View Full Version : FNQ Meet & Greet Queens B'day Long Weekend @ Cardwell
levinge
27-01-2009, 08:06 AM
After a show of hands at Mission Beach, it was decided to hold another M&G and this time it will be at Cardwell over the June Queens Birthday Long Weekend.
So now its time to start thinking about it.
Who's In????
To the Mods, can you please Sticky this one, as it will be as big as our last M&G Thread, Many Thanks
27-01-2009, 12:44 PM
You know I'll be there, but another suggestion for location, how about Lucinda? just a short run out to the Palms, with plenty of reef for trout etc, shallows for popping up some big GT's.....aching to do that again, I'm going to destroy my reel on them, plus its a really high current area for the big spaniards.
Thinking of heading back upto mission on Easter weekend too though. Might have to scrimp the pennies and splash out of a proper GT popping combo and get a stella.
levinge
27-01-2009, 03:16 PM
Lucinda is pretty good but for long weekends we need alot more time to allow for bookings as Lucinda's accommodation choices are alot less, whereas Cardwell has more than enough at short notice.
27-01-2009, 03:48 PM
yeah true, never thought of it that way. Either way I'l be there.
ronnien
27-01-2009, 04:19 PM
guess who will be turning up to this party!, & i have some... well lets say marks.
ron.
27-01-2009, 04:37 PM
At the first M&G we stayed at a cara park (forget the name) that's the first on the left hand side heading south, if it's still the same it has a water view licenced alfresco area, cabins, unit accom, and something more backpacker/worker style accom and of coarse camping also lots of room to park boat and car.
Was nice sitting out the front with a view straight out at the water. The units also have water views.
The great thing about a Cardwell M&G is the area is open to not only those with reef boats, 12 footers can have a ball in the channel. Lucinda even more so, but the cara park at that time of year is standing room only.
eugah
28-01-2009, 11:24 AM
I'm a big chance for the Queens Birthday weekend as i already have leave approved. The only way i won't be there is if my son makes rep football again as the NQ championships are played the same weekend.
Adrian
28-01-2009, 04:10 PM
I cannot remember and too lazy to look it up..where is Cardwell..accomodation available and shore based fishing okay ??? Might go for a drive for that weekend.
STUIE63
28-01-2009, 04:15 PM
Pinhead just head north on the M1 about 1600km after crossing a range you only have 30km to go LOL
28-01-2009, 04:25 PM
easy..a days drive..no problem there
28-01-2009, 04:30 PM
I cannot remember and too lazy to look it up..where is Cardwell..accomodation available and shore based fishing okay ??? Might go for a drive for that weekend.
Pinhead grab a likely gaggle of tropical reef fish experience challenged Ausfishers;D, hop a plane to TV or Cairns. pile in a troopy hire car (or bus:o) and farm yourselves out as deckies for the weekend....or anything of the like.
If the weathers fine enough the reef is a wondrous place to wet a line, up here IMO charters most often cannot hold a candle to a try anything go anywhere traditional reef trip.
28-01-2009, 04:40 PM
I might even consider going on a charter with Ryan Moody, he operates out of their and gets into heaps of cowboy nannygai.
28-01-2009, 04:42 PM
Scott..i was gunna head up there for the M&G on the QB weekend.
Something different to do....me get on a plane??? Not bloody likely..I have run up and down the road flapping my wings and cannot take off..I was not meant to fly..I have had 12 flights..there will not be a No. 13..I hate the things.
I was just thinking about the alcohol challenged ausfishers for a weekend chat and good time...fishing is just a side line.
BUT...I won't head up near El Arish..I hear the locals are a bit odd there!!!!!!
(ya think he will say anything about that comment??? )
28-01-2009, 05:04 PM
Scott..i was gunna head up there for the M&G on the QB weekend.
Something different to do....me get on a plane??? Not bloody likely..I have run up and down the road flapping my wings and cannot take off..I was not meant to fly..I have had 12 flights..there will not be a No. 13..I hate the things.
I was just thinking about the alcohol challenged ausfishers for a weekend chat and good time...fishing is just a side line.
BUT...I won't head up near El Arish..I hear the locals are a bit odd there!!!!!!
Air crash investigations is one of my most favourite shows, does nothing for the industry i am sure:o
I have heard that when the locals all get together they do not agree;D;D;D
Wahoo
30-01-2009, 05:40 PM
i would like to be there, my boat should be sold by then and the new bluewater Might be finished by that time i hope, but if someone needs a deckie at the time i'll put my hand up
levinge
30-01-2009, 05:50 PM
At the first M&G we stayed at a cara park (forget the name) that's the first on the left hand side heading south, if it's still the same it has a water view licenced alfresco area, cabins, unit accom, and something more backpacker/worker style accom and of coarse camping also lots of room to park boat and car.
Was nice sitting out the front with a view straight out at the water. The units also have water views.
The great thing about a Cardwell M&G is the area is open to not only those with reef boats, 12 footers can have a ball in the channel. Lucinda even more so, but the cara park at that time of year is standing room only.
I think thats the Beachcomber Motel and Tourist Park, have stayed there before and it has alot to offer, not to mention plenty of room to park the boats.
I will be booking in there myself.
If you want to have a look -
major-defect
06-02-2009, 07:24 AM
Yeah it's a roomy park and you have fisherman style units or the flasher ones at the front.At the moment i'm working that weekend but i'll try and change that.
CHAPPY
06-02-2009, 01:37 PM
Gee
I hope it stops raining before June.
Chappy
ryeham
06-02-2009, 09:31 PM
A relatively new Ausfisher but definitely keen to pack the wife up and go, work dependent.
08-02-2009, 01:37 PM
Geez Greg...just wait till you meet the local ausfishers from Townsville....odd doesnt even begin to describe them....
Nice bunch of blokes but you really do have to be a little strange to live in that town...;);D.
levinge
08-02-2009, 05:48 PM
Hey Scott, don't start throwing stones, you'll have to do too much diving to get to them at the moment.
The only odd thing is our dedication to travel 90+ NM round trips to go reef fishing.
Mind you, I like your oddness, taking unsuspecting foreigners out on ya boat, now I know why you don't make your own berley, they bring it for you and dispense it as well.
By the way, have you had to put the boat in to go get the bread and milk????
08-02-2009, 06:53 PM
Yeah Brett, bit wet isnt it?..Seems Tully is all out of dunny paper...Which hand am I supposed to use to wash my arse?;D
I do feel a bit sorry for you guys that its such a long hike to the reef down there...sounds like once the wet is over you might have to give the Formosa an overnighter or 2 to make the most of having to travel so far....I love having 2 days out there ,even here, just because it gives time to explore more territory..more tide change periods and of course more time to fill the esky....
Ive taken quite a few people of different nationalities to the reef over the last 4-5 years and have had some fantastic experiences but that one that I did the report on (with the sick Korean girl..she swore that she had been to sea with her father many times with no seasickness and would not take any tablets)was not much fun and I compounded it by deciding to fish within 5km's from the edge of the shelf with a big groundswell 2m+ and no protective reef.......thats what made them crook...took one aussie wwoofer one day to Little Otter Reef(not far from the Lady Bowen) and a front came through earlier than expected (only there an hour)and I was barely able to stand up let alone fish but as luck had it the spanish were schooling under the boat and I had to pull this guy away from his desperate attempt to sh!t and spew simultaneously over the side without ending up in the drink..just to pull in spanish in a double hook up situation...by the time we got 5 landed he was cactus and it was getting a bit dangerous...only time Ive left due to weather...should have seen the look on his face as we surfed down the face of the waves on the long trip home..
Overall though I've had some great experiences watching people who have never caught a fish longer than 30 cm before hook up to trout, nannies,cod,spanish,tuna etc(and they almost always love to catch a shark for some reason:-/)...however when they may only be here for a short period, sometimes to fit in a trip I have to go in sometimes unfavorable weather..:-/..
If its really just way too rough these days I just take them crabbing and croc spotting down the river in the tinny...;):)
Looking forward to a run around the Hinchinbrook area ..even if its blowing its tits off we can still throw out a few pots and wet a line in Missionary bay and maybe duck around the corner to Eva Rock...
Ps ..Sorry for the ramble but I just thought I had better clarify that I dont actually take people to sea just to make them sick....
levinge
08-02-2009, 07:40 PM
Yeah I know, I was just baiting the crab pot, seems to be the only fishing I'm doing at the moment.
I haven't done an overnighter, but it is on the list, just have to get my act together and organise it with one of the other boats down here. Better to be out there with someone else, safety in numbers stuff. Might talk Alchemy and Nic into a run out. Just have to talk my "gun fisho Lynne" into going out too. She's not too keen on night fishing.
I'm with Lynne, I'm not a massive fan of fishing through the night either as the photos don't look very good (comparatively speaking).
I do like fishing into the early evening though, followed by hot dinner and a sleep (enjoying the gentle rocking and sound of water against the hull) and then getting up to fish at first light. It doesn't get much better than that, I reckon. :)
Don't know when we'll get out again on the big boat though... I wonder if the catties and sharks would be prowling the reefs ATM?
matmuller85
11-02-2009, 03:03 PM
Hey Nic,
If the rains hold out i will probably be heading out crabbing and chasing barra this weekend
levinge
11-02-2009, 08:48 PM
Matt, I gotta work Friday Night, but if the weather breaks I might go for a fish, not confident, but getting touchy and just a little jumpy. I want to blood the new rig (once again evil laughter follows)!!!!!!!
nonibbles
12-02-2009, 05:52 PM
I'm planning to be in. Hopefully if weather is fine I could tie up to another boat for an overnighter. The ol' open runabout is not without spookiness on its own at night if too far from shore. I wasn't cut out of Cooky's mold. Those who went to Taylors Beach M&G will recall what i mean.
I'll see what the fuel/money equation is before deciding to take the boat but would love to stand in line if someone needs a hand.
I think I owe a couple of blokes some favours from that TB M&G.
Alchemy
12-02-2009, 10:05 PM
Yeah I know, I was just baiting the crab pot, seems to be the only fishing I'm doing at the moment.
I haven't done an overnighter, but it is on the list, just have to get my act together and organise it with one of the other boats down here. Better to be out there with someone else, safety in numbers stuff. Might talk Alchemy and Nic into a run out. Just have to talk my "gun fisho Lynne" into going out too. She's not too keen on night fishing.
G'day Brett,
Not sure when the next ovenighter will be but will let you know. I think I'll wait till the fresh clears and the debris sinks, hopefully :-/
So far as overnighters off Cardwell... there is some good anchoring around Otter reef or you can run back in behind the Brooks or the top of Hinchinbrook depending on wind direction.
Swamp
17-02-2009, 05:43 PM
The NQ Sportfishing championships are always on the QB weekend at Cardwell. So, if you want to see some good fish, the weighin is at the Cardwell sportfishing clubhouse, at about 12 on Sunday.
Bill:D
blueline
17-02-2009, 09:21 PM
The NQ Sportfishing championships are always on the QB weekend at Cardwell. So, if you want to see some good fish, the weighin is at the Cardwell sportfishing clubhouse, at about 12 on Sunday.
Bill:D
hey bill
hopfully to see some good fish all we need to do is look in our esky's;D .
but yes it would be worth the look.
13-03-2009, 01:42 PM
So I take this thing is still on?? Nothing's been said for a while thats all. And Beachcomber will be the accomm base?
As with last time, I'll be looking for a spot on a boat, might even be able to drag my boat up there if I ever get around to putting new bearings and tyres on the trailer. Mind you, I'll be sticking to the channel and hinchinbrook island, there's a nice patch of reef on the northern edge I should be able to raise a few fish from.
Nanny King NQ
13-03-2009, 08:56 PM
Mate unsure if i will be there however if I do go up you have a spot to drag the anchor with me.
levinge
13-03-2009, 10:13 PM
Your boat finally going to make an appearance there Rod.
All being well I will be up there with the boat and the Mackinator in all her glory..
Nanny King NQ
14-03-2009, 05:03 AM
Maybe,
Cant promise anything, I said to Kylie that the new bub is going to come before anything for the first year or so. HAveing said that I still will be going fishing, drinking etc.
BUt I might be able to get up there for the long weekend.
I am going to Mission with my cousin, (red_nut), the week before Easter for a spot of cobia fun. Gooing to hit the Bowen wreck and get some of those big bad boys up. Got some long line I'm gunna use as leader no pulling the hooks out of the.
levinge
14-03-2009, 05:02 PM
Good luck with that Rod, THey certainly were pulling hard on the wreck!!!
levinge
23-03-2009, 08:06 PM
Booked today and deposit has been paid. I am going!!!
Come on the rest of ya, get your s%$t in a pile and get involved!!
Wahoo
23-03-2009, 08:26 PM
Booked today and deposit has been paid. I am going!!!
Come on the rest of ya, get your s%$t in a pile and get involved!!
opps sorry, wrong date
levinge
23-03-2009, 10:10 PM
Wise guy!!!!! Wouldn't worry if I was the only one there, wouldn't have to fight for a spot on my mark!!!!
You booked yet have you Daz.
Picked up my new rig back in February - Shimano Tyrnos 20 2 speed on a 24kg T-Curve with 50lb Platil. Should be able to test it properly up there!!!
Hopefully it will be broken in by then!!!
Wahoo
24-03-2009, 03:20 PM
Wise guy!!!!! Wouldn't worry if I was the only one there, wouldn't have to fight for a spot on my mark!!!!
You booked yet have you Daz.
Picked up my new rig back in February - Shimano Tyrnos 20 2 speed on a 24kg T-Curve with 50lb Platil. Should be able to test it properly up there!!!
no not yet Brett, i will most likely leave it to the last minute, mate the new outfit will be well and truly broken in buy then, might have to get a new one....lol
ryeham
24-03-2009, 05:24 PM
unfortunately I won't be able to come......work are sending me on a training course. Was looking forward to it as I would have liked to meet all you guys....maybe next time. Cheers.
24-03-2009, 05:32 PM
Brett..just let your missus use it ...at least then it will have caught fish ;);D...
levinge
24-03-2009, 09:52 PM
Oh Scott that hurts man!!!
She got something new also. The Daiwa Rig that I bought her before Xmas, now has a twin so she has 1 permanently setup for trolling and the other for bottom bashing etc. She is itching to get fishing again also.
I will be having a pre-fish up there in late May for a club comp, so I will definitely have the area sussed out. Should be fun...
nickstock
26-03-2009, 12:38 PM
Sounds like it will be a good weekend. Lets hope the weather plays the game.
Nick
Teabag73
08-04-2009, 02:03 PM
I'm keen though won't be able to confirm until closer to the date. Cold possibly need a deckie. I head to the Cape for 3 weeks on the 21st of June so the Boss may get cranky....hehehehe:)
blueline
08-04-2009, 05:02 PM
hey teabag
it will be a good chance to take your new formosa for a run.
nonibbles
11-04-2009, 12:41 PM
Sorry guys, I'm out. Personal.
Teabag73
13-04-2009, 02:52 PM
hey teabag
it will be a good chance to take your new formosa for a run.
Yeah, very keen to take it out for a solid testing.........
blueline
19-04-2009, 08:12 PM
hey teabag
im sure brett would agree them formosa's will take anything you can throw at them.
levinge
20-04-2009, 07:35 AM
Yep, there tougher than the bodies driving them. A little stiff after the last trip out, but that was my fault. When I got home, was a little stiff in the lower back, so I decided to stretch out and instead of loosening things up I pinched a nerve and paid for it big time. Coming good now after the pills an tiger balm have worked their magic.
Really looking forward to Queens B'day M&G, should be fun....
I'm really looking forward to it too. Our last trip out was restricted to less than 24 hours, really need more time than that to do all the stuff you want to do. Long weekend is perfect...
levinge
04-05-2009, 11:13 AM
Okay all Guys, Girls and those confused!!!!
We are just over a month away from the next Meet and Greet (beers optional).
We need to start putting some things into place prior to the get together.
Home Base for most I suspect will be Beachcombers at the Northern end of Cardwell.
1. Who is coming - please feel free to reply with numbers?? (be good to know how many people are attending and who)
2. Where you are intending to stay???
3. Spare seats in boats (if you need some crew).
4. Do we want to have a friendly fishing comp or do we want to just brag about our catches???
5. Who wants to have a BBQ at Beachcombers on Saturday Night, say 6:30pm onwards???
If anyone has any other suggestions, please feel free to add them!!!!
This one should be good, hopefully the weather will play its part and allow some more awesome fishing...
Looking forward to catching up with all of you again and the new faces as well....
Brett and the Mackinator
05-05-2009, 11:14 AM
I'm out this time, got family coming up from Wollongong that long weekend, annoys me they only told me a couple of days ago, had to cancel my booking, thankfully they refunded my deposit no worries.
blueline
06-05-2009, 09:34 PM
at this stage its looking good for me, if it does blow up i'll bring the tinny.
Teabag73
07-05-2009, 03:33 PM
I will be there depending on the weather and will look at accomodation closer. With the weather the way it is at the moment I don't want to commit just yet.....If I do come I maybe looking for a deckie........I can always tent it.......
Teabag73
12-05-2009, 09:29 PM
Well, I'm taking the plunge and we will be there but going povo style and camping. It will be myself and a work collegue so roll on queens birthday weekend......I will be down Friday afternoon and leave monday morning.......Be good to meet up with a few of you guys over a couple of coldies......
levinge
13-05-2009, 07:46 AM
Looking forward to it!!
Alchemy
13-05-2009, 06:20 PM
We're still planning on being there. If the weather is good we'll stay out Saturday night, so would prefer the bbq to be Sunday but what ever the majority prefer. If the weather is ordinary then we'll bring the tinnie. Either way it will be a great weekend :)
megafish71
16-05-2009, 08:22 AM
Will see how things go with the final few bits of fitout on the boat. If the weather looks OK I might head down for the weekend. Yeh to having a boat back on the water.
Ron
16-05-2009, 05:56 PM
Man I wish I was still going, stupid family I haven't seen in years messing up my fishing plans....
Never mind make it a good one so everyone wants to do it again, I WON'T be missing the next one.
levinge
16-05-2009, 09:44 PM
Going up to Cardwell next weekend for a fish, will let you know how its fishing Scott, just to rub it in a little!!!!!
Weather looks on the improve...
blueline
17-05-2009, 04:58 PM
hey brett
if the weathers good i might get out next weekend, if i do i will give you a call, what chanel do you sit on?.
levinge
17-05-2009, 09:49 PM
I'll be monitoring 16/22 on the VHF - Callsign "Hard Livin"
Hope to see you out there, taking Lynne, so that means she'll be knee deep in Mackerel, AGAIN.
Took her for a fish about 2 weeks back and she collared another nice Mack 14KG
blueline
18-05-2009, 08:36 PM
hey brett
soon you will have to leave her home to stop her showing us blokes up.
if i get out i will give you a call.
jamie
levinge
19-05-2009, 06:17 PM
She might hide the boat keys on me...
Best to take her as I know she's a Mack Magnet
19-05-2009, 07:19 PM
You are a lucky guy Brett..
I'd be so happy if my missus even showed a spark of interest in fishing...but mine hates it and goes nuts on a small boat in no time at all...she hates to even go crabbing...
And to top it all off your lady is actually good at it..brings home the bacon and probably cooks it as well...
All you have to do now is convince her to head out to the wider grounds and spend a couple of days fishing and exploring ...Take a leaf out of Dave and Nics book ...they catch some great fish and no doubt have an awesome time finding them...
I am planning a trip with Scott (FNQ) to bathurst head about the time of the M@G unfortunately..would love to get out with you fellas but I really need a good relaxing holiday so I will miss this M@G..
Have fun anyway and I hope the weather is kind enough for a reef trip...
levinge
19-05-2009, 08:31 PM
Thanks Mate, enjoy your trip with FNQ, hope you bag out in short time and spend the rest of the break kicking back, sucking down a few cold ones and watching the world slowly go by.
I know you need the quiet time!!
Alchemy
19-05-2009, 08:48 PM
You are a lucky guy Brett..
I'd be so happy if my missus even showed a spark of interest in fishing...but mine hates it and goes nuts on a small boat in no time at all...she hates to even go crabbing...
And to top it all off your lady is actually good at it..brings home the bacon and probably cooks it as well...
All you have to do now is convince her to head out to the wider grounds and spend a couple of days fishing and exploring ...Take a leaf out of Dave and Nics book ...they catch some great fish and no doubt have an awesome time finding them...
I am planning a trip with Scott (FNQ) to bathurst head about the time of the M@G unfortunately..would love to get out with you fellas but I really need a good relaxing holiday so I will miss this M@G..
Have fun anyway and I hope the weather is kind enough for a reef trip...
Thanks Scott. We definitely have a great time when we are out on the water together. In our relative short time in NQ we have found more ground and caught more/better fish than we ever had in SQ. I think being faced with not knowing anything in terms of where to fish has forced us to pay more attention and work harder than we ever had before.
Enjoy your trip to Bathurst Head. I've been up Weipa way (various areas off the beaten track) a few times and loved it. Would also like to get to Bathurst one day too. Perhaps an opportunity for a remote M&G :) I look forward to a report with lots of pics!
Richard
19-05-2009, 09:56 PM
Hey Guys and Girls,
Can anyone save me some time of trolling through this thread and let me know when and where the next one is going to be held ?
Is it still at Cardwell in June ?
thanks
Richard
blueline
19-05-2009, 10:15 PM
Hey Guys and Girls,
Can anyone save me some time of trolling through this thread and let me know when and where the next one is going to be held ?
Is it still at Cardwell in June ?
thanks
Richard
hey richard
the m&g is at cardwell queens Bday weekend at the beachcomber
www.cardwellbeachcomber.com.au (http://www.cardwellbeachcomber.com.au)
hope to see you there.
jamie
blueline
20-05-2009, 08:11 PM
hey brett
weather looks good atm, about 5kts in the morning and picks up to about 15 by 2 pm, but seabreze says saterday will be the best day.
Richard
20-05-2009, 08:18 PM
Yeah Saturday is looking like a cracker.. about time too.
blueline
20-05-2009, 08:25 PM
hey richard are you going out this weekend?. looks like i may have to work sat, but on sunday i may take the kids around the islands for a run, i'v been promising to take them for some time now.
Richard
20-05-2009, 09:09 PM
Yeah going to try and get out Saturday somewhere, maybe out down through the Russel Mulgrave.
I've only got a small tinnie (4m edgetracker) so bit hard to go further but going to go around the headlands if the weather is good.. or maybe double island. only relatively new to cairns so still finding my way
blueline
20-05-2009, 09:19 PM
make sure to take some crab pots it looks good in the russel,whent there for the first time 2 weeks ago for the barra comp. out the front or even the islands should be good, there geting the dogys atm (school macs) out the front of here (innisfail) and also some spanish so you may do allright.
Teabag73
20-05-2009, 09:52 PM
I was out today off Cairns and it was very good. It was a little bumpy when I poked my head around Fitzroy in the morning but as the day went along it only got better. I came home (38Nm) at full noise which is about 75km/hr.......Great day and yes, Saturday looks good so I will be heading out again though a little wider if the weather was anything like today........Oh, also have a lovely visit from our friendly Fisheries Officers and had an enjoyable chat (the good type).........
blueline
21-05-2009, 06:56 PM
so how did you go teabag? whats biting
Teabag73
21-05-2009, 07:16 PM
so how did you go teabag? whats biting
It was a pretty quiet day. I went out on my own which makes it a little more busy and difficult then when there are a couple of others in the boat.....There was a few Macks about and I did OK with a few Nannies and couple of Reds also. I didn't work the shallows as I think the Trout are already in the shallower water.....I was fishing 35plus mtr mark.........Good day out none the less.....Saturday should be better with the bigger tides to get a little more run as there was very little on Wednesday......As they say, no run, no fun?
levinge
25-05-2009, 09:59 PM
Righto People
Who is turning up. Time to make a decision.
I'm in and booked at the Beachcomber Cabin 11 Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
Teabag73
25-05-2009, 10:14 PM
Righto People
Who is turning up. Time to make a decision.
I'm in and booked at the Beachcomber Cabin 11 Friday, Saturday and Sunday.
I will be there though camping. I haven't booked but spoke to them on the phone and he said no need to book for camping as there will be heaps of space. I will arrive early friday afternoon, around 2ish and leave monday morning. This means two good days of fishing, let's hope the weather gods a good to us........;D
eugah
26-05-2009, 10:08 AM
Brett I will make a decission when i know what the weather is doing. Will probably stay at my mums place.
Adrian
blueline
27-05-2009, 08:48 PM
hey guys
all i can say is i'm doing my best to get my boat on the water by then.
jamie
28-05-2009, 01:42 PM
all I can say is sorry boys, but next time, I've got family coming up from NSW.
Also, just to let you know, I'm on holidays from work as of tomorrow, so sorry about the weather, its all my fault. Hopefully I get swine flu or something so I can't go fishing and it might fine up for you.
Richard
28-05-2009, 02:07 PM
Hey guys,
I'm consdiering going to this thing but I'll be by myself in a 4m tinnie. If I do decide to go, anyone interested in a spot on a boat ?
I'm pretty much set up for luring. Got a 4m edgetracker with a 25 yammie on the back and a minn kota up front, full floor, casting decks back and front, etc ,etc.. can be a rough ride but it's a great creek boat.
If I go I'll probably be focussing on the mainland creeks, maybe Missionary bay if the weather permits (never been over there). Alternatively, if it's rough weather and someone with a bigger boat wants to jump in for a few sessions and do some skinny water stuff, let me know. (I wouldn't mind getting out to some reef too :))
Richard
Wahoo
28-05-2009, 02:51 PM
Team Wahoo won't be there, something better we must attend to on that weekend
DOGFIGHT
29-05-2009, 01:22 PM
HAHAHA Daz, you have no hope going anywhere that week end
Wahoo
29-05-2009, 07:03 PM
HAHAHA Daz, you have no hope going anywhere that week end
hmmmm, i dont think i have a say in it..............................do i
Bad_Bubby
30-05-2009, 11:46 PM
Hey guys,
I am booked in to the Beachcomber for the weekend. Looking forward to it! So can we get a rough idea yet for who will be staying there? looking forward to sharing a beer or two. The weather is looking like it could go either way...fingers crossed!
-Dan
Alchemy
31-05-2009, 02:10 PM
Nic and I will be there. If the weather is good we'll likely stay out on Saturday night, but will be in at the Beachcomber Sunday night.
Teabag73
31-05-2009, 09:43 PM
The weather is looking positive for next weekend, lets hope it continues to get better.............;-)
levinge
01-06-2009, 10:45 PM
Not saying a word about that stuff in the sky and on the water, did that last trip and it went to S@#T really quick, so mums the word for me.
See you all there at Beachcomber. I'll be there on Friday if anyone wants to sit down for a feed at the Bistro. I can recommend the food, the Reef N Beef was fantastic last week....
Teabag73
02-06-2009, 06:48 AM
See you all there at Beachcomber. I'll be there on Friday if anyone wants to sit down for a feed at the Bistro. I can recommend the food, the Reef N Beef was fantastic last week....
Sounds like a plan, beats cooking.........:)
blueline
02-06-2009, 05:59 PM
reef and beef friday night and since the macanater is coming, spanish mack steak on the bbq saturday night life sounds good.;D
brett you said earlyer about a bbq saturday night and i guess sunday night so should we bring a plate for the table for sunday night.
Richard
02-06-2009, 06:59 PM
Yeah sounds like a good plan. If I come down Friday night I'll see you guys there, otherwise might have to catch up with everyone on Saturday.
Has everyone got an ausfish sticker stuck on their boat or car ?
I've got an old white edgetracker (with blue ausfish stickers) being pulled by a white 4wd hilux dualcab. If you see me come and introduce yourself if i don't do it first :)
Pretty sure i'll be camping at the moment.
Teabag73
02-06-2009, 07:06 PM
Yeah sounds like a good plan. If I come down Friday night I'll see you guys there, otherwise might have to catch up with everyone on Saturday.
Has everyone got an ausfish sticker stuck on their boat or car ?
I've got an old white edgetracker (with blue ausfish stickers) being pulled by a white 4wd hilux dualcab. If you see me come and introduce yourself if i don't do it first :)
Pretty sure i'll be camping at the moment.
Yeah, I have an Ausfish sticker on the rear of the boat just below the transom door. My boat is a 5.5 Formosa Centre Cab with 140hp Suzuki and named
Ke-Ca all towed by a Silver GU4 Patrol Wagon.......See you there, I will be camped at the Caravan Park........
02-06-2009, 07:32 PM
Well at least if its too windy too fish,you guys can all stand around and admire each others Formosa,hey Brett...;);D..
It sounds like a great weekend and even if it really is too windy at least you all will be able to still get out for inshore and estuary species....its a really great boating area down there..lots of different fishing opportunities..and probably even a spanish or 2 around Eva rock for your missus Brett..:)...have fun..
levinge
02-06-2009, 07:33 PM
You'll see me coming or going, whichever is the faster.
I'll be towing a 5.8M Formosa Centre Cab, 135HP Honda with the white Challenger up front "Hard Livin" on the boat, staying in Cabin 11, you'll see the boat before you see me....
Sunday Night would be the goer I think, that way Nic and Alchemy will be back and yes, with her majesty the Mackinator onboard, I reckon she should be able to stir up a Mack or two.
If everyone can bring a little something for the snacks, that should cover us.
Otherwise its bring some bits and pieces and cook up for yourselves, have a feed, drink and be merry. No bragging rights this trip just plain and simple fun and if you want to, brag about the fish you;ve landed over the weekend.....
Looking forward to the weekend, should be a cracker and good to see some new faces in the mix
levinge
02-06-2009, 07:35 PM
Thanks Scott, you still piking out mate or are you going to give Lynne a run for her money on the Macks.
Eva Rock, please elaborate, is that near Gould Is or down near Cape Sandwich. Never fished it!!!
Teabag73
02-06-2009, 08:50 PM
Eva Rock, please elaborate, is that near Gould Is or down near Cape Sandwich. Never fished it!!!
Yes, off Cape Sandwich. It's Eva Island and Channel rock off Cape Sandwich.....
PS: Will bring all the Paper Charts for the area......
Richard
02-06-2009, 09:34 PM
Hey guys,
Where does everyone launch from ?
I've fished the channel every year for the past 8 years but always stayed at Lucinda and fished that end or launched from Fishers Ck landing to fish the middle of the channel (which I'll be doing this time if it's blowing).
Richard
Teabag73
02-06-2009, 09:39 PM
Hey guys,
Where does everyone launch from ?
I've fished the channel every year for the past 8 years but always stayed at Lucinda and fished that end or launched from Fishers Ck landing to fish the middle of the channel (which I'll be doing this time if it's blowing).
Richard
Probably Port Hinchinbrook. At the marina.........Well, that's my intention.......:)
Richard
02-06-2009, 09:46 PM
Is it a public ramp there at the marina ?
Teabag73
02-06-2009, 09:54 PM
Is it a public ramp there at the marina ?
Yep............
Bad_Bubby
02-06-2009, 11:06 PM
No bragging rights this trip just plain and simple fun and if you want to, brag about the fish you;ve landed over the weekend.....
Hey Brett maybe we should make it Innisfail Vs Townsville (like the last one shoulda been? haha)
I'll try and get myself to the bistro Friday nite, and the bbq feed sounds good for sat...thats if we aren't lost in the mangrove creeks.
jake0
03-06-2009, 08:59 AM
hey Daza, what are you up too that is stopping you from going out ? this is a first, sounds fishy, i will call around Sunday arvo and have a cuppa mate
Richard
03-06-2009, 11:54 AM
Well just rang Beachcombers and they still have plenty of space left for campers.
I'm planning on getting in mid-late arvo on Friday and setting up before it gets dark, then getting out early for a fish on saturday (no need to rush these things).
see you all there
Richard
levinge
03-06-2009, 06:38 PM
Hey Bad_bubby, BBQ is on Sunday night, allows Nic and Alchemy to get out and do there overnighter.
I will be up there mid arvo on Friday so I hope to see a few of you for a cold one or two and a feed at the Bistro.
See you all then.
megafish71
03-06-2009, 07:11 PM
Sorry guys, boat isn't going to be back on the water for the weekend. Will have to catch up at the next one.
Cheer Ron
Nanny King NQ
10-06-2009, 04:34 PM
Where is the report guys?
Richard
10-06-2009, 04:39 PM
Have a look here - http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=150939