tip folds away and turns it into an absolute brute of a rod.

I recently had mine totally loaded, on sunset with 45kg braid on a huge shark, the drag was just ticking at that, and the live fibre just kept grunting (as did I) and got all my braid back to the 100lb leader which then let go - tough rod, very impressed with it. A well made piece of kit, and it was a tld25 that I was matched to - a nicely balanced outfit

Hey bud what would be the difference between the Live Fiber ZWS55XXJ 15-24kg blank and the one you have? This is the rod i have and it's been a good stick but the new MM is bloody awesome........so light but heaps of grunt much better than my wilson.

Dan,,,,

06-03-2009, 07:19 AM
G'day Dan,

I'm not sure of the Rod the blank numbers you have quoted relate to. The "55" in the middle of it could mean its shorter than the 7' and therefore would have a totally different action? The blank I quoted is a faster taper, the tip folds away quite quickly leaving a 24kg broomstick - see photo

I'm totally unaquainted with the Monsta so I'll have to keep a look out and compare - I'm exceptionally happy with the live fibre though and would replace it in a heartbeat with another if anything was to happen to it.

levinge
06-03-2009, 08:08 AM
Hey Rhys, have you ever had a go at the Shimano T-curves. When I picked up my new rig Shimano Tyrnos 30 2speed I had the Live Fibre and the T-curve in the mix to pair up. I ended up going the T-curve because the butt was too short for my long arms on the Live Fibre, whereas the T-curve was just the right length. Both are really good rods.

A mate collared a 6 foot bronze whaler using a live fibre and at times I honestly thought it was going to go terminal, but to live fibre's credit, it just took everything that was thrown at it and handled the fight amazingly well, very impressed with the quality of them. Just not my size (yet)

06-03-2009, 11:45 AM
G'day Lev,

I've seen the T-curve rods, looks a nice piece of kit, never used one so can't comment personally, but those that do all seem pretty happy with their performance.

Yeah the butt is shorter on the live fibre which suits me, as you can see, I'm height challenged with it all bunching in the middle as the picturgraph shows, and I'm giving it heaps, red faced and all .

I too was expecting something terminal, but the rod kept hanging in there totally loaded to the hilt. I couldn't have given it any more if I had have wanted to, the blighter shark had $130 worth of braid out and I was dead set gonna get it back and did! After that I was really sold on this particular Live Fibre blank and the TLD has the Tyrnos upgrade handle thank goodness, it performed exceptionally well too. I had it totally loaded for nearly half an hour. at times it was a total stale mate, the shark was pulling me up off the seat as I was just giving it totally everything I had. It took me the best part of 4 stubbies and 3/4 hr to recover!

levinge
06-03-2009, 04:06 PM
Maybe you need a stand up system, makes the fight a little more balanced, especially if you need to take the pressure off your lower back and forearms.

07-03-2009, 04:50 PM
Another vote here for the Live Fibre 7' 15-24kg option. They are goon allrounders. I like the action much better than the M10's etc. I had mine bent pretty well a few months ago pulling in a 31kg Cobe as I had to get hom in quick as my other rod had gone off with a 24kg job at the same time:D .
The T curves would be a great option as well. I use a 24kg jig version and it is a sweet rod to use:)

warti
08-03-2009, 01:46 PM
I am using a 8 to 15kg live fibre with a tld 30 2-speed and it still brings up the trout, reds and cobia up here. Awesome action with plenty of grunt. I have a smaller t-curve (8kg) which to its credit pulled in a 6 foot tiger aswell and never looked like breaking, this rod is tough. I just dont like broomstick rods with no life.