View Full Version : Threadfin Salmon

rando
03-02-2009, 02:20 PM
It seems strange to me that the recent occurance of this species as a local fishery came to notice as suddenly as it did several years ago.
I dont remember ever hearing of Threadfin occurring locally prior to their sudden appearance, I always considered them to have a more northerly range.

I also remember when they first came to my notice.I suddenly started to find them in my cast net when prawning where previously mullet and herring where the commonly ocurring by catch.I remember seeing the juvi fish and not being able to Identify them.

What also puzzles me is the fairly limited range locally.I do not remember seeing reports of them being caught in other moreton bay locations. Brisbane river and its creeks,appear to be its only location,

These three things make me think It was introduced.The sudden appearance of lots of juvi fish, the lack of local history,and its very specific range has got me thinking , some clever devil got a couple of thousand TFS juvenile fish and quitely slipped them into enoggera creek and conditions suited so well they took off.

Now If my musings are true we all should say thanks to that /those person/s.

I may of course be incorrect and my lack of knowledge of local fish stocks is just another gap in my fishing education.

What do you guys think, am I deficient in historical knowledge, or does it all seem a bit.... fishy ;)

marty+jojo
03-02-2009, 03:27 PM
People catch them in Pumicestone Passage now and then.
Marty.

rhycebullimore
03-02-2009, 04:19 PM
as far as i know there is npo possible way to obtain juvi therddies...maybe wrong but im scretary of the townsville fish stocking and i have never heard of them being bred.

struktcha_man
03-02-2009, 05:21 PM
They stop dumping a lot of effluent into the river these days.
There used to be quite a few inputs into the river, however local councils and governments have been moving at reducing these inputs greatly.
I have read a bit about Threadies and apparently they have only made a reapearance since the river has cleared up a bit.

The problem now is sediment and road runoff entering the receiving waters.
If this problem could be solved we would be seeing a lot of recovery in the system.

Also there have not been a lot of studies done on the local Threadie population.
Some even consider that they migrate from the Fitzroy.

03-02-2009, 05:35 PM
I caught one 20 years ago (30cm) but at the time had no idea what it was so tossed it back.

Possibly conditions in the river have changed to allow more to breed up.

But if someone did chuck em in. Thanks Mate.

slyman
03-02-2009, 05:39 PM
I read in a back issue of fishing monthly that one was also caught in the Logan river, was in the Mick Morris report if I remember correctly but there was no picture shown.

marshy
03-02-2009, 08:55 PM
Caught the odd small one in the Bishop island area in the early eighties while chasing winter whiting.
Had a few whiting smashed and we always blamed it on tailor.
Who knows, maybe there has been a resident population for a long time but nobody was targeting them.
All I know is I can't seem to get a threadfin now!

marshy

03-02-2009, 11:30 PM
I have been told that they could be caught in the late seventies off the army jetty at kangaroo point.

Consider also that serious recreational fishing in the river is a relativly recent occurance.

If you think about the bay, the vast majority of the deep water arround here is actulay in the river or the shipping chanels and most of the other deeper water in the bay is connected to those channels.

I recon they have always been here, but a combination of the river clean up, development of fishermans island port, removal of commercial effort from the river and more recreational fishing in the river has resulted in more and bigger fish being caught.

Freeeedom
04-02-2009, 06:04 AM
We've always had the small threadfin known locally as the 'putty nose perch' but the giant threadfin seems to be a fairly recent arrival. I've also been noticing the juveniles in the cast net catch when chasing prawns over the last 12 months. They are quite easy to distinguish from the putty nose because they are a much deeper golden colour and are a more slender fish. Next time I catch a couple I'll take a photo. I'm still waiting to pick up a decent size one in the Pine but I may have been busted off by one last year - just caught a glimpse of a yellow flah before he did me
Cheers Freeeedom

uglyfish
04-02-2009, 07:16 AM
i havnt got one since i lived near gladdy,got it up the narrows...wouldnt even know where to start down here..any ideas guys?

Gamble
04-02-2009, 08:17 AM
Globle Warming most likely... the waters are most likely getting warmer and im sure a few years ago the water around here were warn enough and so they just rocked up in big numbers from the north.... thats what i think

bayfisher
04-02-2009, 12:43 PM
Globle Warming most likely... the waters are most likely getting warmer and im sure a few years ago the water around here were warn enough and so they just rocked up in big numbers from the north.... thats what i think

It cant be be too long before the barra turn up then ;D.

struktcha_man
04-02-2009, 06:17 PM
no offense Rando but to think that the only way fish can appear in a river is that somone puts them there, is a little bit iggnorent.

Its a little more complicated than that, do some research then maybe your posts will be useful.

Gamble
04-02-2009, 07:10 PM

I was reading a post a month or so ago and someone caught one in the canals at Mooloolaba. Not even joking

04-02-2009, 07:10 PM

I'm hanging out for the Black and Spotail Bass;D

snagking
04-02-2009, 07:25 PM
We've always had the small threadfin known locally as the 'putty nose perch' but the giant threadfin seems to be a fairly recent arrival. I've also been noticing the juveniles in the cast net catch when chasing prawns over the last 12 months. They are quite easy to distinguish from the putty nose because they are a much deeper golden colour and are a more slender fish. Next time I catch a couple I'll take a photo. I'm still waiting to pick up a decent size one in the Pine but I may have been busted off by one last year - just caught a glimpse of a yellow flah before he did me
Cheers Freeeedom

We've caught a baby one (5cmish) in the cast net before while wading the flats near port of Brisbane.

bayfisher
04-02-2009, 08:45 PM
I was reading a post a month or so ago and someone caught one in the canals at Mooloolaba. Not even joking

I have heard of a few barra captures around Brisbane though i am not convinced they aren't just barra farm escapees. From what I have read however, a long time ago the Brisbane river did indeed hold a barra population, which unfortunately now seems long extinct. I guess with all the improvement to water quality we can only hope that this becomes a reality again.

bayfisher
04-02-2009, 08:48 PM
I'm hanging out for the Black and Spotail Bass;D

"Some clever devil hast got a couple of thousand juvenile fish and quietly slipped them into enoggera creek yet have they?" :P ;D

chief
04-02-2009, 09:16 PM
I think freedom has a good point with the putty nose which I have caught also since being a young boy. It would be intersesting to get some feedback from the Qld Uni as they are currently doing a study on river threadies. I know their looking at DNA etc to look at the genetics and growth .They would probably have an idea of the origin of where these fish came from and history

Mike Delisser
04-02-2009, 10:23 PM
Interisting topic to which I'd also like to add the abundence of squire or snapper in the Brizzy River if you don't mind Rando.
I was once in a fishing club that fished the river at least 3 times a year from about 1976 to 1990. All trips were complete overnighters and we'd get 20 to 30 anglers along. Most fished for bream but a lot would live bait for mullaway and I can never recall a snapper or a threadfin being weighed in, and for most of that time I was the weigh-master. We even used to fish a lot of same spots we catch the threadies & snaps today. Back then you might land the odd 15cm squire but never anything legal (25 or 28cm at the time I think).
I recon it is a combination of no dredging for gravel and less polution, the new port at Fishermen's Isl and global (oceans) warming.
BTW the best catch I remember was 140 bream for just under 50kg.

rando
04-02-2009, 10:43 PM
no offense Rando but to think that the only way fish can appear in a river is that somone puts them there, is a little bit iggnorent.

Its a little more complicated than that, do some research then maybe your posts will be useful.

No offence taken Strucktcha man, But I think you need to reread my post. I did not say, and I do not think, that the only way for a species of fish to appear in a location is by being introduced.

By the way, who is Somone? and does she make a habit of introducing fish to new locations. You should warn her that after you have posted her secret on a public site the Fisheries guys will no longer be ignorant of her activities.;D

I sincerely hope you find my advise, above to be useful.8-)

rando
05-02-2009, 02:08 PM
M62
Its good to hear that the threadies are in fact a relatively new arrival. If 20-30 blokes hadnt caught on in over 10 years, its a fair bet they werent there to catch.
The Snapper are a slightly different equation, in that the bay has always had a snapper population.So if new habitat becomes available, through a change in water quality, or , more available habitat, its easy to see the fish taking advantage.

Nico.d.R
06-02-2009, 04:45 PM
there have been 3 120cm threadies caught of the peir in the last year that i know off , so hope fully they start to appear in bigger sizes in the pine soon . I am going too have a crack at them when the banana prawns start to show up out the front , drop a live prawn into the middle of the cast netters ;D .

cheers nico

RayDeR
07-02-2009, 10:38 AM
G'day!

A lot of people are patting themselves onn the back over the improved water quality in the Brisbane River but strangely, they never mention the "D" word.

The "D" word is drought and best example is the lack of water coming over Wivenhoe Dam (Brisbane River) and, of course, down the Bremer in the last ten years.

Surely, this lack of "fresh" must accelerate the appearance of "improved water quality" ?

I am a simple guy when it comes to science but I would think more salt water in the river would mean more opportunity for salt water fish to visit or colonise.

Ray de R

struktcha_man
07-02-2009, 11:42 AM
IMO the river is a shambles
OK theres no fresh so it never gets a flush.
I was at Moggill 2 weeks ago and there was still debris from the storms floating back and forth up there.
Look how muddy it is at indooroopilly, still from the storms we had 2 months ago or more.
Its a disgusting disgrace to local council and government, most of the crap is floating in on construction, its a mess.
a few can fish the mouth and catch a few fish but why do you think those fish are at the mouth?
because the river should support an ecosystem.
I cant beleive how little foresight politicians have, they obviously cannot see past their next repayment on the condo or the mercedes.
they got no interest in ecosystems ,no understanding and really we need somone who will protect Brisbanes assests, not rape them as current pig headed ignoamous wealth driven pollies do.
And beleive me the river is an asset, how much do you think it would cost to make one that does the same thing? 5 billion?,10 billion, im guessing it would "blow out" at 30 billion easy(think about it,30 bill is peanuts for that kinda work),it cost em 3 bill just to make a tunnel under the river.
Thats how you rate an environmental asset.