View Full Version : Decent Quality Gaff???
24-02-2009, 12:00 PM
Where can I get a decent quality gaff. I mean one where the "alleged" stainless steel hook wont turn to solid rust after a couple of weeks on the boat.>:(
I am currently off the water and gearing up for when I get the all clear to go back out.
Any help with a decent brand of gaff for the boat would be appreciated
zigfreed
24-02-2009, 01:08 PM
G'day Mike
I've had a Dimax 18ft two piece for about 10 years now (for LBG). Has done many a trip over the rocks and been in the water heaps, it has no rust on it. I can't ever remember washing it either.
BTW the hook gauge is good too. The type where it is ground to a point with flats not rounded like the cheaper ones.
They have heaps of different types to suit all applications.
I got mine at F T A .......( M O Tackle)
24-02-2009, 01:23 PM
there is a dozen great brands of gaffs about, but you will not find them at BCF and Kmart and places, go to a good tackle store, and even better if you can find one that does a lot of Gamefishing gear.
mattooty
24-02-2009, 02:11 PM
Definately go Dimax. Been using mine for 4 years with no rust at all.
24-02-2009, 02:56 PM
Where can I get a decent quality gaff. I mean one where the "alleged" stainless steel hook wont turn to solid rust after a couple of weeks on the boat.>:(
I am currently off the water and gearing up for when I get the all clear to go back out.
Any help with a decent brand of gaff for the boat would be appreciated
Are you going to hook the crabpot floats with it??
Or are you planning on getting A fish??
::)
24-02-2009, 04:35 PM
going to start moving offshore scotty.................. so thought maybe better get a decent one.
24-02-2009, 05:47 PM
I got the outriggers :D
trueblue
24-02-2009, 05:55 PM
I just bought a beautiful Black Magic gaff at north side Marine.
Fibreglass handle, with bonded stainless steel gaff hook, very solid.
Has a 4 foot long handle, very heavy gauge hook with a 3 1/2" gape, and good rubber grips.
About $120 for this one, and a bit under $100 for a smaller model. It was specifically chosen for dealing with snodger fish.
dog tooth
24-02-2009, 06:00 PM
most gaffs will rust if they are not pollished
check out the top shot gaffs
there gaff heads are pollished, this will stop the rust and they are very nice gaffs
check out wellsies takle (spelling)
24-02-2009, 06:05 PM
WHoa True Blue, bit pricey for me mate :)
Dog Tooth, polish it with what?
;D If you want quality you pay for it:)
http://www.wellsystackle.com/shop/
Pistol_P
24-02-2009, 06:48 PM
Check out the 'Hook em' range.
Excellent quality with changeable heads between gaff and nets.
24-02-2009, 07:18 PM
Wellseys has a good range. You can check them out online http://www.wellsystackle.com/shop/
trueblue
24-02-2009, 09:07 PM
You did say good quality.... I was sick of busted cheap gaffs, and rivets etc falling out along with the gaff hook.
The Black Magic Gaff has no rivets to corrode away, and I am guessing that it is now unlikely that I will ever have to buy a gaff again due to a breakage, damage or falling apart.
http://www.blackmagic.co.nz/catalogue/page33.html
I got the 1200mm one, polished stainless hook, glass shaft, hypalon handles.
Just need to stick it into a snodger fish now!