View Full Version : Plastic Coated Wire
tailorboi99
21-02-2009, 01:52 PM
Hi all, just wondering where I can get some 2mm-3.5mm plastic coated galvanised steel trace? Also how much is this going to cost?
Cheers Tom
21-02-2009, 01:54 PM
Off mum's hills hoist Tom.
Big wire young fella. What are you going to do with it??
Are you going to be home tomorrow. I have some dodads for you.
Cheers Scott :)
tailorboi99
21-02-2009, 01:56 PM
Sharking mate :). PM
Kleyny
21-02-2009, 03:11 PM
bunnings
neil
tailorboi99
21-02-2009, 03:30 PM
Ok thanks Neil, do you know how much it is???
Tom
21-02-2009, 04:14 PM
You can get stainless wire but without the coating for about $1/m of ebay
tailorboi99
21-02-2009, 04:30 PM
Nah it needs the coating sadly, but cheers Scott.
21-02-2009, 09:18 PM
Heavier plastic coated cables are notorious for not holding with crimps well, you would be better off sliding some plastic tuber over a bare crimped stainless cable.
deepfried
21-02-2009, 10:43 PM
Are you using a car winch as your reel Tom. You must be after Jaws. Pommy and i went out late this arvo and we were only using 50lb heat weld wire and pulled in 4. The biggest went 5' to the tip of the tail. Next time i might go a bit heavier but that stuff works a treat. See if they have heat weld in 100lb, it should be fine for most sharks unless you are after HUGE ones.
21-02-2009, 11:17 PM
the halco crimp kits with the coated stranded wire can be had at any kmart in a variety of breaking strains...the bu=iggest I've seen ther is 80Lb
that should do ya.
try to fish
22-02-2009, 02:17 AM
hi,
try your nearest bcf store as i got one.....40lbs two weeks ago.i think that theyre branded as surecatch product.mine costs less than $10 for 60m.good stuff as you can melt the plastic coating after tying a knot.
tailorboi99
22-02-2009, 07:14 AM
I am trying large stingrays as bait for 8footers hehe. I've been told by many sharkies that I should use Plastic coated wire so that's what I am going to do.
Tom
mattooty
22-02-2009, 10:12 AM
Awww mate, please don't.
I've got a good 10 years on you and 6ft'ers still keep me on my toes. Get yourself used to fighting them in the 3-4ft mark. You'll still have your work cut out, then if you think you've got the body build to handle 1-2hours of solid torture then go chasing them with ray flaps.
22-02-2009, 10:44 AM
Remember it is wise not to try catching fish that are bigger than you:o .....unless you have some seriously experienced help.;D
rockfisho
22-02-2009, 11:26 AM
What sort of gear are you using for sharks? The trace ive got for sharks is a big cable, probs 1.5mm diametre. it has a breaking strain of 500lb. overkill really, but i was given it.
plastic coated wire is generaly made for knotting. 3.5mm wire is basically cable which can hold immense loads. ive used it for guy wires in the past, at that sort of size you will need shackles. The only issue with sharks would be firstly the teeth. It doesnt take huge gauge wire to prevent bite offs, and hte tail rasps they have, but if you make it long enough it will be fine.
Owen
snagking
22-02-2009, 03:33 PM
Remember it is wise not to try catching fish that are bigger than you:o .....unless you have some seriously experienced help.;D
He has a very good point tom ;)
Paulus
22-02-2009, 04:00 PM
If you are looking at crimping it, make sure that you remove the plastic covering.
I used 1mm plastic coated SSwire on my game outfits between hooks and all failed the crimp tests.
The ss wire just pulled out of the plastic cover, a good idea at the time, and a lesson learnt.
Paulus
Keechie
22-02-2009, 05:49 PM
What size hooks are you planning on using, no point running 8/0's and 10/0's on 8 footers, let alone use those size hooks in a stingray. stick with the smaller sharks mate, they are much easier to land. remember a 5 foot shark is pretty much bigger then yourself, so just stick with anything up to 5ft max, as even with 2 it can be difficult to handle a 5 footer!
tailorboi99
22-02-2009, 06:59 PM
Yeah thanks Nic, I was gunna run 16/0's
Tom
rockfisho
22-02-2009, 08:33 PM
yehh, id advise the same as the other blokes, best to target smaller ones first. The run of the mill sharks in the river arent that huge, 4-5 foot or so. 8 foot ones will pull your arms off. After fighting a big bronzie for 30 mins i was rather tired. I couldnt imagine what an 8 foot, 150-200kg shark would do.
16/0s cost a fortune anyway.
what gear are you using Tom?
Owen
gaintsquid
22-02-2009, 11:53 PM
keep targeting the catfish first, then move up to the 2footers.
Feral
23-02-2009, 05:03 AM
Try "plastic dip" on normal 2mm stainless wire after you have made them up, which you can get the wire get from Whitworths. I have not bought any plastic dip for a few years, but basically it is a liquid plastic that is meant for dipping tool handles etc in, when exposed to the air it sets. Its quite flexible, despite the name its really some sort of rubber I think.
tailorboi99
23-02-2009, 04:36 PM
Thanks Feral, got some 800lb today from Bunnings for $15 10M. Owen I'll be using 24kg gear but I'm buying a Penn Senator 116L for a 37kg rod just to have some fun on..
Tom
frankgrimes
23-02-2009, 08:13 PM
Thanks Feral, got some 800lb today from Bunnings for $15 10M. Owen I'll be using 24kg gear but I'm buying a Penn Senator 116L for a 37kg rod just to have some fun on..
Tom
Crikey! 800lb?? Mate that is seriously overkill....For your average estuary/bay shark, 100lb is heaps....leader length should be a little longer than shark you expect to catch, plus a bit extra to allow for body wraps.
As others have already said, sharks can be quite a handful...don't aim for Jaw's straight away ;)
23-02-2009, 08:57 PM
LOL Sorry Tom,. but I don't remember youi posting a report yet for ANY size shark. Why not start with average size sharks and learn the tricks first?
WestOzDesertFisher
23-02-2009, 08:59 PM
Tom
Phaaaaark! Deffinately overkill. Me and my mates use 120-200lb max for big tigers and bronzies up to 10ft over here. I also find coated wire kinks real easy so we use uncoated superflex. Usually 5-6ft of wire and another 5-6ft of heavy mono leader. We use only 10 and 11/0's for hooks, i've seen sharks spooked by big hooks and heavy wire, something to think about. I would suggest getting fit, real fit!
rockfisho
23-02-2009, 09:17 PM
I agree with what has been said. You can land big sharks on light gear. 50 lb doesnt sound like much when you lift it as dead weight in the gym or so. but put a human on the end of a 6 to 8 foot rod and then ask him to break 50 lb (or 37kg ) for that matter over it, and he wont be able to unless hes arnie. Im flat out breaking 30 lb line over my 14 foot surf rod. 800 lb, at that sort of thickness the sharks will probably see the wire. Another rig, which would catch them, but be no fun is a rope tied anchored to land somehow. with a whole beheaded catfish.
I recommend that if you are after fun, then go for nothing more than 30 lb. My cousin (bballfisho) got a 100kg shark up from really really deep water on 50 lb from memory. took him around an hr. 30 should be fine in an estuary where its no deeper than about 4 metres.
Owen
Nico.d.R
24-02-2009, 08:29 PM
hey tom have a look at wellseys tackle they sell it all , but i have to also agree you need some practice on the smaller ones first , even at 5ft they put up a hell off a fight , the 1640mm one i got in the pine nearly had me beat i almost had to hand over the rod to jed , you will see what we mean when you get your first (maybe saturday hey).
pommy
24-02-2009, 10:14 PM
Hey Tom, take care!
On Saturday I watched Deepfried fight a 25kg/5ft shark all the way round the Ballina north Wall! Gutsy fight! He busted a shin on the rocks and was pretty tired after the half hour fight.
Muggins here gaffed it....climbed down the wall...lay on my stomach and got him through the head. Then had to dead pull him up 3m!
That was hard work for an inexperienced guy (ME!).
Start on the small ones first.
Gaffing the other 3, 1m+ sharks we got first was also a real challenge for us both as we are new to this.
Good luck, Rob.
Ballina.