View Full Version : River to Mud 2009
01-03-2009, 08:51 PM
This year the River to Mud will be on the 8-9th August.
This will give you Plastic Boys plenty of time to practise;D
Had a fair few pm about school holidays, so dropped it back a few weeks.
Searaider 2
03-03-2009, 09:36 PM
Geday Webby ,
See you there .
robersl
04-03-2009, 12:14 PM
count me in again had a bit of fun last year
shane
07-03-2009, 11:29 AM
I'll have another crack. Might even get a fish.
07-03-2009, 07:21 PM
That weekend is great. Sign me up. I will try and round up the usual suspects to make up a crew:D
07-03-2009, 08:09 PM
Sounds good Brian.
The usual suspects will be there.... Team Skanky Hoe will be up for another crack at the title.
Go the Stinky Bait Boys !!!!!!!!!
c u at the t & t show.
08-03-2009, 06:26 AM
I'll try grab some of that "Limelight" too Webby. See if the placcie boys cant give you a good run for your money;)
09-03-2009, 09:23 PM
I am in. This time I will pack 3 pairs of trackie pants, and 4 jumpers.
Chong
09-03-2009, 09:33 PM
Not sure if i can make this one:'( , will see how we go when it gets closer. Go the bait boys;) .
09-03-2009, 10:51 PM
I'll try grab some of that "Limelight" too Webby. See if the placcie boys cant give you a good run for your money;)
Never ever seen anything advertised as 'placcies' only as soft??
mike
09-03-2009, 11:21 PM
FYI, This is run in conjuction with the Fred ' Touchy " Wood Memorial M & G.
A custom made bream / sp / spin rod is up for grabs in the Bream section.
This year it will be conducted under a " Secret Weight " format.
Good luck to all,,, except the " placcie " boys... :P ;) ;D
10-03-2009, 03:40 AM
hmmmmmmmmmmmm...first weekend of the ekka...should I bob around in the Bay or merry go rounds? decisions, decisions.
chief
10-03-2009, 05:18 PM
That gives the young bloke time to be fighting fit, we can't wait for it. Cheers
Tailortaker
10-03-2009, 08:09 PM
MMM I might have to come and represent the "placcie boys"...Hope I can make this one ,, will find out a little closer.
Cheers Grant
10-03-2009, 08:16 PM
hmmmmmmmmmmmm...first weekend of the ekka...should I bob around in the Bay or merry go rounds? decisions, decisions.
Compromise,, do merry go rounds around Dud
10-03-2009, 08:41 PM
Compromise,, do merry go rounds around Dud
it's a bit hard to try and tell the grandson that I won't be taking him cos I am going fishing...but i might take him on the Sat morning..and head out late in the day..the young bloke is usually buggered by about 2 or 3 pm in there.
Breambuster33
13-03-2009, 07:54 PM
ill be there ;D
Steven78
13-03-2009, 08:56 PM
Count me in. I just hope i get a fish this time :)
cbruh1
16-03-2009, 01:45 PM
I will hopefully be in again this year, if I can pull my finger out and get my propellar fixed I will be there, I have a couple of months to get ready :) If not I will borrow a kayak and paddle out there.
Chris Ryan
16-03-2009, 03:20 PM
bugger i missed last years and this year that date is my Mrs' Birthday (on the 8th).......might see what I can do for the 9th.
thedeckie
16-03-2009, 04:20 PM
bugger i missed last years and this year that date is my Mrs' Birthday (on the 8th).......might see what I can do for the 9th.
Chris,
She will have another birthday next year.....no problems.:-X
See you there Saturday!!!! ;D
Chris Ryan
17-03-2009, 09:00 AM
That is a very true statement Paul, tempting too........... :)
whiting-wizard
17-03-2009, 09:31 PM
Count me in guys
2DKnBJ
17-03-2009, 11:03 PM
Will be there for sure if the Jeep dosen't catch fire or keep overheating!!!
Cheers Dazza
18-03-2009, 06:13 AM
Chris Ryan,
Under no circumstances take advice from the deckie. He's known to get people in trouble.
MY suggestion would be to organise some flowers and chocolates, give them to your wife the night before her birthday, and say something like:
"This is only the start my dear. Tomorrow I've got a really special treat for you."
She'll probably reply, all breathless with:
"Gosh darling, if this is just the start, whatever could tomorrow bring?"
This is where you play the trump card and say;
"Tomorrow my dear, I'm taking you fishing with me in the River to Mud comp!"
Should work a treat.
Chris Ryan
18-03-2009, 10:42 AM
That is Fantastic TOL. Mate, I like your style. :D
Paul, get people in trouble..........nah, not heard of surely ;)
chief
18-03-2009, 03:30 PM
I can see this going somewhere. Personal advise from the Deckie and the Old Snag Legend. ;D
robersl
25-03-2009, 12:49 PM
Or you could do like i did for my wedding ann this year i told my misses i was going to the borumba bash and we had to celerbrate the annervsary the week before
shane
russ81
25-03-2009, 12:54 PM
Sorry guys at this stage i wont be attending spewing if it was the weekend earlier I would be on a plane down there oh well hopefully next year.
Russ
moreton
28-03-2009, 07:47 AM
BUGGER,
I am on roster that week end. I was looking forward to showing you blokes up too. Only in my dreams.
Webby as it gets closer talk to me about the tucker.
Cheers Ian
Chris Ryan
01-04-2009, 07:54 PM
Now have my son's under 8's footy carnival on the Sunday too.......destined not for me this year. Sorry lads.
18-04-2009, 09:35 PM
I have spoken to the big - "G" and placed an order for weather.
An agreement has been reached and below is the expected weather forecast.
http://i298.photobucket.com/albums/mm246/Lucky_Phill/River-to-Mud-2009-weather.jpg
Tight lines.... ferets
phill
18-04-2009, 09:39 PM
tell ya what Phill...if those are the minimum temps in August it will sure be a mild night...no need for the green ginger..but then again..always a requirement on a fishing trip
danryan75
18-04-2009, 10:01 PM
any one able to offer a young fella a seat this far out? should have own car by then. at this stage im a bait fisho :P
Crestcutter
19-04-2009, 07:34 AM
I will be there this year again. But i will be putting the car and boat on a barge and coming over this time, as it is to long of a haul From Russell, and i have to leave when things are getting interesting.
Let me know what i can do to help with the food Brian..
19-04-2009, 07:53 AM
Foods is being arranged by Greg, possums on a platter ???
Crestcutter
19-04-2009, 09:19 AM
Hhahahha christ i am leaving that one alone.
19-04-2009, 12:34 PM
Foods is being arranged by Greg, possums on a platter ???
possum patties on a bread roll...or how about deep fried possum legs...the list is endless. Panic not Darryl..I would not feed you those..i would at least put some tomato sauce on them first for ya.
Crestcutter
19-04-2009, 01:11 PM
Sweet , i can eat anything as long as it has sauce on it. I can do bread rolls and sausages for this event. Sing out when we get a bit closer and i will arrange it.
19-04-2009, 04:55 PM
Should I clean off the Barbie.............. Brian ?
Might have to tee up the Chefs from last years event, they done a top job. ;)
triple B day is not far away............
B.......... Bait
B.......... Bream
B......... BBQ.
OH........... B......... bring it on....;D
phill
stevelcqld
19-04-2009, 08:05 PM
Hey
I must be the only one that does not know about this,..
Can anyone supply the what / where / details.
Crestcutter
20-04-2009, 08:03 AM
I'm sure more details will come to hand as we get closer but i will start with what normally goes on. We meet at whyte island boat ramp , we fish in an area from the BRISSY RIVER too MUD ISLAND. It's not a comp , it's a meet and greet with proceeds going to VMR Victoria Point.
Normally a bbq on sunday with the weigh in as well and small prizes given in good fun.
It is also to honour Touchy Wood, and a prize is given to honour this gentle old legends memory.
It's normally freezing , and if you stay over night you have 2 options, one is your car to sleep in, the other is your boat.
preso
20-04-2009, 12:46 PM
Too far out to call yet Webby. But hopefully we will be there.
Someones got to supply the Flake;D
20-04-2009, 08:22 PM
Never too far out to call.
Make a mark on the calendar, if something else pops up, simply tell ;'em, Fishing takes priority.... ;D ;)
I think the plastic boys are gettin scared already...8-)
iceknight
21-04-2009, 03:23 AM
If the weather is 0-10 knts. predicted as in the chat above.. why are the arrows green?? on seabreeze there generally red?
Crestcutter
21-04-2009, 06:32 AM
There is an option there to change the colours around .
21-04-2009, 07:02 AM
I think the seabreeze site was designed for wind surfers originally, so low winds would mean weather is no good for wind surfing (red). You can change the colours - obviously no wind for boating means completely the opposite.
21-04-2009, 07:35 AM
I think the plastic boys are gettin scared already...8-)
They're always scared matey.
Nothing like the smell of rotting bait in the boat :D
What's the tally now??
Also there's a third option for the cold. It's called Green Ginger Wine.
God's nectar http://www.smileyhut.com/eat_drink/burp.gif
21-04-2009, 05:32 PM
I changed the colour to Green for GO.... and Red for STOP.
;D ;D ;D;D ;D ;D ;D ;D
stevelcqld
21-04-2009, 06:51 PM
Sounds good.. But why sleep !!!! That's what work days are for!!
21-04-2009, 06:56 PM
I'm sure the plastics will put a good show in. No problemo
chief
22-04-2009, 04:34 PM
There is a big show of river rats using plastics this year and there all looking for 10 to 15 kg threadies. Bring it on ;D ;D
Scott P.
22-04-2009, 05:11 PM
Sounds like allot of fun, i'd like to come along if that's ok, I'll bring plenty of nuclear chickens
chief
22-04-2009, 05:39 PM
Good on ya Scott, Go The Brissie river crew ;D ;D
22-04-2009, 06:11 PM
Changed the rules, No fishing in the River ??????
23-04-2009, 12:28 AM
No weighing in XOS Grinners either;);D;D
23-04-2009, 05:02 AM
I've got my trip all worked out already:
Launch at Whyte island ramp...motor into the boat passage. drop the anchor. Sit back and relax..listen to some football on the radio..have a good nights sleep in the cabin...put boat back on trailer in the morning...have a relaxing time but no fish..same result as last year but a lot cheaper on the fuel bill.
chief
23-04-2009, 01:22 PM
Come on Webby ;D ;D. Wheres the rest of the crew? Junior G and Jamie? Callop ? Carlos, Luke and you young fellas Tom and mates. Hey Webby I'll put a prize up for anyone landbased as well.
Scott P.
23-04-2009, 06:33 PM
Chief
I might get some shirts made up just for the occasion to support the river crew....
24-04-2009, 03:19 PM
Should be nice and warm in an open tinnie, just like last year.
Captain Seaweed
04-05-2009, 03:16 PM
I dont know too many of the regulars but I would like to be involved this year. Count me in.
Marty
04-05-2009, 05:36 PM
I dont know too many of the regulars but I would like to be involved this year. Count me in.
Marty
There's a lot you don't want to know ::)
They will corrupt you. ;D
I might take Donald and 1/2 kilo of prawns along and show you all up. 8-)
08-05-2009, 03:18 PM
3 months to go. Time to start the baiting ;)
I'll think the baitos will see a convincing win over the frangers.
08-05-2009, 04:15 PM
3 months to go. Time to start the baiting ;)
I'll think the baitos will see a convincing win over the frangers.
Don't forget to make sure your prop is attached Dave:P;D;D;D
If I change to bait during the night time and catch something will I need to fess up to give you boys a hand???;D;D
08-05-2009, 04:44 PM
Gee that was quick,,,, I did'nt even have to burley. :)
Yes Brian you will need to fess. If you do need to change over,,, then that just proves that stinky stuff is better eh.
Just don't do a Poodroo and toss back the winning fish. ;D
10-05-2009, 08:24 AM
mmmmm decisions, decisions,,,,,
The little boat or the big one ? :-/
Last year thedeckie and I nailed very good fish and numbers of fish from his little tinnie. Maybe that is the secret.... ;)
But with the impending westerlies I suspect a boat with a cabin, could be on the cards ;D 8-)
Bait Rulz.....................................:P
10-05-2009, 09:02 AM
Put the tracky dacks on and take the little one Phil.
It'll look more impressive when you have to tow the winning knobby in. :)
10-05-2009, 04:53 PM
Not chasing Knobbies, squabbies, Snapper, Squire or Prosser.... I'm going after real fish...... BREAM......
phill;
10-05-2009, 05:35 PM
Question...Well what's a squire??
Answer...a pretty pokka dotted bream isn't it??
Maybe that's why Pinhead has never caught a squire?? He catches them but classes them as breambo's with dots.
Ooh, I'm going to get an ear bashing for that I reckon ::)
You'll need to service the Alvey if your after bream matey. Can't beat the Alvey on them ;D
18-05-2009, 02:01 PM
There's a lot you don't want to know ::)
They will corrupt you. ;D
I might take Donald and 1/2 kilo of prawns along and show you all up. 8-)
and the one that will corrupt you the most was the author of that post..the rest of us are fine upstanding pillars of society
19-05-2009, 07:59 PM
WooHoo..change of date means not on VMR roster...i am in this time...........
19-05-2009, 08:26 PM
WooHoo..change of date means not on VMR roster...i am in this time...........
Just realised that Sunday is a Winter Series Race (sailing?). Bugger. Might still try for a few on Saturday eve. Knowing my luck I will be rostered onto VMR on the Saturday...
355avk
20-05-2009, 09:17 PM
you can count me in boys,go the bait;D
05-06-2009, 03:30 PM
Well about 2 months to go. You blokes better start the banter soon to try and put your foes off their game. Ya softies.
chief
05-06-2009, 04:03 PM
Dave, Dave , dave you won't get a bite out of the clean team mate ;D. I believe us refined gents will quietly go about the business in hand. Ah, yes before you shake our hands and congradulate us could you please wash those disgusting hands ;D Tally ho ho ho ;D
06-06-2009, 06:59 AM
Dave, Dave , dave you won't get a bite out of the clean team mate ;D. I believe us refined gents will quietly go about the business in hand. Ah, yes before you shake our hands and congradulate us could you please wash those disgusting hands ;D Tally ho ho ho ;D
refined ????? ..back on your medication mate
the hands...you ever smelt those odours coming from a packet of plastics...hell they even keep the mother in law from the front door.
chief
08-06-2009, 06:21 AM
Greg, a gentleman would never have brought up the subject of my medication and as for the plastics smell ! You older generation just don't seem to catch on. A small dab of that berkley liquid behind the ears will attract more than snapper my friend ;D Nothing SOFT about us plastics gents.
08-06-2009, 07:01 AM
Chief hmmm I could be wrong but I think that was a nibble ;D. I'll use a circle hook next time and I'll be ON. Chortle chortle.
08-06-2009, 09:44 AM
Greg, a gentleman would never have brought up the subject of my medication and as for the plastics smell ! You older generation just don't seem to catch on. A small dab of that berkley liquid behind the ears will attract more than snapper my friend ;D Nothing SOFT about us plastics gents.
You just had to say THAT word didn't you? Not nice!!!!!!
Rufus
08-06-2009, 07:13 PM
Hey, all, Love the banter so far from the event. Add me to the list of attendees in the SP section, as it looks like this seasons snapper and biting on them at night.
Cheers, Mark
chief
10-06-2009, 07:40 AM
Well done Mark ( Rufus) you would have to be a man of integrity taking on this challenge after hearing the banter supplied by Greg and Dave ( Just on the quiet their users, Yep bait users) I've seen them clean for a couple of weeks and then its just sad. Prawns, Pillies,Squid anything they can get their hands on. Thats usually when they start to lose it ;D
10-06-2009, 01:30 PM
Chief,
mate there is some secret bait and burley out there too which WWF uses, admittedly to no effect at all
RAT-KING
10-06-2009, 06:50 PM
I dont know why all u boys put all ur eggs in one basket!!!!
ive bn working on a technique wer u can fish both at once!!!!
10-06-2009, 08:30 PM
ahhhh...but R-K..this is plastics against the bait..one or the other..no fence sitting on this one...
10-06-2009, 09:00 PM
Chief sure I've used and abused in the past Ive even tried kicking it for a while. But as you remember all those great times being a user, so why fight it,it gets in your system and leaches through your veins.
So what did you catch that big Threadie on?......... Huh what was that :-X
Tailortaker
10-06-2009, 09:07 PM
Unfortunatly I'm out as it's the same weekend as the Bribie offshore M&G, so once again "maybe next year"
10-06-2009, 09:16 PM
Rat, its real food or use babyfood;D
chief
11-06-2009, 07:57 AM
Arhhhhh Dave, Arhhhhhhhhhh, @#$% they were berkley pillies $#@%
11-06-2009, 05:40 PM
Arhhhhh Dave, Arhhhhhhhhhh, @#$% they were berkley pillies $#@%
YES got him. ;D
12-06-2009, 05:26 PM
But tell me he didn't dip them in gulp juice and superglo colouring to give the pillies that something special ;D;D
13-06-2009, 10:30 AM
But tell me he didn't dip them in gulp juice and superglo colouring to give the pillies that something special ;D;D
C'mon Brian your really clinging on to false hope mate. ::)
I think the only special thing about them was that they were less than fresh. :)
chief
15-06-2009, 02:59 PM
Dave, Dave , Dave not that often but occassionally I like sit back with the rod in the holder and let a circle do its work while I reflect on the past successes the placie boys have had in the R2M with plastics. ;D ;D Outstanding Highlights ;D.
Brian, Best we don't give him any ideas ;D
Mattg68
18-06-2009, 10:53 AM
looks like i'm in. a virgin R2M 'er - please boys, be gentle.:-[
matt
robersl
18-06-2009, 11:43 AM
Hi matt I fished it last year funny as boats going everywhere following one another all night in a conga line was good weather last year i hope the cold keeps away this year
shane
18-06-2009, 01:53 PM
looks like i'm in. a virgin R2M 'er - please boys, be gentle.:-[
matt
Well that depends on which side of the fence your on. Bait or rubber.
05-07-2009, 07:08 AM
About a month to. Get ready people.
No throwing your rods at the fish ;) Bait or plastics only ;D
bigjimg
08-07-2009, 07:09 PM
Well it looks like the anti fishing forces have once again colluded to conspire against me from entering this years river to mud.Dogsbody and Biosbro looks like you guys are on your own,unless some,as yet unforeseen,circumstance arises I will be land locked on the night.Not Happy.Jim
reel scream
08-07-2009, 08:27 PM
Have the Dates for this changed in the last couple of months??? When we were thinking of Dates for the Bribie Offshore trip I am sure we moved them to the 7/8/9th so we didn't clash.
08-07-2009, 08:52 PM
Have the Dates for this changed in the last couple of months??? When we were thinking of Dates for the Bribie Offshore trip I am sure we moved them to the 7/8/9th so we didn't clash.
nope..I mentioned that in the thread about the bribie do that it clashed.
reel scream
10-07-2009, 11:57 AM
How many boats fishing the river to mud would come up for the Bribie one if the dates were changed?
Problem is some blokes have organised shift swaps etc to fish those dates.
Shit.
10-07-2009, 07:22 PM
Dates for the River to Mud were published on the 4th May 09.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=149387
reel scream
11-07-2009, 06:25 PM
Cheers Phill,
We will stick to the dates now i reckon and next year i will make sure they don't clash.
12-07-2009, 04:43 AM
Well it looks like the anti fishing forces have once again colluded to conspire against me from entering this years river to mud.Dogsbody and Biosbro looks like you guys are on your own,unless some,as yet unforeseen,circumstance arises I will be land locked on the night.Not Happy.Jim
It is obvious who wears the pants at your place Jim :P
reel scream
12-07-2009, 09:11 PM
And this is on at the same time http://www.mbtbc.com/
06-08-2009, 04:05 PM
So people who do you think will take it out frangers or stinkies?
SummerTrance
06-08-2009, 04:29 PM
I definitley think it is the year for the SP's to take the glory!!!!!!!
08-08-2009, 06:14 AM
I hope you are right ST, but I can't help this year unfortunately. Keep safe in the predicted winds today!
Crestcutter
08-08-2009, 06:38 AM
Just a Southern Bay Island weather update , she is blowing 15 knots with gusts up to 20 knots already from the SW. .
robersl
08-08-2009, 06:48 AM
i just looked up seabreeze 25kn change went past coffs harbour about 2-3 am then drop back to 10-15 after 3hours change is now at byron bay ,eveans head at 25kn gusting to 40kn hopefully it will get past us and back off to 15 by nightfall
shane
08-08-2009, 06:08 PM
Looks like I won't be a starter. Trailer issues and some rewiring are the reason. I might try and make the BBQ
Have fun
08-08-2009, 06:30 PM
ya don't need lights on a trailer neil..as long as it holds the boat off the road then all is good.
08-08-2009, 08:30 PM
ya don't need lights on a trailer neil..as long as it holds the boat off the road then all is good.
Greg, its only holding one side of the boat at the moment;D
The wiring is for the GPS. I had two playing up on Friday
08-08-2009, 08:31 PM
sounds like my box trailer this morning...grabbed the hitch to pull it onto ute..bloody thing came apart in my hand...that kind of rounded off my week from hell.
Crestcutter
08-08-2009, 09:00 PM
Theres no way my little green tugboat is going to make the run from Russell too Whyte Island ramp 2 morro either.Shite typical my luck, like the last charter with Webby. It's all your fricken fault Brian.
09-08-2009, 03:25 AM
Baitos have got a good start ;) See ya's at the BBQ. My visons blurry:P
09-08-2009, 05:36 AM
Baitos have got a good start ;) See ya's at the BBQ. My visons blurry:P
did you go ????
09-08-2009, 06:46 AM
Yes Greg just for a few hours then had to go to a hoedown and consume some cans. Nice Thready was scored by biosbro and myself but let mine fight another day.
09-08-2009, 07:01 AM
good one...just wishing I could have been there.
Nico.d.R
09-08-2009, 02:21 PM
it was cold pinhead i think it was 6 degrees on brandons phone at about 1 am , fishing was pretty tough with the wind that was around and the lack off fish willing to eat lures , still had a good time this morning at the bbq and even scored a rod . next year im going to take a kero heater along lol .
cheers nico
09-08-2009, 03:23 PM
LOL Nico...that is part of the fun of winter fishing. Good onya for winning the rod..well done.
09-08-2009, 03:50 PM
To the ones who did the overnighter...well done
To the ones who won a category...better done:)
To the plastics users who did not turn up....ya scaredy cats. A bit frightened were we of a bit of competition?? :D
Don't forget all those who won a category to PM me your name, category and species/length as well as your address so your plaques can be made and sent out in the next week or so.
Lucky Nico gets 2. He'll be right for firewood for next years event I reckon :)
Cheers then
PS I might even fish next year as the lack of fish caught might even let me win a prize....if I weigh in the pilly that is
To all those who ran this comp, thank you for everything, especially to Phil, Webby & Chris
Harry_h01 & I spent the chilly night in the river. Don't think i'll be rushing to do that again. Were awoken by the water police around midnight doing the safety check.
Congrats to the winners.
Think i may have to join the WWF club. Where do i get an application form from?
I'll definately be back again.
Fishbait
11-08-2009, 06:59 PM
Some photos from the weekend. Was good to catch up with fellow Ausfishers!
Robers / Shane - how you going uploading your photos mate?
Thanks again for the weekend, Cheers Darren
robersl
12-08-2009, 06:44 PM
Het drren they are up under a report in salt water