View Full Version : Project-STEEZ

alphas
10-02-2009, 10:10 PM
I have decided to give the ol' steez the once over....paint,bearings,handle etc..
Thought for those interested I will update as I complete each step..
First up will be paint.Decided to do the outer plates in candy blue,the candy effect givig it many different hues through the color range..
Lightly sanded each end with 2000 grit paper to rough up the surface in preperation for the primer

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4857.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4855.jpg

A quick wipe down with wax and grease remover before priming

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4858.jpg

Hardb8
10-02-2009, 10:20 PM
Sweet Mick,
Lookin foward to followin this thread.

Cheers. B8.

TonyM
10-02-2009, 10:20 PM
I look forward to watching your progress Mick. I've read a few of these type of projects on TackleTour and they can be a work of art. (I particularly like the Marvel Supeheroes collection) :)

Wish I had an old Steez to rebuild (heck a new one would do too) :P

alphas
10-02-2009, 10:35 PM
Thanks for the photo tips Tony:)

Then a ground coat of ice blue...It is mainly silver with a slight tint of blue to give the top coat a sparkle effect.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4861.jpg

alphas
10-02-2009, 10:45 PM
I look forward to watching your progress Mick. I've read a few of these type of projects on TackleTour and they can be a work of art. (I particularly like the Marvel Supeheroes collection) :)

Wish I had an old Steez to rebuild (heck a new one would do too) :P

Know what you mean about tackletour...where I drew inspiration from;)
Got this reel REALLY cheap on e-bay,dude bought it and could'nt use it...
(the 4lb fireline on it when it arrived probably did'nt help his cause..)
So I thought this would be the perfect reel to start on..
Going for broke on this-replacing as many bearings as I can with ceramics to see how low I can get the weight down from the standard 155grms...
Should be a fun ride8-)

LostNearBribie
10-02-2009, 11:15 PM
OK, tell us, how cheap is REALLY cheap?
Looks like a great project mate.

alphas
10-02-2009, 11:22 PM
It was between $249 and $251;) No body bid on it so I got it....

alphas
10-02-2009, 11:28 PM
This is the first full coat of the top coat-ice blue..
Photos don't do it justice as it is a deep royal blue without the flash..
Will let it harden overnight before a rub down with 2000 grit-wet in preparation for the clear over coat..Had enough fumes for one night:o Will take photos in different light settings to show the full effect of the paint.

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4862.jpg

TonyM
10-02-2009, 11:41 PM
It was between $249 and $251;) No body bid on it so I got it....

Good score!

Now it's so popular it's a lot harder but there's still some bargains to be had on ebay, that's spectacular :)

plastic_paul
11-02-2009, 05:32 AM
this is an awesome thread, i'll definetly be following this!!

Jungle Jim
11-02-2009, 08:38 AM
geez mate talk about gung ho...
it was less than a week ago you were telling me about this starting this little project.
And to put the pics up as you were doing it takes some dedication.

Im very impressed...

Tony the superhereos collection.....that Capt America reel and the white bbs gets me everytime... drool.

JIM

LostNearBribie
11-02-2009, 10:44 AM
Awesome...
$250 even more awesome!

andy86
11-02-2009, 04:58 PM
awesome thread... the steez will look amazing..

can someone post a link to some of te rebuilds on tackle tour?? had a look around and cant seem to find them

thanks guys...

flairj
11-02-2009, 05:06 PM
This is going to be tackle porn I'm sure ;D ;D ;D

Hardb8
11-02-2009, 10:19 PM
http://www.tackletour.com/reviewcustomreels.html

Here ya go 86,
Enjoy.....TT is a cool site.Full of like minded anglers.There are some passionant enthusiasts there,And alot to be learned.8-)

G'day alphas,
Comin along nicely m8.Are you gonna do the main body of the reel aswell,Or just the two outter side plates?

Regards. B8.;)

Roo
12-02-2009, 10:22 AM
geez mate talk about gung ho...
it was less than a week ago you were telling me about this starting this little project.
And to put the pics up as you were doing it takes some dedication.

Im very impressed...

Tony the superhereos collection.....that Capt America reel and the white bbs gets me everytime... drool.

JIM

Here ya go 86,
Enjoy.....TT is a cool site.Full of like minded anglers.There are some passionant enthusiasts there,And alot to be learned.8-)

G'day alphas,
Comin along nicely m8.Are you gonna do the main body of the reel aswell,Or just the two outter side plates?

Regards. B8.;)

Just read the TT articles.......got wood. Now I am really spewin I didn't grab one of the Alphas F models that were going so cheap late last year from Japan. Only reason I didn't was I was worried about the raw finish coping with some occasional salt work......a lick of paint would have fixed that!!!

looking forward to seeing your results Aplhas.

Cheers Roo.

wheezer
12-02-2009, 11:00 AM
Roo you have PM!

flairj
12-02-2009, 04:32 PM
I'm really interested in this idea now and have a few reels I might like to have a shot at pimping.

If you wouldn't mind, could you give us some good detail, brands of paint and any pitfalls encountered.

Thanks, Josh

alphas
12-02-2009, 08:22 PM
Thank you all for the encouragement!!It would be great if this forum had an enthusiast section,something to think about....

Here ya go 86,

G'day alphas,

Regards. B8.;)
Hey B8,when I started I planned only to do the outer side plates,just to see how it looks-the gunmetal grey/candy blue should compliment each other...I have noted the number of coats so I could match the main body later..What do you think I should do???I also plan on putting the japanese text for "custom"on the non-handle sign in white before the clear coat goes on..open to thoughts8-)

I'm really interested in this idea now and have a few reels I might like to have a shot at pimping.

If you wouldn't mind, could you give us some good detail, brands of paint and any pitfalls encountered.

Thanks, Josh

Hi Josh, I am NO WAY an accreditted painter,so please no one flame me if this isn't the right way to do things..but seeing as you have asked I will tell you.
The paint I got was from Autobarn,they mix and pressurise spray cans in shop as you wait....I used acrylic as the plastic/magnesium mix on the steez was a consideration,was'nt sure what enamel would do to the magnesium..
I used plastic primer on the plastic and an all in one on the magnesium.
The biggest pitfall thus far has been the clear coat..I got some off a friend who used to work for House of kolor(big name custom paint mob)Told me it would be fine for the job....Totally wrong...The reason I have not been able to give you an update is because I have had to start again on the magnesium side.The clear was'nt compatable with the acrylic and dulled the paint.Used thinners to remove it all and have started again-laying the primer again tonight..
I have a spray booth near me here and they are going to to do it for me next time they have some two pack clear in the gun...problem sorted.
So I will be re-laying coats tonight and tomorrow and handing them the bits next week..

Hardb8
12-02-2009, 09:15 PM
Hi Mick-san,Genki? :chinese: 8-)
I think you should do whatever your original idea is.8-)

You have obviously planned,And thought about this project for a while.And personally,I'd like to see your reel.....Not one that has influenced by myself.

I think your ideas are sweet from what you mention.I have seen a Steez at TT that had the two outter plates done in burnt orange,And the frame was just clear coated.It looked unreal.I have an idea of what yours will turn out like,And I reckon it will be great.

As you mention you have the option later to do the frame,If "YOU" so desire.

Your idea of the Japanese text on the side will definantly be a winner if your calligraphy is good.Classy touch.;)

I have had my own scheme in the works for my Steez for a while also.

I hope to replicate the finish on my Meigeki,Black with metallic brown spots.
Scan the text on the right side plate,Of a right handed Pixy (Engineered by Daiwa) and transfer it to the same location on my Steez.On my left side plate will be :- Hardb8 tuned,with a picture of a skull backed by two crossed cuttless's.(Jolly Roger with swords instead of bones) All my decals I plan on getting my friend to make on the computer.Get them printed in gold,And apply them before the clear finish coats go on the reel.

I just can't find the time.:(

Lookin foward to seeing ya finished product.

Following this with intrest. B8-san.;D

alphas
12-02-2009, 10:25 PM
Hi Mick-san,Genki? :chinese: 8-)

:chinese: Hai wakarimasu! Anata wa eigo o hanashimasu ka ?:chinese: 8-)

Cheers B8,your thoughts are appreciated...That combo you have in mind would be an eye opener!!A definate one of a kind..Only doing the reel for kicks,something to do while I'm here at work..

Will keep updated as things progress;D

Lovin the samurai poses ;)

Hardb8
13-02-2009, 12:02 AM
Anata wa eigo o hanashimasu ka ?

lie wakarimasen ;D

Cheers B8,your thoughts are appreciated...That combo you have in mind would be an eye opener!!A definate one of a kind

Do itashi mashite...Domo arigato gozaimasu. ;)

Lovin the samurai poses ;)

Alphas-san.....Don't go there.;D You may spur me to reply in a particular thread.And wright some wrongs.:rifle: ATM,I'm holding my tongue.:-X

Konbanwa.....B8-san.;) :chinese: way 2 8-)

Roo
13-02-2009, 09:09 AM
lie wakarimasen ;D

Do itashi mashite...Domo arigato gozaimasu. ;)

Alphas-san.....Don't go there.;D You may spur me to reply in a particular thread.And wright some wrongs.:rifle: ATM,I'm holding my tongue.:-X

Konbanwa.....B8-san.;) :chinese: way 2 8-)

Its all greek to me:P

alphas
13-02-2009, 12:40 PM
lie wakarimasen ;D

Ha you have got a good sense of humor,B8...No what you mean about the pose thing:-X :-X :-X

Toire wa doko desu ka?;)

Roo
13-02-2009, 01:31 PM
Toire wa doko desu ka?;)

Lie, wakarimasen....Yes but By the Power of Google!!!!...Its out the back mate. Check for spiders tho'.::)

Jungle Jim
13-02-2009, 03:51 PM
I tried typing “look how clever i am i found this on google” in to the english Japanese translator...However my translator no comprende :-/

Alphas san do we have an update on the paint job ka...

Many fujibishi wasabi desu

JIM

alphas
13-02-2009, 04:52 PM
;) Well done all...bit o'fun:chinese:

Nah Jim,no more has been done mate...ordered some of the ceramic bearings from B.S.C today,painting is now all done and will drop off for the clearcoat on monday...have a good weekend;D

alphas
17-02-2009, 09:21 PM
Update...

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4880.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4875.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4876-1.jpg

One side to go...;D

TonyM
17-02-2009, 09:42 PM
Great work Mick san!

It's looking classy, can't wait to see the finished product.

You've got me inspired now, I've been scouring the net looking for a good deal on a Pixy so I can make a PixZilla (have wanted to do that for ages)

BarraBandit
17-02-2009, 09:45 PM
I love the job, it has really come up good. How much do you want. :P

Lol. Joke.

I might need to give it a shot. Cant wait to see the finished peice.

alphas
17-02-2009, 09:52 PM
Great work Mick san!

It's looking classy, can't wait to see the finished product.

You've got me inspired now, I've been scouring the net looking for a good deal on a Pixy so I can make a PixZilla (have wanted to do that for ages)

Thanks Tony,I too have been looking around for a good priced-second hand pixy...Way too much $ tho:-/

Jungle Jim
18-02-2009, 08:36 AM
Update...

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4880.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4875.jpghttp://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4876-1.jpg

One side to go...;D

holy sh!t..........that looks as good as a factory job. tdz i'ze custom springs to mind.
:laola:
GIVE THIS MAN A ROUND OF APPLAUSE :laola:

Jungle Jim
18-02-2009, 08:40 AM
Thanks Tony,I too have been looking around for a good priced-second hand pixy...Way too much $ tho:-/

No wonder the price of second hand pixies is so high... it seems you, me, tony m and half the world are looking for pre loved pixy’s to do up...i can’t bring myself to use my nib one so am also looking for mechanically sound cosmetically average example;)

JIM

LostNearBribie
18-02-2009, 09:15 AM
What a fantastic job you have done.
Awesome looking reel mate.
Always nice to have something original.

Tetsuo
18-02-2009, 08:13 PM
I am impressed and inspired, great thread.

I think Duncan has new pixies if anyone wants one.

BarraBandit
19-02-2009, 08:50 AM
Send me a PM if you know a price :P

Jungle Jim
19-02-2009, 10:25 AM
Ladies and gentlemen

The world’s first Periwinkle Blue - STEEZ

JIM

alphas
19-02-2009, 10:52 PM
Have changed color...
I showed the finished side to a mate and he said"...yeah great color,all it needs now is a twitchin bar and it could be a Viento!"..so magenta is the new hue.
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4881.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4882-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4883-1.jpg

Blacksheep
19-02-2009, 11:02 PM
Mick-San,
The Blue did look a bit Vientoish, but the new colour looks a treat!
Did the reel have many impurities in the shell when you purchased it, any nicks or anything like that? I guess being Air-metal you would have to be careful with how much rubbing you do. Did you flip it over to get the inside edges painted as well?
I would love to get a list from you of things you did, right or wrong once you've finished the project. I have some ideas for a few reels but want to learn as much as possible about prep and paint before trying my own.

Thanks for keeping us all up to date, can't wait to see the finished Magenta colour.

Shane

TonyM
19-02-2009, 11:05 PM
hehe Got to admire when anyone is so quick to change the plan when needed!

It looks even faster now!

Love your work

alphas
19-02-2009, 11:23 PM
Did the reel have many impurities in the shell when you purchased it, any nicks or anything like that? I guess being Air-metal you would have to be careful with how much rubbing you do. Did you flip it over to get the inside edges painted as well?

Hi Shane,
Both sides are painted on the inside edges,they are slightly visible when the reel is together.You do have to be careful with the magnesium side,it has a coating which is visible in the top photo of my last post..you also must remove all of the paint on the plastic side or it lifts as you apply coats of color..found this out the hard way:-[ It had no nicks on it when I got the reel..

hehe Got to admire when anyone is so quick to change the plan when needed!

It looks even faster now!

Love your work

Thanks mate,
Was'nt getting the full effect of the candy paint with the blue..this color should work a treat!!I have seen it on a car and the effect was great,also no other daiwa reel comes in this color-no more VIENTO;D

alphas
19-02-2009, 11:27 PM
I am impressed and inspired, great thread.

I think Duncan has new pixies if anyone wants one.
Hi Tetsuo,he does have a red one...$499.. ouch:o

plastic_paul
20-02-2009, 03:56 AM
im horny, and sourcing cheap mechanically sound reels for upgrades.... lol

Jungle Jim
20-02-2009, 09:14 AM
RIP periwinkle blue...good to see you found something else to try.

Probably a good thing really...if it had have been finished in the blue colour scheme by now you would have had have a pm saying “how much for the blue steez?”
;D
JIM

BarraBandit
20-02-2009, 07:44 PM
Hey guys,

I wouldent have worried what somone said... looked AWSOME in blue... but then again, I just sold my Viento.

Both colours look good, I wonder what a **reel** in **colour** looks like... might need to hunt one down and try it. Will post if I find one and do it up. :)

Talk soon,
Bandit,

alphas
25-02-2009, 09:06 PM
Quick update..
Found another sideplate,with the steez engraved screw(amazing what you can find on the internet;) )
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4902-1.jpg

So I painted the new sideplate up and put on one of those decals you get with plastic models..
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4887-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4894-1.jpg

Tried to paint "custom"in japanese,but it was too difficult..Looks like this
習慣 ..so tried another text,but was'nt happy with it..
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4873-1.jpg
All pieces are getting finished in two pack clear tomorrow,will then leave them to harden for 2 days and then rub them back with firstly 2000 grit wet/dry and then 4000w/d ...then a quick cut and polish and then re-assemble for more pics8-)
On the lookout for some full ceramic bearings tonite,going to weigh the reel before and after the new bearings are installed..Will post as I go.

LostNearBribie
25-02-2009, 10:29 PM
I love that Steez logo.
Dial looks great.

nuggstar
25-02-2009, 10:42 PM
now thats fancy

alphas
26-02-2009, 10:47 PM
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4922-2.jpg

Done!

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4923-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4937-1-1.jpg

alphas
26-02-2009, 11:12 PM
http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4925-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4910-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4926-1.jpg

Blacksheep
27-02-2009, 11:14 AM
Mick-San,

That looks awesome mate!!!! Hats off to you!!!!! I like the Magenta better than the Periwinkle Blue as Jim calls it. And the new Steez knob looks sweet too!

Shane

Jungle Jim
27-02-2009, 11:37 AM
Great job mate-well done***

JIm

LostNearBribie
27-02-2009, 01:20 PM
Full points to you mate.
That is fantastic.
Hope it catches you many...

alphas
27-02-2009, 01:45 PM
Those shots last night were a bit blurred,shot in dark shed!!
Here are some more in full sunlight-http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4941-1.jpg

http://i697.photobucket.com/albums/vv336/nediazanneis/IMG_4942-1-1.jpg

The paint really works well in sunlight..In the top photo,the right hand side is the color in low light conditions,a really dark maroon...it lightens to the color shown on the other case when the light reflects on it.;D

27-02-2009, 02:34 PM
Mick ....... What a cracker of a job - looks absolutely fantastic.

I'm looking at my steez thinking "Should I " :P

Good stuff

alphas
27-02-2009, 03:51 PM
Mick ....... What a cracker of a job - looks absolutely fantastic.

I'm looking at my steez thinking "Should I " :P

Good stuff

Hi Chris..I'm surprised that the steez even gets a look at now you have the new GT3 porsche/HLC...Samurai combo;)
Good to hear you like your new gear8-)

27-02-2009, 04:08 PM
Hi Chris..I'm surprised that the steez even gets a look at now you have the new GT3 porsche/HLC...Samurai combo;)
Good to hear you like your new gear8-)

Steez is still much loved ....... just put the Erskine drag upgrade in it .8-) now I just need another Samurai for the Steez :P .......

Crumbo
28-02-2009, 07:35 PM
Awesome, That is one very cool looking reel!