View Full Version : any good trevs around the sunny coast?

Nico.d.R
11-02-2009, 08:12 PM
heading up to the sunshine coast next weekend and was wondering if there are any good size trevs getting around and what area's they are at most ?

cheers nico

nickstock
12-02-2009, 07:39 AM
G'Day Nico,

I lived there for about 8 years and never caught a Trv over about3 kgs with most being around the 1.5 - 2.5 kgs mark. A few years after I moved there ( about 1999) a bloke caught a few nice Trevors - one at 5.5 kgs and one just under 7 kgs. These were caught whilst trolling small hard bodies pout the front of the Life saving depo , in between the woods bays and the Sheridan Hotel road Bridge.

If you have a boat just flick soft plastics and rios prawns around the back stretch from Munna Point to the woods bays, or you can troll in the same areas. You can also walk the banks of these areas too with good results.

If you are heading up the river, fish the first bend after you come to the ferry crossing. There is a rock ledge that runs under the water ( and a small rockwall on the bank). This usually hold good sized Goldens and G.T's and if fishing with Live Herring or Live Prawns, you can be sure to get a nice by-catch consiting of anything from Jacks, Flathead, big Bream, small Jewies (2-5kgs) large Estuary Cod and the odd Threadfin. A mate pulled a 9 kgs Thready from here about 8 years ago on a big live Prawn fished in the shallows on the mud banks across from it.

Another option (my favourite) is to flick baby raiders in the wash off Fairy Pools and Hells Gates. I have caught some nice fish doing this. If the weather permits you can also put out a whole pillie as there are some big Jewies and Spangleds living there . Be very cautious of the waves though.

Nick

bballfisho
12-02-2009, 10:19 AM
they are around the river month (noosa) at the moment chasing the massive schools of herring hang around there, use livies and lures on dusk, got a nice 1.5kg big eye on a popper at the back of the frying pan also, there was also some tarpon (i think) busting up but i couldnt hook them

Nico.d.R
12-02-2009, 05:48 PM
thanks guys , i have been going up to noosa a bit in the last year and have fished most of them spots between the ramp and the mouth ( the long nose trev in my pic is from near the sheridon bridge) , im thinking of going maroochy or kawana some where a bit different . last time at noosa we saw a school of GT's and big eyes and the GT's were between 50cm upto 1m but they were down low in the water and had no interest in our lures . noosa is such a nice spot i might just go there again . do the bigger trevs normally feed out the front of the bar or do they cruise the rivers like the smaller ones for a feed ?

cheers nico

armoz
12-02-2009, 09:55 PM
Nico,
If you want some nice trevors, hit the rocks at happys on a rising to high tide on dusk. I haven't been this year (as moved north) but we would generally catch a couple of nice trevors of at least 3Kg, avg fish 5kg with a few nice tailor to boot. Theres a few good spots out there that the locals won't share but thats a great place to flick some lures!

Nico.d.R
12-02-2009, 11:35 PM
thanks mate , i noticed that "most" ;D locals are pretty hush hush 8-) about there spots , but i was lucky and have been shown a few spots when i first went up there to fish and have also found some nice spots myself . there are so many good looking spots around where i have fished and so much of the river i have not even seen yet , i might have to move up there so i can fish more off the river;D

RAT-KING
13-02-2009, 12:39 PM
Hey amoz

hit the rocks at happys Where is that?

Cheers Simon

nickstock
13-02-2009, 05:47 PM
thanks guys , i have been going up to noosa a bit in the last year and have fished most of them spots between the ramp and the mouth ( the long nose trev in my pic is from near the sheridon bridge) , im thinking of going maroochy or kawana some where a bit different . last time at noosa we saw a school of GT's and big eyes and the GT's were between 50cm upto 1m but they were down low in the water and had no interest in our lures . noosa is such a nice spot i might just go there again . do the bigger trevs normally feed out the front of the bar or do they cruise the rivers like the smaller ones for a feed ?

cheers nico

That is the problem, many years ago when the bar was quiet deep, there were good numbers of Trevs and Big Jews coming and going with the tides.

For the last 5 or so years I have not heard of a Trev over about 4kgs or Jews over about 10 kgs in the river.

A 100cm GT that you saw would be an absolute ripper, I have never seen a fish like that in Noosa. Put it this way a 104 cms GT from my local river up north weighed 14 kgs.

imnotoriginal
13-02-2009, 06:42 PM
Hey amoz

hit the rocks at happys Where is that?

Cheers Simon

I think he means Happy Valley at Caloundra. I've seen a few fellas flicking slugs there for tailor, trevs and even a mack or two at the right time of year.
Joel

Nico.d.R
13-02-2009, 09:18 PM
how have you been joel , have you been out latly ?