View Full Version : Surf jewfish rods
nezevic99
14-11-2008, 12:49 PM
I have been looking at the Shimano Tiralejo heavy spin rod for throwing big heavy baits in the surf after jew. The only problem i have is my wife doesn't like the price... Can't imagine why. Does anyone have any recommendations of something that is similiar in specs that may bring the pricing down even just a little? Or a reputable custom builder who can put together a 12-13ft 15kg lightweight threadline rod that is capable of throwing up to 500g out of sight.
14-11-2008, 04:53 PM
Mate there are several excellent rodbuilders on the site who could do this for you.
You could try a post in the rodbuilding forum.
Mac1952
14-11-2008, 07:04 PM
Have you looked at Snyder rods? I find his rods extremely well balanced, especially in the 13ft+ range.
14-11-2008, 07:18 PM
Have you tried a faster taper shorter rod for big baits off the beach?
Sometimes a longer rod will damage you more than the fish during the battle. A 10' faster taper rod will still give you good throwing capacity and less damaging fight on your end of the deal.
As Nigel said, lots of good rod builders in the forum here. You can get something custom built to suit yourself instead of mak9ing do with something off the shelf.
sleepygreg
14-11-2008, 09:28 PM
I agree about the length, especially with large baits. You need to be built like an Olympic hammer thrower to cast em on rods over 11'. Look at something built on a Snyder FSU blank - or pacific composites blank in the same taper. I would go for a 10' blank - with a solid butt extension if you must have extra length. Anything with a slower taper folds away on the cast and costs you distance. And dont be obsessed with distance....sharks and rays mainly on the other side of the sand bank.....jewies will be in the deep gutters close to shore. There are a number of rod builders on this forum who could do the job for you.......Have a word with Gary Howard - he is at Brendale and is most approachable and understanding when discussing your needs. And im sure Eric Grell would also be able to help you. I havent seen any of Eric's surf rods so cant comment on them, I have seen Gary's, and can highly recommend the workmanship and design, and they wont break the budget. Having said this....dont expect a 'cheap' rod....you will get what you pay for. What you are asking for is a specialised piece of equipment.
Good luck and let us know how you go.
rockfisho
15-11-2008, 12:41 PM
Snyder rods are fantastic. They arent the lightest around because the heavy surf rods are all fibreglass. I have a Snyder Ft5162 which i use for jewies, (i made it myself). And for its size and construction it is very light. the reels weight makes all the difference really. Casting with that blank too is quite tricky because of the taper, and takes quite a lot of getting used to.
fighting wise. I run thirty pound line over it no worries. but it does demand a fair bit of effort from your end.
hope this helps
Owen
nezevic99
17-11-2008, 01:02 PM
I'm not expecting to get what i want cheaply. I'm after something fairly specialist so i'm going to have to pay for it. I have started making enquiries into custom rods and will keep anyone who is interested in the progress updated.
17-11-2008, 02:22 PM
Snyder now have a full graphite surf rod.
I had a look when I was last having a yarn to Adrian. They looked good. :D
Anyways here's some of their blanks that can be made into rods or they have rods ready made
http://www.ausfish.com.au/snyder/blanks.shtml (http://www.ausfish.com.au/vforum/../snyder/blanks.shtml)
If they have a blank you like then put a post up in the rodbuilding section and someone will be able to help you out with the personal touches you may want.
If there is a blank there I might be able to get one so you can see first hand. I know it's totally different seeing the specs and then hands on with the blank. Just send me a PM if you want that. :)
Help support local industry if you can :)
pommy
17-11-2008, 03:47 PM
G'day!
I know where there is a custom MT8144 2 piece spin rod made by the guy who used to own the Lennox Head bait shop.
The rod is, If I remember rightly, a Gary Howard blank? Condition good, but with some slight damage to the varnish near the ferrule.
Asking price $100, if you bargain.
Heavy rod for lures, I fish one I made myself and anything over one and a half hours fishing is hard work. Have fished it as a bait rod and, with belt bucket, its not bad.
PM me if interested.
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
17-11-2008, 07:21 PM
Snyder rods are fantastic. They arent the lightest around because the heavy surf rods are all fibreglass. I have a Snyder Ft5162 which i use for jewies, (i made it myself). And for its size and construction it is very light. the reels weight makes all the difference really. Casting with that blank too is quite tricky because of the taper, and takes quite a lot of getting used to.
Owen
The beauty of Snyder blanks is their simplicity in the coding of the blank.
This one is fast taper, 5 wrap 162 inches long. recommened cast weight 90gm line weight 6-10kg
G'day!
I know where there is a custom MT8144 2 piece spin rod made by the guy who used to own the Lennox Head bait shop.
The rod is, If I remember rightly, a Gary Howard blank? Condition good, but with some slight damage to the varnish near the ferrule.
Regards, Rob.
Ballina.
This one is also a Snyder Glas blank... a medium taper 8 wrap 144 inches long. cast weight 115 gm line weight 6-10kg. They also make this in a 9 wrap which gives a cast weight of 150gm and line weight 6-12kg.
The big bertha of the Snyders is the S177. It's a 9 wrap blank 177 inches long with a cast weight of 180gm line weight of 10-15kg.
You'd have to have shoulders 2 pick handles across to be able to use it all day though :-/
17-11-2008, 07:45 PM
This blank sounds perfect.
Batson Enterprises, SU1569 - 2 piece, 5-12oz lure weight, 20-60lb line, moderate-fast action, heavy power, weight 13.06 ozs.
Never had the pleasure of seing one in the flesh, but a veritable beast from what I was told by the retailer. Blank is around $270.
Google up ozrods, site is still active.
MT 9144 is a cheaper option, but it is a heavy, old-tech beast. Will cast a heavy load, however.
nezevic99
18-11-2008, 02:04 PM
Finga,
I had a look at the Snyder blanks and i'm not sure whether they are going to be heavy enough. 180g is only 6oz and i would be using a sinker similair to that in any sort of sweep.
nigelr,
had a look at that blank on the net. is a thought... it sounds about what i am looking to do but have no rod building experience. still need someone else to build it up for me.
pommy
18-11-2008, 02:33 PM
G'day!
Are the baitfish and jewies going to be hanging around in a sweeping current that needs 6oz plus of lead to hold bottom?
If you are using big baits and thick line the drag of the current will also be a significant factor.
Are you using snapper leads with wires? You can get a lot of grip with a lighter lead. Sea anglers in Pommyland use them a lot. You can buy the moulds. Some models also have wires that are held in place with elastic bands. If the lead snags then the legs swing back.
Regards, Rob.
18-11-2008, 03:14 PM
Another blank would be the G. Loomis SU 1448 GL2, 2 piece, 25-40lb, 6-14oz lure weight, $424 (blank only) from The Rodworks.
The proprietor would make this up for you, I'm sure.
Don't hold me to this, but I think Gary Howard might do custom rods.
pommy
18-11-2008, 04:50 PM
Are you guys serious!
$400 to throw a big bit of fish out to sea, when you would be better off to find the right local conditions to fish normal baits!
I'm only new to the jewie buisiness. Have caught 5 so far on bait and lure.
I havn't met many around Ballina that would spend that much on a blank! Particularly not for a cut bait rod!
Rob.
18-11-2008, 06:12 PM
Hey Rob, you would love HSTs' arsenal...................
Serious distance casting (fishing) rods from South Africa, UK, Japan or US could cost 2,3,4,5 or even 6 times that amount!
http://www.plat.co.jp/shop/catalog/product_info.php?cPath=23_354_355&products_id=1478
Actually, 200,000 JPY comes in at a tad over 3 grand................;D
18-11-2008, 07:02 PM
nigelr,
had a look at that blank on the net. is a thought... it sounds about what i am looking to do but have no rod building experience. still need someone else to build it up for me.
Where are you??
sleepygreg
18-11-2008, 10:03 PM
Garry Howard does build custom rods.........and bloody good ones.
nezevic99
19-11-2008, 08:53 AM
Brisbane. have sent an email to Gary Howard and am awaiting a response.
19-11-2008, 05:09 PM
I use an extended SnyderGlas JS1029W for my havy surf spinning and livebaiting. It is not a lightweight but very comfortable paired off with an ABU 12 overhead thats still as good as new to use. On building it was tested to deadlift 58lbs on the scales as the maximum leverage I could put down the rod. Not even a creak.
nezevic99
21-11-2008, 09:24 AM
Thanks for your comments and interest guys. I've spoken to Neil at Jones's Tackle overnight and have decided to settle on a Gary Howard custom built Pacific Composites PPG Surf Heavy. I had a play with the Tiralejo heavy and my god what a beast that thing is! You could launch a house brick 50m without putting a bend in the rod. Neil's comments and help was much appreciated and i look forward to receiving the finished product.