jus wondering what reels you would choose if you could only keep
five reels that you have of your own...
out of my reels i would have to choose:

1} daiwa tierra 2500/ berkley dropshot 4kg/12lb finns
2} daiwa freams kix 2000/strudwick softbodz 1-3kg/4lb fireline
3} daiwa capricorn j 4500/penn powerstck 10-12kg/30lb finns
4} daiwa saltist 30/??????/30lb platypus platinum
5} shimano calcutta 200b/shimano raider 5-8kg/20lb nitlon

just need a rod for my saltist cause my old one snapped haha.
well they are my rod's and reel's i would have

BARRAkid
04-02-2009, 08:35 PM
My favourite from first to last in choice.

1. Daiwa Freams kix 2500 / silver IM6 dropshot rod
2. Daiwa zillion / Shimano raider or SICstik pro
3. Daiwa Luvias 2000 / pfluger trion rod
4. Daiwa Saltist 40H combo
5. Daiwa tierra 4000 / Pfluger trion

Yes im a big daiwa fan ;D ;D

smoked
04-02-2009, 08:57 PM
1. Daiwa Steez 2500 / Daiwa Steez Kingbolt rod - 12lb castaway
NEW!! Daiwa Steez 2508 / Daiwa Steez Stormshadow - 10lb castaway
2. Daiwa Morethan Branzino 3000 / TD Saltwater rod - 20lb castaway
3. Daiwa Sol 2500 / Berkley Pro Tactic rod - 4lb fireline
4. Daiwa Alphas 103 / Daiwa Heartland Z Deep Crank Special - 20lb castaway
5. Daiwa Zillion 100HA / TD D Redback rod - 30lb castaway

Daiwa for me

smoked

Jeremy87
04-02-2009, 09:23 PM
I recall a similar topic was brought up in an issue of modern fishing a year or so ago. Covering all bases for luring with as little outfits as possible. From bream sticks right up to something to handle big gts. Personally i reakon 90% of the time i could get away with just 3 reels and 4 rods.

My 2004 daiwa geko with my pflueger medalist for in the boat/distance casting or with my S012 samuria for in the canoe/bank walking in thick cover

daiwa sol baitcaster on a 4-8kg 6ft trion

4000 stella on a td advantage 10-17lb 7ft

with these outfits i could potentially cover most things bass, jacks, flathead, bream, a bit of barra, hss for tuna, macks, tailor, plastic bounceing and bottom bumping for snappery squire, sweaties etc etc etc

to add the next two most important outfits i'd add

203 cvx millionair on a barra raider

daiwa sld 30 on a custom 15kg roller rod

This way i could cover barra properly and start to add in a bit more larger bluewater pelagic fishing.

In reallity i actually have multiples of 3 for each of these lineclasses/luring type each slightly different to cator for different fishing styles and lure types. I'd dare say the 2 spin 2 baitcasters and a heavy overhead theme will be fairly popular, but it would be interesting to see what others choose. It is fairly logical to cover each line class base for those who chase a variety of salt and freshwater sportfish. I think the major differences would be those who only target a specific species or specific habitat.

05-02-2009, 07:17 AM
3" Alvey
4" Alvey
6" Alvey
TLD10
TLD20
Simple choice really :)

05-02-2009, 07:55 AM
2500 penn affinity with 4kg sufix performance on 2-4kg Pro Guide
4600l penn slammer with 15kg sufix performance on Egrell s10
760 penn slammer with 24kg sufix matrix pro jig braid on matching Penn power stick
2 x penn trq300, one with 24kg sufix performance jig braid, the other with 37kg jig braid on 15-24kg Wilson live fibres

That would cover most offshore stuff i do, but what to do with surf, fresh, the list goes on! We've all got a heap more gear than that!

05-02-2009, 08:11 AM
hhmm let me see, my 50W International would cover Game fishing, Penn Spinfisher about my 750 maybe to cover bigger spin/Snapper, Shimano Aero 1500 for light spinning and my ABU 2500C for Baitcater and maybe flip a coin to see what other reel I might need that would cover a few opyions.

oddbudman
05-02-2009, 08:29 AM
8-10kg Penn Pinpoint + Abu 5600C4

1-3kg berkley dropshot + 750 Abu Cardinal

4-6kg nitro distance spin + 4000 stradic

8-10kg strudwick bluewater rod with 8000 sized spheros - killer general purpose boat combo for offshore.

15-24kg Livefibre 5.6 stroker + TLD25 - (50lb mono)

This would have me set for most missions.

oddbudman

reggy
05-02-2009, 09:04 AM
3" Alvey
4" Alvey
6" Alvey
TLD10
TLD20
Simple choice really :)
what`s a TLD10 I have never seen one. could you post a pic of it?

Reggy

Chamelion
05-02-2009, 09:38 AM
Daiwa Exceler 1500 6lb and 10lb braid on the spools
Daiwa Emblem pro 5500A 30lb braid and 15lb mono on the spools
Daiwa Proshooter 2500 12lb mono
Daiwa Proshooter 2000 8lb mono
Pflueger Medalist 6040 15lb braid

I generally only use the Exceler, the Medalist and the Emblem pro. The wife and daughter have the Proshooters whilst my son has a Penn Captiva CV2000.

05-02-2009, 09:40 AM

Reggy
They look the same as the rest.... but way smaller.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Power-Handles-for-Shimano-TLD5-10-15-Star-SpeedMaster_W0QQitemZ270337855843QQihZ017QQcategor yZ36162QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
They're obsolete now of course.

rockfisho
05-02-2009, 01:23 PM
Id have to say my 6.5 inch alvey C. 700 e5 which is my favourite reel. My 650 A3 (cedar spool) and my shimano corvalus and seinna. As you can see i havent put a huge amount of money into my gear as yet. but it is serving me very well.

Owen

05-02-2009, 02:44 PM
Flueger GX-7 2500/struwick sicstik 2-4kg/6lb fins 4lb fireline on spare spool
Shimano Saragosa 5000F/Berkely tourmamen pro 6-10kg/20lb fins
Shimano curado/berkly dropshot 6-8kg/20lb fins
Shimano Corvalus 400/Abu 15kg rod/30lb fins
TLD25/15kg backnoe elite/50lb fins

As you can tell, I like my fins braid. These will cover me for everything I fish for.

05-02-2009, 02:54 PM
I reckon I'd get away with the 6500 baitrunner and an alvey - not much I couldn't do with those two. The rest of the gear I have is because I, like most of the above poster's have 'issues'.

Jungle Jim
05-02-2009, 03:53 PM
for what i do i'd get away with 4 for now

Ross reels CLA/sage slt 690-4
steez 100h/ top gun
steez 2508/ kingbolt
103 ize light/ b6-6 or cbr756

and on the wish list

saltiga 4500

JIM

05-02-2009, 04:57 PM
ABU 12
ABU 4600
Shimano Stradic 2500
Shimano Baitrunner 4500
Shimano TLD 5 and TLD 20

All on custom built rods.

reggy
05-02-2009, 06:02 PM
They look the same as the rest.... but way smaller.
http://cgi.ebay.com.au/Power-Handles-for-Shimano-TLD5-10-15-Star-SpeedMaster_W0QQitemZ270337855843QQihZ017QQcategor yZ36162QQssPageNameZWDVWQQrdZ1QQcmdZViewItem
They're obsolete now of course.
Thanks mate, there is even a TLD5. never knew they existed.
Reggy

05-02-2009, 06:20 PM
TLD 5 and 10 were probably the best reels for their size on the market yet they flopped and I still cant work out why.

Another one that dropped out too was the Shimano Baitrunner 1500.......

GPB
05-02-2009, 09:43 PM

Reggy

The TLD 10 was fazed out in the late 80's with it;s little brother, the TLD5.
Size wise a TLD10 with a levelwind is a Charter Special
I have a 20yo one still cruising :thumbsup:

Pistol_P
05-02-2009, 09:46 PM
The TLD 10 was fazed out in the late 80's with it;s little brother, the TLD5.
Size wise a TLD10 with a levelwind is a Charter Special
I have a 20yo one still cruising :thumbsup:

There was one on ebay recently Greg.
They wanted to much $$$ I thought.

gaintsquid
05-02-2009, 11:03 PM
Daiwa Tierra 1500, 4lb pink fireline
Daiwa saltist Hard Rock Fish, 20lb castaway
Daiwa Ondine 2000, 6lb crystal fireline
Shimano Sedona 750 10lb p.e.

I don't like the sedona much, to many wind knots, the other 3 i have no problems with.

Daiwa all the way.

plastic_paul
06-02-2009, 05:51 AM
daiwa sol 2500, daiwa procaster z 3-5kg rod 12lb sunline
daiwa sol 4000, daiwa sol 10-17lb rod 20lb fins
Calctutta 400b, Loomis 12-20lb rod 30lb fins
Daiwa Saltist 40, Shimano jig wrex rod pe4 or 5 jigman
........ i'll leave this spot for another upgrade, probably a 1000 or1500 size, was looking at the new stradic 1000 but it felt shit, probs get a daiwa

try to fish
19-02-2009, 02:52 PM
daiwa certate 3500HD custom on nitro viper with 20lbs fireline
daiwa certate 2500R custom on loomis gl3 with powerpro 10lbs
daiwa tierra 2500 on tierra medium rod with powerpro 10lbs
daiwa tierra 2000 on tierrs light/medium rod with 8lbs fireline
shimano stradic 1000FH on custom loomis light rod with 6lbs spiderwire

thats my 5 that i have put up!!!.

bundylundy
19-02-2009, 06:14 PM
5.5" alvey
Shimano TLD 5
Shimano Tyrnos 20
Diawa Certate 4000 Hyper Custom
Shimano Chronach CH100BSV
Most situations covered.

Jeff.

Tetsuo
19-02-2009, 06:28 PM
Exist 2004, Smith Dancing bream
S-Extreme 4500, Egrell Bear Essential
Hyper 3000, S10
Hyper 2500, Smith Expedition or S2
Certate finesse custom 2004, Smith bayliner

These cover most of my needs and then some. Havn't used the 4500 yet but I think it will be OK!

whcway
20-02-2009, 07:44 PM
1. Shimano chronarch 100bsv on a samurai by garry howard . 30lb fins
2. shimano baitrunner 4500 on silstar crystal power tip. 30lb fins
3. Shimano Calcutta 200b on uglystic gold. 20lb fins
4. shimano 2000 on a shimano technuim. 10lb platypus line.

mjc85
09-05-2009, 09:26 AM
Daiwa Certate 3000 - Offshore plastics/Barra
Daiwa Tierra 2000 - Inshore plastics
Daiwa Millionaire SW203 - Barra
Daiwa Alphas - Inshore hardbodies
Shimano BTR 6500 - Offshore bait
Shimano BTR 3500 - Inshore baiting
Shimano TLD25 - Offshore trolling

09-05-2009, 01:20 PM
Most of my gear is easily replaced so the reels I would hate to part with are my 1974 ABU 5000c and Alvey 700A Cedar spool. My circa 1990 TLD 25 and TSS4 also hold a lot of great memories. Everything else is just mass produced stuff that is easily replaced

09-05-2009, 04:48 PM
I guess it's a bit of a tough one to answer that. As many before me have alluded to, there could be a mix of beach, rock, and boat reels that could be considered.

It's a bit hard to try to evaluate each reel on its merits, but I'll have a go:

Alvey 550 A5 or C5 (I've got one of each)
Alvey 650 C5 and Alvey 650 A5
Alvey 651 C5 (the brute)

All of these do the job either on the beach or off the rocks.

Now to the other stuff.

The only one I've got that could stand any scrutiny would be my litle Shimano Symmetre 2500.

There you go. That's me done.

humfmonkey
09-05-2009, 05:40 PM
steez 2500 / nitro distance spin
accurate 665 boss / diawa interline heavy
stella 20000 / jigwrex
stella 8000 / saltiga 80tn
stella 5000 / lamiglass 6-12 kilo 7' spin

all great and will last me a lifetime (which would be 2 minutes if the wife found the price tags)

straddie
09-05-2009, 07:51 PM
These 2 would probably cover 99% of my fishing,
500 Alvey
650 Alvey

maybe throw in the 6/0 penn to break it up a little :)

10-05-2009, 07:49 AM
Bretton 905 x 2, 8-10kg surf and 10-15kg rock. Massive line capacity, simple, strong, late 1960's French-made predecessor of the Mitchell 498.
Daiwa Sealine 250 - inshore 10kg, mid 1970's, tough as nails.
Daiwa Sealine 400 - inshore 15kg, late 1970's, pretty gold finish as well.
Penn Spinfisher 650 - light surf and river, 4-7kg. USA made from the late 1970's, nice drag and will last forever!
Home made rods to suit!
Only question, what would I do with the other 30 or so reels.......:o 8-)
Cheers!

Sharkie
10-05-2009, 08:20 AM
I think i only own about 5 reels lol. But they are:

Alvey 6500BC-V, 13'6 Snyder Glas, 20lb Platypus Pink
5000 Stradic, 7' Wilson LCS 10-20lb, 20lb Fins
TLD25, 15-24kg 7' Wilson Live Fibre, 40lb Shogun mono
Daiwa Saltist 30TH, 15-24kg 6'6 Snyder Glas (Bloody top rod (gf uses this setup when she comes out))
Have a couple others that aren't worth mentioning but hopefully the spot is filled with a baitrunner type reel to use for floatling for mackeral and the likes soon.

Lol pretty sad i know but i've only started fishing heaps again in the last 12 months or so. Saving for a house doesn't help much either lol.

Oh and to the guys that they're missus don't know what they've spent....how the hell do you hide the cost from them lol? Mine would know straight away! lol

PNG1M
10-05-2009, 06:35 PM
I mostly own baitcasters, so out of the reels have I'd choose:

1. Shimano Calcutta CT400 (suped up Jap version with extra bb's) with 44lb Jigman Ultra x8 for barra n black bass.
2. Penn 965 International with 52lb Jigman ultra (inshore boat; casting & bottom bouncing)
3. Shimano Curado DSV300 with 30lb Jigman ultra - for barra & maybe some estuary applications
4. Penn 560 Slammer with 30lb Samurai braid (surf work mostly)
5? Daiwa US Advantage with 16lb YGK PE Compact for light estuary
(Or, maybe a smaller spinning reel instead, yet to be identified)

That'd be the main five I'd opt for at this moment in time if I had to wittle them down. I'd even keep my Blacksheep 300 in the cupboard in favour of the Calcutta.

The Curado would just pip my TE 300 Conquest at the post for ease of casting & low profile smoothness.

I also have a 2008 model Daiwa CVZ253 (B.N.I.B.) Saving it up for a future PNG trip - poss/prob 2010 - where I can give it a work out. So it'd need to prove itself first to make the list.

Of course as fishing prefences; applications & interests change - so will the preferred arsenal.

10-05-2009, 07:24 PM
bloody hell..how do you guys remember all these makes and models..Shimano this..Daiwa that...I could not tell the model of any of the reels that I have except for the Alveys...have a couple of spinning reels also but that is it.

alphas
10-05-2009, 07:53 PM
04 Pixy/pixzilla
Steez 103ha
Steez 2500/2508
Alphas 103

Teabag73
10-05-2009, 08:03 PM
1. Diawa Saltist 50H on Shimano T-Curve 400 Jig Road with 80lb Finns Braid.
2. Diawa Saltist LW50HA on Shimano T-Curve 400 Jig Road with 80lb Finns Braid.
3. Shimano Calcutta 700B on Ugly Stik Blue Water Jig Rod with 50lb Finns Braid.
4. Penn 850ssm Spinfisher on a Shimano T-Curve 10-15kg Spin Rod with 50lb Finns Braid.
5. Banax Sedna Baitcaster on a Gladiator Snakeskin 2kg Rod with 20lb Finns Braid.

Have quite a few others though these are my faves.........:)

Tewantin
10-05-2009, 08:49 PM
Well, if I had to run out the door with only 5 reels in my arms I guess I'd pick the one's that hold the best memories of my fishing history and the one's I'd find real difficult to replace.
I've been an ABU (sweden) enthusiast since I was a kid and I've gathered quite a collection of them so it would have to be my ABU Cardinal 33, ABU Cardinal 52, ABU Ambassadeur 2500c, ABU Ambassadeur 6500c, and my trusty old ABU Ambassadeur 7000. It'd be real hard to walk away from the rest of the collection not to mention all the other more modern and up to date Japanese reels.

kevvie
11-05-2009, 09:30 AM
Good question;

1) Daiwa Exist 3000/ G-Loomis Greenwater
2) Shimano Stella FA 1000/ Egrell S1
3) Shimano Stella FD 2500/ Pflueger Supreme
4) Shimano Stella FA 6000/ Pflueger Medalist
5) Daiwa Dogfight/ Shimano T'Curve

It was a hard thing to work out. On the reserves bench i got 2 more stella's, 3 aspire's a certate, a luvias, a zillion and a chronarch???

Very difficult indeed.

PNG1M
11-05-2009, 02:40 PM
Hmmm, an interesting thread...

Each top 5 list makes me think about the type & style of fishing that member apparently prefers. The majority of reels in most selections match a certain type of fishing, while other selections show a spread.

Some indicate heavier reels for outside work, some are spinning, some trolling, some casting, jigging etc so it's interesting how the variety of applications are reflected through the lists.

I wonder how each person developed their liking & skills for a particular style?
What were the contributing influences?

*Living in PNG for four years was mine for baitcasting
*Living for 6yrs at beachside Budgewoi did it for surf fishing
*Growing up on the Lower Clarence for river/estuary

I haven't had a great deal to do with inshore/offshore fishing from boats, hence my reel choices don't reflect it. But others have obviously had a strong background there. "Food (or fish) for thought!"

Anyway, each to their own...

reggy
12-05-2009, 04:27 PM
Avet JX 50lb braid....trolling pelagics.

TLD 20/40 STAR 50lb braid......bottom fishing.

ABU CTC3 mag elite 6kg mono...........distance casting, surf.

PENN Spinfisher 6500 10 kg mono.......floating baits and casting HB lures.

Strewth
12-05-2009, 06:25 PM
Shimano Antares AR
Shimano Curado 200E7
Daiwa TD-S 105H with gigas spool
Daiwa Millionaire CV-X 103A with gigas spool, 2 extra bearings and adjustable brake plate
Daiwa Heartland HLXA 153 HSTA

Daiwa Gekkabijin 2004 model
Daiwa Certate 2500

Dean1
12-05-2009, 08:18 PM
Shimano Tyrnos 16

Shimano Tyrnos 30

Shimano 6500B Baitrunner.

Spot82
12-05-2009, 08:27 PM
1)Shimano Torsa 30/ Loomis Pelagic 7'6 20-30lb with 80lb jigman braid - bottom bashing
2)Shimano Stella 6000/ Loomis Pro Blue 12-25lb with 50lb fins - heavy plastic'ing, spinning, bottom bashing
3) Shimano Stella 1000/ Loomis GLX DSR820 4-8lb with 10lb fins - light inshore and estuary duties
4) Shimano Calcutta 400/ Egrell Bait caster heavy plus 5'6 8-10kg with 30lb fins - luring, estuary, light bottom bashing, etc (have caught everything on this outfit including legal red emperor)
5) Alvey Reef Queen Deck Winch with 120lb mono - for serious bottom bashing when the reds are around :o)

Also a combo which has been replaced by the torsa/loomis combo due to many complaints mainly from the reel Shimano Calcutta 700TE/ Loomis Pro Blue 7' 15-30lb with 50lb fins, awesome combo but i basically fished it with the drag at full lock or close to and so the reel needs a good overhaul but it has caught 35kg cobia, bronze whaler sharks to 9ft, 25kg GT and the list goes on decided to upgrade to the torsa and it hasn't disappointed!

Also just purchased yesterday Tyrnos 16/ Loomis Pelagic 7' 12-25lb with 50lb fins, hopefully try it out later in the week and i'm sure this too will be a nice combo for many applications.

Most of my fishing is offshore however a few of my outfits would be good for many situations.

aussiebasser
13-05-2009, 03:19 PM
You just said reels, so i'll keep a coupla rods for some. Difficult choice!

Daiwa Emeraldas Egrell S1 Megabass Kirisame
Daiwa Zillion PE Egrell B2-6 Megabass Custom Cranking
Daiwa Branzino 3000 Egrell S4 Megabass Orochi Jade Python
Daiwa Black Sheep 250 Egrell B8-5 Egrell B10 Megabass Orochi White Python
Daiwa 4500 S-Extreme Egrell Grizzly

haybii
13-05-2009, 11:42 PM
steez 2500 megabass XOR silver shadow
luvias 3000