View Full Version : Fun day at Mud Is 29.12.08
SummerTrance
29-12-2008, 08:42 PM
Made a late call to go for a fish today, and left from my new home ramp at Dohles Rocks bout 4:45am, and headed into the bay. Had planned to try around redcliffe then head towards Moreton to chase some spotties, but the bay was quiet calm so couldnt resist heading over to Mud Island.
The trip over was easy done at full throttle, and was well worth the trip as I landed 3 snaps at 57, 49 & 35 cm, and a 39cm estuary cod. Also got done by an unstoppable which I was unable turn b4 it busted the 12lb leader, and a few undersize. Bite period was between bout 7:30 - 8:30am. There was heaps of bait out there today, prob the most i've ever seen at Mud.
The bigger snap was caught on a new heavier plastics combo I got for christmas from the missus, which I was using as a deadstick rig. It's a Wilson LCS Palagic Spin with Daiwa Exceler 4000, which after a few good runs made easy work of the 57cm snap.
About 10am I headed off towards Moreton in search of some Palagic action. Found some birds working near the sandhills, and discovered a school of tuna, not sure exactly what type, but maybe small LT's or macs. Saw a few bust the surface completly. Didnt have much luck as I found it difficult getting in the right position then casting as I was out there solo. I've still got much to learn about these palagic fish.
After that I cruised up past Tangalooma b4 heading home. Pretty good weather most of the day, but started getting a bit sloppy on the trip back accross the bay. I've had a few trips for donut over the last few months, so I came home a happy man.
bayfisher
29-12-2008, 10:26 PM
Nice work, we haven't heard a lot about mud recently good to hear there are still a few fish about.
Cheers Chris
BAR UP
30-12-2008, 06:25 AM
Hey Marc good report. Good to see Mud still producing the goods. I went out from Bribie yesterday looking for some spottys. Met up with Matt (bluefin59) & both went out in search. Started half way up Bribie towards Caloundra then checked out all the beacons then over to Cowan off to Tangalooma then across the middle of the northern bay back to Bribie. Didn't see any birds working or any schools of fish anywhere. New boat runs great 98.5kms on 40.5lts. Dont know how to use the new side shot Humminbird yet but i will get there, Peter.
30-12-2008, 07:09 AM
Gidday Marc
I went out on Friday and hit the same area with 2 Newbies on board, my Nephew and his girl friend. Came home with 2 nice cod around the same size as yours, and a 37cm Snap for the pan, a 31cm Grassy..... until the Northerly wind kicked up and my Nephew started loosing interest, barfing over the side.
We took him over to St Helena to put him on solid ground for a while, and flicked around for some bream ( got one which was released) while waiting for some colour to return into his cheeks.
His girlfriend was extreemly dissappointed to be back at Manly marina by 10am. She had a ball and caught 12 fish in the short time we were out there. He never got better and looked like he was going to hurl again once inside the marina!!! Unbeleivable!! Poor buggar! Suffice to say my fishing itch has not been scratched and hope to get another trip out this week before getting back to work on 5th.
Xtreme
30-12-2008, 08:43 AM
Hi Marc,
Great effort at Mud, I have started fishing there recently seeing Peel will be off limits come March but so far no snapper>:( Just a few oversized EC that steal my SX48's...
Regarding your pelagic learning curve, try standing off the fish to establish any general direction they are feeding in. As a rule, they generally feed into any breeze so try getting well ahead of them and wait patiently. Many make the mistage of ploughing into the middle of the school which drives them straight to the bottom.
If you have motored (Idled) into position rather than on electric or drifted on the breeze, leave the engine running as well. I've experienced times where low level engine noise hasn't bothered them but switching it off has put them down...Maybe the sudden change in noise was the culp[rit.
Moonlighter
30-12-2008, 08:59 AM
Hi Marc,
Great effort at Mud, I have started fishing there recently seeing Peel will be off limits come March but so far no snapper>:( Just a few oversized EC that steal my SX48's...
Regarding your pelagic learning curve, try standing off the fish to establish any general direction they are feeding in. As a rule, they generally feed into any breeze so try getting well ahead of them and wait patiently. Many make the mistage of ploughing into the middle of the school which drives them straight to the bottom.
If you have motored (Idled) into position rather than on electric or drifted on the breeze, leave the engine running as well. I've experienced times where low level engine noise hasn't bothered them but switching it off has put them down...Maybe the sudden change in noise was the culp[rit.
Hi Steve
I don't understad what you mean about "Peel being off limits from March"???
The existing green zone around Peel remains totally unchanged in the new zoning plan that starts in March, maybe you only saw the draft plan released by EPA and that was changed in the final version back to what it is now.
Am I missing something?
ML
Leighton
30-12-2008, 09:08 AM
good to see a report from you Marc, nice feed for the family
Dead sticking with a grub Tail :huh: sneaky!
Xtreme
30-12-2008, 10:13 AM
Hi Steve
I don't understad what you mean about "Peel being off limits from March"???
The existing green zone around Peel remains totally unchanged in the new zoning plan that starts in March, maybe you only saw the draft plan released by EPA and that was changed in the final version back to what it is now.
Am I missing something?
ML
Thanks ML,
You are right.......I have just double checked and I was still working off the draft plans....Thanks for the tip.... Unfortunately, my double check still confirms St Helena will be off limits under the new plans.
Cheers, Steve
alleycat
30-12-2008, 10:23 AM
I fished mud twice in the week up to xmas, lots of bait on the eastern side as i was exploring there seeing as the northern side just hasnt held any fish lately, on both occassions i was using plastics and deckie was using bait drifting, best squire was a touch under 30cm and tally was about a dozen undersize squire from 2 trips, to be honest chasing squire in the bay is fast becoming a non event and not worth the effort.
For Steve
30-12-2008, 11:43 AM
G'day Marc
Nice report mate. That's some tasty tucker for the family. Nice new outfit too.
Brad
Danbar77
30-12-2008, 05:38 PM
Nice work buva
Paulio
31-12-2008, 10:13 AM
Hi there
Just out of intetrest, what size boat are you taking out frm Dohles ?
chief
31-12-2008, 11:08 AM
Nice effort. a good feed of fish there mate. Sounds like a very nice trip.Can't beat a solo trip on the bay.
SummerTrance
31-12-2008, 04:21 PM
Thanks for the replies fella's. Was nice to get a few, hadnt had a feed a fresh fish for a while.
Just out of intetrest, what size boat are you taking out frm Dohles ?
I've got a Stacer 475 Easyrider with 70hp.
to be honest chasing squire in the bay is fast becoming a non event and not worth the effort.
A/CAT, maybe you need to seek some advice from those that are catching Squire...
Take Care T
beefaman
02-01-2009, 12:58 PM
There are squire around. Been finding them in unusual spots, not the normal places.