View Full Version : Tackle Price Hikes
plastic_paul
09-01-2009, 06:24 PM
Without mentioning any tackle shop names there has been considerable price hikes recently, shimano 3500 baitrunners were 130 now over 200 in some stores. and daiwa rods and reels have also gone up between 50-100, does anyone know why this is? i know there hasn't been many price increases before but this is a huge one. i cant justify spending an extra hundred on a reel when before i culd have got 2 models up for that price, seems crazy...
can any one shed some light on this as the products have not changed, just the price.
09-01-2009, 06:27 PM
The value of our dollar has dropped around 1/3rd from what it was last march. It goes nowhere now.
plastic_paul
09-01-2009, 06:38 PM
but its still at 72c to the u.s. so only dropped around 15%, 15% of a 200 dollar reel isnt 100 dollars. Or am i reading this wrong?
bayfisher
09-01-2009, 06:56 PM
Your not wrong i was flicking through the latest mo catalog and the price jumps seem pretty big all across the board, it almost makes buying in the USA and Japan viable again even with the low dollar :-/.
09-01-2009, 06:58 PM
Your not wrong i was flicking through the latest mo catalog and the price jumps seem pretty big all across the board, it almost make buying in the USA and Japan viable again even with the low dollar :-/.
Yeah this is true but a shame, a situation no-one in OZ can win.
but its still at 72c to the u.s. so only dropped around 15%, 15% of a 200 dollar reel isnt 100 dollars. Or am i reading this wrong?
Yep .... Reading it wrong ( currently around a 37% fall= in the ozzie $ )
Champilly
09-01-2009, 07:09 PM
Paul:
I think we covered this the other day. The dollar has has huge ramifications on the buying power of distributors in Australia.
Tackle is not the only industry. Wait until after the post Xmas sales - electronics are going through the roof. Not limited to just importers. Just opened my rates notice. Up 12% and no Ausssie dollar to factor in.
All these things go in cycles. Sometimes you will pay high - Sometimes it wil go down.
Lets talk about the tackle not the prices or who got what for how much etc...
dog tooth
09-01-2009, 07:09 PM
get in while you can
ive just orderd a new jigwrex
bassfan
09-01-2009, 08:00 PM
Call me a cynic, but I reckon a lot of the tackle stores are using the devalued $AUD as an excuse to rip us off again. Yep, if our dollar creeps up a bit more it's time to peruse the o/s websites again.
BF
Champilly
09-01-2009, 08:13 PM
BF
Your a cynic - Work in an industry that depends on the Aussie Dollar on a daily basis - it is hard.
When you need a pay rise and your employer has to raise costs to meet this do you complain????
plastic_paul
09-01-2009, 10:41 PM
but yet when the aussie dollar was at an all time high did prices come down? who's the cynic? and if the dollar was an issue then why all of a sudden when the dollar has bounced back is there a price increase? it seems that there is a few people on here with sales intrests......
and if there is any mods on here, there was a few "tackle suppliers" mentioned in posts that should be deleted due to the forum rules, as i was informed.
2 way street right?
sleepygreg
10-01-2009, 01:56 AM
When I owned a tackle shop in 1994 - 3500 btr's were selling for $149 (discounted price....RRP was $195) and I was 'making' $10 on each reel. take into account the rent i had to pay on the shop, the wages for the staff, My own wages, the amount of money i had to outlay to have the stock on the shelf in the first place, the power/phone/advertising costs to make people aware of my business....there wasnt a lot left over. NO ONE in the tackle industry is 'ripping people off', except maybe some shonky on line operators that seem to dissappear after they have sold their latest shipment.
If your wages are .....for example... $20 an hour......what would you say if your employer said to you.......how bout i give you $10 an hour?
10-01-2009, 07:14 AM
USA - Even with a low aussie dollar there are bargains to be had.
Just about everything bar my rods I get from there.
When I owned a tackle shop in 1994 - 3500 btr's were selling for $149 (discounted price....RRP was $195) and I was 'making' $10 on each reel. take into account the rent i had to pay on the shop, the wages for the staff, My own wages, the amount of money i had to outlay to have the stock on the shelf in the first place, the power/phone/advertising costs to make people aware of my business....there wasnt a lot left over. NO ONE in the tackle industry is 'ripping people off', except maybe some shonky on line operators that seem to dissappear after they have sold their latest shipment.
If your wages are .....for example... $20 an hour......what would you say if your employer said to you.......how bout i give you $10 an hour?
Unfortuately too often the tackle store are the target of these types of threads ....... when really the focus should be on the importer/ distributor.
No doubt when the $ went north ........ they made a killing & prices did not fall - As soon as the $ went South .... prices shot up!
diabolical
10-01-2009, 07:38 AM
Has a familiar ring to it.................Petrol prices.
Wahoo
10-01-2009, 07:38 AM
i was told about this rise in November last year, so they must know where the $ is going to sit 2 months in advance!!!!!!!!!!!!!! dont think so, all comes down to us Australians is getting Screwed yet again, cant wait for the $ to get a little higher
FOR THE RECORD ..... A US COMPARISON ........ people mention about increases in Asian manufacturing costs
I just did a quick comparison of certain items 2009 prices compared with the 2008 catlelogue at Basspro
The increases vary from 0% to 3% (Shimano & Daiwa reels) ..... with the biggest jump 5% (Loomis).
Here it is around 12-20% (Shimano & Daiwa reels) & up to 27% Loomis rods
so clearly the fall in the $ as been used ....... rather than increased manufacturing costs.
deepfried
10-01-2009, 09:08 AM
If anyone has been ripped off it would be the yanks. The appreciation in the US $ has given them a buying advantage but it has not resulted by a price drop for them. The yank middle men would be making a killing over there. Our prices reflect our aussie $ fall as has been said by others.
ian.young
10-01-2009, 04:23 PM
Most of those tackle middlemen in the US aren't getting any buying advantage (unless they are buying Aussie products)...the US$ may be up against the A$, but it has tanked against the yen. Not as badly as the A$, but still near record lows. Yen is the only currency that is up against nearly everything in the past six months.
Cheers Ian
plastic_paul
10-01-2009, 06:43 PM
cheers ian, that one does make some sort of sense, i like the comparison of price rises on bass pro. Maybe we should get some aus made reels happening, at least we have some home grown rods ( but the blanks are probably imported anyway right?)
deepfried
10-01-2009, 09:18 PM
Most of those tackle middlemen in the US aren't getting any buying advantage (unless they are buying Aussie products)...the US$ may be up against the A$, but it has tanked against the yen. Not as badly as the A$, but still near record lows. Yen is the only currency that is up against nearly everything in the past six months.
Hey Ian if the US$ has tanked against the yen why have US tackle prices been fairly stable. I looked up some currency charts ( Dec 07 - Dec 08 ) and its like you said. Do the japanese tackle companies sell in US or JPY. The US has fallen approx 20% against the yen and the aussie has fallen approx 37% against the yen. Wait up i just read nags post again and i think it is starting to make sense. Jap tackle over here has gone about the difference between the aussie $ loss to the yen (37%) minus the US loss to the yen (20%). About 17%. GLoomis ( is it a Yank company ) has gone up by about the same as the aussie has fallen against the US, so does GLoomis sell in US$ and the Japanese tackle companies sell in Yen.
Does any of this make sense ?. The reason i ask is i thought international trade was done in US$.
ian.young
10-01-2009, 09:35 PM
Paul: True, Aussie-made / priced gear would be a sure bet if the A$ stayed low. For a while there (before prices caught up with the exchange rate), anything priced in A$ was a real bargain...at one stage, the new SW Stellas were far cheaper in Oz than anywhere in the world...at A$990, a 10000SW worked out at about US$600. Now is see on M-O Tackle the price is up to A$1200, which now works out at about US$845. Tragic, but this seems about right...the US rrp is about US$830.
Spare a thought for anyone forced to buy tackle in Japan...the price on a JDM 10000SW is 110,000 yen...which works out at A$1,730!!!! Amazing...it used to be the cheapest place in the world to buy tackle, now (for some items) it is the most expensive. So things could be worse!!!!
Deepfried: You're right, a lot of Japanese tackle hasn't been up-priced in the US...strangely, this makes the US the best place in the world to buy a lot of Japanese tackle at the moment. I don't know why....but if the yen keeps climbing against the US$, there is no doubt that Japanese products will get more expensive over there. I suppose that the effect just hasn't been as extreme as in Australia (yet). I can sympathise with the Aussie retailers...with exchange rates what they are, they'd be bankrupt next week if they stuck to their 2008 prices.
Right now .... the go would be to buy Japanese products from the States ....... A Daiwa Zillion that currently costs $499 here ... will cost A$530 (+ shipping) in Japan or less than A$400 (+ shipping) from the US .
So there are still some advantages
ian.young
10-01-2009, 10:05 PM
Nagg: By coincidence I just checked the rrp of a Daiwa zillion too...in Japan, 33,000 yen (A$520), Oz A$499, and in the US, US$249 (A$350). There's no question where the bargains are now. Maybe Ausfish could do a tackle-price-index to keep track of these fluctuations?
PS: Edit...It's only a matter of time before US retailers have to hike prices too to keep up with the yen, so if you want to buy something stateside, now's the time, I'd suggest
Nagg: By coincidence I just checked the rrp of a Daiwa zillion too...in Japan, 33,000 yen (A$520), Oz A$499, and in the US, US$249 (A$350). There's no question where the bargains are now. Maybe Ausfish could do a tackle-price-index to keep track of these fluctuations?
PS: Edit...It's only a matter of time before US retailers have to hike prices too to keep up with the yen, so if you want to buy something stateside, now's the time, I'd suggest
I think the Zillion has already gone up at places like Basspro ..... Around $270ish from memory
But yeh ...... The sweetness has gone out of buying from japan :( This time last year I landed a Zillion for A$270.
PS : Tackle Price Index 8-)
ian.young
10-01-2009, 10:32 PM
I hear you. I was in Tokyo for a weekend last January and picked up a Zillion for A$280. But I went back for a long holiday in November...spent a MONTH in Japan and did not buy a single piece of fishing gear... :(
Mate thats heartbreaking.........like a kid in a lolly shop and no money,
I've been checking a few site's over there for a JiG Master Power Spell,mid last year i could have got one for around $380 Aud ........Now.......anywhere between $450-$550.US.........I think i missed my chance.......
Yeh .... I'm spewin - At the time when the OZ was at $0.96 I was the poorest ...... with a bucket load of bills & saving for 4.5 weeks of fishing during Sept & Nov ...... just never had any spare cash :'(
Jungle Jim
12-01-2009, 09:48 AM
Paul:
I think we covered this the other day. ...
serious case of déjà -vu.....
i remember typing some B/S about this exact topic - but for the life of me i can't find it. I went on about how i thought the distributors and tackle shops had IMO taken quite a long time to increase the prices since the downturn of the dollar.
I remember Nagg pointed out the variance in the dollar then someone who works in foreign currency corrected him on the details....
Has this thread been amended
or is this a different one to the one that was going last week
or heaven forbid im having a seniors moment....
can anyone help clear this up for me...
JIm
plastic_paul
12-01-2009, 08:36 PM
i did originally post a thread like this one evening and checked it in the morning but the mods deleted it for mentioning particular stores so i didnt see any replies, maybe it was that one?
moater
12-01-2009, 09:45 PM
Yeah the currencies have changed which has to have some effect but what about the good old-fashioned supply and demand???
Surely there must be an enormous drop in the amount of gear being sold...although from what I can see we anglers would still be inclined to buy a glitzy trinket over feeding our kids!!::)
12-01-2009, 11:07 PM
I seem to remember somone saying this was comming.
That said... accsoss the board we get the rough end of the pineaple on prices of imported stuff in this country... always have always will. it is to do with the transport and the size of our market.
consider our total buying power is less that one state in the US, problay less that one of the bigger cities, that means our importers don't have much leverage.
I know in pro audio electronics some of the importers were buying thru US trade wholesalers as the manufactures could not be bothered with orders so small.
one of the few things we do OK on is power tools.
plastic_paul
13-01-2009, 01:15 PM
yeah it sucks, but being such a multi-cultural society i wonder how long it will take before we start developing our own parts, reels, rods from scratch, i'm sure theres someone in aus with the know how and can do attitude.... maybe just a dream but if i could get the same quality of a twin power or sol or any quality reels that are aussie made, same price or not, i'd buy one...
i guess in the end some of the materials would probably have to be imported anyways... then the price goes up... damn, cant win
Jungle Jim
13-01-2009, 01:45 PM
for what it's worth (not much) here's my 2 cents worth from the other day -
The stock on the shelf could have been bought from the distributor who got it a a given rate months ago -since that time the rate has moved.
Retailers (the easiest to blame on this issue) can’t adjust prices frequently in accordance with market fluctuations.
So they have to price their stock at a point where it allows for a safety net of sorts. A few months ago we were all whinging that the dollar strengthened but the prices hadn’t come down locally.
True- in those time the margins would have been better then the dollar started to slide...it seems to have taken a very long time for the prices to be adjusted accordingly. Therefore what we see is the retailer and perhaps (some)distributors absorbing the variance as long as possible but eventually they have to move.
The alternative would be to have a market whereby the retailer adjust their price relative to how the currency is trading on the day.
EBAY is good like that......... Service stations........
I wouldn’t mind filling up the tackle box on cheap Tuesdays. :D
Personally whenever i buy or sell gear i work in Us dollars. This way i know what it will cost to acquire or dispose of.
DTHCoCo
13-01-2009, 02:33 PM
i can't believe the current prices i purhased my Daiwa Saltiga Z40 Late October 08 for $590 Spooled with braid and the current price on mo tackle just over $850. Nice increase lol, Similar time i also purchased a Stella 20K for $890 the current price on mo tack for the new model is just under $1500. I'm so happy i bought my gear early.
13-01-2009, 03:16 PM
yeah it sucks, but being such a multi-cultural society i wonder how long it will take before we start developing our own parts, reels, rods from scratch, i'm sure theres someone in aus with the know how and can do attitude.... maybe just a dream but if i could get the same quality of a twin power or sol or any quality reels that are aussie made, same price or not, i'd buy one...
i guess in the end some of the materials would probably have to be imported anyways... then the price goes up... damn, cant win
Don't hold your breath, it would be imposible to compete with a government subsidised bowl of rice a day labour force.
UNLESS
You buy an ALVEY.
I know the name of the bloke who is responsible for the family heritage (Bruce) and I can take you for a drive and point at the factory..... Buy an ALVEY and fish off the beach, you know its Australian and you know its right.
marshy
13-01-2009, 06:19 PM
I've just been caught out by the price rise myself.
I've had my eye on a Tierra 2500 fo a while now.
Before christmas they were $199.00 at a well know online store, now $299.00.
I thought maybe I should try B(F, I checked their website $219.00 so I go to my local store on the way home from work & the price is $249.00.
I asked the salesman what 's going on & he says "sorry mate, they've gone up today & were closing now so see you later".I've just checked their website and they are still $219.00 but I suppose that will be updated shortly.
Not happy but I guess the moral is " He who hesitates loses".
Marshy.
Mate ..... we cant even sustain an automotive industry ......... let alone a niche sporting market.
It would be nice though :)
Hey aside from the alvey ....... what was the last Australian made / designed reel ?
Was it the Seascape ?
Wahoo
13-01-2009, 07:22 PM
i can't believe the current prices i purhased my Daiwa Saltiga Z40 Late October 08 for $590 Spooled with braid and the current price on mo tackle just over $850. Nice increase lol, Similar time i also purchased a Stella 20K for $890 the current price on mo tack for the new model is just under $1500. I'm so happy i bought my gear early.
brought my Z40 mid 08 $740, and the stella 20000 is still $1199
ian.young
14-01-2009, 01:01 AM
An Australian made reel would be great...Oz looks like it used to have a thriving reel industry way back when....
http://www.reelwidow.com/reels1.htm
My favourite is the 1960 Hall...made from the wingflaps of a flying boat and weighing in at a mere 6.5 pounds.
http://www.reelwidow.com/reels10.htm
DTHCoCo
14-01-2009, 06:25 AM
not on mo tackle's site it it i checked 30 seconds ago it's selling for $1439
Stella 20000's in mid 08 were $930 and 10000's were $910, and the Z40 is in the Stella 6000 size, you are twisting the facts ;) .
If you want a heart attack check out the price of the new Saltigas:o ;D
http://www.fishhead.com.au/catalog/images/Reels/Daiwa/Spin/saltigaSExtreme.jpg (http://www.fishhead.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1825&osCsid=13bf7c5f4618204e172238e59454689f)
Daiwa Saltiga S-Extreme Z6500 (http://www.fishhead.com.au/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=1825&osCsid=13bf7c5f4618204e172238e59454689f)
AUD$1,499.00
Wahoo
15-01-2009, 06:47 PM
Stella 20000's in mid 08 were $930 and 10000's were $910, and the Z40 is in the Stella 6000 size, you are twisting the facts ;) .
uhhh!!!!!!!!!!!! dont understand :-/:-/:-/:-/ z40 and stella 6000, the 20000 were over 1k mid 08 up this neck of the woods, yet again we get bent over and shafted, then PPL say shop local......screw them
Sorry Wahoo, my mistake :hammer: , I was thinking of the Z4500 [spin] because you were using the Stella as a reference not a Torsa or Trinidad;D