View Full Version : logan river plan b has the goods

mookyandlumpy
27-02-2009, 10:59 PM
hey all,
loaded the boat at around 2pm today with drifting the pin for flatties im mind ,
got to cabbage tree point and it was blowing hard it was white caps everywhere ,mmmmmmm what now ok plan be,lets go into the logan , back to alberton rd boat ramp , and off we go head to the gazebo for nothing , this looks like a fizzer, off to marks rocks ,got to ageston sands and a .5mtr chop so a slow ride in the tinnie , drift over marks rocks my wife is on for about 5 seconds then busted off , few more drifts for nothing , so out comes the map to find some new spots , we anchor up form a snag in shallow water and in goes a 3inch nuc chicken and a 47cm flatties enter the boat, bugger last nuc chook , on to a 3 inch squdgie white with gold sparkle , a 56cm flattie into the boat , i was stoked with the two flattties , a few more flicks and in comes the horse 64cm flattie in the boat , my biggest flattie on plastics and ony 2cm off my biggest ever , im over the moon to catch the fish and to know the logan river still has the goods
great arvo fishing
all the fish released

oh and by 7 the wind had really died down looks like a great weekend for fishing ,,
safe boating

mooky

Lizard Man
28-02-2009, 12:17 AM
Sounds like you found the silver lining on this trip Mooky. Always good when you find a new spot that produces. Let alone when you hook up to some nice lizards. Good old reliable lizards. They'll lurking there next time for you too mate, hopefully after that big girl has spawned. Well done.:D

BenDover
28-02-2009, 07:21 AM
The logan is absolutely full of those damn flathead. I hate catching them. They are everywhere.

mookyandlumpy
28-02-2009, 08:43 AM
thats a problem i dont mind having . :)

BaitThrower
28-02-2009, 10:29 AM
The logan is absolutely full of those damn flathead. I hate catching them. They are everywhere.

There are fish in the Logan?
I havent seen any yet :P

BaitThrower
28-02-2009, 10:32 AM
hey all,
loaded the boat at around 2pm today with drifting the pin for flatties im mind ,
got to cabbage tree point and it was blowing hard it was white caps everywhere ,mmmmmmm what now ok plan be,lets go into the logan , back to alberton rd boat ramp , and off we go head to the gazebo for nothing , this looks like a fizzer, off to marks rocks ,got to ageston sands and a .5mtr chop so a slow ride in the tinnie , drift over marks rocks my wife is on for about 5 seconds then busted off , few more drifts for nothing , so out comes the map to find some new spots , we anchor up form a snag in shallow water and in goes a 3inch nuc chicken and a 47cm flatties enter the boat, bugger last nuc chook , on to a 3 inch squdgie white with gold sparkle , a 56cm flattie into the boat , i was stoked with the two flattties , a few more flicks and in comes the horse 64cm flattie in the boat , my biggest flattie on plastics and ony 2cm off my biggest ever , im over the moon to catch the fish and to know the logan river still has the goods
great arvo fishing
all the fish released

oh and by 7 the wind had really died down looks like a great weekend for fishing ,,
safe boating

mooky

Nice report mate and good to hear the Logan has some fish. All times I have been there its been chocolate brown for the most part and never caught a thing!

Nothing at the Gazebo eh... You know aa couple times I been there I have sounded some structure about 75m SSW of the Gazebo in about 8m of water. Dunno what it is but its always there... Nothing big size wise but worth looking for... Might be hiding some fish.

Any clues as to where you found the flatties?

mookyandlumpy
28-02-2009, 11:54 AM
Any clues as to where you found the flatties?

i like fishing a really low tide on the run in at ageston sands (sp?) i have not had real luck on a run out as you said its chocolate ,
i look for some freshly flooded banks as you go around towards mark rocks and sit behind the bank put in real long casts up into the shallow and bounce it back into the depper water ,
i caught those flatties waiting for a feed to get washed over the bank into the deep at the western end

tonights tide would be worth a shot again , ill be there if can get some time
hope that helped
ps take your mozzie repelant , :o thats for sure ,,,,,

Lizard Man
28-02-2009, 12:55 PM

Not often someone gets agitated by catching good fish. Careful what you wish, you just might get it.;D

BenDover
28-02-2009, 04:24 PM
Mate - I will glady swap you for the bay anyday. :). Dont ask me how the fish see the bait in the first place. But the logan always produces good flathead and whitting, Ive got a few monster tailor and jew aswell (i wouldnt eat anything from there though). If you drift the shallows along the prawn farms and near the big pipe you'll get em. And just before marks rocks after the sandbanks. But the BIG girls always hang around the mouth on the yabby mudflats off to the left there. Usually they are hunting in ambush groups at the same place. So when you get 1, redo the same place in a grid pattern and you'll get a few more.