View Full Version : why we ice fish

sparkyice
12-02-2009, 02:50 AM
this is just a video from youtube, i don't know who it is.
now be honest, doesn't this look like fun??

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=P4_E7BRzc68&feature=related

12-02-2009, 05:21 AM
now be honest, doesn't this look like fun??

No, it does not!

I've walked on sea ice. NEVER AGAIN. Scared the crap out of me.

I've fished in near frozen water, my hands are STILL cold.

And I hate wearing all those clothes!

Cheers and thanks,

12-02-2009, 07:02 AM
I might be a simple Queenslander but why would you take the time to cut a hole in the ice so you can fish through it when you can turn around 180 degrees and fish in open waters??
What's the go with the orange floaty on the line between guides??

I'm not real fond of the cold either. The cook and I went to the snow once.
Just the once otherwise I was going to have to get grease nipples put in every joint.

12-02-2009, 07:23 AM
I might be a simple Queenslander but why would you take the time to cut a hole in the ice so you can fish through it when you can turn around 180 degrees and fish in open waters??

Scott, I beleive its to do with.. not fishing too close to an unknown edge :'( I.e if you cut a hole in the ice you can to some degree be assured that you are fishing on solid ground.

Little grey men
12-02-2009, 10:29 AM
To be honest, if that's all that was available I'd give it a go.
After all it is fishing !!!! and they are very beautiful fish.
Thanks for sharing Sparkyice.

Jackinthebox
12-02-2009, 12:12 PM
and you don't have to worry about taking an esky or buying ice from the servo as the fish is already iced down when u catch it!

12-02-2009, 08:59 PM
That's a great find. Thanks Sparky

Chong
12-02-2009, 09:42 PM
Just missing a nice camp fire and a cup of Joy8-) ::) ;D

sparkyice
12-02-2009, 11:34 PM
i can't be certain but i think this was late winter when the ice was breaking up.
waves came in during a north blow and chunked up the thick ice, and it spread out a bit. then after the blow, the wind calmed down, it got very cold, and thin ice formed between the chunks, cementing them together.
the boat was able to break through the skim ice, but you can't fish very well through floating chunks of ice.
they hopped out of the boat, drilled some holes, and "bob's your uncle"

the floaty is a slip bobber, it sags down between the guides.
the bait is below a slip sinker, which rests on the bottom.
when a fish takes the bait, the line goes out through the sinker with no resistance, the line free spolls off the reel, and the floaty dances a bit, indicating a strike.
this works in open water too.

13-02-2009, 06:40 AM
the floaty is a slip bobber, it sags down between the guides.
the bait is below a slip sinker, which rests on the bottom.
when a fish takes the bait, the line goes out through the sinker with no resistance, the line free spolls off the reel, and the floaty dances a bit, indicating a strike.
this works in open water too.
Ah so....that's why I can't catch fish.
I need a crabpot float on the line between the guides ::)

Thanks for the info mate :)

13-02-2009, 08:19 AM
What's the go with the orange floaty on the line between guides??

I'm not real fond of the cold either. The cook and I went to the snow once.
Just the once otherwise I was going to have to get grease nipples put in every joint.

Thems not open waters it is just really thin ice and slurry. Bait would just land and bounce

If you cast you would need lead and some fish are in the warm water layer just under the ice as there is smaller fish that feed on algae on underside of ice.

Never done it but like the idea of doing it in a fishing shed .

The expensive thermal clothing is amazingy thin and layered but yeah it ain't the same as thongs and stubbies with sun on your back.

bdowdy
13-02-2009, 09:41 AM
great stuff,thanks for showing.brett

13-02-2009, 10:01 AM
I'm learning so much about ice fishing.
All makes sense when someone explains it all.
So thanks fella's :)
We must just be lucky to be able to fish in Australia.

therapy
13-02-2009, 10:39 PM
So it would appear the colder the weather, the smaller the pole?!?! There is something in that because if you go up the beach on a hot summers day, all the bloke's have the big pole's out...... fishing that is.... anyway,great vid there mate... beside the possibility of frostbite, it does look like big fun...with small pole's.....

Cheers............Terry..............

Tassie JR
26-02-2009, 07:40 PM

Also they have a perfectly good boat right next to them to stand in:-/ , im sure thats pretty safe::).

cheers tassie JR

oldballs
27-02-2009, 06:02 AM
Ihave recently moved from the sun shine and warmth of Brisbane to -24 deg:o in Sweden and have enjoyed many ice fishing tripes over the winter.

The resean for the hole in the ice rather than fishing in the open water is the fish can not see you so easly throgh the ice.

The floating device between the runners on the rode are so ice wich forms on the line comes of for a smoth run back to the reel.

When this is the only means of fishing over the winter here i will take it any day over not fishing at all.

Will post some photos soon for those who are intereseted.

rgds oldballs;D

Runamuck
27-02-2009, 08:28 AM
Sounds cool!! Can you send some pics ?

Runamuck

oldballs
02-03-2009, 04:52 AM
some ice fishing pics from last week in the south of sweden.
not large fish but when you find them they are in numbers.
temperature minus 21 deg
awaiting spring /summer for the annual samon run.
up to 20 kg fish

rgds oldballs