View Full Version : Donnybrook mixed bags:)
Howdy,
Haven't posted for ages an thought I might say gidday and show ya some pics from the last 3 trips in as many weeks fishing good old donnyrook an surrounds,
(with small tears- that men dont get-) maybe welling up for the pelagics i am missing....still having updated my epirb:'( so its been all systems go up the creek with some rippers,
some nice nice fish around at the moment an I have just cracked a species I have been dreamin about for years.... finally got my first jewie, an up the creek too:D :D
Heres some pics of the last 3 trips , last one ending about 4hrs ago, an I am seriously havin dramas seeing the keeeyboard haha
One thing I will say is if ya can get up there during the week ya cruisin cause come the weekend, friday arvo onwards is dead set mayhem and you will be surprised at the amount of people with little or no common sense let alone boating rules!!!
ya see some scary sh!t!!
Cheers Thorpy
nuggstar
25-02-2009, 10:39 PM
top fishing jay t. well done on ya first jew. its a ripper
Ya must be doing something right...some nice mixed catches there...nice jewie..
flatzie
26-02-2009, 06:28 AM
Yep some nice catches there mate well done! So is that the tally of a few blokes or by yourself? The muddies look delicious!
Be interested to know your approach, were you using SPs or bait, yabbies??Some night fishong as well?
Just shows that there are plenty of fish around.
I couldn't agree more re the mayhem on weekends and holidays, beats me how some people get a boating licence???
My last trip was midweek as well and was so quiet.
Flatzie
26-02-2009, 08:06 AM
some good quality and nice variety there also.
LostNearBribie
26-02-2009, 08:31 AM
Great Jew mate, thats awesome.
Livies?
How big is that muddie on the mat under the jew?
shrunken pojie
26-02-2009, 11:23 AM
Flatzie,
To get a boat licence, you spend 6 hours with an instructor. You spend about 3 hours on a boat and about 10 minutes of that driving it. The other 3 hours are spent in a room "learning" the rules. At the end you do a test, if you get an answer wrong, the instructor talks you through the right one and hey presto, you have your licence. It scares me that it was that easy to get mine.
You probably know all that, but still, its a joke, especially compaired to getting a car licence.
Thats just my 2 cents worth.
shrunken pojie
26-02-2009, 11:23 AM
PS great catches Thorpy!
Cheers guys,
Flatzie, yeah all three catches are between myself an a good mate, all three trips have been o/nighters too,
The jew an the spangled (in one of the other pics) same spot tho, were caught on livies, poddys an gar and all the other fish caught on the humble old yabbie with a pack of worms here an there,
Night fishing for the jew an spangly an most of the other fish just caught during the day just moving around here an there,
Have sh!t loads of sp's but just stuck to the good old long whiting rods an heavier gear at night:)
LostNearBribie,
Mate the grunter in the pic was just legal at 32cm, the whiting went 43 an the jew 75-80 so i reckon about 20 across the shell on the muddie an full as bud:)
Cheers Thorpy
Fishbait
26-02-2009, 06:31 PM
Nice bream and jewie alright - all very good sizes. Top stuff. I didn't know they had big jew up Donnybrook way? What area you in for those? (Feel frre to PM me? ;D Cheers, Darren
Silent
26-02-2009, 07:28 PM
Top work!
Can't help with this spangle emporer you caught at Donny??? interesting reefie could swim further! what length did she went?
Hey Darren,
Up in glasshouse for the jewie an the ledge (which will soon be part of the green zone) near mission toward trips;) for the grassie an spangly, but any ledge that holds 10-20ft or hole of similar depth will do....apparently haha, the spot, ledge where we caught the spangled has also produced some very nice jack too, which i was originally fishing for, plus we have scored mowong to 6kg as well, shame to see it lost to a green zone from someone upstairs (probably non fisho) who has decided to make it a green zone.....
Ah well hope the info helps ya
Hey Silent,
Think the spangly aka reef fish went 52cm on the mat and yeah been fishing Donny for 10 to15yrs now an never caught one there, get the odd grassie but never a spangled, sure was a surprise thats for sure!!!
wak69
26-02-2009, 07:56 PM
great whiting, well done Jayt
bowds13
26-02-2009, 07:57 PM
hey mate planing on head to donny brooke next week some time with a mate but never fished it befor. is there any tips you can give me that will hopfully put us on to a fish. my mates been over in japan for some time now an been hanging out for a fish since hes been back so i dont wanna let him down. will be using plastics an vibes an livies if i can get some.
any help would be great so i can put a smile on mitchs face!!
Hey,
Also heres a reasonable cod caught between Donny an Bribie on one of these ledges by my bro, pics taken an she was released:) this spot we call Jurasic park cause everything we catch there is XOS
The passage is alive an well!!!
Hey bowds,
Mate try to hit it on an out going tide and that will surely tell you where the banks an drop offs are, livies you can get from any drains leading off any of the creeks or off the main channel on the run out an if you want to flick placcies same thing applies, for big fish like jew, jack etc gather your bait on the low an set up on a likely drop off or ledge an fish the top or bottom of the tides an you should be in luck, hour or two either side of either tide:)
Hope this helps ya
gti2008
27-02-2009, 12:11 PM
Dont spose you got your training/licence from a certain business in Colmslie? That was pretty much identical to my experience!
shrunken pojie
27-02-2009, 12:45 PM
No mate, from a bloke at redcliffe. It is pretty standard practise from what I hear. And if you think thats bad, my brother did his on the lake near Mt Isa, they dont even have beacons to show you up there.
dazza
27-02-2009, 10:26 PM
hi jay,
was talking to shane today and he said you got a nice jewie, well done pleased you put the pix up, nice fish
you must be stoked
dazza
How ya going old friend. looks like you have dusted off the old merc finally. nice jew and that buck make my mouth water. we should catch up mate.
BigE
Hey I am gathering you got my text today mate, lets do a double boat o/nighter,
I will tell ya all my secrets an definately put you on to some nice rusty bucks:)
Oh an its a johno, wish it was a merc haha it has been a while!!!