View Full Version : Whats Your Choice For A New 150 4stroke ??
1lastcast
26-11-2008, 09:22 AM
Hi guys this is one for the 4 stroke guys .
I am going to purchase a new 6.1 plate alloy half cab with max hp of 150hp and was wondering what engine is preffered for price , reliability and performance ?
I will not contemplate going 2 stroke so its out of the 4 bangers yamaha , honda , suzuki , merc verado and the like .
I currently have the 140 suzuki 4 stroke on my current boat and was kind of thinking of going the same but wanted other opinions from you guys ?
Cheers guys .
Regards MONOSTRETCHO
tassie
26-11-2008, 09:27 AM
Stick with the suzuki mate, better the devil you know than the devil you dont.;D atleast your not putting a chainsaw motor on it :P :P :P ;)
Tazmaniac
26-11-2008, 09:50 AM
The're all good, go with whoever can give you the best deal.
Taz
26-11-2008, 09:54 AM
Stick with the suzuki mate, better the devil you know than the devil you dont.;D atleast your not putting a chainsaw motor on it :P :P :P ;)
yep, put on a Motor Bike Engine instead!!! don't quite know how that helped him, but it was amusing, the 140HP Suzuki does indeed have quite a following, in some ways I am not too sure why Johnson stopped selling them (unless it was Suzuki who ditched BRP) at least that way they had all options coverd with no manufacturing costs.
26-11-2008, 10:04 AM
have a look see here
http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boat-review/1960575.aspx
26-11-2008, 10:50 AM
150 Zuk, the 140 has nothing in common with it, the 140 is a low torque engine with crappy gearing at the prop for the prop lineup available.
Too many advantages with the 150 Zuk too look past them IMO, sump capacity and a timing chain are 2 from memory, also for me the fairly basic technology used to extract power ie a relative lack of lean burn technology = should be solid.
Hi there M S,
I have a 150 Honda with the v-tec fuel system on my rig. They are lighter and more fuel efficent than the 130 and 135's.
Smooth as silk.............good luck ...........Jimmy
whatscracken
26-11-2008, 11:15 AM
I don't think I've heard a bad thing about the Yammie 150 4 stroke. But I agree with maniac in thinking there wouldn't be too much between them
BrenMac
26-11-2008, 11:35 AM
Have been in a boat with a 150 Suzi once and was really impressed with it.
The Verado is hard to beat for features, torque and power though!8-)
Brendan
26-11-2008, 12:12 PM
Mono,
go whatever is the best deal going.. many outboard suppliers have increased their prices for eg Suzi went up 23% :)
26-11-2008, 12:14 PM
have a look see here
http://boatpoint.ninemsn.com.au/boat-review/1960575.aspx
The 130 honda is no longer in production! it was replaced by the 135 and 150 which is lighter than the old 130.
26-11-2008, 12:17 PM
you would kind of think in these crazy financial times that prices would be kept as low as possible to try get sales, but then maybe they have been low for a while and they could no longer maintain the current structure (maybe) of course the ailing Aussie dollar will come into play as well now!
26-11-2008, 12:19 PM
OH, I heard that, do you know how much lighter?? to get more HP for less weight is a very desirable outcome.
26-11-2008, 12:26 PM
Noel, the 130 came out in 1998 and at the time was the highest Hp EFI fourstroke on the market.. sure it was heavy but do you know how long it took the oposition to come out with a competitor???
julian1
26-11-2008, 12:30 PM
i think between the Suzuki, Yammie and Honda i would be going the best deal and that also should take into consideration your local service/dealer who is the best to deal with.
the Suzuki has a timing chain but that probably won't be an isue until 1000hrs anyway. also the yammie is very grunty for a 150 more like 160-170hp
26-11-2008, 12:35 PM
i think between the Suzuki, Yammie and Honda i would be going the best deal and that also should take into consideration your local service/dealer who is the best to deal with.
the Suzuki has a timing chain but that probably won't be an isue until 1000hrs anyway. also the yammie is very grunty for a 150 more like 160-170hp
Julian, they all have timing chains in this HP bracket
26-11-2008, 12:46 PM
as you can see from this last little to and fro, getting info on all the models was very difficult, (I looked and googled for 3 weeks) and to try to get some sort of firm positives or negatives was just as hard, there is just no yes or no answers to all this, just some possible maybes that "may" swing you towards on brand or system, but over all, I think they are all on a par, with bits and pieces that appeal to someone sometime, but are not someone elses cup of tea.
1lastcast
26-11-2008, 02:24 PM
Thanks guys it looks like i will be looking for the best deal then as all the brands seem to be of equal or very similar quality it also comes down to whats close to you for servicing to i guess .
any other thoughts ?
regards MONOSTRETCHO
business class
26-11-2008, 02:58 PM
The CHEAPEST all the brands are pretty good but i would personally stick with either Honda or Zuke but i got a feeling the honda might be some what cheaper!!!!
Mono, ive got two, i think you could guess my opinion...
26-11-2008, 04:32 PM
And Peter mate, the first thing you should revise is going glass and forget those knee jarring plates ????
julian1
26-11-2008, 04:40 PM
Julian, they all have timing chains in this HP bracket
i was unsure of the Honda, but am fairly certain that all of the Yammies have belts and not chains :-/
rumy1
26-11-2008, 05:19 PM
Have a look at the spec's, the Suzuki is the biggest bang ! If you already have a Suzuki than I assume you have a relationship already with a service agent ... are you happy with them?
I would consider other brands to Suzuki but it would be hard to go past them !!!
nelton87
26-11-2008, 05:43 PM
Mono,
My preference would be the Zuke with the reduction gearbox means you can use a larger propellor or lower revs depending on the size of the boat.
I have a pair of the 175 Zukes and they are Fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
Basicaly from memory same engine with VVT never had a problem in over 500Hours and returns a average of 23Lts per Hour for boat at 30Knost weight of 2000Kgs.
Nelton
1lastcast
26-11-2008, 06:34 PM
Yeh i know webby i should look at glass but i want to buy new and a new glass boat of any good quality is out of my reach right now so im sticking with the plate for now , looked at freedom 595 offshore mustang 6mtr but to get what i want im looking at 80-90,000 so its plate for now and thats fine with me mate .
And there is also the weight factor for towing for me to consider .
Regards MONOSTRETCHO
1lastcast
26-11-2008, 08:37 PM
Hey guys i just went to the merc website and checked out the verado 150 and they look alright .
from the website -- the verado 150 is 40% more fuel efficient than the 150 e-tec and 23% better than the 150 suzuki 4 stroke and 20% better on fuel than the 150 yamaha 4 stroke .
If these figures are right then doesnt that make the e-tec look over rated in the economy stakes ?
Anyway what do you guys reckon about the verado ?
Cheers MONOSTRETCHO
Rod Fishing
26-11-2008, 08:40 PM
Mate have an old DT 150 DI Zuke and it stll gves me about 1.4km/litre so if the new donks are anything lke that i would be sticking to the Zukes.
Cheers Rod....8-)
26-11-2008, 08:45 PM
Anyway what do you guys reckon about the verado ?
Cheers MONOSTRETCHO
I like the concept and the torque figures. The weight factor could be an issue on come boats.
My main concern is how much a woops up would cost outside of their warranty system:'(
1lastcast
26-11-2008, 08:50 PM
Now theres something i didnt think of Garry good point thanks mate !
White Pointer
26-11-2008, 10:22 PM
I applaud your thinking to stay with the Suzuki ... but the prices have just been hiked because of the A$ : Yen and I don't think they are necessarily the best value for money right now.
The 150HP and 175HP Suzuki are the same basic engine. The 175HP gets variable valve timing and some other features that improve its flexibility and economy. The weight difference is negligible so if you are looking at the 150HP Suzuki look seriously at the 175Hp as well.
The Yamaha 150HP is a great engine and Yamaha has had a cash back offer running since the Sydney boat show last year. They are heavier than the Suzuki but at 6.1M your boat should easily handle it. It's a big step to the next 4-stroke Yamaha at 200HP.
Also look at Honda. They step up at 25HP increments from 150 to 175 to 200 but they are heavy. Again, 150HP or even 175HP shouldn't be an issue with a 6.1M boat.
Until the Suzuki price rise they were all around the $20k to $22K mark but you have to add on rigging kit and installation and don't forget NMEA2000 interface if you have a late model GPS and want data overload!
They are all good. Buy a package solution and buy quickly - because the A$ : Yen is going to drive up prices by heaps over the next few months.
White Pointer
3rd degree
26-11-2008, 11:05 PM
Mate runs a 150 Honda V-tec on the back of his 26ft CC and its wicked!
Spent hundereds of hours on it and never skipped a beat, and I own a Yammy.
megafish71
27-11-2008, 07:35 AM
All Verado's comes standard with DTS and the L4s have the option of electro-hydraulic power steering. The steering on these is really sweet and the DTS can make fit up a lot easier as there is no rigid gear and throttle cables.
Worth considering.
Ron
business class
27-11-2008, 09:35 AM
What i don't understand is even with the Zukes new pricing coming out alot of people will still rather the zuke then say honda or yammy even though they will pay thousands more and i actually mean thousands:-/ . IMO i think that Honda, Zuke are the cream of the crop however Honda is at the moment Far cheaper then the Zukes in Every model up from 115.
P.S what Plate boat did you go with Mono?????
Matty
1lastcast
27-11-2008, 10:01 AM
Went for a Mako craft 610 cruiser cab .
BrenMac
27-11-2008, 02:02 PM
Mono, how is the Verado stacking up against the others price wise at the moment?
In the past they have been the most expensive, but you do get alot of motor and features for the money. Also, get the Vesselview screen if you go for the VRod, the info and layout is fantastic!
DTS, power steer optional, Smartcraft gauges or Vesselview, 5 year warranty, GenII economy, super quiet and massive power / torque.
I've just clocked up 100hrs on my L4 200 and am loving it.
Brendan
Luke G
27-11-2008, 07:31 PM
The old mans 175 Verados are nice, the DTS and power steering is very nice to use, his has got 450hours on them with no real problems. I do find them a little noisier then my 150 suzuki, and more thirstier ( but the whole package is good. His are gen 1's. Gen 2's are ment to be better on fuel.
White Pointer
27-11-2008, 07:53 PM
What i don't understand is even with the Zukes new pricing coming out alot of people will still rather the zuke then say honda or yammy even though they will pay thousands more and i actually mean thousands:-/ . IMO i think that Honda, Zuke are the cream of the crop however Honda is at the moment Far cheaper then the Zukes in Every model up from 115.
P.S what Plate boat did you go with Mono?????
Matty
I really think it comes down to weight. That's where the Suzuki's have an edge. For power, economy and reliability I think they are on par and the power and economy comes down to hull efficiency.
Move fast - very fast. Take tomorrow off! Honda and Yamaha are poised to follow Suzuki and jack prices by 20%+ next week. That makes tomorrow worth around $4k.
Good luck and keep us posted.
White Pointer
27-11-2008, 08:03 PM
I am a late comer to this thread, but I would buy the one your local dealer sells.
27-11-2008, 08:04 PM
Good thread,
anyone got a 150 yammie 4 stroke on a CC outsider 575,, as one dealer reckons they are a bit heavy for it and not as nice a boat as with a 130 2 stroke, its either the 150 yammie or it seems a suz or verado from other dealer, (just doing my research for the likely next boat)
mike
ifishcq1
27-11-2008, 08:06 PM
Hi Mono
I regularly fish with a fair group of guys owning all the above makes and all of them 2005 or newer each of them including this years models has over 100hrs
they have all been very happy and the only problems were 1 suzi wiring harness fault and the verado same thing both replaced quickly under warranty the merc is the heaviest and the thirstiest 4st although none of them are dear to run
an etec and an opti also come with us no probs either just a little bit more fuel much the same as the verado and way lighter
not one of them would swap their motor for another brand yet and in a small place the dealers all have to look after customers because they all need repeat bussiness
given the improved reliability of many of the newer motors go with the your gut feeling
not knocking any brand but I picked Honda, Yammy and Suzi all pretty close and the others breathing down their necks
27-11-2008, 09:08 PM
Move fast - very fast. Take tomorrow off! Honda and Yamaha are poised to follow Suzuki and jack prices by 20%+ next week. That makes tomorrow worth around $4k.
White Pointer
Will you eat those words if it dosn't happen???? I have herd significantly lower figures being talked about.. possibly the buble has burst for Suzis
business class
28-11-2008, 08:51 AM
I really think it comes down to weight. That's where the Suzuki's have an edge. For power, economy and reliability I think they are on par and the power and economy comes down to hull efficiency.
Good luck and keep us posted.
White Pointer
I will agree with the whole weight factor especially if one is like 30 or 40kegs heavier, but For arguements sake the 225 V-Tec honda is 267kg and 225 Suzuki is 264kg:-/ I don't think these type of weight differences will matter!!!!!!! Also Remember i own a Zuke too so i am not knocking them at all, i just saying that only NOW they are well over priced compared to there competitors. Also too Zuke's Don't come with Riggging kits, Cables, fuel gauge, water fuel seperators and so on, i don't think or do they?????
business class
28-11-2008, 08:55 AM
Went for a Mako craft 610 cruiser cab .
That will fly with the 150hp on it. also Congradulations on the new boat;D So when do you pick up your new boat with the 150 Honda or i mean 150 engine;)
1lastcast
28-11-2008, 12:10 PM
Guys i was in the right place at the right time today and have purchased a 140 suzuki 4 stroke for 13.5k happy days i have saved at least 4.5k___ yeeehaaa ;D
snelly1971
28-11-2008, 01:07 PM
Will you eat those words if it dosn't happen???? I have herd significantly lower figures being talked about.. possibly the buble has burst for Suzis
After speaking to Yamaha down here this week, there was no mention of a price rise as yet.???...Will have to wait and see, I suppose
White Pointer
28-11-2008, 06:16 PM
After speaking to Yamaha down here this week, there was no mention of a price rise as yet.???...Will have to wait and see, I suppose
No I will not eat my words and the increases may be selective as stock bought at old exchange rates is replaced by stock at the new exchange rates - but it will happen and it is happening.
Now, you can't bet that the A$ will tank anymore because it's happened. So all you can bet on is when stock at old prices runs out.
White Pointer
28-11-2008, 06:18 PM
Guys i was in the right place at the right time today and have purchased a 140 suzuki 4 stroke for 13.5k happy days i have saved at least 4.5k___ yeeehaaa ;D
Well done - a good days work.
White Pointer
28-11-2008, 06:27 PM
Mono.. is that a fitted drive away price or is there plus plusses to come??
1lastcast
28-11-2008, 07:03 PM
Gary its not a fitted price pre rig kit plus fitting $1800.00 extra
cheers MONOSTRETCHO
28-11-2008, 07:12 PM
Mono, either way its a top price!! I hope it all goes well and meets your expectations. Plz post a report when shes up and runing
suzygs1000
30-11-2008, 05:05 PM
Hi, Mono,
I've got 2007 140 Suk with the bigger gear box on a 6 metre plate - originally fitted with a 19" prop, but was then changed by dealer to 21".
At 4000rpm, it is doing 40-42k's, and using 18 litres per hour, giving a bit better than 2.2 klm's per litre..
I am sure you will be wrapped, they are a delightful motor for the money.
By the way, that is a good price, as mine was $15,600 fitted with binnacle controls in nov 2006!
Congrats Dave.