View Full Version : Aussie W/End Mondy

Whitto
26-01-2009, 05:07 PM
I have to say it was the best 2days of Barra fishing I've had for a while without boating a Barra....arrived Thursday arvo and setup my bunk in Nath's camp (Thanks for that Nath)....down came the rain for the entire night....had to do a bit of drainage work to divert the water......Lyndon arrived 0230 in the morning after a spot of trailer wiring problems.....Friday morning headed out in Justin A's boat (Thanks Justin for sharing your boat with me, your a Champion)... the next 2days were overcast with storms cells all over, the water was glassed out and when the sun did come out the heat was stifling, We looked forward to the rain just to cool down, then back to sweating bullets, plenty of liquid refreshment.....Over the 2days we found Barra Tailing and Cruising in a number of area's, we cast everything at them to no avail...as soon as a boat would rip through the Barra would sub surface....I know personnaly I learnt alot by just watching them Cruise back and forth.....As for Justin and me that was it.......A great weekend for me believe it or not, while I didn't boat any Barra I learnt some new things (Priceless), Thanks Justin A for showing me the modification on different Plastics.....The reports from the boys will start to appear on how they went....I know they did fairly well, well done Boys....I look forward to the cooler months to have a crack at them.......Whitto

26-01-2009, 05:19 PM
Hey Whitto ...... Sorry to hear that you didn't get into em (barra) ...... next time hey !!!!
No doubt , still a good time to be had with great company

Whitto
26-01-2009, 05:39 PM
Thanks for that Chris.....It's funny the Barra were not dancing at all...I think the O2 water content is low and they are sluggish......found many Barra sitting on the bottom in groups of 6/12 fish in 30feet of water....even tried to jig them into a frenzy..(lost a Doozer for my trouble)....thats Barra fishing for ya.....Love it.....Cheers Mate

robersl
26-01-2009, 05:53 PM
all you can do is try witto better luck next run

shane

26-01-2009, 06:06 PM
Thanks for that Chris.....It's funny the Barra were not dancing at all...I think the O2 water content is low and they are sluggish......found many Barra sitting on the bottom in groups of 6/12 fish in 30feet of water....even tried to jig them into a frenzy..(lost a Doozer for my trouble)....thats Barra fishing for ya.....Love it.....Cheers Mate

OK .... so you even had a go at some deep fish ... were they in the main basin or did you fish the river bed/edge ? Loosing a dozer hey :'( ....... commiserations for your loss!

So where did you fish ?

chewy01
26-01-2009, 06:22 PM
Just as an update,the boys cracked a fair few today.sorry to have missed you whitto,i was just up 4 a splash and dash then back for family commitments
chewy.

Whitto
26-01-2009, 07:05 PM
OK .... so you even had a go at some deep fish ... were they in the main basin or did you fish the river bed/edge ? Loosing a dozer hey :'( ....... commiserations for your loss!

So where did you fish ?

ChrisOn an Aussie Day W/end only an idiot would fish the Basin.....We worked Bird Bay at night (closest we got to the Basin).....We first found Barra tailing in B very early till boats started to flood the place and I mean flood....The barra disappeared..funny that...we left.....headed to H found Barra holding on the bottom in numbers (lost Doozer).....worked our way back to an area near D where we found Barra again holding in numbers in 30feet and observed a number of Barra tailing and cruising the weed beds again with no interest...we returned in the PM and nothing had changed still holding in the channel and still cruising the weed....working both the Channel and the weed with no success.....I know where Brian and Nath were fishing was much more productive..(Im not going to say where the boys were..that will be up to them if they choose ,mad if they do)....As I said in an earlier post it was a great 2days fishing without putting a Barra in the Boat ( U had to be there to understand).....My opening statement was not aimed at u Chris, just too many boats for mine....Cheers Whitto

Whitto
26-01-2009, 07:08 PM
Just as an update,the boys cracked a fair few today.sorry to have missed you whitto,i was just up 4 a splash and dash then back for family commitments
chewy.Like wise Chewy...we'll get to have a beer or two one day...till next time..Cheers Mate

chewy01
26-01-2009, 07:16 PM
Ill be bunking at foxies in the winter time :):)

Whitto
26-01-2009, 07:25 PM
Ill be bunking at foxies in the winter time :):)

It might be bloody cold but there will be bugger all people on the impoundment also...Ill be taking my friend Jack Daniels with me just to keep the home fires burning;D....Whitto

chewy01
26-01-2009, 07:30 PM
Least i cook up some good fishing fuel in winter crispy bacon,egg omlette,fried tomatoeshot buttered toast,gotta do something about that instant coffee though :)

Callop
26-01-2009, 07:36 PM
Thanks for the update. Pity about the fishing but the company would have made up for it a bit.

Whitto
26-01-2009, 07:41 PM
Least i cook up some good fishing fuel in winter crispy bacon,egg omlette,fried tomatoeshot buttered toast,gotta do something about that instant coffee though :)Yeah I reckon I could murder a bit of that...I can feel my artery's hardening as we speak.....Instant coffee...now if someone could invent a gas powered Expresso machine...in the mean time instant will have to do.

Thanks Dave...Good company a fire a few beers no several beers and a Camp oven brewing away......Ya can't beat it Dave;D and a small but enjoyable guzzle of Rocket fuel sorry I mean Port

Steve B
26-01-2009, 08:00 PM
Jeez Whitto, no luck again mate. Next time hey!!

Sorry I couldnt get out. The rain always provides plenty of entertainment on the roads for us. Only 2 rollovers and 1 truck jack knife...always happened jusssst as I was planning to come out and visit!!

Cheers Steve

PS: I am just trying to calculate the overall weight in that boat with you and big Justin on board!!!!;D

STIFFWORM
26-01-2009, 08:05 PM
Thanks 4 the report Whitto what an opening best barra fishing trip.When i read that my heart sank, not that i didnt want u guys 2 do well just would have been peeved 2 miss out on the trip even more. Glad 2 hear u still had a grteat time. Might get up there this coming weekend have 2 c how things pan out. Cheers les

nipsta
26-01-2009, 08:18 PM
sounds like a great weekend had by all and too see barra doing that i have not seen as of yet sounds awsome but while all you gentlemen where have a nice weekend of tailing barra i was working hard on my boat and got the finall coat of piant on it today so if ya want check it out in the boat section and give me you views i would really aprreciate that

Whitto
26-01-2009, 08:18 PM

Sorry I couldnt get out. The rain always provides plenty of entertainment on the roads for us. Only 2 rollovers and 1 truck jack knife...always happened jusssst as I was planning to come out and visit!!

Cheers Steve

PS: I am just trying to calculate the overall weight in that boat with you and big Justin on board!!!!;DBelieve it or not I thought about you when I heard about the road job's unfortunatedly it's a fact of life stationed on the Main H/way....Had to divert to The Mary Valley H/way on the way home was a fatality just south of Gympie...brought us back out onto the Highway off the road to Borumba.

Lyndon reckon we were like a couple of Silver Back's sitting in the Topender it did struggle to get onto the plane..Lyndon recorded alot of the weekend activities should be great footage.......It was a great weekend..very much a learning curve for me...Love it Steve....see u maybe next trip....Cheers Whitto

Whitto
26-01-2009, 08:23 PM
Thanks 4 the report Whitto what an opening best barra fishing trip.When i read that my heart sank, not that i didnt want u guys 2 do well just would have been peeved 2 miss out on the trip even more. Glad 2 hear u still had a grteat time. Might get up there this coming weekend have 2 c how things pan out. Cheers lesG'Day Les....strange as it may have sounded it was true for me...I learn't alot this trip (you never stop learning Les)....It was a great trip Good food ,good beer ,and good company (Priceless)...will get to catch up maybe next trip....Cheers Whitto

TonyM
26-01-2009, 09:55 PM
Sounds like you had a great weekend Whitto, with the right attitude even donuts taste allright, I guess even if ya only have instant coffee to wash them down with;D

(I should know I've had a few donut trips this season too) :'(

Plasticin
27-01-2009, 06:41 AM
On an Aussie Day W/end only an idiot would fish the Basin.....

:o :o :o What are you trying to say about us Whitto... we did, had a follow as well on a Yum. Tough weekend fishing no matter what anyone says, lots of hours for not many fish. Kept it interesting though. As they say they are only going to get harder as well.

That story about Silverback Hill, gold whitto.

Tropicaltrout
27-01-2009, 07:05 AM

Cheers Steve

PS: I am just trying to calculate the overall weight in that boat with you and big Justin on board!!!!;D

Two Silver Back Gorillas fishing tainted water!!!;D

No. 2 one the water baby:P ;D

Whitto
27-01-2009, 07:26 AM

No. 2 one the water baby:P ;DGood stuff Nath....That was us murdering the best Bacon Egg's and Sausages for lunch (well we didn't have Brekky mate we were keen to get an early start on the sight fishing)......Look forward to all the reports I know u all would have done well....what a legend Graham is.....Cheers Mate.....PS No2 on the water Baby....????Matthew Who

DEANO68
27-01-2009, 07:26 AM

No. 2 one the water baby:P ;D

rito nath wheres the fishy piccys..?????::)

SeekingBarradise
27-01-2009, 11:42 AM
Hi Whitto thanks for the campfire yarns, even thought it rained all weekend and the fishing was tough that's for sure. A few blokes were doing 15,16,17 & 18 hour days with 14 hours without a bite then a few got a good bite period. Some guys were on No Doz and doing suicidal hours and about a thousand casts a day.

We lost a fish just as we were about to net it which was a pitty. It was around 95cm. I got gillraked by another fish which was bad luck, and had a couple of really fickle bites in the day like slow grabs on the plastic etc even with stingers on they didn't hook which was interesting. That fish i saw and was about 110cm. Scott had a follow from a 60cm barra and some interesting little taps/bites etc. A very interesting weekend it was.

Camp: I reckon about 20 fish landed over the 3 days max with about 200 people chasing the fish doing huge days. It was a real funny bite during the day, we didn't fish all night where i hear a couple of bite periods popped up. One early night and the other very early am. Changing weather was interesting and didn't help the fishing.

With all of us doing massive days with hardly any sleep the campfire was a place where we looked like zombies...I'm still shattered and will need a week to get over this trip, and i didn't even drink... More social time on the next trip that's for sure. Everyone back in camp at 10am - 3pm for some more social time around the fire might be a good idea.:D

All in all we learnt a lot and the trip was made even better with good company like yourself, Nath, Scott, Greame and catching up with Brian, Ben, Paul, Navi, Vinnie and Steve for a yarn was good fun.

I'll do up more of a report once i get a few days sleep...

I reckon i heard this saying about a thousand times on the weekend.

Number 1 on the water baby... :D I think big justin and scotty started this one.

My version is: Number one underwater baby!!!!! :D We usually said this after catching catfish.... Or if any of us did something silly on the boat like birds nests etc, getting snagd up etc.

The other saying was: We smashed em!!! :D This was said even if you caught nothing... These 2 sayings were running jokes over the whole weekend with the whole camp cracking up at everyone's own version of the joke. This is a
central qld mate's joke. e.g. if you drive a skeeter and you get to the boat ramp you have to say "We/I smashed em". You are not allowed to say anything else.

It was all said in fun and nobody should take offence ok as this joke has been around for a while.

We had a good laugh of a trip. A few donuts for us on this trip. The first since the first half of last year crickey. I'll have to start planning the next one.

There is a new name for one part of the dam. Silver Back Ridge... Where only the big units fish.

Cheers Lyndon.

27-01-2009, 12:09 PM
Ahhh another Classic Lyndon yarn ....... Fantastic

Number 1 around the campsite baby!;D

BR65
27-01-2009, 01:45 PM

Cheers Steve

Dont wory about the weight Stevo, the 2 silverbacks came back lighter than when they went out, very funy story, and a new hill has been named!
Great week end boys, but you went home a day early, they fired yesterday, best days fishing Ive ever had up there, will post a report when I can get these match sticks out of my eye lids.

eotbmg
27-01-2009, 02:32 PM
Dont wory about the weight Stevo, the 2 silverbacks came back lighter than when they went out, very funy story, and a new hill has been named!
Great week end boys, but you went home a day early, they fired yesterday, best days fishing Ive ever had up there, will post a report when I can get these match sticks out of my eye lids.

Yes it was fairly exciting.
The boys did mention that you were having a purple patch

BR65
27-01-2009, 04:20 PM
If you don’t mind Whitto, I’m going to tack my thoughts onto your report, if that’s ok, it keeps up what all the boys had going on, a sharing of what was working, and what wasn’t, where fish were being caught, and how, on the spot red hot info that money cant buy!

So, I pulled into the campground around 8 on Saturday morn, to be greeted with hot, humid, muggy conditions, and a growing number of campers setting up. Rob had mentioned that they had some good rain, and the boys who were up on Thursday can confirm that, and when I wandered over to the big tree to see who was home, the trenching that had been going on would have made an engineer proud, there was a water diverting system in place to equal the Murray/Darling System!
All the boys were on the water, so my tent went up in record time, a quick brekkie beer was downed to replace the lost fluids, and I was off fishing. As I drove up the hill from the campground, the ranger and the xstream passed me coming in, so I knew Paul, Vin and Nav wouldn’t be far behind. Splashed the quinny in at the concrete ramp, water temp around 31, and headed up to my you bute secret spot, only to round the corner and be confronted with 6 other boats, hmm, not that secret by the looks. First thing I see is Naths hat, closely followed by Nath himself, with Graham on board, and he fires me up when he tells me about the couple of fish that Graham had pulled earlier that morn on froggies. A quick yarn, and I move on, to run into Benny, Josh and Lee, another social chit chat and a bit more info on what’s biting where, the boys had been getting some fish, and I was now getting a bit toey, then its Chewy in the Poly, at this stage I’m looking around for Nagg, MW, Darryl, Callop, Tony M and all the other usual suspects, thinking I’m at some sort of mini-muster!
Finally get a lure in the water, and the first taker is a nice fish that smokes me back into the sticks on a hollow belly, the 80 leader breaking right at the part of the loop knot where the eye of the jig head makes contact. The crowds die down a bit, and I’m the only boat left up in this section in the arvo, when an 87 comes off a weed bank on the windward side and eats the hollow, thank you, threat of donut is diverted, and I’m a happy chappy now. I fished on thru a nice little Monduran storm for nil result, and then ran into Nath again, who was now solo, so we tied off on a point that had been good to me before, and gave it a working over. I wont write about Naths sessions, he will report I’m sure, but lets just say 3 things – 1/ bloody vipers, 2/ it’s a good fish when it pulls your boat around the other side of the tie off tree, and 3/ a barra in mid air, perfectly horizontal 2 foot out of the water is an absolute awesome site.
A big day on the water, and a couple of bundies that nite, where I caught up with Whitto, Justin, Scotty, Lyndon, Nath and Graham, saw me in bed at midnight, with the alarm set for 3 to meet Ben and the boys at the ramp for a pre-dawn assault.
That’s day one, more to come.

Callop
27-01-2009, 04:33 PM
Oh sh!t Brian .... don't stop now .... wack the match sticks back in and keep typing.

BR65
27-01-2009, 04:48 PM
Day 2 dawns, and I wasn’t exactly at the ramp on time, more like hitting the water at 5am instead of 3.30. I ran into Paul dropping in the Ranger, and drag raced him up to B, I was leading for the first 15 seconds, then I throttled back to give him a go, well that’s my story and Im sticking with it.
Sunday for me was a looong day. I had missed the pre dawn start, the crowds were on the water, and I was looking down the barrel. So, I fished different spots, had a look in Jacks for the first time, where I crossed paths with the boys again, Chewy had had a good morning, I fished some weed beds up at D, and some creek mouth up at H, for nada interest. Did a bit of platypuss watching tied off to a tree, and kept a close eye on a big goanna hunting along the banks edge, but that was it, no fish, not even a looker!
In the end I headed back to a point that I had fished quite a few times on previous trips for no fish, but it looked fishy, and as I was to find out later, is one of Bens favourites.
Time was getting on, it was late arvo, and Nath glided on over for a yarn, and tied off beside me for a cast. I finally nailed a hit, only a catty, but after a fish less day, it was good to see.
We kept on casting, and Im hit on the hollow, only to bounce of a middlin barra. Keep banging em in, and another hook up and bounce off this time on a B52, keep goin, and the B52 is smacked again, and another fish is to snart for me. This is ridiculous, Nath is looking at me like Im a gumby, 3 hits and dropped all 3, finally a 90 something stays connected, and I gratefully slip the net under a very welcome fish. Nath and I fished on till 9.00pm, the boofs were like riffle shots, but we saw no more action, and on a very dark nite, we headed back on GPS and spotty.
It was a quiet nite around a smokey fire on Sunday nite. All the boys had put in the hours for a tuff day, it had been a rain coat on, rain coat off, rain coat on type of weather, and I hit the hay early, setting the alarm for a solid 4 hours and 5 minutes sleep until I met up with the boys in the cabins in the morn.
Day 3 to follw

TonyM
27-01-2009, 04:55 PM
Good man Brian - thanks for not making those of us that couldn't make it wait in suspense too long :)

It was also very noice of you to let Paul win the drag race ::)

Ohhhhhh man my IBD is critical right now :'(

SWMBO is heading to surfers with my daughter for a much needed break while I look after the boys - after that it's boat hooked up to the car and nothing but nothing will stop me going for a fix (oops I mean fish)

Callop
27-01-2009, 05:13 PM
Please Sir, can I have some More ???

27-01-2009, 05:23 PM
Dont leave us hangin bro!:P

BR65
27-01-2009, 05:23 PM
Day 3, Australia Day. This time the alarm worked, and I was on the water at 3.30, with the cabin boys not far behind me. I headed up on GPS to last nites tree, and the boys slid in 5 minutes later and tied off on the next point maybe 50 meters up.
The only action I saw there was a great view of a 105 jumping between 2 boats, back lit by the red glow of some ones light, I still don’t know who got that fish.
The sun was up now, and I headed off, fished another point, then further up and tied off on a tree and fished some shallow water, where a 90 something crunched my last raggedy hollow belly, took to the air, and spat it back at me – bugger.
Moved around a bit, and finally settled on a spot near where the Ranger was working, the boys had pulled 2 very nice fish the night before, and were giving that same spot a work out.
It was around 9.00 am now, and Paul had called on the 2 way to say he was heading home, when I got a wack on the B52, bugger, banged it down the line again a couple of times, twitch, pause, hold, crunch, an agro little 92 commits and threads me thru the trees, a bit of free spooling and he is in the net, yee ha.
I keep fishing this spot, alternating between H.B’s and softies, mixing it up, looking for another fish, when my Squidgy gets crunched on the spin stick, and a great fight in some open water leads to a 106 gracing the mat, yee ha again.
Bit of rain rolls thru, and the B52 is crunched a third time, this fish knows where home is, and I pull the hooks on a good barra when I try to thumb lock the spool to keep him out of the timber.
Navi and Vin are fishing nearby, I can see they have fish as well, so the call is made to bugger lunch, let’s fish on.
I poked around a bit, fished here and there, then moved over to a spot we fished in the storm in early December. Tie off, half a dozen casts, and the squidgy is engulfed by what I can only describe as a pig of a fish, it gets its head and shoulders out of the water, then surges off for 20 meters, where it sticks its head out again, and spits the placcy. I’m gob smacked, Id kept a low rod angle on the off chance that fish would jump, didn’t make a difference.
Picked up the other stick with the B52 on, and started working it, a big boil behind the lure was a good sign, and half a dozen casts later I’m on to a 111 that leads me a merry chase before finding the net.
Move off again after a while, and wind drift onto another spot, where a middling fish engulfs the placcy and goes air borne, before spitting it. Damn, try a bit of lay down a bit further on, I’ve caught fish here before, half a dozen casts with the suspending lure, and I’m crunched. I can see this fish, it’s not big, but it surges around a stick, tangles up and shakes the lure off.
Next move is to a spot that I normally fish only early morn, but hey, I’m on a roll, let’s give it a go. Half a dozen casts here, and I’m wacked by a good fish that threads me thru the vertical trees, rubbing me off in the process, this aint funny any more. Another swirl on the lure here, and its getting on, so I headed to the previous nites point to tie off for a bit.
It didn’t take long here, the black/gold 100mm squidgy gets cracked by an extremely angry 97 fish that really gave me some curry, boy was that fish pissed. No more enquiries, and I’ve got on more spot in mind, with half an hour of light left, and the end of the trip in sight, I tie off and start casting. True to form, the softy is soon smashed, and a short, torrid tussle sees an 80 something at the side of the boat, where it obligingly saves me the trouble of netting it by coughing up the jig head.
That’s it, I un-tie, grab a Bundy and head back to camp in the last of the days light, 4 fish in the net, 2 over the meter, and more jump off and rub offs than you can poke a stick at, I’m like a dog with 2 d#cks.
Now the technical stuff, for me it was suspending B52’s, hollows on ¼ ounce 5/0 nitros, and squidgys that did the damage. I’ve been thinking about the jump offs, I made a real effort not to high stick, with most of the fights spent with a horizontal rod angle, so I dunno bout the number of dropped fish, maybe just one of those trips?
Any ways, that was a big type, but it was a big week end, with a lot of hours between fish, caught up with a lot of the boys, fished with most of em, caught a few, lost a lot, awesome stuff
brian

BR65
27-01-2009, 05:26 PM
Heres the 97, think the boys have got pics of the others and mite flick them on to me to post.
I didnt take a lot of pics this trip, it was just to hot and wet to have the camera out all the time.
Hope you all enjoyed the read, cause i enjoyed the trip, I think I got the sequence of things right, but a lot happened, and Ive left a lot out, things like Nath being guide for Graham and putting him onto his first barra before he would have a fish, the gooses in the c/c, Justin and Whittos name for a certain bay that was holding some reluctant fish, heaps of things that add up to a good week end, rain or not, but man, works going to hurt tomorrow!

TonyM
27-01-2009, 05:30 PM
Dayum - that's what I'm talkin 'bout!

Off to find solace in a beer bottle!

Roo
27-01-2009, 05:45 PM
What a day! day 3 was. Well in Brian. The bloody matchsticks is a bugger tho' and taking a pillow for a mid session cat nap would no doubt coincide with the best bite period if I tried it. cheers for the detailed info.
Cheers Roo.

Callop
27-01-2009, 05:52 PM
Awesome stuff and a great read.

Whitto
27-01-2009, 05:56 PM
I knew you and the Boys would do OK......Two Words Brian.....Honey Hole.....Aaahhh the Serenity...God's Country.....Well done Mate..Good stuff....Whitto

SeekingBarradise
27-01-2009, 05:58 PM
Nice report Brian well done on your trip. Bloody hell she was a wet one. We were so stuffed that it was hard to think let alone talk at night around the campfire!!!!! Next time we will freshen up and do more of the social thing with fellow Ausfisho's.

Trolling Info for those planning a trip to Mondy.

A few blokes we met in the camp were trolling 4 rods out and going over fish with approx 10-12 footers and they got a couple of fish over a few days. They were trolling approx 20-30ft of water in the creek bed of B.

Fish seemed to be around the thermocline on the sounder. They had big days on the water as well and were out at 4am and we saw them out there in the late arvo as well.

Hope this helps a few of you out.

Cheers Lyndon

robersl
27-01-2009, 06:05 PM
you had a ##### trip Brian well done mate

shane

wheezer
27-01-2009, 06:12 PM
top read Brian, thanks for putting the effort in...regarding your jump offs with a low rod angle, well sometimes it can't be helped, as they say 'thats fishin' but i did make this point today in another thread, a low rod angle, or rather pointing the rod at a fish removes the cushioning effect of the rod. this is magnfied by the lack of stretch in braid. jumping barra are voilent barra! and by not allowing the rod to absorb the headshakes then the likelyhood of something giving ie hooks pulling is magnified...i don't pretend to be an expert but this is one of the observations i have made over my time, i hope it helps...look forward to your next yarn!

eotbmg
27-01-2009, 06:25 PM
Great stuff Brain, congrats on such a great trip.

Funny how all our fave spots are yours or Naths, or Chewys, or Lyndons or whoevers.

We found the fish to be flighty around heavy boat traffic [ not surprisingly ] no coincidence the fish came on the chew on Monday considering Sundays Boat a thon.
Between the Mexicans and myself we boated 9. Dropped about the same, high lights were both the boys first barra on placcys[ thanks to Nagg for his cooking recepie]
Lee got the 2 106's on Squidgys. Josh dropping a 90's fish after a 10 minute fight around super heavy structure, knocked off at the leader. I dropped beheamoth in your home point[ straightened trebles and split rings]. I didnt go too hard on the fish, just thumb pressure, couldnt get a wind on her and she spat the B 52 back at me.

Same deal with us mate B52 was the standout, Lee got one on the bigger version as well.

Loved the conditions-absolutely no wind,dead calm all day, the stuff dreams are made of.

Peter4
27-01-2009, 06:26 PM
Ahhhhhh Brian.......your feats become more and more amazing.

Some might say "The force is strong with this one.....".

A great read - good company, late nights, long days fishin, jump offs, rub offs, rain, humidity, hot sun, thirst, exhaustion, nature and best of all barra.....

Still disappointed that you don't have more pics though.....

Nevertheless I will respect you in the morning...

Whitto
27-01-2009, 06:27 PM
Hi Whitto thanks for the campfire yarns, even thought it rained all weekend and the fishing was tough that's for sure. A few blokes were doing 15,16,17 & 18 hour days with 14 hours without a bite then a few got a good bite period. Some guys were on No Doz and doing suicidal hours and about a thousand casts a day.

We lost a fish just as we were about to net it which was a pitty. It was around 95cm. I got gillraked by another fish which was bad luck, and had a couple of really fickle bites in the day like slow grabs on the plastic etc even with stingers on they didn't hook which was interesting. That fish i saw and was about 110cm. Scott had a follow from a 60cm barra and some interesting little taps/bites etc. A very interesting weekend it was.

Camp: I reckon about 20 fish landed over the 3 days max with about 200 people chasing the fish doing huge days. It was a real funny bite during the day, we didn't fish all night where i hear a couple of bite periods popped up. One early night and the other very early am. Changing weather was interesting and didn't help the fishing.

With all of us doing massive days with hardly any sleep the campfire was a place where we looked like zombies...I'm still shattered and will need a week to get over this trip, and i didn't even drink... More social time on the next trip that's for sure. Everyone back in camp at 10am - 3pm for some more social time around the fire might be a good idea.:D

All in all we learnt a lot and the trip was made even better with good company like yourself, Nath, Scott, Greame and catching up with Brian, Ben, Paul, Navi, Vinnie and Steve for a yarn was good fun.

I'll do up more of a report once i get a few days sleep...

I reckon i heard this saying about a thousand times on the weekend.

Number 1 on the water baby... :D I think big justin and scotty started this one.

My version is: Number one underwater baby!!!!! :D We usually said this after catching catfish.... Or if any of us did something silly on the boat like birds nests etc, getting snagd up etc.

The other saying was: We smashed em!!! :D This was said even if you caught nothing... These 2 sayings were running jokes over the whole weekend with the whole camp cracking up at everyone's own version of the joke. This is a
central qld mate's joke. e.g. if you drive a skeeter and you get to the boat ramp you have to say "We/I smashed em". You are not allowed to say anything else.

It was all said in fun and nobody should take offence ok as this joke has been around for a while.

We had a good laugh of a trip. A few donuts for us on this trip. The first since the first half of last year crickey. I'll have to start planning the next one.

There is a new name for one part of the dam. Silver Back Ridge... Where only the big units fish.

Cheers Lyndon.10 out of 10 weekend Lyndon.....".We smashed em" "No1 on the Water Baby"....Bloody W*$#ker.....I quite pleased to have a small part of Monduran named after Justin and Me....."Silver Back Hill" Umm like the sound of that.... When you have to drop the Kids off to school ya gotta go.....Got home Sunday arvo and now just recovering.....Worth every effort......Cheers Whitto

eotbmg
27-01-2009, 06:32 PM
"Trolling Info for those planning a trip to Mondy.

A few blokes we met in the camp were trolling 4 rods out and going over fish with approx 10-12 footers and they got a couple of fish over a few days. They were trolling approx 20-30ft of water in the creek bed of B.

Fish seemed to be around the thermocline on the sounder. They had big days on the water as well and were out at 4am and we saw them out there in the late arvo as well."

My " mates " up in B Bay didnt catch much trolling, they were too pissed even to drive the boat, and got lost driving home. Disaster waiting to happen...
Hope i dont meet them up at the dam again. Not much fun asking people to not troll 3 meters away from us while we were tie up to a tree.
Aggressive and pissed

BR65
27-01-2009, 06:41 PM
top read Brian, thanks for putting the effort in...regarding your jump offs with a low rod angle, well sometimes it can't be helped, as they say 'thats fishin' but i did make this point today in another thread, a low rod angle, or rather pointing the rod at a fish removes the cushioning effect of the rod. this is magnfied by the lack of stretch in braid. jumping barra are voilent barra! and by not allowing the rod to absorb the headshakes then the likelyhood of something giving ie hooks pulling is magnified...i don't pretend to be an expert but this is one of the observations i have made over my time, i hope it helps...look forward to your next yarn!

Andrew, I was thinking along those lines with the lack of forgivness on a horizontal stick, but Im trying to kep the rod at right angles to the line, if that makes sense. I actually have this whole theory on B52's, dont I Ben.... lol.

Great stuff Brain, congrats on such a great trip.

Funny how all our fave spots are yours or Naths, or Chewys, or Lyndons or whoevers.

We found the fish to be flighty around heavy boat traffic [ not surprisingly ] no coincidence the fish came on the chew on Monday considering Sundays Boat a thon.
Between the Mexicans and myself we boated 9. Dropped about the same, high lights were both the boys first barra on placcys[ thanks to Nagg for his cooking recepie]
Lee got the 2 106's on Squidgys. Josh dropping a 90's fish after a 10 minute fight around super heavy structure, knocked off at the leader. I dropped beheamoth in your home point[ straightened trebles and split rings]. I didnt go too hard on the fish, just thumb pressure, couldnt get a wind on her and she spat the B 52 back at me.

Same deal with us mate B52 was the standout, Lee got one on the bigger version as well.

Loved the conditions-absolutely no wind,dead calm all day, the stuff dreams are made of.

There was some good fishing to be had mate hey, just had to be Johnny on THE spot at the right time, which was when ever a fish decided to do you a favour, luck of the draw I think.

Cheers to every one for the kind words, all who were up there fished hard, and tried to fish smart, with some mixed results, depending on how tinny you were at the time I reckon.
Looking forward to reports from Nath, Vin, Navi as well, who all got fish.

Whitto
27-01-2009, 06:47 PM
"Trolling Info for those planning a trip to Mondy.

Fish seemed to be around the thermocline on the sounder. They had big days on the water as well and were out at 4am and we saw them out there in the late arvo as well."

My " mates " up in B Bay didnt catch much trolling, they were too pissed even to drive the boat, and got lost driving home. Disaster waiting to happen...
Hope i dont meet them up at the dam again. Not much fun asking people to not troll 3 meters away from us while we were tie up to a tree.
Aggressive and pissed
BenWas an ideal opportunity for the Fisheries and the QPS to make a visit to do the odd checks.....but I guess paying O/Time was more important......You had a blinder Ben well done......Cheers Whitto

Callop
27-01-2009, 06:51 PM
Anyone got the GPS coordinates of "Silver Back Hill"? I think it needs to be added to my version of the Mondy map.

BR65
27-01-2009, 06:54 PM
I was looking for your mates yesterday morn on the way up mate, they must have managed to find their way home, jeeez, ya know how to antagonize people;)

BR65
27-01-2009, 06:54 PM
Anyone got the GPS coordinates of "Silver Back Hill"? I think it needs to be added to my version of the Mondy map.

Tust me mate, its a place you dont want to visit!

eotbmg
27-01-2009, 07:07 PM
I was looking for your mates yesterday morn on the way up mate, they must have managed to find their way home, jeeez, ya know how to antagonize people;)

Yeah i know, i gave em the benefit of the doubt too, first up they were just too maggoted to understand what they were up to. Mischevious buggers!

Sounds like you are converted to the B 52 brigade, mate.

Plasticin
27-01-2009, 07:07 PM
Fine keep that "honey hole" to yourself brian, but I am happy to help an ausfisher out.

Callop,

Turn left out of B and head up just after a point on the right and your there..... Pretty sure Lyndon also calls it metre barra bay. There are some great fish up there, $1.85, and they "smash" everything. GO, GO, GO!!!!

I told you there were fish there....

27-01-2009, 07:16 PM
What a way to spend Aussie day :P 8-)

Good read as always Brian ...... well done

rc@hinze
27-01-2009, 08:56 PM
Brian, thats a great report of your trip. You must of felt great coming back in after that Monday session on top of the fish you had already caught the other days. Those ones you miss tend to stay more on your mind thans the ones you land I find. You keep running them thru your mind wondering what you could have done different for next time.

To all the guys who have posted in this thread, thanks for all the reports. I have been looking forward to hearing the reports of this last weekend and is great to follow all your adventures and experiences. Just wish I was there. Just makes the IBD worse! Keep them coming. - cheers and thanks to all - Richard

Tropicaltrout
27-01-2009, 09:19 PM
Ok

My turn...:)

This was a trip of a different kind for me, I was playing guide to a mate of mine Graeme,(aka REX) hes a nice old fella who has had his fair share of a bad run with the big C and he was telling me that his goal was to catch a Barra, so I set the weekend down for Aussie day and let him get some gear together so he was all set to do battle...

As has been said it was wet, rex and me set camp and got ready to got out for a quick scan to see where we would base our trip...

So as the early birds went out sparrow fart I waited till rex was ready to go and we headed to a few spots I thought would hold a fish to put a bend in Greames new gear. I watched the thermal cline and tied on a classic bobby dazzler and he lobbed it out as I hit the gutter he was on the holler 'I got him' a massive boil and a typical big fish run saw the old fella hard at work!!!:thumbup: He held tough and the fish made a few runs, rexie began to tire quiker then a 15 year old virgin and tried to palm the rod off but I refused and a few tiresome minutes late I dragges a 102cm fish onto the deck... I was over the moon to say the least, Graeme was suffering but I mannaged to put the fish into his arms for a photo attempt but due to bad mannagement the pic diddn't work:furious2: not to worry there will be more....:-/

The next day we headed out to spot x which turns out to be everyones spot x anyhow, my fishing buddy was not a strong caster but I was eager to get the double one trolling and one casting so he could decide his fav...;)

Well what happened next was nothing short as awesome we tied on some frogs and worked a weed gutter.. it took a whole five casts for him and a bow wave followed by a massive boof all but 5 feet from the boat it was fantastic, it was a bit smaller this fish and the battle was soon put in the boat and this time all camreas were on tap!!!!

I think I enjoyed that one more then Graeme anyhow we kept casting for the next hour with another massive bow wave my heart went through my chest but he just kept comming but as it went down I was shore there was going to be a boof, there was nothing oh well just seeing that was enough.... Back to camp Grame was buggered and I was off on my own to try and nail a fish for myself I ducked up to a secrect popular spot and brain was tied there too we casted to the same spot for a hour till I tied on a great lure called a VIPER :P well a few cast and connection my boat went from one side of the tree to the other rather quick and it was a big fish but as he rounded a tree the hooks pulled and she was gone.. what a rush.. no sooner another fish leaping from the water flicking the viper at Brian literally he jumped and full turned horozontally a awesome leap...

The next day Grame and i had a flick around and I nailed a pup which is great to see the little fish are small and not inspiring but as hard to find as a 120 so I was pleased.. we had a few pecks but no connection for the morn.

that arvo I went out to do a night run so I worked a couple of points for nill result till I saw Brian tired off so I went for a chat and tied off up of the point and began casting... Brian was on FIRE a catty kicked it off then a serries of connections then finally a sticker go the b52.. we herd some massive boofs all over the area we were in and cattys sucking stuff of the surface...

A wrap up was a fantastic few days with some of the best people to share a trip with, Whitto, Justin, Lyndon, Scotty (sorry mate about the rod) Brain( totally enjoyed a flick with ya brother, I talked to Deano, that over nighter will be a go for sure) Ben and the boys, good to see ya and cheers for the beer.. and finally to Greame, mate if you read this thankyou for letting me take you fishing mate I enjoyed every minute and I was glad to forfill a life long dream...

Happy Aussie day to all

Till the next trip, Cheers Nath

Callop
27-01-2009, 10:14 PM
Good on ya for talking Graeme out. It's always special when you put em onto a fishparticularly when it sounds like he could do with a bit of good luck.

27-01-2009, 10:27 PM
It was a fantastic trip all round, not so much fish wise for me, although I could get a job as a professional netter and leccy driver;D

Some quality fish came to the net, and what a dream session Brian had. Super stuff mate. I had great fun fishing with Josh, Lee, Chewy, Navi and Vin, but unfortunately did not get to fish with Ben due to respective boat driving duties.

It was crazy weather at times, blowing from different directions in short windows, rain, humidity, heat (some of it from those inebriated gentlemen that buzzed Ben and Josh>:()...all the ingredients for good fishing. We fished hard night and day and most of the boys were rewarded for the fruits of their labour.

All up a beaut trip and can't wait to venture back.

I'll try and add some more tomorrow, at a more respectable hour. Nice also to catch up with Whitto, Graeme, Scotty and Lyndon...somehow we missed you at camp Nath.

Here's a small selection of pics, including one of Brian (I'll send the rest of them to you tomorrow Brian for you to post if you like).

nuggstar
27-01-2009, 11:31 PM
this has been a awsome read guys. verry good post.

28-01-2009, 06:33 AM
Nath & Paul

A great read guys ...... nice fishies - As I said before "What a great way to spend Aussie day" ....... & even better that the barra come out to play (for some::) )

Nath ..... What a fantastic gesture taking Graeme away to pursue his dream - .... "That's as Aussie as it comes !"

DEANO68
28-01-2009, 06:48 AM
goood stuff you lot, top piccys and a weekend you wont forget in a hurry,looks like ive got no excuses left for the next trip, need to juice up the tupperware, so will be back very soon i think....well done...(jealous)..;)

cheers deano...8-)

Peter4
28-01-2009, 07:44 AM
Great work Nath & Paul. Sounds like it was a top trip for all regardless of the fishing (though that seemed pretty good as well!).

Nothing like putting someone who is dear to you onto their first barra, hey Nath.

Paul can't wait to hear the full tale. Please go easy on Ben....

How is it that a pic of Brian seems to get into eveyone's galleries?

rc@hinze
28-01-2009, 08:00 AM
Paul and Nathan, great pictures guys, thanks for sharing them. - RC

Pete62
28-01-2009, 08:24 AM
Great reads guys, thanks for sharing.

Cheer's Pete.

robersl
28-01-2009, 08:32 AM
To all you lucky buggers great reading and fab pics, now you have me keen again

Shane

Steve B
28-01-2009, 10:28 AM
Fellas Fellas Fellas.

Brian, Paul, Ben, nath....all you buggers!!:D

WWOOOOWWW what an awesome read...awesome job done!! great catches. great stories and great photos!!!

I am now even more dissapointed that I couldnt get up there!! bloody work!! Sounds like one of the best weekends ever!!! I had a brief chat to Lyndon on Monday arvo, and he told me you all did well.!!

So well done again....I love the action pic of brian with the Aussie flag on the boat.....thats No 1 on the water to me baby!!!

Stevo!

Ps went up last night 4pm to 8pm....landed a 92cm on a hybrid flaps head with some unknown brand (mabey a sunami??) tail...very happy with that....and lost another on another hybrid Storm susp shad head with shadalishous tail....they have the best action ever!! lost it with the fish......bad knot!! poor work in the dark!! I will post the pics of the lures later....didnt take a camera with me...too rainy!!

Going JACK fishing today and tommorrow with Spud-a-lishous..let you know how I go!!

themissus
28-01-2009, 12:55 PM
Awesome read guys!! Sounds like it was a fantastic trip!!
Cheers Kim.

SeekingBarradise
28-01-2009, 04:02 PM
Silver Back Gorillas, A Wet Ass, Good Company and Donuts Galore.

With the help of Scotty and his old man we got some trailer maintenance done before we left. Then the trailer lights didn’t work. There we were in the rain, at night with hardly any light fixing the trailer wiring. We jumped on the net to get the colour and number codes for the wire layout and proceeded to use the American version which resulted in nothing working. (Idiots). We were just about to make a trip to boooonnnnninggss late at night, but decided to double check the layout on the net. Sure enough we found the Aussie version, and it worked first go. It was now getting past 8pm and it was going to be a slow trip. We arrived at 2am it rained the whole way from Brisbane, so much so that we were driving at less than 60km per hour in the 110km zone it smashed down delivering wet swags a guaranteed wet arse for this trip. Hopefully we would catch fish.:D

In the tradition of cruising the barra highways I made sure the Aussie flag was attached to the boat for the trip. This should be standard issue with the IBD crew if you are travelling to a barra dam.

Arrive at Mondy: We saw a flood running between the big tree and the projector screen so we rolled the swags out in the camp kitchen. Well mine was wet so I rolled out a blanket and slept on the postureopedic concrete for all of 2.5 hours before the early birds (campers) started to hover around us while having their brekkie. Yep we started the trip hammered and didn’t get a freshen up for the rest of the trip.

Set up camp: Met my brother Justin who had 1ft of water running through his camp. We had a laugh watching him dig a mote around his camp. We met Whitto, Nath and Graeme who were camped next to Justin. We parked our tent in the less wet looking area. Right next to a meat ant highway, beside a green ant colony and on top of a Singapore (small ant) ants nest.

Cow, Bird and Sausages: There was a fair amount of cow packed with justin bringing a rib fillet roast, rump steak and sausages. I packed a 5kg corned meat & snags, Stott packed steaks and his smelly tuna, Whitto, Nath and Greame packed snags and steaks with Nath cooking a roast up that looked awesome. Oh i nearly forgot, Justin also purchased a whole chook to roast up. I left the metamuesal at home so the prescription for the weekend was a good case of house brick gut. Sort of like when a python eats a whole wallaby etc.

As good blokes do, shit was flying left, right and centre. Camaraderie was alive and well. Justin and Whitto hit it off straight away, Nath just laughed at both of them, Scott chipped in from the sideline, Graeme was sitting down shaking his head at the clowns and I did the usual drive by’s where I’d chip in a comment to stir them then take off.

This is where “number 1 on the water baby” started to fly around, and “we smashed em” also got a run a few times. We smashed em was used a lot in our trips to Awoonga last year. Looking up at the power lines we also gave “Hows the serenity” a run or 2” (The Castle):D

Those bloody tent pegs: Soon after setting up I saw a classic scene. Scotty (Potatoe man from the Fishing Monduran DVD) tripped over a tent peg and cord. I seized the moment with the first “You Idiiiiooooootttttttt” of the trip and quickly backed it up with one of my old mans favourites while we were growing up “Watch where you are going”. I laughed thinking it was going to be one of those trips, and I was right.

Justin knows how much I love Aussie gear and he zip tied a boxing kangaroo on the front of the boat which looked awesome. Good old skip stayed on for the entire trip and even made it home. I love this country and was so proud that Aussie gear sold out everywhere I looked. I saw more flags than ever before and felt pride knowing the younger generation would fly our countries flag with pride for generations to come. Apparently it was a record in Flag sales since the days of winning the America’s cup.

Supplies: I called in to the Kiosk and said G’day to Rob & Kelli. The book had almost sold out which was great to hear, so I gave them some more copies. In amongst the books was the Taylor brothers signed copy which luckily was not sold. I’ll post it up soon guys. We then stocked up on ice to keep the food & drinks cool, while taking note of some good plastics in the tackle bin.

Fishing tackle: Rigging up is always an exciting time, as it’s fuelled with the anticipation of the first days fishing.

Aussie Culture: While doing this Nath decided to go down to the stream running through the camp and cast lures which I got on video and camera. He didn’t catch anything!!! The 2 silver backs (Junior & Senior) left camp with 100-200kgs of food for the session. Nath, Scott, Graeme and I were not sure if this was enough so we packed extra eskies in case they needed a snack out on the water. Stuff like 5kg corn beef’s etc. Scotty packed his tuna tins and left the boat smelling like a japanese long liner by the end of the trip. I should have thrown another potatoe in his swag to ferment over summer.:D I now have every cat in 4 suburbs crapping on my boat at night.

Tackle Talk: I was trialling twisted leader, wind on leader and straight 80lb leader. 5 rods each rigged with 5 different concepts on each. 3-5 different retrieves on each rod for approx 10 mins or 20+ casts a rod. I was using a baitcaster and 4 spin reels and Scotty was using all baitcasters with one spin reel. A good combo with all different ratio’s pitted with different rod compositions and heights/tapers.

Line: We had 20-30lb loaded on most of our gear with one 50lb rig for crazy timer stuff if it was needed. It was rigged on the heaviest rod.

Lures & Plastics: A day box was sorted on what we thought was needed that day. Extras were also packed in case we needed them.
Simple terms: e.g. curly tails, suspenders, rattlers, specific food items, size differences, wood, foam, metal, paddle tails, flick baits and even spinner baits. Surface, mid and low water column specific & weighted etc.

Simple Upgrades: All lures that went in to the day box were upgraded with hooks & stingers back at home with the hooks sharpened. On this trip stingers were added to a lot of our presentations as we were experimenting, which is always fun.

Where We Fished: We fished the southern arm of B and anchored in a nice bay after drift slowly casting the point. We rotated all presentations and I got a quick, hard hook up where I was able to put good quick pressure on the initial strike only to have all the pressure let loose in a split second. The leader was chaffed and it looked like I was done by the gill rakers.

I couldn’t believe it as it looked like this barra had inhaled the plastic which was covered in more spikes than a cactus tree to ensure a hook up. To be done like this was not cool as every barra counts. Missed opportunities hurt travelling anglers. Especially when most of the fish in this dam are over a metre long and 20kgs in weight.

Summary: We picked the area correctly which is half the equation, got the speed and presentation of the retrieve correct, only to be done by one of the tricks barra have up their sleaves. Probably 500plus casts, rotating areas with water current starting at the 20ft marker and working in. Scott got a bream type bite which gave us an idea that when all the boats are on the water the barra might be getting a bit gun shy.

Scott did the pausing work and bottom bouncing work as well as the hard body work etc, I used a variety of plastics paddle, curly and flick baits with one hard body which was the opposite to scotts in sound, composition, style and depth and retrieve speed and technique.

· We worked opposite retrieves at all times & opposite presentations for about 120 casts in each area. More casts if we thought the area was really good.
· Longest pauses were 10 seconds.
· Shortest pauses were 2 seconds.
· Slowest retrieve was 1-2 mins
· The fastest was a partial burn during our standard retrieves.
· All in all about 10-15 combinations with slight speed differences between 1st and 5 the gear in plain and simple gearbox speak.
· The water was worked from slightly further out than usual and we anchored or tied up when we didn’t have very slow drifts.
· Motors were switched off 500m out from fishing areas if possible.
· Sounders were switched off once we got the lay of the land.

I'll post some pics to explain the above and break up this report to make it lighter reading.

28-01-2009, 05:28 PM
AND THEN !!!:ears:

robersl
28-01-2009, 06:39 PM
Man i don,t blame nathan for fishing that stream all that fresh going down the barra are sure to come up looking for frogs lol

SeekingBarradise
28-01-2009, 07:19 PM
Waiting for the next best thing nagg lol. You missed some stuff you could use in the report above. Think back to your tip with Trev. Remember?

Yes Robersl Nath was hoping to catch something. I reckon everyone in the park thought he was crazy. The little tackers in the camp site had a ball playing in that puddle over the weekend which was great to see. Nath has to be one of the most relaxed guys in Qld. Awesome to be around the campsite with and on the water.

Number 1 around the campsite - that's Nath.

Cheers lyndon.

BR65
28-01-2009, 07:26 PM
Great work Nath & Paul. Sounds like it was a top trip for all regardless of the fishing (though that seemed pretty good as well!).

Nothing like putting someone who is dear to you onto their first barra, hey Nath.

Paul can't wait to hear the full tale. Please go easy on Ben....

How is it that a pic of Brian seems to get into eveyone's galleries?

Im a blow fly mate!

robersl
29-01-2009, 09:06 AM
Im a blow fly mate!

mate you want to stop using that pheormone on your lures to stop attacting other fishers to yourr boat

shane

SeekingBarradise
29-01-2009, 08:42 PM
Funny Stuff

· Scott sweating bullets for an hour with his birds nest during a period called angry heat way up the back of nowhere at Monduran. While he was doing this I nearly hooked up to that huge fish which would have rightly peeed him off big time…
· Scott spending half an hour to get the fire going when I had 10ltrs of petrol right next to me. U idiooott stimpy.

· Brian calling a 13 hour day a short days fishing. The guy is crazy.
· Kids playing footy in the mud and flowing stream at the caravan park.
· Kids playing cricket in the same area.
· Kids playing the good old game of spotlight. A little tacker about 5 years old was having trouble tracking down her playing partners and said “ I give up ”, until I suggested she turn off the torch and sneak up on them. It goes to show that even the big kids know some good tricks. This one seemed to work & she managed to get away from being it.

· Meeting Paul, Navi and Vinnie at the ramp with Vinnie helping out with a classic aussie lean while pointing instructions.

· Chewie’s lean in the camp kitchen exuded leaning experience. His lean was close to some team orange lean’s I’ve seen over the years.

· Meeting Ben, Nath and Victorians out on the water at the cut off (shortcut) for a yarn on barra. A classic scene where 3 boats are pulled up comparing notes on barra. We don’t get enough days doing this.

Whitto & Justin busting to go at the same time. I think they must have eaten a couple of koalas’ the night before that didn’t go down well. They both ended up parked on separate logs up on a hill (Silver Back Hill) with wet dunny paper that had to be squeezed to remove the water. U R kidn fellas. I’m glad I didn’t see that with the camera.:)

BR65
29-01-2009, 08:53 PM
Whitto & Justin busting to go at the same time. I think they must have eaten a couple of koalas’ the night before that didn’t go down well. They both ended up parked on separate logs up on a hill (Silver Back Hill) with wet dunny paper that had to be squeezed to remove the water. U R kidn fellas. I’m glad I didn’t see that with the camera.

Some things are best left only to the imagination mate:bigcry:

29-01-2009, 09:09 PM
whatta hoot ........ "the great aussie lean" - "silver back hill "

a great yarn Lyndon ......... maybe you should start writing ;)

Barraboss
29-01-2009, 09:39 PM
Guys,

I have just caught up on this thread and honestly it had me waiting for more. You guys rock, and Brian that was a really great read. Thanks mate, thoroughly enjoyed it.

Was also, as this forum often promotes, great to see mateship and helping a fella when he is having a blue day. Get them onto a barra to lift their sprits is an awesome , and hard task at the same time. Congrats on your effort big fella!!!!!

Great to see a few fish caught to keep the arms twitching for "the next trip"

Tropicaltrout
30-01-2009, 06:08 AM

Follow your nose;) ::) ;D

SeekingBarradise
30-01-2009, 07:07 AM
Callop it's between No Fish Bay & Catfish Bay.

Look for trees you can swing from, with horizontal branches rated to 400 to 500 pounds.

Food is readily avaiable nearby.

Paper bark trees in the area also come in handy...

SeekingBarradise
30-01-2009, 07:57 AM
whatta hoot ........ "the great aussie lean" - "silver back hill "

a great yarn Lyndon ......... maybe you should start writing ;)

LOL i like your writing. It reminds me of a mix between korean pidgeon english and vintage early 80's Mr T Jibba Jabba:)

30-01-2009, 08:19 AM
LOL i like your writing. It reminds me of a mix between korean pidgeon english and vintage early 80's Mr T Jibba Jabba:)

D o ..... Y o u ..... w a n t .... m e ..... t o ...... t y p e ..... s l o w e r ?::)

Whitto
30-01-2009, 09:07 AM
Follow your nose;) ::) ;DYa find a nice Grassy knoll to back the truck out to drop the kids off to school and all Hell breaks loose:(......God was kind to us at the time as Lyndon was in the general vicinity brandishing a Video camera...It was a great relief to us that he was unaware of our Toiletry needs at the time:)....Can u imagine on You Tube...."Silver Back's seen crapping on a Grassy Knoll"....would have been funny though;D.....The wet toilet paper worked out real well....Wipe and wash in one foul swoop (priceless)....again I repeat What a great couple of days.....found plenty of Barra...the highlight was the Tailing Barra in two different locations (learnt alot)...the modification and rigging of Soft plastics (What a big difference)...as u are all aware the boys did very well....It is a great location on the impoundment and always produces...Out of it all I have a name for my new boat down the track...Silver Back JR......Crap Hill just didn't sound right......roll on next trip.....Job well done Nath your a good mate I think Graham enjoyed himself.......Cheers Whitto

Peter4
30-01-2009, 09:15 AM
Ahhh yes - the old crap in the bushes trick......

Kyle & I learned early in our Monduran expeditions to always carry some toilet paper in the dry box (after a nasty incident involving a 'loose' movement and some fishy rags!!).....

Now wet toliet paper would be a challenge - you may actually contribute more than you clear away!

Pete62
30-01-2009, 09:20 AM
Ah, "Bum Food" in a snap lock bag, a must for every drinker that pretends to fish.

Note to self, mind your step as u look for the privacy tree on the grassy knoll.

Cheer's Pete.

Steve B
30-01-2009, 10:32 AM
Whitto & Justin busting to go at the same time. I think they must have eaten a couple of koalas’ the night before that didn’t go down well. They both ended up parked on separate logs up on a hill (Silver Back Hill) with wet dunny paper that had to be squeezed to remove the water. U R kidn fellas. I’m glad I didn’t see that with the camera.

Some things are best left only to the imagination mate:bigcry:

I could imagine those 2 charging up the bank for a king henry the third........delicate as fleeting gazelles I imagine!!!!.;D

SeekingBarradise
30-01-2009, 08:39 PM
D o ..... Y o u ..... w a n t .... m e ..... t o ...... t y p e ..... s l o w e r ?::)

Jibba Jabba:) I'll have to go to the zoo to get the chimps to decode some of your last message:) It seems you have mixed some South Dubbo Zoo into the latest repartee. We had to try and get used to this language up here over the years to try and understand the cockroaches. It got too hard so we ended up using sign language. Waving etc. Usually holding up 1 or 2 fingers LOL.:)

Fishing Monduran: How many of you guys got bream type bites on the weekend at Mondy?

We got a few each day. Scott had that soft bite that left chafe up the leader.

Interesting weekend. What pace was your retrieve when you got this type of bite? Scotts was on the pause, and the rest of them were when the lure was travelling slow etc.

Cheers Lyndon.

31-01-2009, 07:00 AM
Jibba Jabba:) I'll have to go to the zoo to get the chimps to decode some of your last message:) It seems you have mixed some South Dubbo Zoo into the latest repartee. We had to try and get used to this language up here over the years to try and understand the cockroaches. It got too hard so we ended up using sign language. Waving etc. Usually holding up 1 or 2 fingers LOL.:)

Cheers Lyndon.

P L E A S E ..... E X P L A I N !!!

I 'll tell you right now you, you ..mark my words I'll tell you ! ........

Was that any better ? ......... I am trying ;)

31-01-2009, 07:11 AM
Fishing Monduran: How many of you guys got bream type bites on the weekend at Mondy?

Interesting weekend. What pace was your retrieve when you got this type of bite? Scotts was on the pause, and the rest of them were when the lure was travelling slow etc.

Cheers Lyndon.

During the ABT in Nov ...... we got what we referred to as bass bites(on the drop usually) - lots of them! ......... We got to a point of frustration where I threw a spinner bait just to see if we were wasting our time!
Ended up dropping down to a 4" Hollowbelly & got the same bite .... except I was connected a horse ....... unfortunately it spat the lure ....no run just head out of the water & shake!
The next day ....... a tap bite ( & a call of catfish) turned into a $1.04

Interesting to hear that it is still happening

BR65
31-01-2009, 08:29 AM

Cheers Lyndon.
Hey Lyndon,
Im no SP expert thats for sure, but I do know that the sessions Ive had on softies that have fired have allways involved plenty of taps, plucks, nips and bumps on the retrieve. Personnally I reckon a lot of it is boneys and gar haveing a bit of a nip, cause Ive often had them tail a SP to the boat, and I like that cause it means Ive got bait in the area. Ive had that happen twice now Lyndon, a tap on the retrieve and subsuquent inspection revealed a chaffed leader, I know I asked a question similar to this one other time, and the Awoonga lads recommended striking on suspicion at everything!
Every half dozen casts I change the retrieve a bit, I mix and match retrieve pace, slow roll, roll and pause, burn, let it drop a bit, change the depth, have a picture in my mind of what the bottom contour is (based on what I can see out of the water, and a sounding session when I leave a spot for future reference, never sound over a spot when I turn up to start a session) and try to follow that contour at differant levels. Everything I can do to vary it up and offer something differant to a fish that might just be sitting there watching my placcy swim by over his head and out of his interest range. After 15 minutes or so, I put down one rod, and start chucking something differant, maybe a suspending HB, or differant style placcy, or shallow diver twitched and jerked, just keep mixing it up till something hits the on button for the fish.
I also reckon the use of a twitching HB during a session helps to entice a curious fish into the area, the extra vibration etc in the water would be heard/felt a lot further away by a fish than a slow rolled placcy IMHO, and I think it helps to "call" a fish in to the area.
Its a funny way of fishing compared to brawling in the timber, endless mind numbing casts interrupted by a tap and jolting hit out of no where.
Anyways, just my thoughts, the Sp style is new to me, and no doubt those who have been fishing them for a while have been there, done that.

chewy01
31-01-2009, 01:16 PM
Lyndon,i was using suspending storms for a bit,getting taps,but i ended up using a original slick rig with weight added and fast rolling it past the bow waves i could see. Got three hookups like this.

SeekingBarradise
31-01-2009, 03:24 PM
Hi Chris thanks for the light hearted fun on posts. A good laugh. Thanks for sharing your experience on the litte nips/touches/bites on plastics. I've been chatting with the Awoonga boys about this for a few years. I reckon you guys would have had this happen because of boating pressure e.g. pre-fishing with 50 boats all searching etc. They would be on notice etc as most of the fishing grounds would have been disturbed for days on end.

Brian and Chewie thanks for adding great tips for everyone. Hopefully everyone can grab a couple of tips from your post.

A Bit Of Info From Awoonga: I noticed the guys up there have had to fine tune their methods & tactics and they register every bump and observation barra throw at them. They are very advanced in their plastics fishing, and chafe up the leader is seen as a missed fish. Too many of these instances where leader is worn a few inches above the lure/plastic is seen as poor fishing/setup/position and reactions etc. Something has to be wrong and changed quickly.

JM has said that when the fishing is this tough it can be an artform to present baits - trigger fish to bite and put them on the boat etc.

Scotty and I usually had one hard body and one plastic in the water at all times.
The bite on Scotties suspending plastic was invisible. We reckon the fish would have been following the plastic - then it was paused - the fish was right behind it and hardly moved when it inhaled the plastic, then it didn't appear to move at all.

We used the same hard bodies as you guys with a few timber and rapala's thrown in as well as a smaller dozer etc. Most suspended or slightly rising e.g. Very slow.

With sounding up barra on plastics. Depends on how they are used i reckon. Plastics can be heard from a long way as well - e.g. modified or speed! And a more natural sound at times compared to rattle traps. Rattles will definately be heard from ages away. Although the fish at Mondy still seem to be hitting rattles. It will be interesting to see if they are hitting as many in a couple of years down the track or if they are looking for more natural presentations? Do you guys think the ones caught will wise up about rattles as danger in the future? At times i thought the Awoonga fish wised up on them a bit. The changes i saw Mitch, Trev and Harro go through gave away a few clues & the lack of trolled up fish did as well.

Anyone in the northern dams notice any changes over the years?

We had short 50-60mm presentations and Scotty some 100mm presentations. The major tail nips i thought i got were on the larger plastics, with no leader marks, just a graze at the back of the plastic after a quick strike. Only a very small mark. I used this valuable info as a good find e.g. this plastic works, i will just modify it now. The 50-60mm got hammered and that's the fish i faught but lost just before netting, hooked in the corner of the lip etc. I would have thrown this plastic for probably 30% of the time with 3-5 different retrieves in all the different areas we fished for no more hits.

After talking with many of the guys that made the trip to Mondy i reckon that boating traffic and heavy fishing pressure is starting to make the fish at Mondy more wary. e.g. We experienced bites like this at Awoonga years ago after it was pounded by boats. That's why the Awoonga crew have had to rack their brains and evolve so much as they have had to endure tough fishing for years - in my opinion after about 500+ yarns with them. Their short 5-6 hour sessions have also resulted in forced refinement.
It would have been interesting to have them down and see how they would have approached the fishing on the weekend. I'm just putting this info online as it's what i've seen, i hope nobody minds? It's all interesting Barra info to me.

Weather would have had a bit to do with the fish mood. There was more stable weather before the trip. When we got there the weather changed most days, with cloud cover coming over for many days.

Note: There were a couple of short boof sessions at Mondy where you had to be in the good area at the right time. Also noted was that most of the boats were off the water at this time. The area was skillfully found by Brian & Nath who know the dam well & it was great to hear the boys used their knowledge to pick the conditions.

We were only a couple of hundred metres away with water all flowing in to our location down the back of a good looking bay, yet there was no boofing - we might have left just before it started as we were tired and fishing through hour 15, 16 and 17 to catch fish didn't appear to be a fun idea at the time:)

All interesting stuff for the memory bank guys.
Cheers Lyndon.

Awoonga
31-01-2009, 06:01 PM
Hey Lyndon,
Im no SP expert thats for sure, but I do know that the sessions Ive had on softies that have fired have allways involved plenty of taps, plucks, nips and bumps on the retrieve. Personnally I reckon a lot of it is boneys and gar haveing a bit of a nip, cause Ive often had them tail a SP to the boat, and I like that cause it means Ive got bait in the area. Ive had that happen twice now Lyndon, a tap on the retrieve and subsuquent inspection revealed a chaffed leader, I know I asked a question similar to this one other time, and the Awoonga lads recommended striking on suspicion at everything!
Every half dozen casts I change the retrieve a bit, I mix and match retrieve pace, slow roll, roll and pause, burn, let it drop a bit, change the depth, have a picture in my mind of what the bottom contour is (based on what I can see out of the water, and a sounding session when I leave a spot for future reference, never sound over a spot when I turn up to start a session) and try to follow that contour at differant levels. Everything I can do to vary it up and offer something differant to a fish that might just be sitting there watching my placcy swim by over his head and out of his interest range. After 15 minutes or so, I put down one rod, and start chucking something differant, maybe a suspending HB, or differant style placcy, or shallow diver twitched and jerked, just keep mixing it up till something hits the on button for the fish.
I also reckon the use of a twitching HB during a session helps to entice a curious fish into the area, the extra vibration etc in the water would be heard/felt a lot further away by a fish than a slow rolled placcy IMHO, and I think it helps to "call" a fish in to the area.
Its a funny way of fishing compared to brawling in the timber, endless mind numbing casts interrupted by a tap and jolting hit out of no where.
Anyways, just my thoughts, the Sp style is new to me, and no doubt those who have been fishing them for a while have been there, done that.
This is one switched on Dude.........8-) 8-) 8-) Best you stay away from Awoonga

eotbmg
31-01-2009, 06:13 PM
Lyndon,

I found the boating pressure the most influential thing to the barra going off the chew. We were up there Thursday and fished Saparras Friday morning, the most important observation found was that the bait was everywhere on the surface aftre the crowds came the bait was scarce [surface flicking]. This is the reason i crow bar my butt out of bed at 3am to get to the spot before the traffic arrives. We all know the story-bait=fish.
That point i always go to is a prime example. Always bait there. It has never let me down on a morning bite. Similar to another point we all used to fish before the water rise. Shallow point, deep water close by. Bait. Cy or Kerrin said exactly that on the AFC. I am now 75% sure [ like most of us on here] that a point will hold fish. Both Chewy and Brian called it on the weekend. We can sniff out a fishy spot a mile away. Now i just need to find them in deep water, shallow flats, deep points, thick weed, Silver backed hill, the list goes on.
All i am saying is that if you fish a shallow point at the right time[ sunrise, sunset, or peak bite time [moon above or below] you have put your self in the areas where FISH are.

BR65
31-01-2009, 08:16 PM
Yeah, your right Ben, at this stage of the game those points are holding fish on the low light bite periods, and during the day as well, as long as boating activity is minimal. Its not hard to pick, shallow point with some structure, decent water adjacent, active bait, even this gumby managed to find one or two! Point + bait will eventually = fish, just keep on casting! Its a war of attrition, who gives up first, your casting arm or the fish's tolerance to an intruder in its space? I said to Nath that if you throw enough casts, eventually you can foul hook a fish! I think I said to you that next time up Im bringin a cast net, signs of a desperate man!
One thing I did notice though was when Nath and I fished side by side, hitting the same general area, but each one of us targetting a specific zone in that area, there was a marked differace in results. The first time Nath was belting casts at the only tree on the point, and i was working the area to the side, Nath saw the hits, I saw nothing. The second time I was working parralel to the point edge, Nath was more at the tip of the pint, I saw the hits, Nath didnt.
In the first instance the fish were holding on the dropped branches under the water on that lone tree, I know those branches are there cause they've claimed a few of my jig heads. In the second instance I reckon I was intercepting moving fish as the cruised along parrallel to the points weed edge, before they made their way further along to where Nath was tied off.
The next big in-flow, or extended pump out, will change it all again though. Personally, Id be glad to go back to the sticks myself, I enjoy the hand to hand down and dirty stuff way more. But youve got to fish whats in front of you, and at the moment if thats where the fish are, then thats where Im fishing.
Dont know about crow barring your ass out of bed at 3am though mate, I seem to recall calling you at 3.30 on Monday when I was at the ramp, wondering if you were back at the cabin still eating bacon and eggs!

Trev, Ive got nuthin, if it wasnt for blokes like yourself, and all the other barra nuts on here that so freely give up their hard earned tips, Id still be running around the basin casting at the first vertical stick I came across.
Any one who missed it, have a look here, this is what Im talking about : http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=144928

eotbmg
31-01-2009, 11:26 PM
Dont know about crow barring your ass out of bed at 3am though mate, I seem to recall calling you at 3.30 on Monday when I was at the ramp, wondering if you were back at the cabin still eating bacon and eggs!

Thats because i had the mexicans, paul and the brothers of darkness to wake up, floss their teeth, search for a newly cleaned freshly pressed shirt[ which is a new ranger installment] cook coco pops, wipe their bums and shake the last drop off, before we thought about looking for keys for the car, unit or boat!!!!!!

Tropicaltrout
01-02-2009, 09:20 AM
Yeah, your right Ben, at this stage of the game those points are holding fish on the low light bite periods, and during the day as well, as long as boating activity is minimal. Its not hard to pick, shallow point with some structure, decent water adjacent, active bait, even this gumby managed to find one or two! Point + bait will eventually = fish, just keep on casting! Its a war of attrition, who gives up first, your casting arm or the fish's tolerance to an intruder in its space? I said to Nath that if you throw enough casts, eventually you can foul hook a fish! I think I said to you that next time up Im bringin a cast net, signs of a desperate man!
One thing I did notice though was when Nath and I fished side by side, hitting the same general area, but each one of us targetting a specific zone in that area, there was a marked differace in results. The first time Nath was belting casts at the only tree on the point, and i was working the area to the side, Nath saw the hits, I saw nothing. The second time I was working parralel to the point edge, Nath was more at the tip of the pint, I saw the hits, Nath didnt.
In the first instance the fish were holding on the dropped branches under the water on that lone tree, I know those branches are there cause they've claimed a few of my jig heads. In the second instance I reckon I was intercepting moving fish as the cruised along parrallel to the points weed edge, before they made their way further along to where Nath was tied off.
The next big in-flow, or extended pump out, will change it all again though. Personally, Id be glad to go back to the sticks myself, I enjoy the hand to hand down and dirty stuff way more. But youve got to fish whats in front of you, and at the moment if thats where the fish are, then thats where Im fishing.

Trev, Ive got nuthin, if it wasnt for blokes like yourself, and all the other barra nuts on here that so freely give up their hard earned tips, Id still be running around the basin casting at the first vertical stick I came across.
Any one who missed it, have a look here, this is what Im talking about : http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/showthread.php?t=144928

Yeah Brian has it nailed points are the choice spots at the moment,8-) here is my take on it..:-/ As we drive around looking for that spot we all take in the surroundings water, is it clear dirty etc deep, cool, hot what ever. Some read water well,where others it takes time and with guys like JM most are starting to grasp it with both hands. 3 different blokes of the day were based there fishing on this trip on points why?::) wind water clarity and Bait was there.. casting to a point is dull but as was experiance worth the wait.. a couple of years ago we worked logs timber hard but the lake itself was different, low water, and no inflow at any stage, and very little movement, so the chennels in the timber were our choice of attack I think Brian will remember that well this scenario... Now the water is up the bait move up into the bays and a hold off the huge amounts of weed that lines the shore so with this we focus on the points of bays were there is water movement and bait... Anyhow thats how I sum it up probably all bloody wrong but gee whiz its fun trying to nut it out..:) :P ;D

Nath

BR65
01-02-2009, 09:34 AM

Thats because i had the mexicans, paul and the brothers of darkness to wake up, floss their teeth, search for a newly cleaned freshly pressed shirt[ which is a new ranger installment] cook coco pops, wipe their bums and shake the last drop off, before we thought about looking for keys for the car, unit or boat!!!!!!

LMAO brother, specially the freshly ironed shirt as Ranger uniform. I suspect a bit of time was also lost with Vin and Nav ensureing they were colour co-ordinated with their shirts??? :o

SeekingBarradise
01-02-2009, 10:53 AM
Great replies guys. Tackle shop guys, general public & even barra nuts should grab a line or 2 of good info from this thread.
The descriptions of the areas fished and why are great guys.

Part of what my thread is about (Awoonga Differences) is summed up by this thread i'll paste on the bottom for everyone to check out. At the very least it should get us thinking even more about the tackle & techniques we use, and where it will stand in the future. What if the tackle and tactics on Monduran (In current form) have a limited lifespan?

If it's not broken, don't fix it. But what if like Awoonga all the tyres were pumped up and travelling well, then all of a sudden we had 4 flat tyres and felt deflated as the fishery evolved and constant refinement was needed to constantly catch fish, even in good areas? (See lures thrown out). I only ask this question because it will be the same at Monduran if it keeps getting hammered by the crowds. It's an interesting line of thought regarding the future and what we will have fun working on (now) with our fishing to prevent a broken wheel or flat tyres in the future. What do you guys think?:)

Looking back critically on the trip we might have spent about 25% of the time on points. It seems others spent maybe 80%+ of their time on points. We also fished river bed, upper arm of river bed edges, flat weed edge bays and main basin edges. I reckon we didn't spend enough time in more active fish areas and might not have waited long enough in these spots.

TACKLEBOX CLEAN OUT (http://www.sweetwaterfishing.com.au/Forum/index.php?topic=3105.0)

Cheers Lyndon.:)

Tropicaltrout
01-02-2009, 03:48 PM
If it's not broken, don't fix it. But what if like Awoonga all the tyres were pumped up and travelling well, then all of a sudden we had 4 flat tyres and felt deflated as the fishery evolved and constant refinement was needed to constantly catch fish, even in good areas? (See lures thrown out). I only ask this question because it will be the same at Monduran if it keeps getting hammered by the crowds. It's an interesting line of thought regarding the future and what we will have fun working on (now) with our fishing to prevent a broken wheel or flat tyres in the future. What do you guys think :)

Cheers Lyndon.:)

I reckon make the two silver backs go to potty in the water and wait for the barra to float up;) ;D ;D ;D

Yeah good question mate never know whats the next big thing I guess but mondy I belive will take alot longer to educate due to the massive amounts of structure there are probably fish in there that will see a whole life span and not see a lure at this present day, but as stocking pro longs then yes things may get harder a lot harder

Whitto
01-02-2009, 05:04 PM
I reckon make the two silver backs go to potty in the water and wait for the barra to float up;) ;D ;D ;D

Yeah good question mate never know whats the next big thing I guess but mondy I belive will take alot longer to educate due to the massive amounts of structure there are probably fish in there that will see a whole life span and not see a lure at this present day, but as stocking pro longs then yes things may get harder a lot harderWe are at the very least Gentleman Silver Backs and we would never pollute our playground.....certainly the surrounding Knolls are fair game;D....Monduran at 36/38% is very interesting enough....Imagine 80% now talk about a challenge......18% not all that long ago was Magic...for my experience the less water was easy.... the more the water rises the more difficult it will become...we just might see Mondy at 80% if the weather forcast are accurate

Steve B
01-02-2009, 09:47 PM
We are at the very least Gentleman Silver Backs and we would never pollute our playground.....certainly the surrounding Knolls are fair game;D....Monduran at 36/38% is very interesting enough....Imagine 80% now talk about a challenge......18% not all that long ago was Magic...for my experience the less water was easy.... the more the water rises the more difficult it will become...we just might see Mondy at 80% if the weather forcast are accurate

Too right Whitto,

All fun and games now in our fav spots...chuck in another 10% even....shes a new dam again....time to look up the bank is now....if the turkey nests are anything to go by..

Lyndon.....What do we do with 4 flat tyres?...work out why they went flat, try 4 new different ones, see which ones work the best....then take them on a different bloody track....mabey to Awoonga;)

cheers Steve.!!!

black_sheep
03-02-2009, 08:21 AM
Sorry for my late entrance into this post (sorry for tagging on Whitto) but since getting back from Mondy, I have been suffering a bout of gastro:( and for a change, it’s not from the donuts::) . I aslo put this on Freshwater chat my mistake yesterday - doh.

Basically, between Brian, Lyndon and Ben, the trip has been summed up so there’s not much for me to add. Vin and I landed 6 fish with a couple of 80’s, 90’s and the 2 metrey’s going 105 and 109. Our best day was same as Brian - the Monday when boat traffic was minimal and over the 19hrs, we boated 3 and lost 3. Tues was turning out to be a great day too but we had to pull the pin to check-out of the cabins at 9.30am when they were still chewing:'( .

Other than 1 fish that I pulled from a sunken logjam up the Kolan that I had marked when the dam was at 18%, we got all our fish off points lower down the system. Vin lost 3 fish through not setting the hooks in time;D . Vin also had a couple of tiny love bites but on closer inspection, his leader was scuffed 5 inches up so didn’t feel the barra implode and explode the placcy. I lost a horse in the last 15mins of the last session caused by 80lb leader wearing through>:( . 2 fish were caught on 35lb braid with 80 mono and 4 fish on 78lb braid with 80 fluro. We had success on Barrabaits, Slickrigs, Storm Wildeye Shads, Bombers and B52’s.

As always we had a few antics:

Unlucky fish No1 - Vin nearly lost a 91 after it ran around the tree we were tied off to. As I untied and tried to drive around on leccy, I told him to free-spool ;) which resulted in the barra continuing its merry-go-round around the tree. I eventually had to jump on the petrol and do 3 donuts around the tree to regain direct contact but eventually landed it.

Unlucky fish No2 - two hrs later and after 16hrs continuous fishing, Vin casts a bit too long into the bank and starts working his rod tip high to get it over the shallows when a barra surprises him (awakens him up) and decides to take his Wheezer stick and Daiwa Luna for a swim. For anyone that doesn’t know, Vin could probably get his scuba license with the amount of hrs he has spent underwater at Mondy and therefore doesn’t hesitate for a split second and launches himself into the depths. A couple of seconds later, he surfaces with the rod in hand and barra still attached. He hands the rod to me while trying to lug his drenched arse into the boat. Now, I’ve always wanted to really put the hurt on a barra even if I busted it off but haven’t been game to do it on any fish I’ve hooked so now was my opportunity;) . I jumped on the rear casting deck and even though the barra was clear of any obstructions and in open water, I cranked up the dial on his drag to max and started pumping and winding as hard as I could::) . I even resolved to high sticking this fish trying to get it to jump so I could pull it through the air in an attempt to have it boatside before Vin could get in;D . Unfortunately Vin was onto me and quickly clawed his way back into the boat. I did manage to get the fish within a boats length away which was somewhat satisfying before he snatched the rod out of my hand and had the glory of the last few turns of the handle. The unlucky 97cm was netted, tagged and released.

I just shook my head thinking how can he be my brother!! Vin is the most unfocussed and relaxed fishermen I know so how could he have been the fastest swimming sperm in the millions that he competed with!!! The mind boggles::) .

Next upgrade to my boat is a 3mtr springboard off the stern so Vin can get a bit more air into his triple pike.

Thanks to all the boys for a great weekend. Nice to catch up with Nath, Lyndon and Brian (your a barra catching machine mate and must congratulate you on your solo efforts - not the first time I've seen you up there by yourself). Would have been nice to catch up for a bit more socialising but 4 days never seems to be long enough to do it all – next time.

P.S. Having trouble downloading photos at the moment but should have them on by tomorrow. Sorry Brian, I will post a couple of yours and send you the rest.

Tight lines.

Peter4
03-02-2009, 08:38 AM
Nice read and some great fish there Navi.

As always, it sounds like you had a ball and the usual few hair-raising moments provided by Vin.......

Regs

(and Brian sneaks into the pics....again!)

SeekingBarradise
03-02-2009, 08:44 AM
Well done Navi & Vinnie. Your report is a great read mate. Big hours, hijinks and funtimes catching Big Monduran Barra.

I can't wait for the next trip.

Cheers Lyndon.

eotbmg
03-02-2009, 09:10 AM
Nice work mate,
You are going to give Vin the instruction booklet from your new camera to study!
Hes got NFI.

black_sheep
03-02-2009, 09:56 AM
Thanks Pete - was just good to get off my run of donuts.

I'm glad you feel my pain Ben. He cathes a 90 that I make look like a 110. I catch a 121 that he makes look like a 90!!! Think he zooms out instead of in;D .

Lyndon, we trying to avoid Mondy for a couple of months and chase other fish like jacks, murray cod, thready's.......... but trying to avoid Mondy will be difficult.

03-02-2009, 10:02 AM
Hi Nav ...... That's a hell of a read - -- Some might say UNBELIEVABLE ::)

I can see a reality TV show coming out of your adventures ..........I reckon it would make the "simple life" look pretty lame:D

Good stuff ...... & glad to hear the wheezer was recovered!

PS ..... Nice fishies

black_sheep
03-02-2009, 10:26 AM
Thanks Nagg,

That Wheezer stick has seen the depths of Mondy twice in 2 trips - reckon Monduran will be it's graveyard one day!!

Steve B
03-02-2009, 10:33 AM
Navi and Vinny,

Hope your feelin better mate.....fancy that you getting 'dehli belly'!;)

Great report mate, always a classic read full of laughs. At least there is plenty of fish caught so well done. Brian really is a teflon king......His photos slip into everyones gallery;D Although I doubt his beer suction capped to the outboard in that photo was slipping anywhere!!! great shot!!

All great photos fellas. See ya round

robersl
03-02-2009, 10:39 AM
Great read, good fish I think Brian is going for the front page of either vogue or fishing monthly he pops up every where even if he is not there on that weekend i bet he still turns up in the photo's of someones trip lol it will be like where's wally soon
Sorry Brian

Shane

Whitto
03-02-2009, 11:07 AM
G'Day Navi......U can attach anything u like to any of my very few posts....Im Donuting big time at the moment.....As always a Great read.....Antics left right and center......Piccies everwhere.....Keep up the good work Vin your a Champion.....Thanks Lads....Whitto:D;D8-)

black_sheep
03-02-2009, 12:48 PM
Pleasure boys - there's never a dull moment.

Cheers Steve - dehli belly is all but gone

Steve B
03-02-2009, 01:14 PM

Thats good mate! I had it too the other week...same time. Not good!

BR65
03-02-2009, 04:49 PM
Thanks for the pics Nav, Paul and Nath, Im going to send on to my bro, it will drive him crazy.
Nav, awesome post, it was an awesome week end, sorry to hear about the bonding sessions youve been having with the porcelin bowl, rather you than me brother.
Shaneo, Id have to brush my hair and iron my shirt for that mate, waaaaay to much effort for me!
Steve, after reading that tragic tale you posted not so long ago about lost fish and spilled beer, I did everything I could to minimze the risk to the one thing I had some control over - the beer! Those sucker stubb holders are the bees knees.

Tropicaltrout
03-02-2009, 07:56 PM

Hey Navi you should wack a tag in Vin next time he goes swimming, either that or put a helmet cam on him so we cam have a visual. top stuff mate

robersl
03-02-2009, 09:44 PM
i wonder if this new google ocean will be anygood for the dams to get the underwater outline probly not

black_sheep
04-02-2009, 10:00 AM
Brian - more pics coming your way today mate to your private email. They have nothing to do with fishing:o .

Steve - at least you can administer your own drugs!!

Nath - I have been toying with the idea of a remote video camera permenantly mounted on the boat so I can flick a switch and start recording;) .

themissus
04-02-2009, 11:52 AM
Do it Navi....you guys would soooo have funniest home video's the in bag
Glad to hear you feeling better.
Cheers Kim.

black_sheep
04-02-2009, 01:21 PM
Hey Kim,

Long time no speak. I'm sure Vin did that just for you. I think he dropped a piece of your rockyroad overboard last time so throwing his rod overboard is an excuse to try and find it - mmmmmmmmm rockyroad.

themissus
04-02-2009, 01:45 PM
I was thinking of making a batch & sending it to Chewman to bring up but I'm pretty sure you wouldn't have seen it!! A batch would be just enough to get him from home to Mondy
Love to Vin.
Cheers Kim.

Steve B
04-02-2009, 02:12 PM
I was thinking of making a batch & sending it to Chewman to bring up but I'm pretty sure you wouldn't have seen it!! A batch would be just enough to get him from home to Mondy
Love to Vin.
Cheers Kim.

Kim,

you dont be feedin them other heathins!! Save the ymmy stuff for 'team Rocky Road Lotion';)

Remember no nuts in my batch.......dont even go there you lot....I can here the cogs in your head grinding now!!!;D

themissus
04-02-2009, 02:23 PM
It's all good Captain!! Plenty to go round. I've been stocking up when the choc etc has been on special. I know princess no nuts in your and roo's RR and no nuts on your bit of the ginger cake. On It!!
First Mate Priestley

Steve B
04-02-2009, 02:35 PM
It's all good Captain!! Plenty to go round. I've been stocking up when the choc etc has been on special. I know princess no nuts in your and roo's RR and no nuts on your bit of the ginger cake. On It!!
First Mate Priestley

Oooh Kim Thank you!!!

Consider all your leaders tied!!!....properly too;)

chewy01
04-02-2009, 03:16 PM
Oh i think im goin to cry this is all too soppy...

Roo
04-02-2009, 04:38 PM
Thats nothing chewy, Wait till ya see the team shirts Kims got organised for "Team Lotion Frenzy". Should really set off Steves doe eyes.
Steve, Bring eye liner and your favourite colour lippy

themissus
04-02-2009, 04:50 PM
Geez you could have cut the head off!!

eotbmg
04-02-2009, 06:23 PM
Kim,

Remember no nuts in my batch
;D

Cant alter genetics mate!!!!:o:o

chewy01
04-02-2009, 06:49 PM
im thinking once some of the locals hear about this we willl be overrun

Steve B
04-02-2009, 09:29 PM
Thats nothing chewy, Wait till ya see the team shirts Kims got organised for "Team Lotion Frenzy". Should really set off Steves doe eyes.
Steve, Bring eye liner and your favourite colour lippy

Rod Rod Rod, I dont know. You can bag my makeup..its packed ready to go.....but I have been told bout your man boobies!!;);D

Ben, pay that!!.:P

Roo
05-02-2009, 09:06 AM
Hey, I've got a Slick Rig!!!

just hidden under a winter coat for a decade or so:-[
see avatar.....too many beers.

nipsta
05-02-2009, 04:46 PM
i thought you where gunner say ya had some plastic work done

Roo
05-02-2009, 05:02 PM
i thought you where gunner say ya had some plastic work done
I have!!!! I used to have a face only a mother could love.....then kim whacked me with a big stick for the last 14 years and look at me now(see avatar):P

nipsta
05-02-2009, 06:14 PM
I have!!!! I used to have a face only a mother could love.....then kim whacked me with a big stick for the last 14 years and look at me now(see avatar):P
dont worry i felt like that the other day when i had my wisdom teeth out dam that operation hurts

themissus
06-02-2009, 09:52 AM
dont worry i felt like that the other day when i had my wisdom teeth out dam that operation hurts

OUCH...How you doing now? Hope your felling better.:-*

TonyM
06-02-2009, 06:50 PM
Geez a bloke gets busy for a few days and tries to catch up on threads and finds this stuff - too scary!!!! It must put the lotion on or it gets the hose again..... :-/;D

I'm selling the hornet at the moment and was thinking of seeing if I could land a deckies job at the BB, although after reading this I'm more than a little nervous... :'(

06-02-2009, 06:58 PM
Geez a bloke gets busy for a few days and tries to catch up on threads and finds this stuff - too scary!!!! It must put the lotion on or it gets the hose again..... :-/;D

I'm selling the hornet at the moment and was thinking of seeing if I could land a deckies job at the BB, although after reading this I'm more than a little nervous... :'(

So you goin GLASS & FAST :P

TonyM
06-02-2009, 07:18 PM
So you goin GLASS & FAST :P

hehe as tempting as that might be (especially after getting the free facelift) I'm thinking of going back to the fantastic plastic.

Having said that, if I see a good deal on a classy glassy...... I reserve the right to change my mind!

Besides, I have a history of changing boats at least once every 18 months max, and as we all know history has a habit of repeating itself! ::)

DEANO68
06-02-2009, 07:36 PM
hehe as tempting as that might be (especially after getting the free facelift) I'm thinking of going back to the fantastic plastic.

Having said that, if I see a good deal on a classy glassy...... I reserve the right to change my mind!

Besides, I have a history of changing boats at least once every 18 months max, and as we all know history has a habit of repeating itself! ::)

woo hooo more tupperware.. .. do it tony, do it..;D

deano..8-)

chewy01
06-02-2009, 07:40 PM
with ya, think mine has seen more h2o than any :)

BR65
06-02-2009, 07:55 PM
bloody poly owners trying to recruit new victems, opps, I mean owners!

Tony, ally all the way mate, go the hornets!

07-02-2009, 06:58 AM

Tony Tony Tony ...... you must be thick skinned

Let us mess around with Deano first ;D

I can understand going from your hornet to a skeet , nitro , ranger etc ...... but a poly:-/ ......... forgetting the jokes - just too similar for my way of thinking.

nipsta
07-02-2009, 07:42 AM
Tony Tony Tony ...... you must be thick skinned

Let us mess around with Deano first ;D

I can understand going from your hornet to a skeet , nitro , ranger etc ...... but a poly:-/ ......... forgetting the jokes - just too similar for my way of thinking.

yeah tony whats wrong with the one ya had oh thats right its sits there so you can jump into les mcods boat hey has anyone spoken to les lately havent seen him on here for a while

PaulMark
07-02-2009, 09:05 AM
Before anyone buys one we should have a party....a tupperware party:D
Paulo

PaulMark
07-02-2009, 12:12 PM
Talking of stealthy operations and silent running8-)I read recently from Starlo I think that transom mount electrics were more stealthy than bow mounts because when you change direction the little motor that turns the motor makes a racket:o any thoughts on this??
Paulo

07-02-2009, 12:30 PM
Talking of stealthy operations and silent running8-)I read recently from Starlo I think that transom mount electrics were more stealthy than bow mounts because when you change direction the little motor that turns the motor makes a racket:o any thoughts on this??
Paulo

No doubt Paul ....... The minn kota riptides scream when you change directions:wut:
In addition to the bow mount ......I wouldn't mind having a transom mount on the front ( reverse the head) & away you go ........... use it when monouvering over flats / weed or through the timber when in stealth mode8-)

TonyM
07-02-2009, 12:46 PM
Chris - Thick skin/thick head that'd be me ::) I've had a few poly's in the past and frankly I don't mind the occaisional wheelie bin/tupperware joke ;D (heck I even had an etec for a short while). If you pay for the big HO etec on the back I'd seriously consider a skeeter :)

Nipsta - Hey I resemble that statement! I caught up with Les at Mondy new years eve, he seems to be going well.

Paulo - I agree, the servo on Minnkotas are way too noisy. I'm thinking of going back to a cable steer bow mount for that very reason.