View Full Version : Thank god for brissie river bream .
chief
21-02-2009, 02:44 PM
Haven't put a report for a while , been a bloody hectic month with Garrett having his surgery but I did sneak to Monduran dam with a couple of mates. What a trip, Rain and humid, a few encounters with black snakes, my mates fuel tank in his fourby packed it in . My electric died on day 3 which was just the iceing on the cake:-[ .I put in 4 solid days of fishing, for 1 barra but at least it cracked the meter mark . The sadest thing is I'm still waiting to get a picture of it off one of the boys:-/ The best experience apart from picking up the barra was for the first 2 days while the leckie worked , getting up the back of a few coves in "b" and flicking zoom horney toads. WOW,I had 2 surface hits that left me speechless and both fish failed to hook up but did I say WOW before:o :o .I would have perfered to pick up my fish on a plastic but I picked it up trolling:( The septic tank picked up a similar fish and the other bloke went quiet for the rest of the trip:'( :'( .We all put in some long long days without even a stinking catfish;D ;D .So 1 hour after I arrived in brissie I was down to BLA to get this motor sorted,so I could hit the river and at least catch some fish8-) . Well its still in the shop and desperation has set in. I fished the river this morning but without the leckie it is just such a pain.I just felt so lost without it but Thank God the bream weren't concerned and i settled into a fun little session. I released about 30 bream all around the 26-27cm mark. I picked up a solid little tailor on the HBs as well. It was good to run into Dave (Callop) We fished the same area for a while chatting between the 2 boats as we flicked a few HBs around and discussed the woes of the world as he too was minus the bow mount (BLA must be flat out;D )Dave I saw you going to try that spot I mentioned,If you read this how did you go.I found last time i fished there the fish were better quality and I was smoked a few times. Anyway it was nice to get into a little bit of action on some light string today. All I need now is my leckie:( :( Cheers ,;D Hey my only pic from monduan is trolling at Dusk :-/
Mitchoo
21-02-2009, 03:02 PM
Those little attomic hards are an awsome lure
thats a sweet tailor
nice effort
tailorboi99
21-02-2009, 03:37 PM
Great job there Chief, always love your reports with the river. Unlucky about the Dam though. Hope you get into the river soon with the electril as well!!!
Tom
21-02-2009, 03:43 PM
Sounds like you had some fun there Chief. ;)
Bad luck about Monduran. I was wondering how you went up there.
385EXPLORER
21-02-2009, 03:56 PM
Congrats on the barra & bnb debut mate,Hope the young fella recovers too.Another top river sesh,did you get all your breambos on the sx?
stessco
21-02-2009, 05:02 PM
bad luck on the elec. great to get a barra. Always mashing those bream in the brissie looks like great fun. cheers stessco
Saltdoggy
21-02-2009, 05:24 PM
Sorry to hear bout the leccy chief! But looks like you got a good session in and the surface in that first pic looks awesome! I thought the wind was going to be up this morning so didn't even think to check! If you don't mind me asking do u prefer to fish closer to the mouth or further down near the break creek area?
Saltdoggy
21-02-2009, 05:31 PM
breakfast creek area*
chief
21-02-2009, 05:33 PM
Mitchoo... There is one particular colour thats bright green and has like a frog pattern. That was a cracker lure ,the bream climbed on it and so did a squire and it found its way deep into some pylons ;D
Tailorboi.. cheers mate.
TOL..We still had a cracker time at the Dam mate even tho it was slow. Everyone we spoke to were all in the same boat. The 2 barra were taken out of my boat so it was still an awsome thrill. Always something to look at while your on the water. I remember casting in a cove where the green grass ran down the slope to the waters edge. Above me there was a clump of scrub with 6 calfs/cows feeding around the rough when one of the cows let out a bellow from hell and the 6 cows trotted off away from the scrub. I kept casting along the edge of the reeds when i heard this thud. I looked up to see one of these beasts flat out and heavy breathing .The other cows milled around pushing the calf with their heads trying to get their mate up but with in minutes it was stone dead. the rain had certainly got those big black snakes on the move. Also I had one rear up on the road as i drove over a cattle grid , I must have scared him and he lunged at my truck ,and then high tailed it into the scrub.HUGE. Still a beautiful and wild place to visit.Its more than just the fishing the place has a spirit of its own.I'll be back.
Hey mate I hope you boys recovered after the shock of the price for that screw for the old Alvey.. ;D
Ben.... cheers mate.I was experimenting today and i used river to sea Baby cranks,
Atomic hardz and the Sx.all lures caught fish but by far the Atomic seemed to be the gun lure. Also wanted to see if i could still have a good session on the anchor without the leckie.I could but i realised how much I use the electric to fish.Its just so easy.
chrisallangler
21-02-2009, 05:33 PM
Nice fish chief, do you still fish "big red" much?
chief
21-02-2009, 06:15 PM
Saltdoggy.... Mate I'm really undecided on that .there is so many spots that hold fish all the way up to the colmslie reach from the mouth and some days i will fish all those spots sometimes in one morning. Depends on the time of the year to and a bit of trial and error to find out where their holding. I can cover all that ground and the yammie 30 will only 10 litres of juice .
Chrisallangler... Sometimes mate but the size of the fish there can be small but at least its consistant. I find the place where you were smoked that day one of the best river bream spots there is but Shhhhhh.
Callop... Sorry mate,Garrett said you rang. Just up the garage filling my tanks. I knew you would be smoked there today. I didn;t even try to fish there without an electric. At least you had the transom mount to at least have a go. Last time I fished it the water looked the cleanest and clearest i'd ever seen in the river. I need my bloody leckie.Dam ;D
wak69
21-02-2009, 06:23 PM
great report chief, hope the young fella recovers quickly, do you mainly use hb lures or plasties as well, i fished the river last week with plasties for the first time with no result, its good fun trying. all the best with bnb..
regards sam...
nuggstar
21-02-2009, 07:02 PM
on ya mate, we both had a great day on the water hehe
Callop
22-02-2009, 12:11 AM
Hi Mate.
After you left I got a nice bream at 31 and then got smoked by an unstopable. The Daiwa drag has not squelled like that for a while. Cut me off on the yellow. No luck on my first visit past the gateway so tried the grain for a while. Unfortunately no snaps. The port boys escorted a cruise liner out to the mouth so while they were busy I headed back under the gateway. Well I only got 2 hits but was smoked both times.That is the downside to using 4lb I suppose.
So I ended up with 3 between 29 and 31 plus your donation but on the upside I get to justify buying 3 lures to replace the lost ones.
chief
22-02-2009, 06:55 AM
Wak69... Hi mate,I have 2 indentical outfits .One is set up with a HB, the other with a jig head.On the day if I'm not getting results with one method it takes 2 seconds to have a plastic in the same area.Depends on the day to which gets the best results but I tend to like the HBs . I love the way bream smack them, Wrote another story for next month and it should help with your plastic attemps.Cheers Sam
Callop... Yellow bust off..I bet you ,it was another tailor. Before you arrived I was watching them thro the spotters.They come thro in a school of 6/7 fish and just exploded into the bait and one fish looked a corker .That last area ,i reckon they were probably squire . ;D ;D I told you there were some quality fish there.I lost a few HBs there last time I fished it.Garrett and myself fished biggest bream in one of the local comps and i lost 10 HBs there in 1 session.Ouch". Just a theory of mine but usually where you have good numbers of squire , the bream there have to compete for food and you usually find the 35 cm and over models standing their ground.Buying new lures,mate ;D ;D Pay with cash ;D
yanjarra
22-02-2009, 11:51 PM
chief...
nice effort...
also given i am looking at grabbing a boat soon myself and will be doing similar style fishing..i.e bream/brissy river i was wondering if you could enlighten me on the benefits you wer elduding to of an electris motor....
i presume its pretty much just the benefit of sneaking around an dnot scaring th e fish is that right?
if this is the case could you give me any tips on using them and also....how far out from where you are fishing should you cut the outboard and switch to the electric generally?
magnum455
23-02-2009, 06:26 AM
Hay Chief just wondering what sort of electric your having probs with?
I bought one at christmas also but so far so good.
LostNearBribie
23-02-2009, 07:59 AM
You are right about the aggression of the HB hit Cheif.
It is very addictive and can make smaller fish seem a lot bigger for the first few seconds!
Junior Gonzo has the boat back this week so no doubt you will see him again soon.
ddobson
23-02-2009, 12:43 PM
Lucky bugger to go to monduran as it is my plan to go this year. Also a jack and a jew was for this year as well but thats another story. Cheers on at least setting the hooks on one of those big brutes. I bumped into one of your fishing mates at the ramp at whytes island last week and another ausfisher on the way back to the ramp. Seems the tip to hit the river has worked. Cheers Chief
RAT-KING
23-02-2009, 01:53 PM
Even with out a leccy u can still produce Great Stuff!!!!
It must b the time of year my kota jst crapped iself a week ago 2!!!
chief
23-02-2009, 02:07 PM
Magnum 455.. I've got a 54 bl bow mount Min Kota. I've had for a couple of years and really it hasn't given me to much strife. It gets used a lot mate but at Mondy it and me copped a fair old drenching in some heavy rain. it was going at least 8 hours a day up there.
Rat-king.. just at work this morning thinking how sore the caps of my shoulders and forearms were. Couldn't work out what I'd been doing different ,and then I thought pulling that dam anchor up over saturday
Yanjarra ... give you a PM
magnum455
23-02-2009, 03:39 PM
Thanks chief I finally got mine new leccy up & running on the weekend after having it since xmas. Its a 55lb Jarvis, gave a run over in the shallows at mud on
the weekend, it pushes the Sea Jay along vey nicely. Time will tell if it stands up as well as a minkota - just couldn't afford one though. Maybe we can hook up for a fish some time & a few tips would be great. We were the guys u talked to the day u got your 1st threadie beside the wharfs & I ran into u at Bulimba creek rampa as well. Hope u get your motor back soon, where is it being repaired??
chief
23-02-2009, 04:29 PM
Magnum 455.. BLA have it mate , should be this week I;ll have it back ready for a week end mission. I remember you mate. I won't forget that day, that first threadie and pulled good snapp a minute before I hooked it. Gotta love fishing the river ;D