View Full Version : Barumba

woolybugger
21-12-2008, 10:02 AM

Went up to BArumba the other day. The weather was fantastic, with no wind and approx 30oC Surface Water Temp.

Ventured up the Kingham Arm for a change to try new grounds, I started approx 200mtrs up and slowly ventured up the creek, casting flies at likely ambush places to target the ellusive Saratoga.

The water was still alittle dirty from the recent rains. Saw plenty of Togas and they were quite aggresive, hitting flies and lures presented to them. All up I caught 3 Togas (52, 56 & 60cm) 2 Yellas (4& 51cm) and 2 Bass (28 & 34cm) most caught on fly which was good fun.

Saw heaps of Togas and lost a few more aswell. The unusual thing was that all fish seen, lost and caught were around the 50-60cm mark. After 5 years on this lake I have never seen or caught small Tgas, all fish seen and caught have been over the 80cm mark? But this trip all under the 60cm mark?
A theory I had which might be a bit far fetched or true, is that in recent trips they have been paired up to mate, so maybe now the younglings have hatched and the bull males take on the mother role. As they are territorial and the large ale are loking after the young ones, the smaller Togas in the area dont feel threatened and take up residency of the prime food areas, hence only seeing the smaller ones????? Whats your food for thought?

The good thing of the day was, no broken rods this time!

All in all, a great day on the water, met up with other fellow fishers and had a good chat, nice meeting you fellas.

Tropicaltrout
21-12-2008, 12:51 PM
Yeah thats it mate good stuff love those togas, when John and I used to do recos for his guiding we used to go target the small ones on little red tag trout flies they were great fun only 15cm long got for a tank i reckon, and the little ones school up in packs of 10 or so the idea of your s sound s pretty right mate but i don't know...

There are some good fish in there though... top stuff

zoo1991
21-12-2008, 02:59 PM
great sesh..

2 yella's on fly? is that wierd for them to take a fly?

woolybugger
23-12-2008, 07:38 PM
Red Tags hey, wouldn't have thought. I have a bucket load of those when I used to tie them for trout down south. Did you use light line so the presentation was more realistic? if so, would of been hard yakka with there boney and rough mouths.

Yellas on fly! I have only caught one other on fly in Lake McDonald. THey are great funon fly, they fight very hard. You can catch anything on fly.

eotbmg
23-12-2008, 08:12 PM
i like your theory!