View Full Version : 2009 Toyota Fraser Island Fishing Expo
Captain Seaweed
30-01-2009, 07:37 PM
Hello Folks, Yes it seems a little early but I am getting excited about this event already. Anyone thinking of going this year? I will be heading up with a group of around 12 again and cant wait! Thought I may start the thread and maybe give people time to organise an Ausfish day there?
Marty
SEA-MAC
30-01-2009, 08:30 PM
G'day Marty, I'm Going With A Crew Of 13 With 2 Boats .have Already Started Organising The Trip. Will Catch Up With You Blokes Again. Thank's Mac...
Captain Seaweed
30-01-2009, 08:38 PM
Cant wait Macca!
sempre
01-02-2009, 08:09 PM
We will be there as well as always , see you there .
Sam...
champion
01-02-2009, 08:16 PM
Hey Sam
looks like you will have "the trouble" staying with you this year !
Im sure you will teach them a thing or 2.
Joe
sempre
02-02-2009, 07:17 AM
Yeh Joe , should be a fun time .
Are you in the crew ?
02-02-2009, 10:02 AM
G'day Marty, I'm Going With A Crew Of 13 With 2 Boats .have Already Started Organising The Trip. Will Catch Up With You Blokes Again. Thank's Mac...
Just wondering how the logistics of 13 people and 2 boats goes. We may be doing it this year as Timi-Boy is keen as to take his CC up.
Do you alternate and only get out each second day? Would suck if bad weather and you only have half the fishing days and only got out once or twice.
02-02-2009, 04:51 PM
You bet I am.
Cheech, we'll have to get together and start planning this. We will also need some extra folks of course, so we will have to start recruiting, unless we can join up with another group?
I figure we'll need five or six people, if the fishing's intense, I can't see everyone wanting to fish every day...
Let's talk!
Oh, when is it???
SEA-MAC
02-02-2009, 05:46 PM
Just wondering how the logistics of 13 people and 2 boats goes. We may be doing it this year as Timi-Boy is keen as to take his CC up.
Do you alternate and only get out each second day? Would suck if bad weather and you only have half the fishing days and only got out once or twice.
G'DAY CHEECH, YEH WE ALTERNATE .MOST ARE KEEN TO GET OUT AS MUCH AS THEY CAN BUT SOME LIKE A BREAK.PLUS WE HAVE 2 BLOKES THAT ONLY BEACH FISH. THANKS MAC..
tropicrows
03-02-2009, 10:01 AM
Marty,
Good thread to start, I'm hoping get up there with Timiboy and his crew if I can make the grade. It would be really helpful if you old hands at this, could pass on some of your experience as to what to expect, and a few tips to us green horns going there.
backlash08
03-02-2009, 10:16 AM
Marty,
Good thread to start, I'm hoping get up there with Timiboy and his crew if I can make the grade. It would be really helpful if you old hands at this, could pass on some of your experience as to what to expect, and a few tips to us green horns going there.
I havnt done the comp or towed a big boat up the island for a few years now but what I think are the most important points, be very well prepared, very patient and leave heaps more time than you need for getting big boats up the beach and over the hill, things go wrong, trailers and vehicles can and do break so you must plan for this otherwise you'll end up turning a wonderful adventure into a pain in the bum
enjoy - Craig
champion
03-02-2009, 11:27 AM
Yeh Joe , should be a fun time .
Are you in the crew ?
Sam at this stage im 50/50.
Im starting a project this month so i hope it is at a point where i can get away.
Team Champion might not be there Dave is going to Germany to visit his in-laws-to-be & Michael has some Massive jobs on the go.
Leo is already planning his outfit for "The Cape" ..... it is non stop shit when he is around.:D
The little punks wont know what hit them staying with You Boys !!;D
joe
Captain Seaweed
04-02-2009, 07:35 PM
Well for those that want to know. I have done 3 Fraser Comps and towed the boat to last years for the first time. I started a post last year as I wanted to get all the info I could before taking my boat up. I didnt want to look someone who wasnt prepared, gets in trouble then looks around to everyone else for help. Things I have learnt.
-Go prepared. Make sure the car, boat and trailer are in good condition to be towed a bit of a distance up the beach.eg if you know the wheel bearings need doing then do them. The trailers do experience a little more load with all the bumps than on the road and are subject to different knocks and jars. Something I was worried about with the Seafarer. So I did the bearings, replaced worn tyres and made sure boat was tied down and ready for some rougher riding. Turns out it wasnt that hard to get it there and conditions were quite good both for towing and beach launching.
-Make sure the vehicle is prepared for the trip and have recovery gear ready and accessible. Prepare to get bogged and run through in your head and with your mates what the plan of action will be if or when it happens. Nothing worse than trying to find a tow point when your burried in sand.
-Have a tow vehicle follow the boat up. Make sure the tow vehicle is also in a condition to perform. Light tinnies will be ok but if the sand gets thick and there hasnt been much rain it can be a challenge getting around Indian Head. In thicker sand follow other well worn ruts dont attempt to make your own track through the thick stuff.
-There are a lot of boats heading up. Everyone is going to the same place, show courtesy to other people. It may be easy to get frustrated with a slower person in front, due to the excitement of the trip but remember that person might be the one pulling you out of the poop over the next week.
Okay so you finally get there.
-I recommend parking boat straight up with all other boats next to the gutter. Unless you already know where you will be camping and have a destination in place. I found it easier to drive my empty ute from camp and hook boat up next to gutter, rather than towing all the way to camp.The boats have been safe there in the past and I have never heard of thievery, even still I take all valuables with me.
-Watch how people launch boats into the gutter and find the quietest part to launch and retrieve cos if its high tide in the arvo you will get small waves wash over the bar and make loading ht e boat back on a pain. I have noticed if you launch right at the end of the gutter the water is very shallow but it is more pretected.
-Log on with VMR, wear safety gear and be prepared to be inspected upon return for fish and safety gear.
-Be prepared to launch and retrieve, have a plan in place and a what to do if ..in place. If not I will look forward to seeing you on the nights woopsys on the big screen!!!
A little long winded but a quicker summary of my 5 cents worth.
All in all this is by far one of the best weeks of the year. It is great fishing, great commeradery and a great experience. You will meet top people there and leave home with a grin from ear to ear and a vow to return the following year....provided you were prepared.
Marty
Captain Seaweed
04-02-2009, 07:52 PM
When at camp there are buses that pick people up from the beach and take you to the comp/venue site for all the action of the day so that you arnt tempted to drinkand drive(courtesy of the comp). Here you will find all the prizes, bars.food. fish weighed in , sponsors stands and a heap of other people all smiling from ear to ear cos they made it up one more year. I cant really upsell it anymore and for once you can believe when I say you wont regret it and you will have a ball.
Marty
sempre
04-02-2009, 08:06 PM
Spot on mate , if your going for the first time take note of what has just been said .
Sam...
Captain Seaweed
04-02-2009, 08:17 PM
One last thing....When you have loaded the boat on the trailer and your about to drive out reverse first and then frive forward over the rutts your trailer wheels have formed while sitting there getting loaded. The trailer will start to sink as it is reversed in and sitting there so keep this in mind. Not a great time to start taking photos and chatting with one leg up on the drawbar. If you do find yourself stuck keep a level head and continue with that thought out plan, even though it can be easier to blame everyone around you (culprit right here).
Thanks and Good Luck
Marty
Marty
Yep Yep
decided last week whilst camping at Pebbly Beach that I just can't miss Fraser Is comp so the Good SPOT is going again haha
Craig is the deckie again and we are heading up on Sat 9th May for the two weeks of fun fun fun
Camping at Ocean Lake again
will have a mate from Brisvagas with his boat join us for the first week and maybe a few from the Woolgoolga area as well
cmon cheech, are u realy doing it haha, get chong into action;)
TimiBoy look forward to seeing you again we will have to catch up, you can give me some GPS marks haha
bring it on :)
cheers Murf
will have to make time and meet you this time Marty;)
I can see a BBQ coming up :)
cheers Murf
Chong
05-02-2009, 09:30 PM
I'll drive my tinnie over and see u there8-) , might need some extra fuel ::) . Would love to be part of this years event, some good vids on u tube if you have not been before. Great footage of the gutters and 4x4 over the sand, makes good viewing.
Cheech, Timiboy...we will talk on sat night and set a plan ;)
Captain Seaweed
06-02-2009, 06:16 AM
will have to make time and meet you this time Marty;)
I can see a BBQ coming up :)
cheers Murf
Yes Murf that would be great. Always keen. Tried to meet up with a few of the guys last year but only got to meet seamac who turned out to be my neihbour. So this year it will be quite a big camp.
Thanks Marty
Yes Murf that would be great. Always keen. Tried to meet up with a few of the guys last year but only got to meet seamac who turned out to be my neihbour. So this year it will be quite a big camp.
Thanks Marty
hey Marty where do you guys normally camp at?
are you serious Chong? top stuff, I am just stirring up Tranter now to jump in with us
cheers Murf
06-02-2009, 08:16 AM
hey Marty where do you guys normally camp at?
are you serious Chong? top stuff, I am just stirring up Tranter now to jump in with us
cheers Murf
Tranter!? Maybe I won't go now. :)
Is looking like it may be a go-er. We have been looking at rentals, but I have not even had a reply from the local real estate place at Orchid. They are probably still laughing at my question of "is there any available accommodation during the comp". Camping will be ok though as I have heaps of gear due to my annual camping holiday at Cathederal Beach.
I have not been to the Ocean Lake camp, but assume it is like any of the beach camping areas and it is byo everything. Is that right?
Tranter!? Maybe I won't go now. :)
Is looking like it may be a go-er. We have been looking at rentals, but I have not even had a reply from the local real estate place at Orchid. They are probably still laughing at my question of "is there any available accommodation during the comp". Camping will be ok though as I have heaps of gear due to my annual camping holiday at Cathederal Beach.
I have not been to the Ocean Lake camp, but assume it is like any of the beach camping areas and it is byo everything. Is that right?
yes mate re the camping, Ocean lake is more protected from the winds (he says after getting smashed by the wind last year haha) you camp behind the front dune unlike the rest of the beach camping back to the South of Ocean Lake
I take my boat home each day as it is easy to tow, I fill her up at the shop get supplies and water while there then can reorganise for an easy departure next day when back at camp, I also clean fish out the front of camp beside boat on a cleaning table table I made up
I prefer the camping when on Fraser as you are right on the beach and not 2km back up in the bush, it is a 7km run up to Waddy boat launch from Ocean Lake but thats easy usually depending on tides (getting around one section before Waddy)
cheers Murf
I will put up a few pics later, off to get an Aux fuel tank so I can go further on the Bio Diesel
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
06-02-2009, 10:53 AM
Hey Guys you wont get a rental. I have tried for years. Toyota hires them out for the sponsors. I had a mate high up in the Toyota camp but even he couldnt pull any strings and he is involved in organising the event. We normally camp at Waddy on the beach down from the comp with the other campers. This year some of us are going early to secure a spot closer so it could be anywhere. I will keep you guys posted. It would be great to catch up there.
Marty
06-02-2009, 11:30 AM
With the entry fees, what is an associate member? 70.00 sounds more appealing than 230.00. Does an associate entry mean you can fish, or does it just mean that you are allowed to enter the weigh in area.
Or does the skipper enter as a member and then all the deckies join as associates of the skipper?
With the entry fees, what is an associate member? 70.00 sounds more appealing than 230.00. Does an associate entry mean you can fish, or does it just mean that you are allowed to enter the weigh in area.
Or does the skipper enter as a member and then all the deckies join as associates of the skipper?
associate member only gives you entry to the comp site each night, that's it, you can still go fishing but can't weigh anything in
full member you are in the random draws for $250000.00 worth of prizes plus you can win the fishing categories
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
06-02-2009, 08:46 PM
associate gets nothing, go thr full member. 1 in 1500 chance s of winning a cruisecraft or a hilux? pretty good odds!!!!!.........?????
Heres a few pics that may help the first timer's.
First is looking towards waddy from ocean lakes camp ground.
Second is the waddy gutter, remember this changes from week to week, ive been up there when theres been no gutter and your launching and retrieving vertually into surf.
Third pic is launching into the gutter at its best.
Forth is looking back at the waddy launch site ... foxy
backlash08
08-02-2009, 05:54 AM
good pics Foxy
lido76
08-02-2009, 10:24 PM
Heading to fraser for my first classic and I am chomping at the bit. I will be towing my boat up and hopefully have accomadation in the XXXX house(plenty of beer). I will need a good day to get out as I only have a 4.5 m boat but I have fished plenty offshore out of it (up to40ks out) and I am very experienced so all I need is the weather gods to be nice for a change and give us a couple of good days. Very keen to meet some ausfishers. Keep the info comming guys as I need all the help I can get.Only 97 days to go but whos counting. YEEHA can't wait........
whynott
09-02-2009, 08:49 AM
Yeah,
Would not miss it...
Be good to catch up with you again Murf.
Lets hope the weather is a bit better...
For those of you that are going for the first time, or if you just want to remember last year, here is a link to a posting that I did when I got back from last year.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=131795
See you all up there..
Graham.
yeah Graham we enjoyed every bit of the adventure even getting smashed by the wind and rain and having to leave 2 days early haha
thats one of the great things about this comp is how everyone helps everyone its just has to be experienced to be believed;D
cheers Murf
whynott
10-02-2009, 06:55 AM
At least the DVD for last year was a little better.....
Graham.
Captain Seaweed
10-02-2009, 01:46 PM
Hey Fellas, I have attached a link to a clip I put on youtube to try and show you guys what the gutter was like last year. It is a bit of a long clip but it shows the gutter, the conditions and us launching the boat. We had some minor problems at first as we had the boat off the winch with chain on only and when we went to move we moved her onto the chain and had to try again. This obviously attracted the 9WIN camera. Anyway nothing too exciting but shows what its all about. Oh yeah one of my mates brought up his cousin from the country as you can see, and it was their job to launch it off. This also gave the camera guy a good laugh and egged on more jokes to stuff the boys up.
For those wondering this was with a 3m extension too.
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=D62wnW9e_Tg
Cheers Marty
hahahahaha Marty says Murf the 2006 clown (we got the clown of the week award for dropping the boat on the track in front of a 1000 people at the footy day :-[ )
Captain Seaweed
10-02-2009, 08:28 PM
Murf, I am sorry mate but I gotta laugh. I could imagine it now!!!
Fish_Two
10-02-2009, 10:57 PM
Hi Captain Seaweed,
Looking at my first trip with the boat this year, i am starting to get things
Would you say a 5m extension draw bar be better?
thanks,
Captain Seaweed
11-02-2009, 06:11 AM
I think 3m is as long as you want. 5 metre is pretty long.
Hi Captain Seaweed,
Looking at my first trip with the boat this year, i am starting to get things
Would you say a 5m extension draw bar be better?
thanks,
what size boat?
5m extension is too long IMO
cheers Murf
insideout
11-02-2009, 07:57 AM
another thing to remember is when you have retrieved you boat, dont just get out and do the checklist thing, like u would at the boat ramp, for this causes problems for other people getting there boats out as well.
Go up the beach, out of the main traffic, and secure ur boat there, for sometimes there is 200 boats trying to launch on a patch of beach that is about 1 km long, and at times only 50 mtrs wide.
MICHAELG
11-02-2009, 08:29 AM
Will be there with 2 boats and crew, camping up in the waddy camping area
Michael
Captain Seaweed
11-02-2009, 03:15 PM
Well I havnt met too many people on here. Maybe we could choose a day and meet up on the beach in the arvo and have a few beers and maybe tee up a trip out the following day? I will be camping next to seamac on Waddy beach. Who would be interested to meet up? I am happy to pick a day as it gets closer and the beach is always a good place? or camp? any suggestions ???
Marty
haha pick a windy day with a windy day following;D
Murf
Reefmaster
11-02-2009, 04:13 PM
hahahahaha Marty says Murf the 2006 clown (we got the clown of the week award for dropping the boat on the track in front of a 1000 people at the footy day :-[ )
Hey Murf that made for some of the funniest footage I have ever seen and you handled it brillantly. Does that bloke still speak to you;D ;D ;D
11-02-2009, 06:45 PM
Marty, that is just about the longest beach launch I have ever seen :P ;D ;D
Practice makes perfect and I am sure you'll have it down pat for this year.
3mtr ext draw bar is all that is necessary....
Captain Seaweed
11-02-2009, 08:02 PM
Yes Phil no record breaker on that one. We had some problems with the new winch set up. It wasnt the old ratchet its a custom flywheel jub and starter motor. As long as you get a laugh!!!
Marty
Hey Murf that made for some of the funniest footage I have ever seen and you handled it brillantly. Does that bloke still speak to you;D ;D ;D
thanks Greg:)
the Fraser experience was all too much for the big fella, we still talk but not close friends any more, he was having girlfriend issues at the time and took it out on the boys ::)
Fraser has this wonderful thing of bringing out the best in everyone as its an effort to get all the gear up there, I have met so many great people over the years all of them willing to lend a hand to strangers.
he's having a ball:)
piss OFF
he's loving every minute of it:)
piss OFF
is this the third time you dropped the boat on the ground? nah only second, the other time it wouldn't come off because the chain was still attached
piss OFF
hahahaha I couldn't stop giggling;D
cheers Murf
Fish_Two
11-02-2009, 09:43 PM
hi guys ,
maybe a 4m ext bar,do not like the feeling of getting the truck wet???
its a 6.8m glass boat with twin engines, big heavy sucker, should be fun just getting there,
11-02-2009, 10:01 PM
Thanks for that Post and Vid Marty !
I know i've heard the Patrol at full trottle before ;D
Just waiting for Murf to make a smart ar$e comment here about having no boat ::) ;D ;D ;D
Thanks for that Post and Vid Marty !
I know i've heard the Patrol at full trottle before ;D
Just waiting for Murf to make a smart ar$e comment here about having no boat ::) ;D ;D ;D
haha I was gunna the other night but now you beet me too it:P
rob tranter
12-02-2009, 12:40 PM
NO BOAT RAT?:P
hehehehehehehehehehehehe:P
And to all that know me, I have had to decline Murf's invite for this mammoth fishing adventure.
And to all that don't know me, you poor unfortunate soles;D
Cheech, you can go along now, with the reasuring thought that I will not be there.;)
One day.
Hey Lucky Phil
How's that other M&G/trip coming along, we need to book some lodging's you know?:D
Rob T8-)
Captain Seaweed
14-02-2009, 08:42 PM
Hey Lucky Phil, are you going to come to this years comp?
15-02-2009, 06:34 AM
I will not be attending at this stage.
I am however, heading to the big sand island in the June / July school holidays. Great weather that time of year.
/
/
/
stevelcqld
15-02-2009, 08:37 PM
hey. Would love to do this but not sure if my boat is suitable. I have a 4.9 mtr Quinnie top ender side console clone with a 90 on the arse.. Would this be ok?
I am only in a 4.75m C/C bluefin and it does it fine
know your boat know your limits
Cheers Murf
stevelcqld
15-02-2009, 08:53 PM
Ok, now just need to steel a 4wd.. Have a mate with one.. but he just told me he is not game to drive on sand.. big girl... I used to do a heap of beach work... so driving on the beach is fine with me..
Captain Seaweed
18-02-2009, 08:06 AM
Steve,
Last year I was out in my boat which isnt a huge boat but very seaworthy. I was idling over 2m swell on the way out and I got overtaken by a 12 ft tinny!!!Your boat would be good up there providing you know you boats limits and know your boat. The fishing is very good up there and you dont have to go out miles for good bottom. i am happy to give you some close marks if you like.
Marty
boatboy50
28-02-2009, 01:28 PM
Hey Guys,
I'm looking at the possability of heading up.
I'm looking for someone who needs a hand with an extra vehicle and helper to tag along.
I'm self sufficient with capable 4x4, been to Waddy many times before (not for the comp), have my own camping gear, and will pay my own way. I don't even want to fish, just want to experience the comp and take plenty of videos/pics, and most of all have fun.
Not confident in towing the Seafarer up there, so it will stay home. I could bring the jetski up though as a safety measure?
Anyone need a tag along helper?
Captain Seaweed
04-03-2009, 12:55 PM
Darren,
Your more than welcome to come up with us if you like.
Marty
youngy
11-03-2009, 05:32 PM
Hi guys, i also will be back again for another crack at this great comp.
It has just been announced that this will be the last one so we had better make the most of it, if you have always wanted to go better get in quick over 1,000 entries already. cheers wayne.
Hi guys, i also will be back again for another crack at this great comp.
It has just been announced that this will be the last one so we had better make the most of it, if you have always wanted to go better get in quick over 1,000 entries already. cheers wayne.
what tha ?????????
last one????????????
they said the were good for another 5??????????
youngy
11-03-2009, 08:42 PM
Hi Murf, sorry mate but it is the last Toyota Expo and i doubt any other company would want to take it over because of the expense of running it, we will just have to make the last one the best one. cheers wayne.
if thats it I am hearing ya
will make it a good one ;) :'(
cheers Murf
12-03-2009, 05:36 AM
Well at least next year there will be available accommodation, ample parking, and no queues at the gutters.
We'll have to get an annual Ausfish meet and greet going to mark the softness of Toyota, as long as it doesn't compete with Agnes, of course.
Sounds like a plan Tim
MY ALIBI
31-03-2009, 09:49 AM
How Would I Go With A 8mtr Plate Approx 2 Ton Goin Over Indian ??
I Take It The Barge To Go On Is At Inskip ??
Would It Be Better To Have A Extended Draw Bar On Trailer For Lunching??
whynott
31-03-2009, 12:06 PM
How Would I Go With A 8mtr Plate Approx 2 Ton Goin Over Indian ??
I hear the sand is very soft at the moment, so you may need another truck to pull you through.
I Take It The Barge To Go On Is At Inskip ??
Yes.
Would It Be Better To Have A Extended Draw Bar On Trailer For Lunching??
Yes, you will be better off with an extended bar, not just for lunching, but also for launching. :) :)
Try and get your hands on one of the previous years dvd's that will show you what you will be in for, not just getting up there, but also while you are there.
Hope things go well for you getting up there.
Graham.
dunglisonsean
01-04-2009, 07:02 PM
my albi there is a lot heaver boats what go up there u should have no dramas just hope its not paited because a boat that size will be hard to get through some bends through the in land track (how do you get a 8m boat to way two tone
Captain Seaweed
02-04-2009, 06:35 PM
Not long now boys! I have booked everything and will be heading up on the Saturday prior to set up camp. I heard that the screaming jets may be playing this year anyone else hear this ? or is it going to be the kernighans only?? Anyone know?
Marty
(this years hilux winner)
whynott
02-04-2009, 06:50 PM
I heard that Mental as anything were playing...
Graham.
youngy
02-04-2009, 06:52 PM
Hi Marty, MENTAL AS ANYTHING is the only band i have heard mentioned at this stage, cheers wayne.
bullant_2401
03-04-2009, 11:35 PM
how about a trophy or even recognition for the best fisho in both rock/beach/ and outside over thlast 28years THERE HAVE BEEN SOME GREAT fishos compete over the years, just my thoughts thats all see you guys up there.
if the Mental's are playing then I hope the weather is no good the next day ;D ;D ;D
cheers murf
Captain Seaweed
04-04-2009, 09:51 AM
Hey fellas I am chasing some marks off the South east coast of fraser. Not sure whats out there maybe someone would be happy to share some info. I have added a list of some marks you will find some good fish over. These are genuine marks and fished well last year. Picked up a 7kg Green Job and some monster parrot and red throat. Being Fraser you cant really miss up there but I recommend these spots for any first timers. North Gardiner did not fish as well as the marks here.
Good Luck
Marty
South Gardner
S25.02.746 E153.31.799
Area close to above
S25.02.477 E153.29.149
Aroha Reef
S25.58.848 E153.27.647
S24.58.758 E153.27.530
North Gardner
S25.54.475 E153.28.158
S25.54.306 E153.28.302
S24.58.623 E153.23.559
thanks for them marks Marty, the ones on North Gardiner's will always give you a great feed
the only time I have gone to the South Gardiner's we got drenched from the rain, smashed by the sea, blown away by the wind and couldn't get two lb's of lead to the bottom in 60m of water :-/ = no fish so smashed and bashed our way back (4.75 tinny) to North Gardiner's and caught a nice bag of fish :)
keen to give South Gardiner's a go again this year
cheers Murf
lido76
05-04-2009, 04:26 PM
Cheers for these marks Marty I will be heading up to the fraser comp for the first and unfortunately last time this year so these marks will at least give me some where to start. Cheers again Brendan..........
Captain Seaweed
06-04-2009, 07:35 PM
Fellas,
I am happy to try and organise a day out together. I know the blokes that catch the winning fish just dont stummble across them so maybe a team effort down the east coast of fraser is the go? Safety in numbers as it can get wild down there. I have on good account this is the area to fish.
Marty
Captain Seaweed
06-04-2009, 07:38 PM
Fellas,
I have 16 blokes coming up with me, most arnt big fisherman especially if it blows up a little. I have a 6.2m boat not huge but can handle slightly rougher weather. if you are keen I am happy to venture far and wide. Bait fuel supplied just bring a sense of humour.
Marty
Fellas,
I have 16 blokes coming up with me, most arnt big fisherman especially if it blows up a little. I have a 6.2m boat not huge but can handle slightly rougher weather. if you are keen I am happy to venture far and wide. Bait fuel supplied just bring a sense of humour.
Marty
what the?
get a ticket and get to the back of the line haha :)
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
06-04-2009, 08:19 PM
Maybe a meeting up there to sort a good trip out?
Marty
Maybe a meeting up there to sort a good trip out?
Marty
will def catch up when we are on the Is ;) :)
cheers Murf
lido76
07-04-2009, 02:52 PM
Hey marty only my first trip to fraser and I'm towing up my boat shes only small 4.5 m but i get out to caloundra wide around 20mile offshore regularly no dramas. I have also crossed the noosa bar 100s of times I imagine the gutters would be simillar I know my limits and on a good day I would be keen to follow you guys out I know my days out will be limited so I am keen to make the most of my chances any more tips you can give me would be appreciated i.e tackle any dos and donts anything you can help with. P.S. I will be staying in the xxxx sponsors house so a couple of beers for your help shouldn't be to hard to organise. Cheers Brendan
what day are you going up Brendan?
can give you a few more pointers other than what I did in the PM
Cheers Murf
lido76
08-04-2009, 11:13 AM
Murph I will be heading up on thursday not sure yet if going up Island thurs or staying the night at rainbow and heading up 1st thing fri morn. Thanks for the pm.
Cheers Brendan
Captain Seaweed
13-04-2009, 03:39 PM
Just got my gear. Introducing....competitor 581.....
SEA-MAC
14-04-2009, 09:34 PM
Hi marty, i got mine last week. not long now .....mac
Fish_Two
14-04-2009, 09:47 PM
Hi Marty,
How early do you need to be there to get a camp site?
thanks,
Fish Two
Captain Seaweed
15-04-2009, 07:07 AM
You will get a campsite if you get there on the Friday but not if your in a big group it will be a little hard. If your in a small group you should be right but be prepared to have to camp on a slope or squeezed between a few campers.
Marty
Hi Marty,
How early do you need to be there to get a camp site?
thanks,
Fish Two
there is always somewhere to camp you just get further away;)
there are heaps of spaces North of Ocean Lake, take the Ocean Lake turn off and there is a track behind the frontal dune
cheers Murf
15-04-2009, 11:50 AM
Is that opposite the ' backtal ' dune ?
haha you are getting all technical on me :P
I got my number today #635
24 sleeps for us :)
cheers Murf
MICHAELG
15-04-2009, 01:34 PM
so when will be the catch for a drink day, for all ausfish members. I'll be camping in the group site at waddy ground
michael
so when will be the catch for a drink day, for all ausfish members. I'll be camping in the group site at waddy ground
michael
its hard to make a day because if the weather is suitable then we are fishing :)
but look out on the windy days
what UHF car channel do you use? I am usually on 20
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
15-04-2009, 04:17 PM
No reason why we cant maybe meet each other up at the comp site in the evening???
Marty
No reason why we cant maybe meet each other up at the comp site in the evening???
Marty
Okay that sounds like a plan ;)
I will be the one that looks and smells like a fisherman haha
maybe around where the table top Landcruiser was last year? just out side the tent
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
15-04-2009, 06:48 PM
Yeah that sounds good. Maybe on the first night of the comp and have a few beers that way you can say " I know that bloke" when I go to pick up the keys to the hilux!!
Marty :)
MICHAELG
16-04-2009, 08:07 AM
sounds like a plan for the 1st night. I'll set UHF to 20 maybe that can be the dedicated Ausfish car channel?
michael
marvin
22-04-2009, 03:30 PM
Hi all, this will be my 16t fraser comp, we stay in the Waddy Lodge main house which is just north of the Waddy point beach camp ground, driveway is between the high tide track ramp and the rubbish transfer station to the north of Waddy beach. Some ausfish members have parked their boats in front of our house as we can often keep an eye and ear out at night on the boats. We will have vehicle UHF on ch 20, and our little 4.6mt boat is called Bri-ann. Please call into the house if you need any paramedic assistance, turn right at the top of the driveway. My mobile is 0408848564. We will be going up on Sat 9th May and leaving Sat 23rd after the comp. Call in for a beverage if it's windy, stay safe. cheers Kev.
whynott
23-04-2009, 05:17 PM
If anyone is after a new esky for the comp, I have a mate who has a couple for sale.
Ring him for any details.
His details are:
Ross 0438 077 039
300 ltr $495 1.3L X .64W X .60H
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2669Large.jpg
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2670Large.jpg
155 ltr $280 .97L X .52W X .55H
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2674Large.jpg
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2678Large.jpg
110ltr $195 .92L X .43W X .50H
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2671Large.jpg
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/100_2672Large.jpg
marvin
23-04-2009, 09:51 PM
I work on the rescue helicopter as the paramedic and I was over on the island again today for another 4x4 accident, for those people who haven't travelled the beach before, the rocks that are usually covered by 10 feet of sand allowing you to do 80kmphr are now 4 feet above the sand and fully exposed! The rocks around Happy valley and up to Eli creek, Yindey, Chards and McKensies rocks, are not passable with more than half tide in. Some single vehicles are making it over, but if you are towing a low axle trailer, and it is not close to low tide, you will have to drive over the rocks! Danger danger to springs and your rigs. Please take a bit extra time to plan your drive up the main beach, as you don't want to get wedged on the coffee rocks or have an accident on them. Night time driving on the beach will need to be done slowly slowly. The coffee rock is very hard to see at night time, and before you know it you will be ontop of it. The beach has a 3-10 foot cliff on the island side of the main beach up most of the northern end, with wash outs moving each day. My message, please take care on your way to and from the expo. cheers kev.
adamleah
23-04-2009, 09:59 PM
Looks like I am heading up now, with some contractors whom do work for me...
Fishing beach "Unless anyone has spot in boat for me" and camping on a block of land at Orchid .. Have been told we will be eating at comp everynight so might see yous there,,,
whynott
24-04-2009, 06:05 AM
This backs up what marvin has said:
Here is a photo taken during the week of Chard rocks about 2kms south of Eli Creek, that are exposed and may be difficult to traverse if you have not got good clearance.
Lets hope that the tides cover the rocks in sand before the comp.
This photo was emailed to me last week and I have been asked to post a pic on the site by a couple of members.
I hope the owner of the photo does not mind me posting the pic.
http://i30.photobucket.com/albums/c310/whynott/IMG00038.jpg
Here is the latest beach reports from Fraser:
Exposed Rocks on Eastern Beaches
This alert is valid from : 09-04-2009 to: 20-04-2009 (inclusive)
Page generated on : Thu Apr 16 11:47:24 2009
Visitors and tour operators are advised to expect poor beach conditions on the Eastern Beach of Fraser Island due to exposed rocks, including the areas listed below. All drivers are strongly advised to exercise extreme caution when traversing these areas. Drivers should drive to tide and beach conditions at all times and be aware of changing conditions due to weather and swells.
Road closed: Ngkala Rocks bypass impassable
Ngkala Rocks bypass has steep drop-offs due to recent high tides, making the road impassable. Do not use the Ngkala Rocks bypass.
North of Happy Valley - McLaughlan & Chard Rocks
McLaughlan Rocks and Chard rocks are exposed and may be difficult to traverse.
South of Happy Valley – Yidney Rocks are exposed
Rocks between the northern Yidney bypass track and Happy Valley are exposed and may be difficult to traverse. The alternative route from the Yidney Rocks bypass direct to Happy Valley can be used.
Poyungan Rocks Beach
Poyungan Rocks and the associated bypass are open. However, due to exposed rocks, traverse with extreme caution.
Glad the Nissan has heavy duty side steps and heaps of clearance.
Graham.
http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/statusicon/user_online.gif http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/report.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/report.php?p=1003708) http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/images/buttons/post_thanks.gif (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/post_thanks.php?do=post_thanks_add&p=1003708)
stevelcqld
25-04-2009, 08:37 PM
I can't go, but why not have all Ausfish members have a Yellow ( or other colour) tape around an arm whilst on land.. that way you can spot / help / rib Ausfish members at will !!!! Elect tape is cheap !!!!
26-04-2009, 08:58 AM
OR...... purchase an Ausfish Shirt, cap beanie or stricker.
Fish_Two
26-04-2009, 10:49 PM
Marven,
I saw the chopper land this morning on the beach,
could these be the same tossers as the ones that we doing donuts, with their legs hanging out the 4WD late yesterday afternoon in the same spot????,
Anyway the coffee rock is very exposed north of happy valley,this was the worst, with a step up of close to 500mm to navigate, high tide on the beach is no go with all the the trees blocking your path,
Should be fun just getting there,
whynott
27-04-2009, 06:24 AM
OR...... purchase an Ausfish Shirt, cap beanie or stricker.
Lucky, where can I get a stricker from???:D :D :D
lido76
27-04-2009, 10:51 AM
Whynott you can get the stickers by clicking on the ausfish shop tag on the left of screen.. See you up there only 17 days to go!!!!(408 Hours) but whos counting.
Cheers brendan......
whynott
27-04-2009, 11:03 AM
Whynott you can get the stickers by clicking on the ausfish shop tag on the left of screen.. See you up there only 17 days to go!!!!(408 Hours) but whos counting.
Cheers brendan......
Brendan,
Thanks.
I was having a dig at Phil for his spelling mistake.;D ;D ;D
I have stickers already on the Patrol.
You are right....
Not long to go.
Lets hope that the weather gods are good to us this year.
Could not be any worse then last year.
Graham.
Captain Seaweed
27-04-2009, 07:59 PM
Hey Fellas,
What do you think will happen with the beach the way it is at the moment? Do you think we will need to make alternate routes to get there, like heading up through Bundy?. Anyone know how they will go getting their gear up Main for the event? I have looked at the photos and read the reports its looks failry bad at the moment and I am sure the Seafarer will not make it up through that coffee rock the way it is.
Just putting it out there.
Marty
I imagine there will be a heap of traffic before we get there so the rocks will be smoothed out, or we hit the harder to get over rocks later in the day (the Sat before the comp) at low tide 1.30pm ish is 0.54m tide, high is at 8.30pm at 2.03m so its not real high. if there is a bit of swell it will give you a better chance of running around the rocks but don't get caught by a wave;)
if we don't get past the rocks then we will have a party on the beach haha
have you got your # plate swinging on plastic zip ties? so it swings up when dragged on the rocks/sand
have you cut off the bottom of your roller stems that stick down past the bottom rear rail of the trailer? don't want to rip the ass out of your trailer
pack the shovel:) and lets have an adventure
cheers Murf
whynott
27-04-2009, 08:43 PM
Hey Fellas,
What do you think will happen with the beach the way it is at the moment? Do you think we will need to make alternate routes to get there, like heading up through Bundy?. Anyone know how they will go getting their gear up Main for the event? I have looked at the photos and read the reports its looks failry bad at the moment and I am sure the Seafarer will not make it up through that coffee rock the way it is.
Just putting it out there.
Marty
Marty,
I was talking to a guy today that was 1 of 4 that towed their boats up there early for the comp, and they had no problems at all getting around the rocks on low tide.
Sounds good to me.
Not many sleeps to go!!!
Graham.
marvin
27-04-2009, 10:11 PM
Marty, Going to Bundy will not help you, unless you want to call into my place for a beer? as the tracks from the western side of the Island where we come over through from River Heads and Urangan all come out at Eurong or on the southern side of Happy Valley which is south of the rocks in question. Low tide is the go and all should be fine. I am back at work 28th April, so if I am flying over the beach this week, I will let you know the conditions, with 5 kts wind forcasted for this Thursday, the beach should get a good working over with the busses and the toyota trucks taking gear up there, the comp site is already partly assembled. 12 sleeps to go for us.... Im Excited!, kev.
Fish_Two
27-04-2009, 10:36 PM
HI Guys,
I was there at the rocks on dead low on sunday, there is a gutter on the bottom edge of the rocks,so unless you like lots of saltwater???
the gutter was still 300mm deep at 1pm sunday, there have been logs and timber blocks to fill the holes in, Camper trailers were hitting the rock ,
i would take some timber just in case,
there is already tarps marked on the grounds for camping spots,
top stuff, I hope they put one down for me haha, like that will do anything other than get them a fine
cheers Murf
whynott
28-04-2009, 06:18 AM
Just heard on the radio that the speed limit has now been decreased to 80 kms on Fraser.
I thought the limit was already 80, not 100.
I can imagine the police up there in force during the comp to ensure the speed limits are enforced.
Heh Murf, its good to see you put your glasses on and changed the tide times.:D :D :D
Graham.
whynott
28-04-2009, 06:23 AM
Roadwork: Middle Rocks to Waddy Point - 28 April – 7 May 2009
Please be advised that roadwork will be occurring from 28 April – 7 May 2009.
Works will take place from the carpark at Middle Rocks through to Waddy Point. Heavy machinery will be used in this area –
please exercise caution. Visitors are advised that access to sites north of Middle Rocks will remain open however expect delays.
Please observe signs and directions from rangers.
catfishkid
28-04-2009, 08:27 PM
A mate towed his 7M alloy boat up there on the weekend in preperation for the comp.He said the beach was very bad in places and a trip that usually takes just over an hour took over three,but he did get up there.here is a few pics he gave me.Thanks darren (Swordie) for the pics.
Cheers Craig
PS: I got my jersey last last week,we arent fishing the comp but my boss is paying me to go up for work purposes.(He needs a driver for when he drinks).
Captain Seaweed
28-04-2009, 10:29 PM
looks like it will be quite an adventure. Now I really cant wait, I think it makes it more enjoyable when it takes a team effort to get the boats up there with all the stuff.
this is one of the many things that make this comp so extraordinarily unbelievably excellent :laola:
cheers Murf
29-04-2009, 12:35 PM
anyone know how the track is that goes right up the guts of the island to orchid beach? several tracks from the western side lead to it.
Mr__Bean
29-04-2009, 12:56 PM
Looks like you need a bobcat!!
- Darren
01-05-2009, 05:20 PM
Grader, Scraper, Bobcat, plough and any other form of earthmoving equipment going ahead of you and you'll be sweet going the inside Heath,...;) :-X
Towing a boat inland from Hook to Orchid is a 10 hour trip.... maybe 9.
whynott
05-05-2009, 07:05 AM
I am off to Fraser bright and early this Friday morning with low tide about 1pm.
Heaps of time so there is no rush.
With a group towing a boat, a van and a camping trailer.
Good luck to everyone going up there and stay safe.
Might meet up there with a few of you.
Like a lot of others, I will be on UHF 20.
Graham.
05-05-2009, 04:12 PM
Well I have now driven from hook point to orchid beach. Today went from happy valley to waddy point. If you all head on the low tide you will not have any issues at all. The beach is fine. The poyungun bypass is a bit rugged on the southern side, and the same rock as usual on the northern side. I doubt you can pass poyungun without going to bypass, but may be possible on dead low. Poyungun is the only place that may cause greif, but a couple of blocks of wood in the back will solve that problem.
Yidney rocks is only passable via the bypass. Yidney to happy vally is no problem via the beach on low tide, probably 2-3 hours either side. the bypass from yidney to happy valley is in good nick. In the week I have been here so far the tides have dumped heaps of sand onto yidney rocks.
McLauglan and Chard rocks are easily passable on the low tide. On the very high tide chard rocks might be a bit tough, but other than that it will be no issues at all.
From chard to indian head is all good. Indian head is very good at the moment. You could almost cross it in 2wd its that good. Indian head to waddy and orchid is pretty standard fare, but if you have towed a boat up there before then you will know what to expect. No different to usual.
So if you head up on dead low tide, then I would expect that you will have no issues. The beach is certainly in much better condition than the inland tracks. You will have more greif inland than via the beach. I have taken photo's, but I dont have my camera cable here, so cant upload them. Will do so when I get back to brisbane.
as Lucky_Phill has said in the Agnes Water M&G I will be running an Australian flag on my Nissan GQ aerial and the 4.75m Blue Fin boat Good SPOT aerial :)
now madly packing everything into the car and boat for the early leave Sat morn
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
07-05-2009, 07:53 PM
I am leaving in the morning to set up a camp and the boys will stay and I will be back again Thurs morn. I will put a report up of my travels when I get back. FYI I will be at the barges about 9am with the red patrol ute and a camper trailer, should hear me if you cant see me. Good luck in your travels to those also heading up. To confirm, first opening night of the comp we could meet at the Toyota Hilux they are giving away say at 7pm for a chin wag. My number up there will be 0448 833 117. Look forward to meeting some of you guys.
Marty
07-05-2009, 08:24 PM
Ok, some pics now! This is poyungun rocks, by far the worst part of the journey. My stock height d40 navara made it up there no problems.
07-05-2009, 08:36 PM
This is happy vally and yidney rocks. The first 2 pics 6292 and 6293 are looking south from happy vally entrance toward yidney rocks. Pic 6294 is after the rock at happy valley but before the yidney rock bypass. Pic 6296 is looking north toward the yidney rock bypass.
07-05-2009, 08:48 PM
The last pics a chard rocks and McLaughlan. 30011 is chard rocks, as you can see a non issue. This was maybe an 1 hour on the incoming tide. The next pic shows some cars crossing through the track in the middle, it is all sand. Last pic 30018 is of McLaughlan.
It is possible to pass chard and McLauglan on higher tides, just a bit rougher. I never did it so I cant comment.
07-05-2009, 08:50 PM
IF you want any more pics etc send me a pm. Got a couple of the high tide track around chard and mclaughlan rocks. Got no pics north of chard to orchid as it is no different to usual (same this time last year).
Captain Seaweed
09-05-2009, 02:19 PM
Hello Fellas,
I just got back from setting up at Fraser. The beach is good except travel on low tide. I did the run home from Waddy this morning on the high and got all the way to the high tide barge track with no problems. Use all bypass routes at headlands. The only area that would need a snatch is the ramp up to champagne rock pools. I found it a little struggle with the ute and camper on back but got up with no assistance.
IMPORTANT- If you book and pay for the White bardge at the shell servo at Rainbow you get a discount . It costs $50 per car and $100 car and boat/trailer instead of $90 per car and $150 boat trailer.
I am heading up early on Thursday again. Lots of people up there already. Waddy beach not passable on high tide you will be camp stricken unless you own a submarine. Great feeling to be up there cant wait till Thursday.
Marty
Fish_Two
10-05-2009, 07:49 PM
Hi Marty,
How are the rocks north of Happy Valley? Was the drop off still there?
Is the gutter getting any deeper at Waddy Point?
Glen
Captain Seaweed
10-05-2009, 07:59 PM
Hello Glen,
The drop off north of happy valley was there but it is not a problem at all. Its only a small step up. I didnt get to see the gutter at Waddy as I set up in the arvo and left in the dark. Looking at it from a few k's it is not that noticeable. The beach is relatively"flat " and therefore the tides are washing right up. Much of the beach is impassable on high tide.
Marty
Fish_Two
10-05-2009, 08:33 PM
Thanks for the update,
boatboy50
14-05-2009, 06:33 PM
Hey Guys,
Good luck and enjoy.
I can't make it in the end, so can you guys make sure you shoot loads of pics and videos and post them. I'd love to see it all.
adamleah
23-05-2009, 05:53 PM
will be quick Just got back from beach and misses wants to speak but mates wanna see pics... weather was great first few days up there and then wind squalls and swells turned up bringing less boats to water and more beer in bellies,,,,
Unsure if this has been posted yet but John Gooding had a mishap and ended up landing on beach 2 days ago and yesterday after only 13 boats launched a 6m glass boat rolled over.... and another 6.2m tinny also through a few overboard both supposedly due from a new sandbar forming at south waddy gutter entrance.
Gale force warning given to us last night confirmed we were to leave earlky this morn for a run and we took only 1 hour 40 from champange to Manta ray passing a line up of cars / boats behind sempre ant chards,,, Great week..
Will explain pics when i load em up
adamleah
23-05-2009, 06:05 PM
few boggings and pics of the boat park before surges
adamleah
23-05-2009, 06:24 PM
these are shots from return trip home ... people we kow left last night at 930 and it took 4 hours to get to hook to find surges up to the sand walls / dunes and had to run through inland track... after tonights surges it will be worse for sure...
First shot is line up at Chards , 2nd is reason for line up, remaining are the 2nd option way around.... last shot is a clown at the barge trying to head to fraser in a little jap car bogged to its hubs.....
adamleah
23-05-2009, 06:38 PM
few more boggings....no more other then vids of which i have no idea how to post or YOUTUBE..
23-05-2009, 06:46 PM
Adam,
was that not Johns cruiser which had the trailer on it.. has a 70mm ball so it must have been??
adamleah
23-05-2009, 06:56 PM
Yeah was his trailer, Turtle used his winch on his chevy to dry pull it up the beach and then winch it onto trailer using a clip/shackle in addition to someone winding in slack from hand winch on trailer,,,,, ..
adamleah
23-05-2009, 07:00 PM
Prob confusing what I just wrote.... Johns Cruiser was hooked up to trailer and chevy was beside it...
Fish_Two
23-05-2009, 09:40 PM
and some more
Fish_Two
23-05-2009, 09:46 PM
the shallow entrance to the gutter, i was hitting bottom all parts of the tide,
note the marker bouy to the gutter:-/
Fish_Two
23-05-2009, 09:57 PM
fraser , not for the faint hearted
Captain Seaweed
24-05-2009, 06:26 PM
Well great to be back and dry. Trip was great but I did head off on Wednesday as I couldnt see the weather improving. This year was almost a splitting image of last with all the rain. Never the less managed a good day out and picked up quality fish on the edge of the shelf. Nice to meet a few of the boys up there and a shame it is the last year of the comp.
Marty
25-05-2009, 08:46 AM
Thanks guys.
What about the leader board? Sizes and names of the winners?
Captain Seaweed
25-05-2009, 08:50 AM
Results
http://www.toyota.com.au/toyota/events/Content/0,4906,8006_1106,00.html
MICHAELG
25-05-2009, 08:56 AM
well another good trip was had, caught up with some other members and won some prizes. Last night was huge as one of my crew won the Hilux;D , it was a very slow packup Saturday morning
Michael
25-05-2009, 09:34 AM
Thanks for that Captain. Some usuals there but a lot of new ones as well.
woo hoo ;D
another great trip to Fraser, the weather gods were very kind to us this year
great to catch up with old acquaintances and meet new friends again
only had one near go bad going out through the Waddy Point launch, copped a green back on the windscreen of the C/C 4.75m tinny :o , only got about 10lt of water in the boat and 10lts on each of us. Heard latter that day that a 4.75m tinny went over in the same spot just after we went out, was good to see him win a car topper tinny at the comp
plenty of quality fish for the table but none for the comp, only caught one Red of 60cm, had some fun with a shark taking the best 3/4 of a spanish around the 12kg mark :)
hasn't the beach copped a flogging from the weather of late, its hard to comprehend how much sand can be moved overnight when you see the size of Fraser Is
cheers Murf
catfishkid
25-05-2009, 02:44 PM
Yeah murph,we saw that centre console that got rolled over,didnt look to be to badly damaged considering what happened.The main thing was no one was hurt.
We were only up there for 4 days as associates but we had a blast.
Cheers Craig
well another good trip was had, caught up with some other members and won some prizes. Last night was huge as one of my crew won the Hilux;D , it was a very slow packup Saturday morning
Michael
it was really great to see the bloke that won the Hilux look like he really wanted it, how much fun were the group that mobbed him haha ;D top stuff and good on ya's
yeah Craig the 4.75m that rolled over didn't seem to do too much damage to the structure of the boat, bent up the C/C windscreen was about it, all his electrics and fishing gear were buggered. What surprised me hearing he wasn't insured that he didn't get the motor going straight away, salt water in a two banger for a period of time won't help the cause
Hey Marty I did try to catch up, rang you once and found ya camp but you had gone home :( never believe a weather report at Fraser Is :)
cheers Murf
Captain Seaweed
31-05-2009, 07:11 PM
Thats cool Murf. Will try and run into you on another M&G By the way, Macca on here SEA-MAC, his camp got 2nd in the Red Emporer. I dont think he would be one to blow that trumpet so I am doing that for him. His mate Henk is always keen and obviously knows what he is doing. Only got pipped at the post by 40 grams I think or maybe 30. Too bloody close I recon! I will be going inthe Brisbane to Mud M & G so I may see you there if your in it.
Marty
Captain Seaweed
31-05-2009, 07:12 PM
by the way caught a couple of pearlies like the ones in your Avtar east of Waddy have the marks if anyone wants them. A few horse fish around there.
Marty
by the way caught a couple of pearlies like the ones in your Avtar east of Waddy have the marks if anyone wants them. A few horse fish around there.
Marty
were you in a 100m plus for the pearlies? Roz and I only went out 2 km and in 11m of water for those pearlies in my avatar ;)
did briefly meet Macca at the comp site with Graham (whynot) was in a rush as always so didn't get to have a couple of coldies and a chin wag
cheers Murf
ps PM me the pearly marks for reference only, just getting my head around it all up there :)
SgBFish
31-05-2009, 08:52 PM
It looks like the digital camera is a powerful tool looking at this site.
You should also remove the other references made at 6:46pm, 6:56pm and 7pm on the 23rd just to be thorough.
It looks like the digital camera is a powerful tool looking at this site.
You should also remove the other references made at 6:46pm, 6:56pm and 7pm on the 23rd just to be thorough.
whats the go?? why where when who?
legal reasons?
or other reasons?
plenty of pics and vid of it around
cheers Murf
whynott
01-06-2009, 07:02 AM
whats the go?? why where when who?
legal reasons?
or other reasons?
plenty of pics and vid of it around
cheers Murf
Hi Murf,
Whats this all about????:-/ :-/ :-/
Graham.
kitty_cat
01-06-2009, 06:05 PM
i think the pics are a valuable lesson for some and would rather some fish pics but no one has posted any i can find on this site.
is everyone talking about johns boat pics a bit late now they are everywhere seen pics by friday at sancutury cove boat show. who cares so he made a mistake live and learn thats what makes frazer what it is not for the faint harted.
iam sure if it was my boat pics wouldnt be erased.
good to see everyone had a great time but were are the pics.
wayne
a couple of pics
average daily catch
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2653.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2674.jpg
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2682.jpg
some fun with a shark
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2693.jpg
two rte on the one rig, its hard to miss haha
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2676.jpg
my little tender next to Steve's 9m giant
http://i362.photobucket.com/albums/oo64/murfgq/100_2702.jpg