View Full Version : Fish Kill Bags

selous
24-01-2009, 01:31 PM
Long time lurker, first time poster, mainly because I figure that I'll only post if I have a worthwhile question or comment.

Anyway, the reason for this post is that I recall seeing in Fishing Monthly about 2 years ago some ads or reviews for insulated fish kill bags. These were heavy duty, could be slung over the shoulder, waterproof etc and much less bulky than a hard icebox or esky. I thought they were a great idea but have never seen anyone using them (why?). I have made the mistake of putting fish in cheaper soft coolers which invariably leak, so I am looking for something a bit more robust.

I haven't seen anything similar in any of the tackle shops I frequent andI have googled the net but can only find similar bags in the states. Has anyone used them and are they worth the $$$? Does anyone know where they are available in Australia? I thought the ones I saw advertised were Australian made, rather than imported, and I'd prefer to support Australian manufacturers where possible.

Some links to the type of bags I'm talking about:

http://www.blueoceantackle.com/fish_bags.htm

http://www.bonz##Imp##ts.com/fish_kill_bags.htm (http://www.#############.com/fish_kill_bags.htm)

http://www.reliablefishing.com/?Kill_Bags

http://www.reliablefishing.com/images/3048thb.jpg

http://www.reliablefishing.com/images/rf3460thb.jpg

struktcha_man
24-01-2009, 02:03 PM
they look very expensive, I wonder how effective they are as compared to an esky, that would probably hold more at the same price.

JayT
24-01-2009, 04:38 PM
Mate like you, I saw something similar in either the bush n beach or QFM, I havent seen or heard anything either but think its a great idea for those larger fish that just wont fit in the esky or the LBG boys hiking back to the car with Tuna, Macs, Jewies etc.
Have caught some nice cobes an cod at times and have had to lay them on the deck with a wet towel on them and have thought wouldnt an insulated bag with a bit of ice thrown in be the go:)
They are around but you would pay for them I imagine but for the money it costs these days to just be out there I think it would be money well spent!
cheers Thorpy

t4topcat
24-01-2009, 05:57 PM
Gday sealouse,
I'm pretty sure the brand that was in mags was Pelagic and I know that I've seen them hnging up in my local Tackle world store here in Mackay. From memory I believe that they are quite good at keeping your catch in good nick as long as you look after them, you know keep them covered and not out in direct sunlight all the time, common sense I would think anyway.

selous
24-01-2009, 06:06 PM
.... but think its a great idea for those larger fish that just wont fit in the esky or the LBG boys hiking back to the car with Tuna, Macs, Jewies etc.

cheers Thorpy

Exactly what peaked my interest. Hiking several hundred metres down a bush track to get to a jewie spot, I thought a soft bag slung over my shoulder would be easier than lugging an esky, especially if I had a big arsed jew or lizard in it on the way back out.

Not that I've managed to catch a decent Jewie yet, but I live in hope.......;D

24-01-2009, 08:13 PM
http://www.kayakfishinggear.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=167

struck upon this today.

GPB
24-01-2009, 09:25 PM
The Kiwi Kingie chasers use them to great effect, called a 'Tuna Bag', a couple of Kingies and some ice saves having a long Chilli Bin, 'Whoops', Eskie.
Fishermans World [TackleWorld] Kawana had some in last year, may still have some.

mattooty
25-01-2009, 12:35 AM
They look unreal. As JayT said, doing a fair bit of LBG work, its always a pain trying to either walk a fish out upon capture or try and cover it in wet towels till everyons ready to leave.
Money well spent i say!

trueblue
25-01-2009, 12:55 AM
the use them a lot over in the US, on charter boats for large marlin and tuna and the like.

all fish caught over there go to the market, so they keep them cool in bags, much bigger ones though

Bennywise
25-01-2009, 09:37 AM
http://www.kayakfishinggear.com/index.asp?PageAction=VIEWPROD&ProdID=167

struck upon this today.

Yep, I have the same bag and it is great for keeping your catch cool. Very compact which is what I wanted when Kayak fishing.

selous
25-01-2009, 12:50 PM
After a bit more research I found this article which describes the bags in a bit more detail:

No Frills Chills
Handy fish bags make preserving your catch a cinch.
http://www.floridasportsman.com/gear/G_0406_no_a.jpgDolphins fit easily into most offshore bags.

Just zip it up! Using a fish bag is that simple. Of course, you’ll have to add fish and ice. But, that’s all the technical know-how required to keep your catch fresh and cold. Tasty, too, no matter how big or small your boat.

Fish bags are handy tools. Once primarily utilized by tournament fishermen, these soft-side, portable coolers are becoming commonplace as more anglers add the bags to their must-have tackle list.

The history of fish bags is kinda vague, but general consensus has it that they first popped on the tournament king mackerel scene. Back then just like now, insulated fish bags filled the bill when storage space is at a premium and fish boxes aren’t large enough to accommodate your catch and you’re determined to keep your fish in top condition—fit for any dinner table or tournament weigh-in.

Construction-wise, bags seem fairly similar, although individual manufacturers are sure to disagree. Most have waterproof PVC or vinyl sides and interior compartments for repelling stains surrounded by some type of insulating material such as closed-cell foam to keep the chill in and the heat out.

Generally, a heavy-duty zipper runs down three sides of the bag, which allows you to open it fully for cleaning. Some bags come equipped with drain plugs so you can vent excess water without unzipping and others “leak” melted ice water through the seams when tilted a hair. Webbed nylon hand and shoulder straps for easy carrying round out the package.

Bag lengths and widths vary, and this bodes well for anglers. Size selection allows you to pick a bag or bags tailored to the fish you catch. For instance, if you plan on packing one with spotted seatrout or rigged ballyhoo baits, a shorter, beamier bag is in order. On the other hand, if your prey is smoker king macks, bull dolphin or wahoo a longer, skinnier bag makes more sense. And, if you truly pursue big gamefish such as tuna, there are bags on the market made to accommodate your catch, up to 400 pounds if need be, that measure an expansive 40 by 84 inches when zipped. Billfish bags come even bigger and some are advertised to hold billfish weighing up to 1,200 pounds. Something to consider before heading out on the next swordfish expedition.

What advantages do bags offer over traditional coolers? First off, they’re convenient. You can stow bags below decks until needed or use one of the swifter tricks I’ve seen—hang ’em under the gunnel. All you need is a couple of J-hooks (rod racks will do if they match the bag’s handles) positioned to hang the bag vertically—zipper up—above deck. This keeps it handy and out of the way. If your gunnels aren’t high enough to hang the bag, don’t fret. A flats boat skipper said that storing a folded bag in a locker negates the need for carrying a second cooler to keep drinks and food separated from fish destined for the table. He just takes a bag of ice from the drink cooler, adds fish and leaves the bag stretched out on deck until he reaches the ramp. Then he totes the bag to the cleaning table. How’s that for utility?

No Frills Chills
Price advantage also goes to bags. Bags are generally cheaper than comparable capacity hard-side coolers. They’re also portable, important when transporting that 70-pound wahoo, 30-pound dolphin or 40-pound king to the weigh station or cleaning table. And, while you’re busy filleting, bags keep your fish cool, in peak condition. Retail prices do vary, so it pays to shop around for a bag that meets your needs. On average, bait and small fish bags start around $100 and models large enough to hold yellowfin and bigeye tuna run between $225 and $450. That 1,200-pound marlin or swordfish bag—two 5- by 9-foot bags that attach—will also set you back about $450.

Some folks seem amazed that anglers fishing aboard bigger boats employ bags when built-in fishboxes could easily accommodate the catch. One reason is that the bag protects fish by preventing them from receiving bruises and bangs caused by constant jostling in the hard-side box on the run home. Hence, soft bags keep your fish in better condition. Bags are also much easier to clean than your standard in-deck insulated box. Once you’ve removed the fish, just zip it completely open and give it a good scrubdown. Blood and scales rarely stick to slick fish bag material. After you finish, hang it up to dry. No clogged macerators to keep you occupied.

There are several ways to chill fish in a bag. The easiest and simplest is to use a couple bags of ice and replenish as necessary. You can also choose a bag that has sewn-in compartments that accommodate synthetic Techni Ice packets. This reusable dry ice substitute developed in Australia has many commercial food shipping applications and manufacturers advertise that bags equipped for the product can keep fish and bait cold for up to a week (for more info look up the product on the Web).

Bags do have one drawback—hooks. Never throw a thrashing hooked fish into a bag. That’s a recipe for disaster. Whenever a mad fish tosses a hook, it’s bound to snag the bag’s PVC or vinyl lining and ruin it. Don’t worry about king mackerel or wahoo dentures. To the best of my knowledge, there’s never been a report of fish chewing through a fish bag.

Some bag uses are not as plainly visible or advertised. They could be extremely valuable in emergency situations. That same R-factor that keeps cool in and heat out could be reversed to keep you warm if you use it as a blanket. Bags could also be used to flag passing vessels or for makeshift beds.

One more thing bound to please the fashion conscious: You can custom order most fish bags with your boat logo inscribed on the side. Besides looking good, no one will make the mistake of claiming your fish.
http://www.floridasportsman.com/gear/G_0406_no_b.jpgBait bags are handy for travel.

source: http://www.floridasportsman.com/gear/GF_0406_No/

I also found a site called alltackle that has several brands of fish bag. A small inshore bag with postage would come out to about AUD $200 with postage to Australia. When I say small, however, that is still a big bag compared to the offshore bags which are huge. I can't see myself needing a bag that holds 1200lb of fish! The inshore bags hold up to 100lb of fish which is more than plenty I think.

http://www.alltackle.com/fish_bags.htm

krazyfisher
23-09-2009, 06:08 PM
Does anyone know where to get these in Oz?
I have reduced the size of my esky to fit in the boat better.... most fish fit than picked up a couple of big spanish??? thought this would be a great idea stored on the side pockets untill needed.

fishel
23-09-2009, 06:35 PM
Wow, sealous, that is some write up. Pity you don't post often as you write very well. Good read.

Cheers Eleanor

LostNearBribie
23-09-2009, 06:59 PM
Boys send Leigh77 a PM he is a member on here.
Or you can find his products here:

http://www.lscanvas.com.au/fish_bags_26.html

I'm sure he would be able to make something to suit your needs.

bushwacker
24-09-2009, 08:26 PM
Have used a pelagic fish bag, it was their kingie bag and it was great, i ordered one as soon as i had to give this one back you could easily fit a couple 15 or 20k fish in it. They also come in all different shapes and sizes, heavy duty and have a drain plug fitted. I pretty sure ######## sells them still just grab a copy of their mag. Prices vary a bit the one i ordered was very reasonable however.

sleepygreg
24-09-2009, 11:07 PM
You could also try Paul Higgins at AT Sea Marine Trimming at Scarborough. He does them as well. His shop is at Scarborough Marina, Thurect Parade. 0434 396544

GPB
25-09-2009, 09:14 PM
Tackle World Kawana have these 'Snapper' bags in stock, 2 sizes 1.050m [shown in pic] and a 1.2m, they have a strong HD zip and a drain at the bottom corner excess melted ice, they also come with rool up straps. I'm grabbing a 1.2 m for the Maccy season

Swindells
26-09-2009, 09:43 AM
Lot of high tech gagets being discussed, i just take an esky but my grandfather used to just keep his fish in a wet heshon (??) bag, it keeps them cool. when i was growing up in the country, people used to keep water in a very very tight weave heshon bag on the front of their 4wd's, the water in the bag used to soak through enough to keep the bag moist but not leak, when the were driving the air rushes past the bag cooling the water much like how we sweat and the water was always very cold even in 35-40 degree heat.

Just another opinion.

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 08:58 AM
Has anybody got the reliable bags and what is the best size? Plan on putting kings snapper Jews trag pearlies gems Spanish and tuna in it. Probably not on the same day but I want something big enough for tuna but not too big for a few bottom fish.. Cheers!

lee8sec
06-10-2013, 09:18 AM
Also these http://www.downriggershop.com.au/neoprene-fish-chiller-bags.html

honda900
06-10-2013, 09:26 AM
Has anybody got the reliable bags and what is the best size? Plan on putting kings snapper Jews trag pearlies gems Spanish and tuna in it. Probably not on the same day but I want something big enough for tuna but not too big for a few bottom fish.. Cheers!

I have one, bought it to take to 1770, as my kill tank floor is not insulated, only the top, worked pretty well holds Ice for a couple of days easy. I have the 2048 50x120cm which is a bit of an awkward shape as per the link below. it would definitely be a bit small for Spanish and the like, however just top and tail them.

Appears to be well made (time will tell) and is a pretty good size. at one stage we would have had 40-50kg of fish to get out of the boat and and the handles did not struggle with the weight. Mo Tackle is where I got mine.

http://www.reliablefishing.com/images/IMG_0322_mod4.jpg

Below is a 12kg Red in the bag.

HOnda.

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 10:13 AM
Thanks Honda I was looking at the 75x150 with the exact same brand I can't see them before I buy cause its from the net. No one down here has that brand. Do you think that would be fine or should I look at the 180? I want it to be good for any day I go out not just one specific fish cause they are a bit pricey to buy 2.. Thanks

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 10:15 AM
Thanks lee I saw then but I don't think they really suit my needs. Thanks anyways

06-10-2013, 10:20 AM
I have a PrecisionPak from Downunder camping. About $49.00 for the size I use or $69.00 for the bigger model. Mine holds at least three Spaniards to about the 30lb mark. They don't hold ice very well so I keep the ice in the esky then pull the bag out for Cobes or Macks that won't fit in the box. It keeps them well chilled for the trip home. I have seen Mick77 use a better quality one to fit a nice bag of Spanos in. I think the bag may have belonged to Macca (the lump)
If I was buying again I would go the bigger size than mine. This is the one I have
http://www.downundercamping.com.au/fishing/fishing-storage/storage-bags-wallets/precision-pak-fish-storage-bag-standard.html

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 10:51 AM
Thanks horse! I already have the bigger one lol but as u said it doesn't hold ice. I am prepared to spend the $$ just want to get the right size that's all. I want to be able to have a good ice slurry and it to hold ice for a days fishing.

honda900
06-10-2013, 12:09 PM
Thanks Honda I was looking at the 75x150 with the exact same brand I can't see them before I buy cause its from the net. No one down here has that brand. Do you think that would be fine or should I look at the 180? I want it to be good for any day I go out not just one specific fish cause they are a bit pricey to buy 2.. Thanks

yeah originally that's what I was looking at, but I wanted my deack to be clear so it had to fit inside My kill tank, it does with a bit of re-shaping..

I think some of the bigger bags are more round not quite the odd shape that mine is, as for sizing it, I would buy it to suit my anticipated biggest fish (length wise), being conscious of space on the deck, cause once you have some fish, it may be sitting on the deck like a big esky.

Honda

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 12:33 PM
Yeh that's exactly what I want it for so when I start fishing I can have it in the cab and pull it out when I start catching

Aussie123
06-10-2013, 06:05 PM
Those bags in the very first post are probably one of the best on the market.
The guys in the top end of WA buy heaps of them as they withstand the extreme heat over there really well.
There is 7 bag sizes ranging from 18" x 36" to 30" High x 72" Wide x 12" base.
If you want a quality bag they are the way to go.

lee8sec
06-10-2013, 06:54 PM
Those bags in the very first post are probably one of the best on the market.
The guys in the top end of WA buy heaps of them as they withstand the extreme heat over there really well.
There is 7 bag sizes ranging from 18" x 36" to 30" High x 72" Wide x 12" base.
If you want a quality bag they are the way to go.

Which one, there are 3 linked in the post ?
The reliable bags look the goods. Leigh

lee8sec
06-10-2013, 07:08 PM
http://www.southerntackle.com.au/joomla/

hooknpull
06-10-2013, 07:16 PM
Sorry guys the reliable one is what I want. I'm just after preferred sizes. Lee I only saw the downrigger shop one..