View Full Version : First trip to Mud, first snap for the boat!
Saltdoggy
09-02-2009, 08:05 PM
Arrived at work this morning at about 6:30 and by 7:30 i was heading back to my place to get the boat to head out to mud with a mate from work (ricehole), we arrived at mud by about 9:30/10ish and casted around a heap of different placcys to see what we could stir up, and it didn't take too long before we started getting some hits, first fish went to me, a parrot at around 31cm on a 2" berkley shrimp, and not too log after a ricehole blew my fish away with a snapper over 40cm on a 3" powerbait! We were pretty stoked after that and kept throwing plastics around till 2:30 but pulled no more keepers out of the blue. We caught plenty of grunter and stripy looking fish( not sure what they were, small wrass maybe?) and even a pike which got smashed on riceys line later on but whatever it was wouldn't eat the hook too! All in all, a great day out, i just wish the snap was on my plate tonight...
tailorboi99
09-02-2009, 08:11 PM
Great Squire mate, also nice tusky.
Tom
09-02-2009, 09:11 PM
Well done guys.
I am guessing the 2" shrimp may have been banana prawn? Try the 3" in that colour and dead stick it, provided you fish rubble areas without too much coral to snag on.
The parrot are around in droves, resulting in heaps of lost placcies, or nipped tails, was that the case? Good luck next time, you'll both have snaps on the table. Do I think there will be a next time? ::) ::) ;)
RAT-KING
09-02-2009, 09:58 PM
Well done Ben
good 2 see u finally went out there!
Cheers Simon
work2fish
09-02-2009, 11:48 PM
Nice work i nearly went out there myself early this morn
oh well next time
W2F
Saltdoggy
10-02-2009, 05:49 AM
Yeah scalem, that's pretty much it, sometimes we only got the jig head back, the plastic was totally ripped off! The shrimp was a nuclear chicken! But after the parrot, i could only get grinners on that colour! So i had to take him off!
Simon, yeah it was a spare of the moment thing, but so glad i did, it was a great day out!
goggles
10-02-2009, 09:04 AM
Mate must habe been a good day on the bay watched plenty of boats heading out yesterday morning before 7am. Wayno
Mossy247
10-02-2009, 12:32 PM
Yeah nice little session there last minute. Where abouts do you work, I need to fnd work collegues like yours :)
T H I R S T Y
10-02-2009, 03:41 PM
nice snapper boys . looks extremely tasty . gotta love those 3 inch power baits ....
slyman
10-02-2009, 03:58 PM
Well done guys! Give the 1 and 2 inch peeler crabs a go for those tuskies too... ;)
Saltdoggy
10-02-2009, 05:14 PM
there wasn't much wind around at all, not enough to scare us away anyway, i'll be right onto those peeler crabs too slyman, ate the parrot last night and i reckon that won't be the last time either!