sam russell
07-12-2008, 07:39 PM
Hi Guys,
Im looking to buy a 6-8 foot rod that can handle sambos and the like
nothing to expensive
Does anyone have any suggestions
07-12-2008, 08:04 PM
I hope your not meaning the Sambo that is a character in a British TV series called "Love thy Neighbour" :-/
07-12-2008, 08:39 PM
There is an idea for a specilist rod.........a "6 to 10Kg Eddie Booth Special".... Casts dispersions on everything and goes off half cocked.
It might be helpfull to say what specific sort of "sambo" and in what situation.
Australian salmon, in the surf?
Threadfin salmon from a boat?
Salmon in mountan streams on fly?
sleepygreg
07-12-2008, 11:49 PM
or samson fish from the close reefs maybe?
08-12-2008, 05:57 AM
G'day Sam,
I expect you're taking about a rod suitable for an overhead reel...if so have you checked out the range of Penn Torque rods? They are a two piece high modulous graphite job, the butt section detaches. You can get them in a 100, 200, 300 etc.
They are a 6'6" rod desgned to be matched to a trq reel. I have a 100 rod matched to a trq 300 reel that I use for jigging knife jigs, it light and very nice to use. They do come in at around $200ish
If you're looking for something a little more budget conscious, check out the Penn sport range, they are a tough rod that will do the job nicely, in both overhead and spin set up.
rhys
tryhard
08-12-2008, 07:02 AM
LIVE FIBRE these rods are 20% off at BCF at the moment. The M10 10 to 24 kg rod is an awesome rod and can really take some punishment. I use this rod with a TLD 25 to stop yellow tail kings in 18 meters of water. It is amazing how much pressure you can put on a fish with this range of rods.Remember the old adage of you get what you pay for.
sam russell
08-12-2008, 05:25 PM
Thanks for the advice guys,
To answer some of your questions im intending to use the rod on a penn spinfisher 850 with 50 pound braid.And to claryify the type of fish i meant samson fish (sorry)
Ill probably be using it for jigging and of jetties for samsons and yellowtail kings(if i can stop em) .
It might also occasionally have to be used of rockwalls for mulloway.
sleepygreg
09-12-2008, 12:57 AM
Have a look at the Shimano T-Curves.....usually come in at around $239. The 50 pound braid is the killer. look at the 15 -24kg spin rod. might not balance quite right with the spinfisher, but should handle the stress of the braid.
09-12-2008, 04:47 AM
G'day Sam,
You're mixing a couple of disciplines there mate, to use a rod from a boat to jig knife jigs, you really need a shorter stroker type of set up so it doesn't wear you out in a couple of drops. Penn do a 6'6" Jig Pro rod that matches the big spinfisher, but you wouldn't want to use it off a rock wall - too short to be effective in my opinion.
Penn have a high modulous rod badged under the "Slammer" lable that could maybe do the job, its around the 7', still not long enough for a serious rock wall outfit, but something like that could be worth a look, at around $100ish its good value. If you can find a Pen Sport in a 15-24kg blank, that would also be an option, but i still think you're talking about two rods, a shorter one for jiggin, a longer one for the Rock wall - I wouldn't want to use an 8 footer for jigging, too cumbersome in my thinking.
09-12-2008, 07:42 AM
I have a Penn Jig Pro in the 6' ,length. It is matched to a 8500ss Spinfisher and 24kg Braid. Its a well balanced good value boat outfit. I agree with Rhys in that a rod that works landbased is not going to be so good in the boat especially if using knife jigs etc
Wilson have a new Live fibre 50-80 lbs spin stick designed for big impoundment Barra in the sticks ....... It's a nice bit of kit pulls Reds pretty good as well and only costs about $200-$250. The Penn slammer (950) is a good bit of cheap kit as well.
BigE
sam russell
09-12-2008, 04:41 PM
Thanks for the suggestions i probably will hardly evr be usin it of rockwalls so the length shouldn,t be to much of a problem. I just like a bit of extra length thats all.
sam russell
09-12-2008, 05:27 PM
I went to BCF today and am having a look at the ugly stik bluewater 15-24kg 7ft spin rod. Has any one ever had any experiences with this rod range?
09-12-2008, 06:42 PM
Sam, if you are going to be mostly jigging from a boat, go shorter, the longer rods are really cumbersome when you're ripping a knife jig and with the extra length, you get more rod bend and less rip, you'll get sick of it in that application quick smart
rhys
sam russell
09-12-2008, 09:27 PM
Thanks for the advice Rhys,I was just thinking that i might be using this rod to cast big metal lures at schools of tuna and even drop an unwaited mulie out the back of the boat , Do you reckon seven foot would be an alright compromise for the jigging side of things.Hav you heard anything about the uglystik bluewater range?
sleepygreg
10-12-2008, 01:12 AM
OK..after all that.....you are NOT going to get 1 rod that will do everything you want...it aint gonna happen. Thats why some of us fishing tragics have more rods than we have had baked dinners. You may need to consider two or three rods to suit your persuits. just switch the reel to which ever rod you are using....or do like we do, have an outfit for each purpose. I know thats not much help specifically....but something you need to consider. Sorry for the bad news.
10-12-2008, 08:28 AM
G'day Sam,
I don't know the ugly stick except that as a glass blank they are usually very bendy - I would think you need a graphite something for jigging that has a bit more rebounability.
I'd still be dodgy about a 7 footer for jigging, if that's going to be the majority of what you do.
I had a Penn sport 15-24 kg, a brute of a rod - 7', it would rip the jigs, but after two drops I was stuffed, changing up to a 6 footer means I can fish it longer.
If you're dead set on a 7 footer check the penn slammer series - its a graphite composite and a good thing
honda900
10-12-2008, 11:42 AM
Sam,
Go the ugly stick, great rods, I have eight or so of them in varying degrees, for the price your talking for some of the others mentinoned in the thread you could have 3 or 4 ugly's.
Nothing wrong with them, Havent got the 15-24 but got a 10-15kg 7foot, It got a work out a couple of weeks ago with an unstoppable, but it managed to stop it and turn it, unfortunately spat the hooks but, thats fishin.:-[
I also have tcurve200 as a jig rod, and the ugly's are every bit as good.
Honda.
sam russell
10-12-2008, 07:23 PM
Thanks for all the advice boys,
Im a bit silly , I think ill go with the ugly stik and get another rod for jigging
Cheers ,
Sam
jaredluke
12-12-2008, 08:02 PM
You should also check out the Silstar Powertip Blue jigging rods. You can pick em from BCF for around 150, they say there the strongest rod in the world