View Full Version : NQ Charter Operator - any comments please ?
patrol50
19-02-2009, 08:55 PM
hi 8-) mate and i are looking very seriously at booking a week long charter in april or may with "Boomerang Sport Fishing" who operate out of Cairns with a a mother ship operation in Princess Charlotte Bay ( few days after Barra few days reef fishing) it looks like it could be a worthwhile adventure - any first hand experience from other Ausfishers who have used or know of this charter re being good or not so good would be very much appreciated as it costs quite few hard earned dollars to fly up and do for the week
any first hand advice much appreciated :-[
rob
patrol50
20-02-2009, 10:16 AM
cant believe no other ausfish member has ever been interested in or on the MV Boomerang Fishing Charter mother ship operating in Princess Charlotte Bay - i cant be the first to look seriously at flying up for a week surely - i did a seach of the archives and there is a mention of the operation in the cairns fishing reports by les marsh from 05 but nothing else i could see - any useful feed back much appreciated
thanks rob
MickS
20-02-2009, 06:08 PM
Can't help Rob, but I am interested in what you find out. I have done most my charters with Dave Donald sportsfishing out of Weipa, so I can help anyone with Weipa information.
I was recently looking for information about the Hinchinbrook area, in the end I just booked someone our accomadation suggested. It is a bit of a gamble though when you spend the amount of money required to stage the trip.
Good luck, and don't forget to post a report after your trip to help any future travellers.
RAT-KING
20-02-2009, 07:01 PM
Hey Rob
dont know anything about the boomerang but i went out on the Norseman a few times and DON"T recommend it!!
Rod Fishing
20-02-2009, 10:58 PM
Mate why go to cairns?
The ville is so uch better.
Xahn1960
21-02-2009, 10:31 AM
Can't help Rob, but I am interested in what you find out. I have done most my charters with Dave Donald sportsfishing out of Weipa, so I can help anyone with Weipa information.
I was recently looking for information about the Hinchinbrook area, in the end I just booked someone our accomadation suggested. It is a bit of a gamble though when you spend the amount of money required to stage the trip.
Good luck, and don't forget to post a report after your trip to help any future travellers.
I'll second that :) Wife and I are heading that way mid year, we'll have our boat but still plan a charter to see what its like. Very interested to hear what people think.
Bill.
patrol50
21-02-2009, 11:39 AM
thanks guys - it looks like its ok so it probably is but a bit of experienced feedback would be good - and yes fishing tville can be amazing and so can mackay and cairns etc but the reason for going is like to try new areas and new adventures and next trip will be to weipa for sure and then to NT and maccas barra camp probably and then maybe back to hinchinbrook towing my boat as probably broke by then and cany afford anymore week long charters - thanks again guys i will post after the trip for sure
best regards rob
Synful
21-02-2009, 08:07 PM
Rob,
I steered another AusFisher the direction of Fishing The Tropics for a charter and he came back with some very sore arms and a bad sunburn...
Don't know if they provide any mother ship charters that you are looking for but their site is at www.fishingthetropics.com.au; (http://www.fishingthetropics.com.au;) you can also contact Les Marsh at www.fishingcairns.com.au (http://www.fishingcairns.com.au), he may have some updated information.
Les specifically refers to MV Boomerang charters here (http://http://www.fishingcairns.com.au/page4-11.html).
patrol50
22-02-2009, 02:58 PM
thank you andrew appreciate the feed back - have bitten the bullet and booked a week on the mv boomerang for 10 to 17 april - cant wait
my best greg
willinvic
10-04-2009, 09:59 AM
greg pm sent .I'm on the boat after greg ,so i reckon we'll meet at musgrave station and hopefully have a beer and chat about how you went. if you do a search on (princess charlotte bay) there's a thread i started for gear to take and a couple of blokes were very helpful with what to take.