View Full Version : Diawa SOL 3000 drag ???
spears
29-12-2008, 03:39 PM
Any body know the drag ratings for the Diawa SOL 3000..
Searched google and nothing.
Just bought one and it’s not as smooth as the twinpower 4000.Disapointed now:(
Jungle Jim
29-12-2008, 03:48 PM
hey mate daiwa.com (U.S site) say 15.4 lb so call it 7kg
i have one and from memory when i bought it the tackle shop man said 7kg too.
never tested mine so wouldn't know if the 15.4 lb is accurate or not.
hope this helps
JIM
spears
29-12-2008, 03:52 PM
Thanks jim..
Sold the twinpower already..not sure i did the smart thing this time
Jungle Jim
29-12-2008, 03:58 PM
Ahhh buyers remorse....
I was looking at twin powers before i bought sol’s.
In the end it was a flip of a coin. That said i love the sol’s for the money.
I have no idea how much a twin power is but for me the sol is perfect.
You’ve got the sol now so you may as well love it. Go through he spec sheet of both til you find something the sol excels in then tell yourself you made the right decision based on that.
If you can’t find something that the sol does better take comfort in knowing that chicks dig orange reels.:D
spears
29-12-2008, 04:39 PM
While searching google I did read that some buyers went for the SOL instead of a stella.
Main reasons being price,but they were quite convinced it gives the stella a run for the money.How true ???? not sure
Did see quite a few good reports here too @..
http://www.cabelas.com/prod-1/0036174120550a.shtml
So i guess they must be a alright reel
Main reason is for casting lures at mulloway only growing to about 80cm max in that particular area.
bayfisher
29-12-2008, 07:41 PM
Max is about 5kg i believe, My 3000 sol has served me well however I have had issues with the drag. It is suppose to be water proof but salt spray/water seems to work its way into the drag and its gets sticky and jerky so now after every couple of trips i disassemble the drag washers and wipe the water out of then to keep things running smooth. Just something to keep an eye on.
Cheers Chris
Rockfish
29-12-2008, 08:46 PM
HI
This is the first instance i've heard of a Sol drag being anything but great. Regardless if you would like to improve the smoothness and max drag of the reel contact Jack Erskine who makes Carbontex drag washers for a huge improvement in performance of the drag. Love the Sol's.
Hope this helps
Stu
slyman
29-12-2008, 09:31 PM
Mate I reckon you'd be fine with the 3000, I have the 2500 and I've managed a 1mt+ thready from the Brisbane river with it. Sol's are great reels, the only problem I've had with mine has been a noisy roller bearing.
spears
29-12-2008, 09:43 PM
Thank you for the info
I see what you mean slyman
Rockfish any idea of how much of an improvement Carbontex drag washers make
slyman
29-12-2008, 10:07 PM
I managed two golden trevs that day, both went just over the 80cm mark. Sol handled them great, despite me busting the anti-reverse lever off on the second fish as I lifted the rod from the holder. 20lb braid on the spool too.
bayfisher
29-12-2008, 10:14 PM
Mate I reckon you'd be fine with the 3000, I have the 2500 and I've managed a 1mt+ thready from the Brisbane river with it. Sol's are great reels, the only problem I've had with mine has been a noisy roller bearing.
That's the other thing i forgot to mention, mine has also become noisy, you really have to keep the oil up to them or they quickly to go noisy. Don't get me wrong my SOL 3000 has served me well and has caught plenty of great fish but it does suffer from a few little issues ( I think it a Daiwa thing ;D).
Cheers Chris
ian.young
29-12-2008, 10:44 PM
Gday Spears,
I've got a freams kix 3000 which I believe has the same drag assembly as the sol. Max drag is listed as 7kg. So far it's been very smooth, and has handled some pretty hefty longtails without problems. The gears have, however developed a slight "buzz", but it doesn't worry me. I'm sure your sol will serve you well.
Cheers Ian
spears
29-12-2008, 10:49 PM
Here is some footage of a 1m snapper caught using a Shimano Symetre 4000 on 20LB braid.
So i guess the sol should handle it better..?? i think
http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=QAta6OJ8gsA&feature=channel_page
ian.young
29-12-2008, 11:08 PM
Great fish. But frankly that reel sounds a little bit sick.
30-12-2008, 12:43 AM
I have th 2500 Sol and while i agree that it is a little noisier now than when new the drag in it is dry and very smooth. I was quoted 7kg and had it worked very hard on a huge ray that I chased over 500m across the inside of fraser..... i thought my rod was about to snap for long periods. I would like to get rid of that noise though.
Jungle Jim
30-12-2008, 08:22 AM
Funny to hear about a few people having noise issues.
Both mine (2000 and 3000) were going absolutely great with only minor maintenance and oiling.
Recently i was a little generous with the oil before trip. For the first time (in 12 months i’ve had it) i pulled the line roller assembly out and oiled that little bearing in both reels. Oiled up all the rest in hindsight probably a little too much oil.
I’m not sure what i was thinking maybe i was using the "beer philosophy". .. a little bit of beer is good so twice as much must be great
The noise it made the next day was hideous. Used it for 4 hours came home cursing my enthusiasm with the oiler wiped them down then noticed all the noises in both reels were gone.
Im not sure exactly what caused it or what cured it but i will be more careful in future.
JIM