View Full Version : Another Mondy Barra Report

robersl
23-02-2009, 06:30 PM
Hi all like a few of the other Ausfish members i decided to take the 4 hour drive to Monduran on the weekend and as i had no one to take i asked my mate next door who is a keen fisher and had never caught a barra but wanted to if he would like to come ,needless to say he jumped at the chance , so we left about 1.30 friday after checking the weather radar and seen storms building over wivenhoe and headed off to try and beat them constantley watching the clouds building but as luck would have it we made it to mondy rain and storm free at about 6pm ,started to set up camp and whitto came over and said g,day and had a chat, finished setting up , we then went and met a few of the other ausfish boys and said hello and had a few drinks. i think istumbled to bed just after midnight after looking for my bottle of rum(sorry boys i was half tanked ) hit the hay, woke up at 4 .am to a bit of misty camp ground so launched in case the fog rolled in at least we would be on the water but it cleared. we went straight up to where i caught my fish the last trip and chucked plastics and bombers around for about 2 hours for no touches so went for a troll , we trolled about 50 m and my mate hooks up using a guns and roses coloured lure the fish made three leaps and about 8 runs before we got it to the boat and netted it my mate was stoked his first ever barra and it went 95cm, i tell you what when you are feeling as seedy as i was that morning a barra in the boat does wonders for your health. we trolled for a while longer and chucked a few more lures for no more hook ups so went back to camp for lunch and a shower.
hit the water at about 2pm headed up to sth B arm to have a look as i had not been that far up the dam seen a few people trolling and landing a few fish but we found a point where bait was going nuts on the surface and fish showing on the sounder but no takers so we headed back to where we got the barra in the morning for sundown however when we got there a massive storm was moving in so we abandoned the dam for shelter dinner and more drinks.

back on the water at 5 am went to SDA bay for 1 hit but no hook up, so back to my weed bed nothing had a troll around some weedy corners and my mate says i am on again i look but its not going to hard and it has got him into the weed bed then he said its nodding like a snapper i said what he said its nodding like a snapper he finally gets it out of the weed and i get a look at it i said its a snapper all right a snapping turtle, it must of been swimming past and the hook has gone into his foot barbs a quickly squashed on the hooks and a clean release, tried wiggle bay and the sticks near the cattle yard nothing up near white rock nothing went over to C liked it there had 1 hit but dropped it headed home at 11 am for the drive back .

On a sad note i seen 3 dead Barra 1 over a metre in the dam on sunday 1 in the centre of the main basin ,1 up past the entrance to sda bay and 1 in the sticks up past A

shane

DEANO68
23-02-2009, 06:46 PM
good on ya shane, he certainly was a happy chappy back at camp, love the action shots...prob see ya at borumba..
cheers deano..8-)

eotbmg
23-02-2009, 06:56 PM
Nice stuff Shane. Your report has me all fired up ready to go again. I thought the fog may have been inside the cranium after a bottle of rum!!!! Funny how the body survives on a lack of sleep and how that feeling is lost with silver on the mat!
Congrats mate

robersl
23-02-2009, 07:32 PM
Hi Ben , i knew i drank half the litre bottle went for a stagger to the tent and came back and could not find my rum the devil drink i found it at lunch time next day i think deano hid it in my tent on me ,i was ratcrap all morning could not even find my wallet and it had 400 dollars in it my mate said we should go look for it and i told him barra fishing comes first but i found it in the boot at lunch time anyway so all was well

shane

Steve B
23-02-2009, 07:38 PM
Great report Shane,

I wished I had of got out there to catch up with you and all the other crew....you learnt a rum lesson......these boys will lead you astray!!;);D

great pics....I really love the action shot down the line..

cheers Steve

flatzie
23-02-2009, 08:10 PM
Good stuff Shane
You are sure hooked on those Dam barra now! You better lay off the hard stuff though!
Flatzie

eotbmg
23-02-2009, 08:30 PM
Hi Ben , i knew i drank half the litre bottle went for a stagger to the tent and came back and could not find my rum the devil drink i found it at lunch time next day i think deano hid it in my tent on me ,i was ratcrap all morning could not even find my wallet and it had 400 dollars in it my mate said we should go look for it and i told him barra fishing comes first but i found it in the boot at lunch time anyway so all was well

shane

Mate i am an absolute shocker for misplacing stuff, i dont need rum. For some reason my brain goes into a vortex whilst on the boat or unloading it and putting it into place. Very frustrating. I must have lost my Owner hat 3 or 4 times. Steve B found it on the road in between MOndy and Gin Gin!

nipsta
23-02-2009, 08:47 PM
well done shane all sound like had a cracker of a trip and love the photos might get to meet ya at the bash if every thing goes to plan and cant wait for those night session on the liquid some good storys get told and darryl rendition of the meaning of the letters of the mondy map are fantastic

Whitto
24-02-2009, 06:36 AM
Good Stuff Shayne....Good to meet another Ausfish member.....Your mate certainly enjoyed himself and I reckon on 6 occasions he said he would be back with his kids......Catfish not everyone can catch Catfish;D.....but a Turtle how lucky were you..all good fun;D....C U at the Bash...Cheers

Pete62
24-02-2009, 08:37 AM
Great report and pics Shane, thanks for sharing, sounds like u guys had a ball of a weekend.
Guess u may have trouble getting the boat out of the yard now, your mate will b watching over the back fence.

Cheer's Pete.

robersl
24-02-2009, 12:53 PM
Yes we had a great time i think i wore my mate out he slept from gin gin to maryborough he thought it was great weekend and will go back again always good to meet people and have a chat you learn a bit from everyone you talk to,
I threw everything at the fish ,i had in the tackle box from squidies to shadalicious ,hollowbellies ,shallow divers and deepdivers even chucked a bucktail jig with the feathers on to try for a while but to no avail

shane

vinny78
24-02-2009, 07:02 PM
Shane, that first pic is a ripper. If that doesn't make you feel like launching the boat right this minute, then I don't know what would... awesome.

Cheers, Andrew

robersl
24-02-2009, 07:15 PM
Yeh thanks andrew i was a bit slow on the camera button i pushed while he was in mid air that would of been a better shot rod tip,tight line barra, mid air i will get it right 1 day lol

shane

BR65
24-02-2009, 07:45 PM
Nice work mate, you wernt the only ones hurting on Sunday morn, crew and I were suffering a severe case of coke overdose, least thats what I put it down to, couldnt have been the bundy in all those black cans!

robersl
24-02-2009, 08:31 PM
yeh brian to much sugar i reckon as well had nothing to do with the rum mate it's distilled how did the weekend go fish wise mate

shane

BR65
24-02-2009, 08:42 PM
yeah, not bad mate, 83, 95, 100 and 106 for me, one dropped fish for the crew, 97 and 98 for Noels boat, I'll wack up a report and a couple of pics.

BR65
24-02-2009, 09:15 PM
woooooooooops - edited

robersl
25-02-2009, 03:08 PM
well done brian

themissus
25-02-2009, 03:57 PM
Do you guys have any idea how mean and nasty it is to put up all these fantastic reports:'( ::) It's killing me!!
Sounds like a great weekend Shane. You being the skipper get to claim it for the boat::) My skipper always does.:-X
A 95cm is a great way for you mate to open his barra account.
Catch you at the Bash!!
Cheers Kim.

robersl
25-02-2009, 07:10 PM
hi Kim my mate was thrilled at how luckey he was to get the fish where he did , i told him luck had nothing to do with it , it was the skill of the skipper for finding the fish and putting him on then netting it for him.
I can't wait to get back up there myself but i have a darwin trip at the end of april so not sure if i will get back to mondy before then hope to , i will prob get to the bash even if it is overnight to meet a few people

shane

04-03-2009, 10:02 AM
Loved that first shot Shane. It's still spectacular just for the hole in the water it left. Great trip mate and congrats.

The bug has bitten again, but I will have to wait until the 23rd.

robersl
04-03-2009, 12:17 PM
Hi Paul thanks mate was going to blow that up and frame it for my mate just have to wait a few weeks to do it

shane