View Full Version : OK...Who's tested the FingamaJigs yet??

13-11-2008, 06:05 PM
Gidday all,
OK now. A few of you fella's have the FingamaJigs so I was wondering if they've been tried and tested yet and what was the result??
Are there any changes needed??
Are they dunky dorry as is??
I looking for any feedback at all really as I have not heard anything much at all.

Negative feedback is gladly received, even welcomed, as that's the only way things can improve isn't it :)

If you've got them you'll know what I'm talking about. If not then you might be left wondering.

Thanks Scott :)

sid_fishes
13-11-2008, 06:34 PM
got them, tried them with no result so cant commemt yet. planninig on another trip real soon so i will let you know
cheers ian

Leighton
13-11-2008, 07:19 PM
got 1/16th and some 1/8th ( I think ), fine guage hook works well for Flatties
Its hard to get a fine guage hook in larger sizes
Might be a bit light for Snapper/ Reef fish

13-11-2008, 07:25 PM
Your Fingaqmajigs are good thanks Scotty, I would however prefer to use a higher tensile stronger hook in the larger sizes, something like an Owner forged jig hook would be ideal. The smaller jigs work a treat though.

I have been using gamakatsu hw90 jighooks the last batch i made up recently and although they are holding up well i have twisted and straightened two fairly easily in testing. Any sideways twist under pressure will have them fold over, so I am sourcing some forged jighooks next.

DR
13-11-2008, 08:08 PM
Scott, I have not had a chance as yet, but looking forward to giving them a run..

DR
13-11-2008, 08:10 PM
Your Fingaqmajigs are good thanks Scotty, I would however prefer to use a higher tensile stronger hook in the larger sizes, something like an Owner forged jig hook would be ideal. The smaller jigs work a treat though.

I have been using gamakatsu hw90 jighooks the last batch i made up recently and although they are holding up well i have twisted and straightened two fairly easily in testing. Any sideways twist under pressure will have them fold over, so I am sourcing some forged jighooks next.

have the Fingamajigs you have straightened out?? or was it some of your own??

14-11-2008, 06:11 AM
got them, tried them with no result so cant commemt yet. planninig on another trip real soon so i will let you know
cheers ian
Mate, If I remember you got some of the series ones. Call around and get the later models. They're a lot better. Series 1's are crap in comparison :)

got 1/16th and some 1/8th ( I think ), fine guage hook works well for Flatties
Its hard to get a fine guage hook in larger sizes
Might be a bit light for Snapper/ Reef fish
Thanks matey. Those ones have the Mustad hooks. I was not that impressed with them but if you reckon there're okky dokky then that's good ;D.
The main range of the FingamaJigs have the Heavy gauge Eagle Claw with the seaguard treatment. A lot stronger and supposed to last a lot longer before rusting away.
PM me your details again and what size you'd like to try in the heavy's and I'll send some.

Mate, the larger hooks are the main worry. If you use the Owners they cost about 3 times the price of the Eagle Claws but the Eagle Claws are worth didly squat if they bend so I might have to do the Owners as well. LuckyPhil suggested that as well.
Up to what size is fine with the Eagle Claws??
I've also been given the same story about the Gama's

Scott, I have not had a chance as yet, but looking forward to giving them a run..
Slack ar&e ::)
Mate, your the chief test pilot ;D

Thanks fellas. This is what's needed to make them better. :)

plaztix
14-11-2008, 07:04 AM
Hey Scott,

The few i have used have been good, the long shank is perfect for flatties.

I haven't done much estuary fishing since i got them and as stated the gauge of the eagle claw hook is probably a bit fine for snaps etc. but as long as you dont expect to pull stumps with them they'll do the job nicely.

14-11-2008, 07:11 AM
Hey Scott,

The few i have used have been good, the long shank is perfect for flatties.

I haven't done much estuary fishing since i got them and as stated the gauge of the eagle claw hook is probably a bit fine for snaps etc. but as long as you dont expect to pull stumps with them they'll do the job nicely.
Mate, you got the 1/8 and 1/16th in the fine gauge hook didn't you?
If so they're Mustads.
I haven't got a heavy gauge that goes down to those small weights yet.
The smallest of the heavy gauge is 1/8th with a #1 or sometimes a 1/0 in the heavy gauge.
If you want I'll drop next time I'm up there and show you.

Cheers matey :)

plaztix
14-11-2008, 07:46 AM
Mate, you got the 1/8 and 1/16th in the fine gauge hook didn't you?
If so they're Mustads.
I haven't got a heavy gauge that goes down to those small weights yet.
The smallest of the heavy gauge is 1/8th with a #1 or sometimes a 1/0 in the heavy gauge.
If you want I'll drop next time I'm up there and show you.

Cheers matey :)

Yeah i got a range from 1/16 to 1/4 i think. I cant remember exactly what size hooks but i got the biggest ones for the weights, i thought they were the eagle claws. They have the eliptical curved hook.

14-11-2008, 08:22 AM
Yeah i got a range from 1/16 to 1/4 i think. I cant remember exactly what size hooks but i got the biggest ones for the weights, i thought they were the eagle claws. They have the eliptical curved hook.
The 1/16ths will be Mustads.
I think the 1/8ths will be too.
Easy way...if they're bronze they're Mustads. If they're silver they're the eagle Claws.
Cheers then :)

Little grey men
14-11-2008, 08:33 AM
I've been using the ones you gave me all year mate. Good gear, heaps of bass and the occasional yella have been pinned to them.
The bigger bass do tend to bend them a little, but I'm talking BIG strong fish and I was using the lighter ones rigged with small plastics for edge feeding fish.
I use thicker guage hooks a lot but the ones you supplied were a finer wire and the hook ups in my opinion were much easier.....they are nice and sharp, and the plastic holder was a good design. The only time the plastic would slip on the jighead was after it was assaulted by fish.

I like em ;)

14-11-2008, 08:43 AM
I've been using the ones you gave me all year mate. Good gear, heaps of bass and the occasional yella have been pinned to them.
The bigger bass do tend to bend them a little, but I'm talking BIG strong fish and I was using the lighter ones rigged with small plastics for edge feeding fish.
I use thicker guage hooks a lot but the ones you supplied were a finer wire and the hook ups in my opinion were much easier.....they are nice and sharp, and the plastic holder was a good design. The only time the plastic would slip on the jighead was after it was assaulted by fish.
I like em ;)
Suckhole ;)
Do you want to try the heavier ones??
If so PM your details.
Thanks matey :)

Little grey men
14-11-2008, 09:20 AM
Aw yeh !! just a handful will do. I'll be happy to test them for you. The bullet heads are good rigged onto sliders. I fish in fairly clear water and it's amazing to watch them slip through the water with a bass or yella following them.

pm sent

plaztix
14-11-2008, 09:43 AM
The 1/16ths will be Mustads.
I think the 1/8ths will be too.
Easy way...if they're bronze they're Mustads. If they're silver they're the eagle Claws.
Cheers then :)

All silver.

dazza
14-11-2008, 10:19 AM
hi scott,
top quality jighead
have used them a few times, no dramas, i think i got eagle claw hooks?? good on the flatties, haven't chased a snapper on them yet, jighead wt a bit light.
would be real interested in 5/0 - 7/0 in heavier weights, ie 1/2 oz, 3/4oz, 1oz
dazza

14-11-2008, 04:18 PM
Dr and Finga,

I have straightened out both the gamas HW and your jighooks Scott in anyhting over 1/0.

Might have to opt for the Qwners or Daiichi hooks to hold out without straightening them. I will be sourcing some forged ones in the next few weeks with a view to making somehting like a stronger version of the AusSpin swingers. Thier hooks are not holding too well but I do like the swinging concept.

14-11-2008, 07:06 PM
hi scott,
top quality jighead
have used them a few times, no dramas, i think i got eagle claw hooks?? good on the flatties, haven't chased a snapper on them yet, jighead wt a bit light.
would be real interested in 5/0 - 7/0 in heavier weights, ie 1/2 oz, 3/4oz, 1oz
dazza
PM me your details again matey.

Dr and Finga,

I have straightened out both the gamas HW and your jighooks Scott in anyhting over 1/0.

Might have to opt for the Qwners or Daiichi hooks to hold out without straightening them. I will be sourcing some forged ones in the next few weeks with a view to making somehting like a stronger version of the AusSpin swingers. Thier hooks are not holding too well but I do like the swinging concept.

Gees matey, What have you been trying to catch??
Thank you for your honesty and that's exactly why I sent a few out for people to try and why I asking for honest opinions.
I'll try the Owners and see how they go.
I'll let you know when I get some in and make some up. They'll probably be in the 3/0's and 4/0's.
Dr has also asked about a different style that flops about a bit in the head so I might have to make an order up with molds and hooks

All silver.
Looks like you'll need to try the Owners as well matey.
As soon as get some and make them up I'll give you some to try out.
What sizes do you want to try?

With the larger hooks and smaller weights how would a removeable splitshot be to crimp on the shank so that the plastic can be threaded over the weight??
You'll be able to balance the rig to suit yourself.

Thanks fellas for the feedback :)

14-11-2008, 07:09 PM
Aw yeh !! just a handful will do. I'll be happy to test them for you. The bullet heads are good rigged onto sliders. I fish in fairly clear water and it's amazing to watch them slip through the water with a bass or yella following them.

pm sent
Great pictures matey. Thank you for that.:)
Little things like that make it all worthwhile.

sid_fishes
14-11-2008, 07:21 PM
scott, wheres my shirt?
catch up soon
cheers ian

14-11-2008, 07:35 PM
i THINK YOU GAVE ME A SELECTION OF THEM MATE.

They work as good as any in the shops IMHO

mike

14-11-2008, 07:43 PM
Finga, jacks and jew are not too friendly with jig hooks, snapper seem to be a lot less damaging.

Had a couple of good jew now set the hook and then run past me thus turning the hook around in thier jaws and twisting them sideways then straightening them. I'm fishing 14lb braid so its not a whole lot of pressure causing them to fail. Had two jacks landed with destroyed jigs barely hanging in there as well.

plaztix
14-11-2008, 08:16 PM
Looks like you'll need to try the Owners as well matey.
As soon as get some and make them up I'll give you some to try out.
What sizes do you want to try?

Owners sound good mate, probably anything from 3/0 - 5/0 in 1/8 - 1/2oz.

15-11-2008, 09:16 AM
OK then.
How's these Owner's??
:)
I'll order some in the 3/0's I think to start.
Cheers fellas
SALTWATER JIG HOOKS http://www.ownerhooks.com/images/products/hooks/jighooks/SW-Jig-Hook.jpg
With a wide gap, round bend and a heavy-duty, forged XXX strong shank for tackling the toughest saltwater game fish. Features include a 90° eye-bend, Super Needle Point and anti-corrosion, black chrome finish.

15-11-2008, 09:42 AM
Scott,

I have run out of the 1/2 oz 3/0's and 3/4 oz 4/0's jigheads due to big fishies swimming away with them. Can I place an order for xmas please???? The chub head style in these is a favourite.

With the selection I have, they all work up to and including the 2oz 7/0. This one works in 140m.
Timiboy can vouch for the 1/2 oz and 3/4 oz, as he 'stole' my rod to land consecutive pb's.

Thanks Finga.

Wags

38319 38320 38321

15-11-2008, 09:47 AM
The jighead with eagle claw hook used in hooking that big fish is still being used as there's hardly a mark on it.
Please add to original order 1/4oz 1/0's and 3/8oz 2/0's.

Thanks.

15-11-2008, 10:00 AM
Timiboy can vouch for the 1/2 oz and 3/4 oz, as he 'stole' my rod to land consecutive pb's.

38319 38320 38321
Bastard he is ::)

Yeah no problems on the others I hope :)
Where have you been Wags old matey??
I haven't heard from you of late.

15-11-2008, 10:24 AM
I'm working out at Blackwater 'til xmas and currently livin' it up in Agnes. Heading to Awoonga after lunch.

15-11-2008, 10:38 AM
Scott,

I have run out of the 1/2 oz 3/0's and 3/4 oz 4/0's jigheads due to big fishies swimming away with them.

38319 38320 38321
Mate, why did they swim away??
Hooks, knots, sharks??

I'm working out at Blackwater 'til xmas and currently livin' it up in Agnes. Heading to Awoonga after lunch.
Bastard ::)

15-11-2008, 11:39 PM
Mate, why did they swim away??
Hooks, knots, sharks?

Too light of leader...or just bigger than ave fishies

Bastard ::)

And to this comment......well no barra at Awoonga >:( and heading back to Blackwater in about 12 hrs.

plaztix
17-11-2008, 10:26 AM
OK then.
How's these Owner's??
I'll order some in the 3/0's I think to start.
Cheers fellas
SALTWATER JIG HOOKS http://www.ownerhooks.com/images/products/hooks/jighooks/SW-Jig-Hook.jpg
With a wide gap, round bend and a heavy-duty, forged XXX strong shank for tackling the toughest saltwater game fish. Features include a 90° eye-bend, Super Needle Point and anti-corrosion, black chrome finish.

They look good mate. let us know how you go.

30-11-2008, 04:39 PM
Just an update....
I've been having a few hassles finding those hooks in Aus so sent a few e-mails around the traps (here and in the US) to see what's possible.
So I'll keep the updates going until we hit pay dirt.
Cheers fellas and thanks for the honest opinions :)

02-12-2008, 08:41 AM
I received an email from Owner Australia this morning and there's none of the hooks in question in Australia.
Maybe I'll get an answer from Owner in the US about shipping in the next day or so.

02-12-2008, 01:56 PM
Found them in Aust. :)
I got some 3/0's and 5/0's so we'll give them a go hey :)
They'll be ready next week as I'm away for the rest of the week.

Hey Plaztix, could PM me your number again and I'll drop some in next week for you.
Cheers Scott