View Full Version : Daiwa Zillion Pe

09-02-2009, 07:21 PM
Hi All

I'm looking at adding one more reel to my barra arsenal & just after some opinions on the Daiwa Zillion PE.
Aside from looking a treat:gorgeous: , being lighter , more bearings , upgraded gears , faster level wind & bigger handle ...... compared to a std Zillion ......... Is the reel as good as it reads ..... or not ?

Thanks in anticipation

marty+jojo
09-02-2009, 07:23 PM
Of course it is, you know you want it, so go on buy it.
Marty.

09-02-2009, 07:40 PM
Of course it is, you know you want it, so go on buy it.
Marty.

Marty ..... I need positive reinforcement that my choice is the right one;) ;D

I own a couple of standard Zillions which I'm reasonably happy with ........ but my Steez shites over them ......... but lacks capacity when using 30-40lb braid
I'm hoping that the PE would fill the gap between the two ....... & make a quality point casting reel.

5Zigen
09-02-2009, 09:14 PM
Line capacity might still be an issue with the PE, especially since u already find the Steez lacking in this department Nagg.

It was a little alarming for me too, when I discovered how little line the spool can accomodate (20 and 30lb Nitlon PE) but thats only because my reels get used for both barra and kings/jews. I doubt a barra will spool a PE but a good sized king could! Thats why I always make sure my drags are set properly.

So unless ur a big fan of trolling deep deep divers, the Zillion PE will be fine :)

TonyM
09-02-2009, 10:43 PM
I agree with Marty - hey you only live once!

Maybe what you really want is this? ;D

http://www.ichibantackle.com/picture/9373trs100p_used_0812_1_2.jpg

Or what about the Deps Zillion? Who cares about function anyway, just get a few more spotlights for the cabinet :LMAO: (sorry couldn't help myself)

I'm just jealous because I haven't bought any new toys this year :'(

sleepygreg
09-02-2009, 11:17 PM
looks like a cheap chinese toy

Hardb8
09-02-2009, 11:19 PM
No arsenal is complete without a round one.;)

You know you wanna.;D

B8.:)

TonyM
09-02-2009, 11:21 PM
looks like a cheap chinese toy

Greg, I agree that the flames are more than a little over the top :)

Although it's an expensive Japanese toy :D

Hardb8 is closer to the money I think 8-)

10-02-2009, 06:17 AM
Line capacity might still be an issue with the PE, especially since u already find the Steez lacking in this department Nagg.

It was a little alarming for me too, when I discovered how little line the spool can accomodate (20 and 30lb Nitlon PE) but thats only because my reels get used for both barra and kings/jews. I doubt a barra will spool a PE but a good sized king could! Thats why I always make sure my drags are set properly.

So unless ur a big fan of trolling deep deep divers, the Zillion PE will be fine :)

Thanks 5Z ..... It will be used for casting only
Unfortunately you loose distance as the spool load falls during a cast ...... & that the problem with the steez ( only good for 20lb..... realistically- if casting long)

10-02-2009, 06:18 AM
I agree with Marty - hey you only live once!

Maybe what you really want is this? ;D

http://www.ichibantackle.com/picture/9373trs100p_used_0812_1_2.jpg

Or what about the Deps Zillion? Who cares about function anyway, just get a few more spotlights for the cabinet :LMAO: (sorry couldn't help myself)

I'm just jealous because I haven't bought any new toys this year :'(

I can hear the doof doof now::)

10-02-2009, 06:23 AM

You know you wanna.;D

What can I say B8:P but to own a block - I'd need to mortgage my other one;)

Besides ...... I dont have a china cabinet with spotlights

wheezer
10-02-2009, 11:47 AM
if the only issue with your steez is line cap,then you are wasting your time with a PE..because they have a different, shallower spool that holds the same amount of line as a steez 103..also it is not tuned for distance casting. it has a fixed rotor with applies a linear brake force across the whole cast, noticeably reducing casting distance compared with the mag z tune of a std zillion. i got around these issues by replacing the spool with an i'ze HLC spool

better off going a steez 100H, same line cap as a zillion. or if you are chasing something a little stronger go a HLC, one of my favourites. smoothest retrieve with awesome casting distance

btw i have direct experience with all these reels as i own and regularly use all of them

Jungle Jim
10-02-2009, 12:06 PM
if the only issue with your steez is line cap,then you are wasting your time with a PE..because they have a different, shallower spool that holds the same amount of line as a steez 103..also it is not tuned for distance casting. it has a fixed rotor with applies a linear brake force across the whole cast, noticeably reducing casting distance compared with the mag z tune of a std zillion. i got around these issues by replacing the spool with an i'ze HLC spool

better off going a steez 100H, same line cap as a zillion. or if you are chasing something a little stronger go a HLC, one of my favourites. smoothest retrieve with awesome casting distance

btw i have direct experience with all these reels as i own and regularly use all of them

Bought the 100h on wheezers recomendation 12 months ago - thanks wheezer. whilst im yet to use it on a barra (except casting lures all day for a doughnut) im thankful for this kind of useful opinion which helped me make up my mind.

HOWEVER that TRS is the UGLIEST reel i have ever seen.... looks like the tackle equivilent of a Japanese boy racer's hotted up civic....

pass the bucket i feel ill.....

JIM

Jeremy87
10-02-2009, 01:21 PM
So your looking for something with casting distance in mind, something with decent capacity and not necissarily running heavy line. If think you know what I'm going to suggest and I know that your not going to like it. . . . what about a spinning reel, 3000 or 4000 stella or a 3000 hyper custom or exist

BR65
10-02-2009, 01:58 PM
you know you want it, goarn, buy it!

aussiebasser
10-02-2009, 02:24 PM

You know you wanna.;D

They're a bit small, Pam's got an Ito Monobloc and I've got an I'ze. Smoothest reels I've ever used but not a Barra reel. I have a 7:1 Zillion and a 7.3:1 50th Anniversary Zillion which I really like. I got a PE a couple of weeks ago and have been using it throwing Spinnerbaits for Bass. I find it hard to get used to the slower gear ratio, but it does feel very smooth. I've loaded mine with 30lb PE, but I'm not impressed with the line. I'll stick to the thicker Bionic and sacrifice a little capacity. As a Barra reel it should be fine. I put cork grips on mine, but I've left the standard drag washers for now. I've been using it on a Heartland Ryuron Wakizashi Interline rod, but I won't take it out in the Canoe, for obvious reasons. The Egrell B2 is the best short range Spinnerbait rod I've owned. The second pic is the I'ze 100 combo. Only 5 of them made it over here.

Hardb8
10-02-2009, 02:54 PM
Hi Aussie Basser,
Intrested in ya thoughts to hear why you think that the Block and the Shiki are too small for Barra.....Handle lenght perhaps?

Fishhead may have only bought five Nanbu's over,But I can attest there is more than that here. ;)

Cheers. B8.:)

aussiebasser
10-02-2009, 03:08 PM
I don't believe a 100 series Barrel reel has the overall strength required to be a dedicated Barra Reel. The Zillion and Big Bait Specials are as small as I go chasing big fish. For a full time Barra reel I prefer the Blue Backer or Black Sheep. I haven't spooled up my Pluton yet, but it feels like it'll have the cajones for it too. It would be a shame to ruin a beautiful little 100 series reel by consistently using it for Impoundment Barra. Nagg wants a reel to fish the points with more capacity than his Steez, why would he buy a Monobloc? Sure buy one, but not for that purpose.

Roo
10-02-2009, 05:01 PM
The Egrell B2 is the best short range Spinnerbait rod I've owned.

Amen to that. also throws "kackals" very nicely too. Ours is paired with a Zillion100h with a PE spool....If the missus lets me near it:P .

Chris, Perhaps the steez 100H is the go if you want line capacity. the PE definitely wont improve your distance and with 40lb nitlon you might not fit more than 80mtrs on it. I only got roughly 95m of 50lb Tuffline XP on a stock 100H zillion.

Cheers Roo.

Hardb8
10-02-2009, 05:07 PM
Nagg wants a reel to fish the points with more capacity than his Steez, why would he buy a Monobloc?

The Block has a larger capacity than that of the 103H "Which Is what I'm presuming Nagg has,With regards to Wheezers comment relating to the upgrade of a larger 100H spool"

It also is capable of casting equal distances to the Steez.And being a round reel physics state it will actually be stronger than an odd shape.My personal opinion agrees with this aswell.The Block feels much sturdier in the hand.

Yes,I do own both reels.

I've also been using 100 sized Daiwa's on pond Barra,Amongst other things for 4 seasons,CV-Z 103 & 105,Bay Casting Special,And my I'ze Light.With standard maintainance they are today all in excellent condition,And I would fish them tommorrow on these critters without hesitation,And with the utmost confidence.Very capable reels.

I don't understand how you can ruin one of these reels with continuous use on Barra.Unless they get neglected.In which case,Any reel will be ruined.

BR65
10-02-2009, 06:29 PM
B8, whats your thought on the Ize lite, Im eyeing one off

10-02-2009, 07:00 PM
So your looking for something with casting distance in mind, something with decent capacity and not necissarily running heavy line. If think you know what I'm going to suggest and I know that your not going to like it. . . . what about a spinning reel, 3000 or 4000 stella or a 3000 hyper custom or exist

Hi Jeremy ...... I have a Certate 3000 - but I much prefer baitcast gear

aussiebasser
10-02-2009, 07:02 PM
The Block has a larger capacity than that of the 103H "Which Is what I'm presuming Nagg has,With regards to Wheezers comment relating to the upgrade of a larger 100H spool"

It also is capable of casting equal distances to the Steez.And being a round reel physics state it will actually be stronger than an odd shape.My personal opinion agrees with this aswell.The Block feels much sturdier in the hand.

Yes,I do own both reels.

I've also been using 100 sized Daiwa's on pond Barra,Amongst other things for 4 seasons,CV-Z 103 & 105,Bay Casting Special,And my I'ze Light.With standard maintainance they are today all in excellent condition,And I would fish them tommorrow on these critters without hesitation,And with the utmost confidence.Very capable reels.

I don't understand how you can ruin one of these reels with continuous use on Barra.Unless they get neglected.In which case,Any reel will be ruined.

You asked for my opinion, you got it. We differ, that's life. I wouldn't buy a $849 Monobloc purely to use for Barra. Personally, I'd use an S10 and a Certate for long casts and good capacity, however Nagg's a baitcaster man.

edit: we posted at the same time. See told ya he's an overhead guy!

t4topcat
10-02-2009, 07:06 PM
I know that I might get crucified for saying this but what about an Abu Garcia Revo Inshore, I love mine, good drag and casts well too. I know that it doesn't cost as much so some people will say it's not as high quality as the Diawas but all I can say is that mine has been great so far.

Jeremy87
10-02-2009, 07:17 PM
Hi Jeremy ...... I have a Certate 3000 - but I much prefer baitcast gear

As long as you have that base covered, the spin stick is an important tool to have.

wheezer
10-02-2009, 07:18 PM
IMO nothin wrong with using 100 size millionaires as barra reels, after all they are made using the same materials as 200 size...my i'ze light has been a aprt of my impoundment barra lineup for 3-4years with no issues. to get around the line cap issue i bought a ringa SSS, but have so far decided to keep it as a minter for the collection...

i stand by my original recommendation, a low pro daiwa for point casting to big barra either a steez 100H or zillion HLC. both have deep spools with mag z distance tune. steez is lighter, HLC smoother, stronger, more durable and cheaper. i couldn't decide so i got both

10-02-2009, 07:19 PM

Thanks Andrew

I didn't even look at capacity of the PE::) ....... I haven't had a chance to look at the HLC but I will on Saturday when I stop for lunch at the unmentionable tackle store at Coffs.
Thought about the 100H Steez but the price at the moment is pretty horrible.

Hey thanks for the input

10-02-2009, 07:33 PM
I know that I might get crucified for saying this but what about an Abu Garcia Revo Inshore, I love mine, good drag and casts well too. I know that it doesn't cost as much so some people will say it's not as high quality as the Diawas but all I can say is that mine has been great so far.

No Crucifictions here Chris ........ Mate the Revos are a well priced & capable reel - no doubt ........ but I am after a reel that is more refined than my standard Zillion ........ The Steez spoilt me :P

10-02-2009, 07:35 PM
As long as you have that base covered, the spin stick is an important tool to have.

Cant cast it to save my life::)

10-02-2009, 07:40 PM
IMO nothin wrong with using 100 size millionaires as barra reels, after all they are made using the same materials as 200 size...my i'ze light has been a aprt of my impoundment barra lineup for 3-4years with no issues. to get around the line cap issue i bought a ringa SSS, but have so far decided to keep it as a minter for the collection...

i stand by my original recommendation, a low pro daiwa for point casting to big barra either a steez 100H or zillion HLC. both have deep spools with mag z distance tune. steez is lighter, HLC smoother, stronger, more durable and cheaper. i couldn't decide so i got both

I do feel that lighter low profiles are much better to use than drum reels ...... particularly during 14 hour days ............ Otherwise I'd be chasing down millionaires or ize derivatives

Hardb8
10-02-2009, 10:02 PM
You asked for my opinion, you got it.

G'day Aussie,
I did ask for your opinion,And I appreciate the fact you have responded.As you are also an owner of this reel,I was just intrested to hear your reasons.

Thanks for takin the time. B8.:)

Hardb8
10-02-2009, 11:37 PM
B8, whats your thought on the Ize lite, Im eyeing one off

Hi 65,
Ya welcome to come round home and have a play with mine anytime ya like.The reel that is of course.;D This may help answer some of ya questions.Bring the rod ya plan on marryin it to.

If ya play nice,I may even let ya borrow it for some real world field testin.:-/

Last time I let someone borrow this reel,They nailed a P.B. Bass at 55 F.L. 8-) Talk about being stabbed with ya own sword.It seems it's not just a lucky for me.

Roo
11-02-2009, 09:19 AM
Hi 65,
Last time I let someone borrow this reel,They nailed a P.B. Bass at 55 F.L. 8-) Talk about being stabbed with ya own sword.It seems it's not just a lucky for me.

ouch. that bites:P

wheezer
11-02-2009, 09:29 AM
Brian, if you can pick a light up at a reasonable price then don't hesitate! they are a phenomonal reel...its not as light as my steez, not as smooth as my HLC but there's just something about it...to get a round reel machined out of a solid block of billet to weight sub 200grams is quite an acheivement...then there's the type r+ tuned ceramic composite spool that casts unbelievably! currently i use mine for HB's and topwater for tinaroo with PE4 on a 6' rod, and it regularly outcasts my dedicated point casting outfits on longer rods...i love picking that reel up..sorry for the rant!

if you got the cash and want more line cap, the ringa SSS released last year would be the go. basically an i'ze light but with a deeper, mag z tuned spool and a carbon handle

Jungle Jim
11-02-2009, 09:39 AM
off topic *deleted post*

to get back on topic...

can a deep spool be retrofitted to the pe. maybe nagg could look ata pe special with hlc spool...

JIM

Roo
11-02-2009, 11:28 AM
Jim,
I think Wheezer already did this with a Std 100H spool into the PE reel and has now changed to the HLC spool.

Cheers Roo.

11-02-2009, 11:32 AM
I had a play with both the PE & HLC this morning .......... both very noice reels , though the PE feels like a smoother reel.
Andrew .... I see what you mean about the shallow spool of the PE vs HLC.

I do say that the cork (graphite) knob & graphite handle feels pretty good on the HLC ......... both reels would be nice to own.

Funnily ...... I walked in looking for a reel .......... & walked out with a rod ::) (Samurai Reaction 12-20lb BC):P .........:) but that's another story

Jeremy87
11-02-2009, 12:42 PM
Cant cast it to save my life::)

Lol, well if you didn't pike out on the bash i could have given you the official tuition;) . Yeh i'm the opposite i'd say that I'm better with spin than casting outfits, i can still ok with baitcaster but I've done so much hss that you just become comfortable with spin in all situations. Good luck, i'm sure you'll end up with a good reel.

p.s We've found 103 series millionaires sufficient as long as they are well filled with a thin braid, you'll have plenty of room still if you stick with a 20lb PE braid

wheezer
11-02-2009, 02:08 PM
Jim,
I think Wheezer already did this with a Std 100H spool into the PE reel and has now changed to the HLC spool.

Cheers Roo.

spot on Roo...spools are interchangeable...my HLC spool has just turned up from PLAT. as i use alot of lightly weighted (by barra standards) plastics on this particular setup the lighter HLC spool will perform better

i find the HLC significantly smoother than any other reel i have. so smooth that when rolling a plastic at night except for the pull on the rod tip i wouldn't know that i'm actually retrieving line. i find the steez and PE very similair, not quite as smooth but with a very 'connected' feel

12-02-2009, 11:53 AM
Lol, well if you didn't pike out on the bash i could have given you the official tuition;) . Yeh i'm the opposite i'd say that I'm better with spin than casting outfits, i can still ok with baitcaster but I've done so much hss that you just become comfortable with spin in all situations. Good luck, i'm sure you'll end up with a good reel.

p.s We've found 103 series millionaires sufficient as long as they are well filled with a thin braid, you'll have plenty of room still if you stick with a 20lb PE braid

Hi Jeremy ...... You can always show me up at Awoonga;)

Hardb8
13-02-2009, 10:15 PM
You could possibly wait,And save ya coin for this :-

TD Zillion Limited. 8-)

Ratio :- 7.3 : 1

Weight :- 8.2oz.

Capacity :- 110 yds 14lb.

Cheers. B8.;)

bassfan
14-02-2009, 12:14 PM

Totally agree Chris, these are great reels (I have 2) and except for the price I reckon they are up there with the best of them. Each to their own as usual, but some people reckon if it doesn't cost a fortune it's poor quality....::)

26-02-2009, 08:39 PM
In the end I avoided the PE & bought the Zillion HLC ( Thanks Wheezer for the good oil)
I had the opportunity to fish the HLC on my Samurai Reaction 451 at both Awoonga & Mondy.

The superlatives just cant be listed - I guess its the Porsche GT3 of the daiwa range - Built lighter (210g) than traditional Zillions with the use of a graphite handle & knobs - yet the reel feels strong when compared to a Steez .
The spool spins freely allowing long casts ......... the HLC / samurai was able to out cast my longer GLX Loomis / Zillion 100HA point casting outfit ...... throwing identical weights ......... not bad.
Like most Daiwas , the drag was smooth which was tested against several barra including one of around a meter.
While not cheap ....... it excels & exceeds when compared to a standard Zillion ...... but is still considerably cheaper than a 100 Steez. - It makes a great choice for a quality point casting barra reel ( also looks pretty sexy)......... 9.5/10:P

TonyM
26-02-2009, 08:57 PM
Gee thanks Nagg! >:(

I had talked myself out of getting one but now I think I have lost my resolve! :'(

I'm also a little bit concerned as your post sounded a bit like a love poem and I felt well ummm kinda romantic for a little while there :-[

It's a Japanese Haiku isn't it? :-/;D

26-02-2009, 09:31 PM
Gee thanks Nagg! >:(

I had talked myself out of getting one but now I think I have lost my resolve! :'(

I'm also a little bit concerned as your post sounded a bit like a love poem and I felt well ummm kinda romantic for a little while there :-[

It's a Japanese Haiku isn't it? :-/;D

Dont fight it mate ;D

Love alright ........ its laying on my bed right now along with the Samurai.::)

I'll tell you how good it was .......... I had 3 outfits with me - When I got snagged & broke off ........ I would take the time to retie a bimini & completely re rig ..... rather than pick up one of the other outfits :P I'm a lazy bugger & dont do that type of thing !

The 100HA Zillions just dont really cut it now ....... they feel basic ( My103 Steez is now back in action after getting the Erskine treatment 8-) )