View Full Version : Tica surf fishing reel

PNG1M
06-02-2009, 02:18 PM
Anyone seen one of these doobalackies (see down) for sale anywhere?

I've never owned a Tica spinning reel before, but I know some blokes think they're pretty good.

I gotta new Penn Slammer 560 (on a 10' Wilson) but am now thinking of my second set-up, mainly for surf fishing.

Have a squizz at the piccy & specs below. What dy'z reckon? The reel (all sizes) costs US$135.00 plus postage approx US$25.00 from one of those Jap tackle sites.

For some reason I keep coming back to the site to check this reel out (it's that voice in my head again..!) These particular reels are braid friendly & are supposed to be 'you beaut' for surf fishing applications.

I wouldn't mind knowing if the potential performance (plus reliability & quality) would match the price + postage. All up, including delivery the cost'd be around Oz$250 bucks.

Blurb:

Tica Dolphin SE series reels spool large line capacity to cast long distance from shore. 13 ball bearings offer smooth operation.
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gifOver sized long spool made of aluminum
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gif9-washer tough drag system
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gifErgonomic round rubber knob help you crank up big fish
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gif85mm super long aluminum handle
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gifReinforced drive gears
http://www.japantackle.com/_themes/network/anetbul1.gifBall bearing line roller
The H model has 5.2 super fast gear ratio for the surf.
Right/Left handle inter-changeable.

http://www.japantackle.com/Tica_reels/Tica_Dolphin8000H.JPG

Dolphin SE 6000H Gear ratio: 5.2 Wt: 630g BB's:13+1 Capacity: 0.37mm-200m, 16lb-220y

Dolphin SE 8000H Gear ratio: 5.2 Wt: 630g BB's: 13+1 Capacity: 0.47mm-200m, 22lb-220y

Dolphin SE 10000H Gear ratio: 5.2 Wt: 630g BB's: 13+1 Capacity: 0.57mm-200m, 30lb-220y

06-02-2009, 03:20 PM
G'day PNG,

I've got a 8000h for a surf reel, its done a couple of trips to Fraser Island - no complaints from me, but for 250 bucks, I reckon I'd be looking at either a 760 slammer or an 850/950 Spinfisher, you'd by the spinfisher with braid for around $150 as the reels are on special around the place for around $100. the slammer you'd be in for around $200ish

But there's nothing wrong with the tica, and it does have a higher retrieve ratio than the 850SS and the slammer.

crazyfish
06-02-2009, 05:25 PM
G'day mate, i dont know too much about this particular reel but you want to make sure it has a water proof drag for the beach. if water can get in so can sand.

the other thing you might like to ask is are the bearing in the reel the anti corrosion or shielded type, especially the bearing in the anti twist roller on the bail arm. thats the one thats most exposed to the elements.

cheers Crazy