View Full Version : Crazy arvo @ Noosa

shaun_s
03-02-2009, 09:01 PM
Mostly for the wrong reasons....
started off fishing the flats with poppers trying for some whiting. caught one little bream and dropped a whiting.
then decided to chase some trevs. i ended up getting snagged onto the anchor rope of a moored boat. when i was trying to get it off i fell in with my rod and reel. somehow i kept my reel above the water. i got my lure back but lost my sunies when i fell in.
soon after decided to call it quits but decided to trawl on the way home. just as i say to dad to pull the line in his reel starts screaming. thought it was a trev but wasnt sure what species and to our suprise a nice golden pops up. we were stoked after having such a bad session. but things turned bad again...... dad picked up the fish to get a photo. the fish started miss behaving and the lure came out of the fish and deeply embeded into his thumb. i ended up getting a photo as he couldnt hold it.
at the ramp dad tried to rip it out but couldn't. so after this we went to the hospital where he got it out.;D

Pistol_P
03-02-2009, 09:18 PM
Sounds like a tough arvo Shaun...:-/

True dedication though....Get ya old man to take a photo with a lure in his thumb....;D ;D

RayDeR
03-02-2009, 09:27 PM
G'day!

I thought a photo of a lure in a thumb would be more newsworthy than a great fish!

Ray de R

champion
03-02-2009, 09:54 PM
I dont know what to say !?!

Joe

geoff72
04-02-2009, 08:33 AM
crazy arvo for sure, great fish to

84mick
04-02-2009, 10:17 AM
haha what a bad day, I know how your dad feels! bloody hurts. Nice golden too.

Cheers, Mick.

dnej
04-02-2009, 10:22 AM
This might help for the future.
David

stessco
04-02-2009, 04:45 PM
you have those days, at least you caught a fish

vertico
04-02-2009, 05:00 PM
that method works well have pulled small trebles from my thumb doing that before
sean

simool-awiad
04-02-2009, 05:23 PM
Jeez I wish i was there I love getting them things out!;D I'm a old hand at the hook trick these days!(is a very handy thing to know and doesn't hurt one bit!Unless it doesn't come out the first rip! that is!)Now you can probably see why many choose to fish barbless?

04-02-2009, 07:12 PM
shaun you are keen nice effort on the fish mate true persistance

justin