View Full Version : quickie Tinaroo...a barra, a sooty and a taipan!

wheezer
24-02-2009, 09:17 PM
after missing a few weeks fishing due to an extended interstate work trip i was frothing to get on the water, especially given the recent influxes as i was keen to see how things had changed. with the weekend fully booked i snuck off friday afternoon for some therapy...

with the dam well and truly full there was plenty of new areas to target. we decided to start by having fun with the XOS sooty population, while often overshadowed by the big silver things that reside there now are still great fun..upon rounding the bend of the first locale we were greated by a couple of local killit and fillet boats so off to the next spot..motoring right up to the rapids i placed a cast to the top and let the water bounce the plastic down them..almost immediately i was thumped by a solid fish...after a few tense moments due to tight country and trying to kick the bow mount down with one hand with a rampaging sooty on the other a nice thick fish was boated...kind of got over that though, the allure of previously mentioned silver things was too great. first spot was worked over thoroughly for a solid hit on a boney and a follow to the boat on a slick..then it happened...

we saw a sizeable snake swimming across in front of us, he seemed to take a liking to the island made out of alloy so i sent a warning shot across his bow with my boney..trouble was i was a little too accurate and pinned him in his tail..of course he was not happy so here i am freaking out with what we believed to be a taipan on the end of my rod in one hand (not a brown, as neck was too thin and colouring was wrong, he had those black eyes of death) phone in the other calling matt asking him the release procedure of said taipan while my mate is fairly crapping himself...he advised to cut the snake off as its not worth dying over a lure, not even a boney! after a while mr snake decides he's had enough and needs a rest, what better place then our boat! as it attempts to board i get my mate to dump the enviro over him to keep him at bay, this was a good thing as rather than swimming under the net to exact revenge he tries to keep his head up above water. we were then able to grab him through the net, lift him on board and remove the lure without dying, which was good

light was failing after that episode, so the call to fish surface lures around freshly flooded structure was called for. it proved successful with a feisty and hungry 96cm model commiting 100% to my stickbait, first hit he came half out of water but managed to miss everything...i kept the tango in there with just the occasional twitch and he came back with his glasses on and inhaled it, putting up a good aerial display. within a few casts i got hammered again, a good fish bricking me on heavy drag very quickly...a few more boofs and boils and we went home happy and relieved campers indeed...

a few pics to follow, can't wait for a decent trip, although living 45min from the dam makes it relatively easy i guess...

BR65
24-02-2009, 09:31 PM
Classic!
We saw the biggest red belly black Ive ever come across in the water on Sat arvo, made me think twice about swagging on the boat I can tell you!
Nice read Andrew.

Barraboss
24-02-2009, 10:53 PM
Wheezer,

That'll teach you for touching the water up there without me....Those taipans are my new found guard dogs....

I have just sat here piddling myself laughing as I retold Kim the story as it came to me on the phone. Something like this:

"Hello this is Matt... Yeah mate what do I do if I have caught a Taipan......What sort of lure have u caught it on.....On Boney Bream.....What colour....Gold.... Oh bugger I have heaps of them, cut the line and I will give you a new one, brand spanker out of the box...mmmm I will see what I can do and will let you know...No lure, not even a gold boney is worth dying for...yeah ok I will sort it...Ok Bye"

Something like that anyways.....

You dill

A big bloody cheers for surviving

PS- Fishing this weekend????????????

24-02-2009, 11:13 PM
Andrew ..... that sounds terrifying - Of all snakes a bloody Taipan. I'd cut it off too - but at the reel::)
Friggin snakes on a dam should be banned :(

Glad you stayed away from the pointy end

Whitto
25-02-2009, 06:41 AM
Speaking of Snakes....a red belly black was dispatched forthwith on the weekend near the Camp Kitchen...a lady from the Grey Nomad gang with stick in hand gave it what for in a couple of foul swoops.......HHHHHhhhhmmmm their on the move

wheezer
25-02-2009, 11:25 AM
yes i can see how that phone call musta seemed...anyway here are some pics

hoping for this weekend for sure...final coats of epoxy going down on a new weapon which i would love to break in...keep in touch

Whitto
25-02-2009, 11:46 AM
Gee's that last piccie holding the big girl is a Ripper.....not overly impressed with the Joe blake;D

Pete62
25-02-2009, 12:00 PM
That wheezer is crazy............................

wheezer
25-02-2009, 12:22 PM
never a dull moment...that was a mean storm head in the background, gave us a nice light show as it moved around the dam

themissus
25-02-2009, 12:25 PM
Screw that!! I think that would almost cure my fish craving. Glad to see you made it out in one piece.
Cheers Kim.

Peter4
25-02-2009, 12:34 PM
No doubt bragging rights go to Andrew.

"Accurate casting? Mate, I can hook a taipan in the tail from 15m......";)

Good story and pics....

tiges
25-02-2009, 01:20 PM
Nice one Andrew. Quality fish on surface mate.

Keen grabbing that snake, even with the enviro. Bet the kids were stoked when you told them the story.

black_sheep
25-02-2009, 01:33 PM
Andrew - you idiot!!!

Nice fish though, wud love to be fishing those rapids again - awesome country.

wheezer
25-02-2009, 02:57 PM
Nice one Andrew. Quality fish on surface mate.

Keen grabbing that snake, even with the enviro. Bet the kids were stoked when you told them the story.

sssshhhh....what happens on the dam stays on the dam...;D

thanks mate, long time no speak...kinda reminded me of all the surface sessions on maccas...

all good i grew up a bit rural and have handled many snakes, although that certainly does not make me complacent

wheezer
25-02-2009, 03:01 PM
Andrew - you idiot!!!

Nice fish though, wud love to be fishing those rapids again - awesome country.

unfortunately atm the main rapids up the barron have been hammered by the locals...now that they've cleaned out the sooties though we should be right

the amount of newly flooded grassy areas is unreal, shame you'll have to wait till october

flyfisho
25-02-2009, 07:46 PM
I'm not surprised by this story at all.
At least your consistent.

wheezer
25-02-2009, 08:55 PM
I'm not surprised by this story at all.
At least your consistent.

haha...which part

flyfisho
26-02-2009, 08:07 AM
All of it
the arse mainly ::)

PaulMark
26-02-2009, 08:13 AM
Did said taipan have his permit for being on the dam??:DAs Brian said NO sleeping on the boat!What did you do with him?How do you let go of a pissed off taipan?Cracking Barra Wheezer well done8-)
Paulo

wheezer
26-02-2009, 09:01 AM
at the end of the day he wanted to be somewhere else, so when i let him go he thankfully took off to the safety of dry ground...if snakes could talk imagine his story when he got home...i reckon it'd go something like this...

mummy snake: hi dear, you're a bit late how was your day?

daddy snake: holy sh*t woman where do i start! thought i'd go for a dip to cool off, next minute i feel a sharp pain in my arse and i'm being dragged through the water..i was buggered so i thought i'd have a rest on this nice little island i found but next minute some crazy human dumps a big arse net on my head, wrings me by my neck and chucks me back in....i shat myself in the process but at least i got rid of my bum piercing...

Pete62
26-02-2009, 09:31 AM
:LMAO:

That wheezer IS crazy......................

5Zigen
26-02-2009, 09:36 AM
These snake encounters happen Stateside as well::)

http://bassfan.com/tv_play.asp?id=119

03-03-2009, 10:30 PM
That is insane Andrew...and CRAZY:o I'll have a chat to you shortly about your other project. Have had a little bit to deal with lately.

wheezer
04-03-2009, 08:58 AM
just another day at the office....! yea mate no worries when you can, looking forward to catching up