View Full Version : Townsville Predators Tournament - who's entering
15-01-2009, 08:39 PM
I know its a bit far out at this stage, but I made myself a promise last year that I would participate in the 2009 Predators Tournament.
Thos that know me, know I don't have a sizeable boat to get out wider, but would still like to havbe a go this year.
So if there's anyone that wants to enter, or thinking of entering, let me know if you need a deckie for the weekend and I'll be more than happy to join you.
I think from memory its usually around the mayday long weekend, so only 4-1/2 months away.
ronnien
15-01-2009, 08:55 PM
been thinking the same scott, even if it's to rough out wide there is other spots in close that gives up some big fish.
ron.
levinge
15-01-2009, 09:25 PM
Who said big boat, I am seriously thinking of giving it a good shake this year.
Let you know, one thing I do know is where the big sharks are, Ron you know where I am talking about!!!!!
Rod Fishing
16-01-2009, 06:53 AM
I to am thinkng of it. Tim and myself were talk about enterng last year but something came up at work. Now that he is gone I will be looking for 1 deckie to enter, if i do enter but i am thinking that it is looking good.
Cheer Rod....8-)
rhycebullimore
16-01-2009, 12:59 PM
yea i'll be there...don't need big boats... picked up a few grand last year from estury fish was an enjoyable weekend.
levinge
16-01-2009, 02:52 PM
Yeah, but the bigger boat allows for some deep water experiences, can relate to winning in the shallow, used to have a little tinnie and did quite well out of it, But eventually we grow up and our toys get bigger and more expensive (so my wife tells me)!!!
rhycebullimore
16-01-2009, 02:59 PM
yea i try to dedicate one day out wide i got some nice trout spots and i have been getting them bigger and bigger up around 7 - 8 kg common so ill give it a rest for a while till the comp now...hopefully they wil fall on the right tides and the wind will be down which ever weekend it is..hopefully not drag out for 3 weeks.
levinge
16-01-2009, 04:07 PM
That'll be a first, can't remember the last predators that was actually run on the right weekend!!!
You think that they would bring it forward a couple of months when we actually do have good weather
matmuller85
16-01-2009, 05:27 PM
Im bloody well in one in all in i reckon
ronnien
16-01-2009, 05:55 PM
do they have a section for FINGERMARK!!! lol. & the grunter.... well.
ron.
Rod Fishing
16-01-2009, 06:05 PM
They do for grunter Ronnie.
16-01-2009, 08:47 PM
they have grunter, winning grunter last year was only 2.75kg. With the run we've had of late ron, we're a shoe in. Can't see a fingermark category though. There's a few other categories there from last year that we could do quite well in i reckon.
Waht sort of boundaries does the comp have?
ronnien
16-01-2009, 09:19 PM
thats a good question for rhyce, but if you can fish out the reef i am guessing that it would be over a fair distance.
rod, yeah i know about the grunter section, do you know how much to enter?
ron.
16-01-2009, 09:23 PM
I think it was 50 bucks p/p entry last year, don't know if you have to pay more to register a boat for the comp though.
rhycebullimore
17-01-2009, 08:43 AM
na, 50 p/p is correct if you entering a team on a boat you just have to fill out the paperwork for it...i picked up runner up grunter last year, there was just not too much around last year as in super sized fish...bounderies im not too sure on it is a far sort of distance tho, i mean any reefs area so long as you back for the weigh in.
ferrett
17-01-2009, 03:48 PM
yeah think ur right rhyce last year was just pretty much anywhere u could go in the time allocated but someone from the team must be at the briefing fri night before the comp, weigh in about 3 to 5 on that sunday/monday cant member which day. I should be entering again this year and hope to do better this year then last year. Whether it is in my rig or not not to sure yet ( hopefully sold by then and in process of building my new toy).
Rod Fishing
17-01-2009, 04:11 PM
Ferrett,
What are you selling and what are you buying?
Mate are you coming to the meet & greet on the Aussie day long weekend, at Mission Beach.
Cheers Rod....8-)
levinge
17-01-2009, 06:10 PM
Hey Rod, last I heard from Ferret is he was eyeing off a Formosa, if he does buy one, look out we'll never see him again on the forums, he'll be tooooo busy fishing.
Good question, what doing for Aust Day weekend there Ferret?????
Rod Fishing
20-01-2009, 06:27 PM
Maybe we could put in a cople of teams and represent Ausfish. Maybe Steve could come to the party and sponsor a couple of teams. In the way of long sleeve fishing shirts, caps etc.
Cheers Rod....8-)
Rod Fishing
22-01-2009, 12:01 AM
What does every one else think SHould Ausfish sponsor a couple of teams in the Predators Tourny this year?
Maybe we should start a poll.
ronnien
22-01-2009, 10:10 AM
i'll second that rod, thats a good idea!
just think ausfish sponsor the winning team at the t'ville predator's torno.
ron.
Rod Fishing
22-01-2009, 10:33 AM
How much good publicity would it be for Ausfish. The caliber of fisho's up here that are members we would probably take out quite a few of the catorgries.
Cheers Rod....8-)
22-01-2009, 10:40 AM
Yeah would be a good idea, at almost no cost to Ausfish, for the potential to reach hundreds if not thousands of fisho's and interested parties. Could even bring in more advertising dollars for Steve.
ferrett
24-01-2009, 02:29 PM
hey guys sorry just replying to your msgs to busy working after our big blow and king tide. Yes i am still looking at a formosa 580 centre cab, got a couple others lined up but formosa still lookin number 1 choice for me. I know i wont have it by the predators but i can still enter in my 475 quinnie anyway she goes alrigh. Good luck with your missin beach trip.
matmuller85
29-01-2009, 05:42 PM
Brett if its unlimited area you should be thinking what i am thinking
Rod Fishing
29-01-2009, 07:46 PM
Matt I'm thinking what your thinking.
matmuller85
30-01-2009, 07:19 AM
I just think we should go get some bigger gear and turn those puppies
levinge
30-01-2009, 07:33 AM
I was using bigger gear 24kg heavy duty rod and big Okuma Sa80 Reel with 80lb braid.
But I'm thinking Penn international with big game braid and really heavy duty leader or a twisted leader
Yes that spot would clean up!!!!
30-01-2009, 09:41 AM
or, somthing I'm eyeing off, a stella 10000, 37kg bluerose and 80lb, if that doesn't turn them, nothing will. Mind you I just need about 1600 to go buy it.
levinge
30-01-2009, 11:30 AM
I'll go a little less than that, pair up a Tyrnos and a Wilson Live Fibre Rod, add a standup system and I could probably play'em and take my time.
rhycebullimore
30-01-2009, 04:27 PM
got the gear...still can't stop stuff...Saltiga jigging gear spin dn ovehead with hiramasa saltiga rods...24kg easily...very easy to use light and strong...personally i think they are better than the stellas but that only my opinion...only got like 80lb stuff up year before (GT) still got pipped at post...as for reds trout i get majority up..except when we are wreck fishing with sharp meaterial below.
levinge
30-01-2009, 05:25 PM
I'm hearing ya Rhyce, we didn't get our Cobia in the wreck and still couldn't stop them pulling the hooks right out of our rigs. I guess that's the weak spot, so now its time to sus out some different rigging methods and see what holds and what doesn't!!!!
Still fun experimenting!!!
Rod Fishing
30-01-2009, 08:35 PM
You dont get many hooks pulled when you crimp.
levinge
30-01-2009, 09:24 PM
yeah, but I would always be worried that I hadn'g done them tight enough!!!
26-02-2009, 01:06 PM
time to revive this thread.
I read the other day that the Predators Tournament will be held over 2, 3, 4th May (Saturday, Sunday, Monday). Hopefully the weather holds out for that weekend.
ozbee
26-02-2009, 03:53 PM
scott we are going in the competition wouldn't mind a Townsville person in as we will come from the shelf and broadhurst then onto Townsville if your interested . we have been cracking 15 kg reds lately which should put us in the gun hole.as well as the grunter hole.
levinge
26-02-2009, 04:04 PM
If I've got time off, I'll be lining up this year, have a feeling I will be doing more skippering and the missus will let loose. Who knows!!!
26-02-2009, 05:06 PM
Graham, you can count on me to be there, I'd love to get onto some big reds, biggest I've ever caught was about 8kg
Dunkxx
26-02-2009, 07:21 PM
Do you have to have a boat to enter?
Dunks
26-02-2009, 08:14 PM
Dunks,
No you don't have to have a boat as some estuary species are included like grunter, barra, flathead plus a couple of others. But obviously the bigger prize money comes with the more sought after fish like your billies.
If you know someone with a boat suitable to go to the reef etc with, you have to register the boat with the comp, but it doesn't cost any extra, well at least it didn't last year. You can get more people to register and then register yourselves as a team too if you decide to take a boat out, this will also help keep running costs down for individuals. I'm not sure if they allow hire boats, but if you have a licence, mudpickers boat hire as a couple of 6m longboats they hire out, not sure if there's any limits on how far you can travel from shore though.
Pedrokkas
26-02-2009, 09:50 PM
If anybody has a spot for a deckie to get in the competition Im very keen. I actually havent got a fish since last time with Scott and Graham. Imagine that.
Pedro
Dunkxx
27-02-2009, 07:16 AM
Thanks Scotty,
I've never entered a tournamnet befor so this will be my first.
Cheers mate
Dunks
To all: If anyone else land based is entering and wants a sidekick pm me
ozbee
01-03-2009, 11:20 AM
pedro get in touch with scott weather looking good for coming weekend any one else
http://i279.photobucket.com/albums/kk123/ozbee_photos/SANY0305.jpg
levinge
01-03-2009, 05:27 PM
go on rub it in, working next sat and sun, have fun ya bastards - catch a heap and good luck if you wet a line
Pedrokkas
02-03-2009, 12:47 PM
pedro get in touch with scott weather looking good for coming weekend any one else
Ill get in touch with him.
Pedro
ferrett
03-03-2009, 08:23 PM
hey guys just goin back a bit what fish are u talkn bout chasn that u can stop? Gt's or cobia? Prettty sure Jay Wilson come first and second in the gt class with 31kg and about 29kg, good luck pulling them up unless u got a deck winch and pretty sure jan gilbert won the cobia class with 111kg by memory. I hope my tinny and house are gone by then because i am eyeing of a 650 cruisecraft outsider at the moment....mmmmmm. Sorry brett the formosa just wont be big enough now haha
levinge
03-03-2009, 08:59 PM
personal choice my friend, at least you'll be on the water
ferrett
05-03-2009, 04:49 PM
yeah just look atm im sure itl go b4 i get my hands on it, oh well few back up boats i have checked out. Haha just checked my last post, i doubt u would all believe that someone caught a 111kg cobia? ha make that 11kg sorry my bad typo
levinge
05-03-2009, 10:35 PM
Yeah but they do get that big, thats what is so scary....
Rod Fishing
06-03-2009, 02:39 AM
my biggest was 32.5kg
blueline
07-03-2009, 05:39 PM
congratulations on the new member of the family rod.
jamie
Nanny King NQ
08-03-2009, 09:54 PM
I might be entering myself and a deckie into this great event that so many anglers come too from far and wide.
rhycebullimore
23-04-2009, 03:46 PM
getting closer, decided on three catigories this year, just found a huge bream hole (on lures). Kilo plus fish - none have been weighed in larger than a kilo i know of yet. jacks barra and flattie if i got time, what you guys doing ??? or chasing ?
levinge
23-04-2009, 10:13 PM
Was entering, but just found out that I am working that weekend, so alas another year without the Predator!!!
Good Luck to all those who are going to fish. I can only hope it gets postponed for a week and then who knows....
24-04-2009, 08:13 PM
thinking of maybe 4 or 5 categories this year, it'll be nannies, emperor, trout, spanno, cobe and grunter.
Regstration must be done in person on Friday 1st May from 4.30pm-6pm at the new Townsville Marine site (on Enterprise Road off Ingham Road), nice and close and on my way home from work for me.
ozbee
25-04-2009, 11:05 AM
there bring forms down to the Burdekin scott so all go there. motor should be going on monday tuesday so at present all go.
26-04-2009, 04:47 PM
Sounds good Graham, so this weekend will be the Maiden voyage for the new donk.
BTW, I'll have to nominate that I'll be entering a team, I'm guessing team name will be 'Sweet Success'. I'll give you a call sometime during the week, can you send me a pm with your phone number?
levinge
28-04-2009, 07:09 AM
Wethers not looking too good for the weekend, might get my wish if the comp is postponed!!!!
28-04-2009, 09:57 AM
yeah, was just looking at that as well, seabreeze has it up around 20-25knts for the weekend.
levinge
28-04-2009, 11:21 AM
I reckon give them about 2 days and they'll be rescheduling the comp or they're going to lose alot of entries from the smaller boats.
rhycebullimore
28-04-2009, 04:32 PM
they may change specis as they want to try and keep it on the long weekend
rhycebullimore
28-04-2009, 04:33 PM
they may change species as they want to keep it on the long weekend
levinge
28-04-2009, 05:49 PM
There problem with that lies in the fact that, whichever way they go to try and hold it to the long weekend, they will lose either the coast/creek guys or the offshore guys. In the past they have reschedule it to weekends after. So, I think they will do the same or they will lose out on entry fees big time.
Feel sorry for them, its not an easy decision to have to make, someone always ends up getting the short end.. Its a really big gamble anyway, not know what mother nature is going to throw at us..
ozbee
29-04-2009, 08:05 AM
yeah its hard Easter a flop yet brilliant weather a few days later now this for the last week you could go out in a canoe up come the competition than bad. you just cant beat it definitely bosses weather.
30-04-2009, 10:07 AM
If they had any brains they's postpone it, especially from a safety perspective, not just through a loss of nominations.
20knts plus is way too rough for the majority of boats in Tsv, leaving only the big rich bloke game boats that will be perhaps safe enough to venture out. given the prizes, both goods and cash, that is available, its enough motivation for some people to head out in some hellish conditions, rememeber, a person is smart, but people are stupid.
Either way, they will lose some entrants, but they will lose more if they want to persevere with this weekend than if they postponed it. If they don't postpone, I highly doubt that I'll end up entering.
30-04-2009, 01:09 PM
I just spoke to the bloke on the info sheet. They are seriously considering postponing it this weekend due to weather, but they are still undecided as to whether they will still hold noms tomorrow arvo if this is the case. In all likely hood, it will be next weekend.
He also said, that if it doesn't happen this weekend, next weekend will be it, if it blows up again, it will still be happening, though he has been in close contact with the bom, and they seems to think this high that is causing all the wind will be gone by next weekend, giving us good weather.
Anouncements will be made on Sea FM (now Zinc Fm) on 100.7 regarding the competitions and sign on. Graham, when i find out for sure, I'll give you a ring so you don't drive up here for nothing. I should know by about lunchtime.
levinge
30-04-2009, 01:41 PM
Scott, can you post it up on here, I'll be working on my spa and won't have the radio on....
Yeah, Yeah, when the weather cools, it'll be beers in the heated spa and a bbq at my place...
30-04-2009, 05:55 PM
Well its officially been postponed until next weekend. I heard it on the radio this arv, on the way home from work
Registration will occur NEXT friday the 8th May. Also, the comp will be shortened so that weigh in will be on the Sunday.
The tournament will NOT be postponed again, next weekend is it, rain, hail, shine or cyclone. Townsville Game Fishing club urges everyone to use their head and consider their own and others safety if it blows up.
ronnien
30-04-2009, 06:11 PM
scott,ozbee,
will i see you's down groper this weekend? going to be good tides for the weekend in a creek!!
brett,
let out a big whistle mate (i should hear it) when that bbq on.
ron.
levinge
30-04-2009, 08:40 PM
Ron, got a few things to finish off, but won't be too long away.
05-05-2009, 03:59 PM
this weekend is looking just as bad, we really need the high in the bight to f'off to make for some calmer conditions, dunno what happened with the Bom's theory that it would head east out to sea and things would calm down, now it looks like its going to sit there and get stronger throughout the week. It might be another year I don't enter at this rate.
Remember folks, this weekend is it, it will not be postponed again for reasons unknown. If you do end up entering, use your head and stay in the creeks.
levinge
06-05-2009, 07:25 AM
My boats staying in the yard, no chances
BTW when has the BOM ever been right????
Nanny King NQ
06-05-2009, 05:02 PM
My boats staying in the yard, no chances
BTW when has the BOM ever been right????
Never thst i know of
blueline
06-05-2009, 09:32 PM
Scott, can you post it up on here, I'll be working on my spa and won't have the radio on....
Yeah, Yeah, when the weather cools, it'll be beers in the heated spa and a bbq at my place...count me in brett, i'll bring my mankini ;D
levinge
06-05-2009, 11:19 PM
AAARRRGGGGHHHHH!!!! My eyes!!!! That's one picture I don't need in my head.
Let you all know when its planned, we have plenty of room for those not in a state to drive home....
08-05-2009, 02:22 PM
I won't be entering the predators this weekend, too rough, but the last few days has been really still of a morning, so I might put the boat in and sneak out amognst the channel markers for an early morning session on the macks before the wind gets up, at least if its too rough I can quickly turn around and shoot back inside.
09-05-2009, 07:39 PM
Did anyone here end up entering?? If so, how'd it all go? Was there a species change? and finally do we have any prize winners among us this year?
levinge
09-05-2009, 10:17 PM
Nope, didn't bother with it this time..
10-05-2009, 06:45 PM
I went down to Palleranda today, just for a bit of a stuff around for something to do, kind of annoyed, water was pretty flat around the island, should've put the boat in!
ozbee
10-05-2009, 07:53 PM
bit hard to fish scott half your gear is still here...................... can you stop blowing every time you turn up it becomes a strong wind warning. went down to the creek hut so peeved with the wind didnt take the boat everybody were getting a bucket of prawns off jetty .. yeah guess where cast net is
11-05-2009, 10:26 AM
me and my brother got a shitload of gar too, not quite big enough for trailing, but they'l make good reef baits, got literally hundreds of them. Queenies and trevs were smashing them up, but wouldn't take one live on a hook. Also ended up with a big buck muddy caught on line too, so didn't come home empty handed.
rhycebullimore
11-05-2009, 05:50 PM
yea not bad, got largest whiting and runner up grunter, 3rd jack, missed runner up whiting by 2 grams, landed 6 barra all a cm under and thats about it.
levinge
11-05-2009, 10:39 PM
Well done mate, good effort