View Full Version : Jighead sizes and plastics for 1770 offshore?
Sharkie
16-02-2009, 08:46 AM
G'day guys
Heading upto 1770 hopefully on Thursday night (cancelled the trip this wkd gone thanks to mr low pressure system sitting off Fraser :'( ) and curious about jighead sizes/weights and plastics i should take. We'll be heading out to Fitzroy, Boult and Lamont reefs for an overnight trip. I think the depths vary from 20-60m approx.
I have a few jig head sizes already which include, 8/0 1oz, 8/0 1 1/2oz, 8/0 3/4, 5/0 3/4, and some lighter 5/0's which i'm not sure will be heavy enough for up there as the tide runs so quick.
With regards to plastics i have,
7inch gulps in pink shine, blue/pepper neon (one of my favourites:) ), Nuke chooks, BBQ chooks, tandoori chooks and Cajun chicken.
So my questions are
1. Are the weights of jigheads i have suitable for up there?
2. What weight if any will i need to get to the bottom when the tide is running?
3. And are there any other plastics i should take up with me ie. colours,styles, brands
Sharkie
16-02-2009, 12:23 PM
Oh i forgot to mention we'll be chasing Coral Trout and Red Emperor mainly (not the best season for reds i know) but spanglies and the likes as well. Any help on this would be greatly appreciated :-D
Tetsuo
16-02-2009, 09:15 PM
Anything big, wave worms, saltwater assassins etc.. The Gulps will always work but the softer plastics have much better action. I would take a few jigs along as well.
Make sure you take a heap of jigheads, you may find you will use one size more so it will run out quickly. The sizes you said sound ok. Make sure they have stong hooks too, I have straightened 7/0's up north.
Which line and leader?? The heavier you go the heavier the jig head needs to be. Coral trout will brick you if you go to light, but too heavy and you'll get less action.
Hope that helped a little
Dantren
16-02-2009, 10:34 PM
Definintely stock up before you go.
The local tackle shops are good, but didn't really have much sp gear.
Not exactly a wall of plastics like down here.
The locals mostly fish old school.
very jealous.
TonyM
16-02-2009, 11:20 PM
The advice above sounds good to me
You might like to stock up on a few heavier ones as well, at least I found them handy up there. Heavier jigheads come in very handy for the deeper water, especially with any amount of current. A few 2 oz. 7/0's probably won't go astray
Sharkie
17-02-2009, 09:27 AM
Anything big, wave worms, saltwater assassins etc.. The Gulps will always work but the softer plastics have much better action. I would take a few jigs along as well.
Make sure you take a heap of jigheads, you may find you will use one size more so it will run out quickly. The sizes you said sound ok. Make sure they have stong hooks too, I have straightened 7/0's up north.
Which line and leader?? The heavier you go the heavier the jig head needs to be. Coral trout will brick you if you go to light, but too heavy and you'll get less action.
Hope that helped a little
I'm not too familiar with wave worms and saltwater assassins, where can i pick some up from around ipswich if possible? And yeah i've packed a few knife jigs just in case we run into some big arches lol.
With the jigheads what brand would you recommend? I tend to go towards the TT brand as i know they make pretty good gear.
I'll be using a 5000 Stradic on a wilson LCS medium rated 10-20lb loaded with 20lb fins braid and a 30lb Triumph super shock fluorocarbon leader. How does that sound to you?
Cheers for you replies guys, EXTREMELY helpfull :D many thanks
Sharkie
17-02-2009, 09:29 AM
Definintely stock up before you go.
The local tackle shops are good, but didn't really have much sp gear.
Not exactly a wall of plastics like down here.
The locals mostly fish old school.
very jealous.
Yeah i will stock up before i go. We are planning to get everything we need down here so we can launch as soon as we get there, apart from filling the boat up.
Thanks for that info tho mate, very much appreciated :D
roydsy
17-02-2009, 09:43 AM
Looking forward to report, geez I am long overdue for a 1770 holiday.
Take some 110mm Squidgy Flickbaits in "flash prawn" or "bloodworm" colour as the the trout and just about everything else love them. keep them down on the bottom and bounce them in and out of the trouts hidey holes.... the great thing is that they are inexpensive and work well. http://www.squidgies.com.au/publish/content/global_fish/en/au/squidgy/tails/flickbait.html
have fun
Sharkie
17-02-2009, 10:06 AM
Looking forward to report, geez I am long overdue for a 1770 holiday.
Take some 110mm Squidgy Flickbaits in "flash prawn" or "bloodworm" colour as the the trout and just about everything else love them. keep them down on the bottom and bounce them in and out of the trouts hidey holes.... the great thing is that they are inexpensive and work well. http://www.squidgies.com.au/publish/content/global_fish/en/au/squidgy/tails/flickbait.html
have fun
Hopefully we do well enough to post a report up for ya mate. Yeah we are overdue. PLanned to go last wkd but the weather didn't play the fair game as always. Heading up Thurs morning now, come back sat morning.
I've seen those flick baits, never used them tho. I will definately give them a go. What size jig head do you run them on normally?
Cheers for the reply mate, very helpfull :D
17-02-2009, 10:52 AM
With these big weights and hooks do you fella's like a neutral balance, back down or front down aspect for the plastic??
Sharkie
17-02-2009, 12:22 PM
I've always put the belly side of the plastic to the back of the hook. It's how i was shown my first time using plastics and how i've kept doing it. If this is wrong or there is a better way could someone please let me know lol
Cheers guys
roydsy
17-02-2009, 12:27 PM
I usually use 1/2 oz in 20-30m and 1 Oz in 30+m (but depends on flow... more the flow the more weight).
enjoy your trip
roydsy
I've seen those flick baits, never used them tho. I will definately give them a go. What size jig head do you run them on normally?
Cheers for the reply mate, very helpfull :D
Sharkie
18-02-2009, 12:51 PM
I usually use 1/2 oz in 20-30m and 1 Oz in 30+m (but depends on flow... more the flow the more weight).
enjoy your trip
roydsy
Cheers mate, i'm sure we will.
I'm guessing you cast them up current and let them drift back with the current?
Pual44
18-02-2009, 08:29 PM
Fished 1770 with plastics last October (seems longer ago than that). Had grand plans that did not last long due to popping an insert in the plastics rod. In the short tiime I fished with plastics I lost heaps to those bloody trigger fish. How do I know because one of the other guys in the boast pulled a triggery in with a piece of my nuclear shook in his mouth. The buggers annihilated my plastics in no time. So take plenty with you. I intend to be better equipped this October.
Good luck will be keen to see a report.
Pual
roydsy
18-02-2009, 08:52 PM
Yeah as long as your not fighting wind vs tide your right to cast up current and hopefully have the plastics be under the boat and on the bottom, so you can work them with lots of twitches whilst in the sweet spot (close to under the boat) and wind up half way, then opent he bail and drop the back down... keep working them plastics in the strike zone.
If you find it isnt getting down due too much flow try more weight.
Cheers mate, i'm sure we will.
I'm guessing you cast them up current and let them drift back with the current?