View Full Version : Fishing Buddies

ON-THE-CHEW
16-11-2008, 12:52 PM
Through experience I know there have been plenty of times I have not gone fishing just due to the fact I could not get anyone to come along as well. No matter what day or night you have off your mates are not always available or allowed to go fishing.

I was just thinking of putting up a post that people could use like a dial a fishing buddy. This could help out with fuel costs, general launching and retrieving of your boat or even land base fishing, especially rock fishing where it is never a good idea to go on your own.

I am not saying for people to put up all of your personal details on the post like phone numbers etc as people could get these off you by sending you a pm.

This would also give members that don't own a boat a chance for something different other than land base or charters. Also fishing with different people you always pick up little things that come in helpful, things that you might not know even think is of any significance.

Things I think people could list.
*Areas preparred to travel to, to meet up.
*Fishing preferences/styles
*Land Based, Bay fishing or Offshore
*Do you have your own tackle to suit these styles of fishing.
*General Availabilities, days or nights, weekends or weekdays.

People could then just pm these people, you never know you might make a good mate out of one of the members, make your trip a bit cheaper or even just learn something new.

This is just an idea, I know this web page has the going fishing/M&G page but generally people don't put a post up for needing a decking until two days before. This way people could plan it a bit better, weather forbidding of course.

lusco
16-11-2008, 01:50 PM
sounds like a great idea andrew.i have a boat myself and usually fish toorbul/bribie passage area mates can noy always go and would have a spare seat available on occasions.pm me if anyone ever interested.

wilcara
16-11-2008, 02:13 PM
Top idea, but I might have to move. ;D

champion
16-11-2008, 03:38 PM
I do most of my offshore fishing with my brother-in-laws, but they can only go on the weekends. Always the case the weather is usally crap.

I would like to team along with others when i can, share some tips relax and have a laugh.
You can never have enough of fishing.!
So i will put my hand up ;D

Joe

mowerman
16-11-2008, 04:42 PM
Damn fine idea.

The usual deckie works hard sometimes and the wife and kids are no help on weeknights.

But Im usually home by 3pm and lookin to head out from cleveland on a not so blowie weekarvo and night.

Sent me a pm.

Rod

levinge
16-11-2008, 04:52 PM
It is a good idea, BUT With the pace the weather changes up here in NQ, I don't like stuffing people around and getting hopes up for a trip. Seeing them buy bait, tackle etc just puts people off.

I guess thats why we tend to post a trip 2 days prior, this way we know its almost a certainty....

TroyGC
16-11-2008, 04:54 PM
Good idea mate, I am willing to go anywhere on the gold coast and should have 1 or 2 spare seats available most of the time.

Remember I am only a beginner so also looking for a buddy to come out and give advice, just PM me. :)

Mac1952
16-11-2008, 05:14 PM
Likewise on Sunny Coast.

Always looking for deckies/buddies.

Leighton
16-11-2008, 05:54 PM
On the Goldie too, more than willing to share costs, fillet fish, wash the boat

onerabbit
16-11-2008, 08:44 PM
I've been lucky that I've had 1 regular deckie for the last 8-9 years,
has always been a good arrangement,
we both always had plenty of time to fish,

only bugger is now,
he's launched himself on a big round the country trip,
& I'm working harder than I need to, 62 hrs Mon -Fri this week.

I like the Idea,
it can be hard to find a deckie at short notice when the mongerel weather we have had this year suddenly gives a window day.

Had organised a new deckie a while back, only to get a call at 5.20am when he cancelled out, spewwin.

16-11-2008, 08:48 PM
Posibly one of the best things is to have a few non fishing M&G events.... large or small, so we can put faces to names and get to know a few people.

the comming meeting on the 19th will be a good thing in many ways.

There are quite a few of us down the redlands.....maybe we should ajourn down to wello one windy day for a chin wag or something similar.

I too mostly fish alone.

17-11-2008, 01:29 AM
Great idea!!! I am keen as mustard to get out and meet a few more Ausfishers. I seem to be dreafully unlucky for timing with the meet and greets. The more regular the better.

major-defect
17-11-2008, 07:00 AM
Most of my days of are during the week as I do shift work so I have trouble getting people to go with as well.Not many members around here though.

Scott Ashe
17-11-2008, 08:12 AM
Hi,
Great idea, I have a boat, but would require someone with a towbar to get it to the water. Help is also required to rig my lines up. I love my crabbing too.

Scott Ashe
17-11-2008, 08:14 AM
Sorry forgot to mention I am available and prefer most week days.

Jalova
17-11-2008, 08:57 AM
Hello all,
Great idea, I usually fish weekdays and usually by myself as everyone I know works during the week. I usually fish either moreton bay or off the Gold Coast.

:)

SCOTTYGC
17-11-2008, 02:33 PM
im gold coast but fish weekend but could be tempted in to a weekday fish

i have a big tinny for the broadwater and more than happy to take it outside

or
someone to take me fishing in a bigger boat outside and respond with a fish in the broadwater in my boat

would travel tweed to brisbane

all all the gear

just need a little notice

scotty

Hairy_Harold
17-11-2008, 07:17 PM
I'm from ipswich generally willing to fish every day (untill I start working again). Generally just go bassing though, would be great if someone else was keen to hit up the dams or something, only really have one fishing partner and he's too good :( (his dad was abt champ 2 yrs in a row)

bondy99
17-11-2008, 11:10 PM
I've advertised a few times but must be bad timing. Mosy of my gear is for offshore, 1001b braid, livefibre rod and metal jigs for kingies

russ81
17-11-2008, 11:28 PM
Hows it going guys

great idea however no good for me as I have just moved to Darwin

If your ever up this way and looking for a fish though give us a yell weather wise Ill go out in anything less than a cyclone lol.

Russ

champion
18-11-2008, 07:20 PM
I've advertised a few times but must be bad timing. Mosy of my gear is for offshore, 1001b braid, livefibre rod and metal jigs for kingies

hey bondy99 how deep you fishing and what boat you in ?

cheers joe

bondy99
18-11-2008, 09:08 PM
hey bondy99 how deep you fishing and what boat you in ?

cheers joe

G'day Joe

I was fishing on Kingie reef, its about 80m deep.

Don't have a boat sorry, it was on a few charter vessels I was on.

sulla
25-11-2008, 03:01 PM
hi interesting post on-the-chew finding fishing buddies is hard none of my m8s
fish. if anyones interested im landbased in brisbane love to go out on a boat gear wise have one boat rod a smith gtk matched with a stella 8000 rest of gear land based but willing to add to to growing rod/reel collection also would pay share of fuel bait clean boat etc quit happy to travel to gold coast redcliff victoria pt etc .

also if anybodys land based in brisbane and interested in gowing for a fish at the goldcoast ive got a car must throw share of fuel . at present i tend to drive down for the day on my own mainly fish seaway rockwall sometimes narrowneck
cheers gareth

tropicrows
25-11-2008, 04:43 PM
oldboot,
that’s a top idea meet somewhere like the grand view pub, have a few beers and put some names to faces.
I head out from Raby bay most times and being separated and having fairly flexible work arrangements mean I can go fishing in my boat or someone else’s when the weather is ok or when I get an invite.
However my boat is a bit of a pain to get it out and then back in the yard again so I tend to not go out by myself and I only fish in the bay, as I have yet to get some bar experience (working on that).
Being close to Xmas makes it hard this year but possibly for Ausfish members in the Redlands area we could nominate one night during the week or a Sunday arvo once a month etc to meet. If other Ausfish members do the same in other areas you can always travel there to.

duncan mcwhirter
25-11-2008, 04:45 PM
hello all. would be keen to take anyone up on the offer who needs a deckie. I have just sold my tinnie and would love to fish around the mouth of the brissie etc. Iam usually a livie or bait fisher but would love to get into plastics, usually have fridays off, but wouldn't mind a fish week nights if anyones interested. Could help out with fuel etc, have rods tackle and cast net etc.

goat boy
26-11-2008, 05:33 PM
I like the idea of a non-fishing M&G to meet a few people face to face. I too, mostly fish alone as it's too hard 90% of the time to get the same time off as my regular (or should that be irregular?) fishing mate. I predominantly surf fish (own a fourby) on the drive-able beaches from Teewah - Mylestom (usually make it a 3+ day event when I go). Just got a boat though so this opens me up for more options again. I'd love to meet some of the local Redlander's (and others too) for a few drinks and a chat. who's up for it?

mowerman
26-11-2008, 05:48 PM
Lunch,, Vicky point VMR, 30/11.

I wont be fishing but hopefully will be there for a chin wag and put some names to faces.

Rod.

RAT-KING
26-11-2008, 06:38 PM
Thats a great idea Andrew
The last 6 times ive bn out by myself my usual keeps cancelling!
I usually lure fish and its better to have 2 different types out at once!
I was thinking of advertisng for someone to come out wen everything goes to plan! I wouldn't ask for petrol only that they have their own gear and have a bit of knowledge and that they r keen to learn and study this awesome sport!
Cheers Simon

tropicrows
27-11-2008, 09:15 AM
I will See you there mowerman, are you a volunteer with the VMR

Rufus
27-11-2008, 09:57 AM
Hey Andrew, This is a brillant idea. Count me in. i am available any day or night, semi retired. Own a 5 meter bowrider and fish either SP's or bait. Looking to meet fellow Ausfisher's and learn more about fishing in SE Qld.

Cheers, Mark

27-11-2008, 09:59 AM
looks like a "fishing buddies" sub meeting at the VMR sunday.;D

Braddles
27-11-2008, 05:54 PM
What an awesome idea. I am 30, Kids ICU nurse so work part time shift work and studying medicine full time - so days off a random and varied.

Fishing is my addiction though - and if your one who never knows when to come home - I am probably the worst one to take - as we would never come home (OK that isnt a bad thing lol - I love it).

I am not a brilliant fisherman, but have experience with boats and have all my own fishing gear from estuary to offshore.

I would travel from Brisbane to Gold Coast - and share all costs and help you clean and flush your boat etc.

Available most mon and tues and other random times - love day or night or both!

Brad.

goat boy
29-11-2008, 04:56 PM
Bummer....would love to go but working all weekend. Hopefully there will be another get together soon

cabfisher
02-12-2008, 09:14 AM
I live in Caboolture area . Would like to meet a someone near by I have my own car ( no tow bar ) I am retired perfer Week days have had lots of experance ,
Sold my last tinny two years ago .Please P M me and we can chat cheers Harry

GazzaB
05-12-2008, 08:47 AM
This is a great idea,

I live in Brisbane so will travel up and down the coast for a fish!
I work Tuesday – Saturday some morning and some evening shifts so there is normally and good chance to fish in the week / evenings. I have all my own gear and always pay my share, and am willing to help wash-up etc. I would rather be fishing than sleep and much rather fish than watch the TV, and am always looking to get out am looking to get out! If you have a spot drop me a PM
gazza

lusco
13-12-2008, 04:29 PM
gday harry.i live at kallangur and usually fish in the passage.only just started to get into fishing and by the way i have been going still have heaps to learn.i have a 14 ft glass with a 70 johnson.have issues with takin mates because they are 2 unreliable and think its just a piss up.if your keen 2 go out one day over xmas give me a yell and i can pick your brains.
steve