View Full Version : Borumba Toges

BR65
28-02-2009, 03:01 PM
Sliped up to Borumba his morn, hit the water in time for my first fair dinkum go at a surface bite, and suprised myself with 2 dropped Toga when they went aerial, and a couple of missed bass that just rolled over the little Bubble Pop surface lure.
Once the sun came up, things went quiet, but managed another 2 toga, this time in the net, on spinnerbaits.
Tossed on a couple of scenery type photos for the bashers:)

robersl
28-02-2009, 03:16 PM
I know who i am following at the bash lol well done brian

shane

28-02-2009, 03:27 PM
well that answers my question from the other thread ...... well done Brian , looks good & fishies to boot - gotta love them toga ........ I wish I could stay connected to one :P

BR65
28-02-2009, 03:35 PM
Yup, the first two dropped on the popper were frustrating to say the least mate, but good fun just convincing them that little piece of floating plastic was something they wanted to eat!

Pete62
28-02-2009, 03:35 PM
Noice Noice...........................now I'm lookin forward to the BB

Nice pics too, Pete.

BR65
28-02-2009, 03:41 PM
Gday Pete, plenty of Toges seen cruisin the weed edges mate, but not interested in playing once that sun was up.
Worked some promising yellow and bass spots, for zilch return, dunno why, would have expected a rat bass or 2 at the very least. Marked plenty on the sounder sitting at 10 foot in 20 foot of water, tried counting down jackals and softies, but couldnt fool em today. There was a huge amount of boneys were I was fishing, maybe they just couldnt be bothered chasing their meal at the moment.

Peter4
28-02-2009, 06:38 PM
Some lovely pics there Brian.....is there anywhere you can't catch fish??

A sneaky solo effort so you can clean up at the BB I suppose......

Jeremy87
28-02-2009, 08:16 PM
Gday Pete, plenty of Toges seen cruisin the weed edges mate, but not interested in playing once that sun was up.
Worked some promising yellow and bass spots, for zilch return, dunno why, would have expected a rat bass or 2 at the very least. Marked plenty on the sounder sitting at 10 foot in 20 foot of water, tried counting down jackals and softies, but couldnt fool em today. There was a huge amount of boneys were I was fishing, maybe they just couldnt be bothered chasing their meal at the moment.

Those cruising togas can spook really easily. Surface lures, heavy touch downs and even the lure in flight can send em packing. I've found it best to cast i silent presentation like a weightless plastic past their direction of travel and bring the lure back to their nose pausing it about half a metre infront of them.

Those misty glassy mornings are great for for bringing them to the top they'll still be in the same area when the sun get up but prefer to chew on a deeper presentation.

Only two weeks now boys who is getting excited.

Pete62
28-02-2009, 08:29 PM
Those cruising togas can spook really easily. Surface lures, heavy touch downs and even the lure in flight can send em packing. I've found it best to cast i silent presentation like a weightless plastic past their direction of travel and bring the lure back to their nose pausing it about half a metre infront of them.

Those misty glassy mornings are great for for bringing them to the top they'll still be in the same area when the sun get up but prefer to chew on a deeper presentation.

Only two weeks now boys who is getting excited.

Ummm, that would be me...................:P

BR65
28-02-2009, 08:47 PM
Some lovely pics there Brian.....is there anywhere you can't catch fish??

A sneaky solo effort so you can clean up at the BB I suppose......

LOL Pete, I think Ive reached the pinnacle of my Borumba efforts mate, just happy not to be chewing a pastry all the way home today.
Last minute call to go, Sea breeze last nite had the wind dropping out mid morn, so that was good enough for me. Handfull of lures, 3 rods and a landing net, easy fishing mate!

Apollo
01-03-2009, 04:32 PM
Brilliant effort Brian. Were you surprised with amount of boney bream around? Especially the dead ones.

BR65
01-03-2009, 08:59 PM
Brilliant effort Brian. Were you surprised with amount of boney bream around? Especially the dead ones.
Boneys flickin and carking it on the surface mate, yeah, wiggled my eyebrows, but the couple of times Ive fished up there its been the same.
Plenty of bait up the back, if only barra were a indigenopus species, aye carumba, happy days.....

DEANO68
02-03-2009, 06:47 AM
on ya brian, nice togas, and another sneeky run up the bruce....see you in a couple of weeks.....8-)

Tropicaltrout
02-03-2009, 06:51 AM
Thats the beauty of these dams close by brother get a niggle and a good bit of weather and you can duck off for a quick rod bending action, pretty much to surpress the IBD a little!!! It is a magic spot up there mate top pics and good fishin to boot.

Nath

Apollo
02-03-2009, 06:56 AM
Plenty of bait up the back, if only barra were a indigenopus species, aye carumba, happy days.....

The same was discuss on our boat as well.

Little grey men
02-03-2009, 01:51 PM
Now that looks like a purdy little place. Well done on the togas mate.

03-03-2009, 10:08 PM
Very nice Brian. I don't think you'll be able to fly too low under the radar at the Bash mate;) Have fun.

seqfisho
04-03-2009, 05:12 PM
Hi BR65,

Just a side Q, where did you get your brag mat from, the only one's I've seen are plastered with BCF or Shimano on them, which I'd rather not have standing out in my pic's.

BTW, nice toga's and isn't Borumba a magic place when there's no one else around and the fish are co-operating.

Cheers Glen.

04-03-2009, 06:26 PM
if only barra were a indigenopus species, aye carumba, happy days.....

Isn't that a tributary of the Mary. Plenty of Barra in that system

It certainly looks a nice spot to spend a weekend chasing Togas

BR65
04-03-2009, 07:34 PM
Hi BR65,

Just a side Q, where did you get your brag mat from, the only one's I've seen are plastered with BCF or Shimano on them, which I'd rather not have standing out in my pic's.

BTW, nice toga's and isn't Borumba a magic place when there's no one else around and the fish are co-operating.

Cheers Glen.

Got mine from Fitzy over on the Sweetwater site mate, plenty easy to do.
Otherwise I think Foxie has them.
Couple of links here:
http://www.###########.com.au/
http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/Forum/index.php?action=store

BR65
04-03-2009, 07:36 PM
Okkkkkkkey doke, Ausfish doesnt like Foxies!
Do a google on Foxies Monduran, that will get ya there