View Full Version : the same but different...
magicmarlin
12-11-2008, 08:19 PM
hey guys just got back from hinchinbrook channel in north qld, had a blast throwing lures at jacks/barra. the combo i used was shimano calias on a shimano dam raider loaded with 25lb braid. im after a simillar/same style rod to upgrade my raider for the return trip at xmas. any ideas? looking for something with fast/extrafast action at least 7ft long, nice light tip for throwing lures, not too heavy yet strong enough to pull out a solid snag bound fish. looking for something like a loomis or up market shimano? any ideas would be greatly appriciated also anyone with any more info on the place regarding lures or preferences or any info at all would be welcomed with open arms!
mm
13-11-2008, 05:48 AM
There are still a few heavy T-Curves on special at one of the sporting stores. They are very good value and great to use
magicmarlin
13-11-2008, 07:11 AM
yeah i saw some of them...but are there any models around the 7' mark? icouldnt find anything longer then 6'6"
magicmarlin
13-11-2008, 08:57 PM
surely someone out there wants to sing the praises of a good ol flick stick?
nuggstar
14-11-2008, 12:02 AM
how much ya looking to spend??????
just a option for ya to think about, have you thort of getting a custom made rod to suit ya needs. hot rods on this site makes some realy nice custom jobs that wont let ya down. he can make any thing ya like so hit him up if ya want something special.
magicmarlin
14-11-2008, 03:24 PM
thanks mate. dont really have a budget so the sky is the limit really. looking at getting a loomis simply because i think they would be light enough yet strong enough for what i need. ill ask him mate thanks for the heads up!
anyone else wanting to sing some praises?
Hairy_Harold
16-11-2008, 08:52 PM
The nitro barra rods seem pretty decent for what your looking for. Only thing is they are only 6'6", i think you'll have a hard time trying to find anything longer in those types of rods though.
TonyM
17-11-2008, 12:46 AM
I agree that Nitro rods are great, I would have gone in that direction for my last Barra baitcaster rod as I have several other Nitros and love them, however I ended up getting a great deal on a Loomis MBR783C which is huge fun to fish with and is now one of my "go to" rods.
Funnily enough my go to rods also include a few Live Fibres such as the older "Blade" and a "Lightning" - tough rods that have kept going on even though I expected them to snap after hearing people talk about how easily they break (most my Barra have been on Live Fibres to date) I have a feeling maybe some of the breaks you hear about are due to user error? (e.g. High sticking)
The hardest thing I found when I hooked the first fish on the Loomis was the freaky "J" curve when the tip folds away with a decent fish on - once you get past that the rod speaks for itself, possibly not the best rod ever, but keeps a smile on my face and seems to do the job!
As Nuggstar said Hotrods seems to make some nice sticks or another option I'd consider is looking at a blank made up by Wheezer on this site (if he still does them) - bloke knows his stuff, and of course you'd better have a look at Eric Grells egrell and bear rods!
I wish I could have all of the above!
Confused yet? I know I am!
Hope that helps :)
Rockfish
17-11-2008, 12:13 PM
Hi There,
Give Eric Grell a call about his Bear 4-7 rod, should be spot on for what your looking at. Or go a loomis mossyback rod.
Stu
I used a Shimano T-Curve slatwater Spin 5-10kg 2.13m long. Fantastic action. very light rod, light tip and 10kg of pull.
I coupled it with a Stradic 5000 with 15kg braid. I found it excellent to use as a spin stick aswell as casting lures at snags etc if yuo want+ its meaty enough to plastic fish the reef with.
metaloid
18-11-2008, 10:26 AM
If you know what action (extra-fast), length (7') and line class (stump-puller) you're after for your barra stick, why don't you jump onto the rod-building forum?
It won't cost you anything and the barra boys will be more than happy to suggest a few options for you. ;)
magicmarlin
18-11-2008, 03:47 PM
thanks guys all responses appriciated!
banshee
19-11-2008, 08:57 AM
Though there are some great rods about a loomis is hard to go past if for no other reason than the expiditer system the company has in place.You will be able to find what your after in either 'Crankbait',IMX or GLX depending on how much you are prepared to part with.If you're thinking of going this way give me a call.
oldsalty
19-11-2008, 10:01 AM
Have a look at the Salty Barra Long Cast by Ian Miller on his website. Sounds about right. My flat mate has one ... very impressive
magicmarlin
25-11-2008, 10:11 PM
Have a look at the Salty Barra Long Cast by Ian Miller on his website. Sounds about right. My flat mate has one ... very impressive
hey mate just jumped on the website, there doesnt seem to be a "long cast" model in the barra section. both of the salty barra models are 5'10" and 5'9" respectively
nuggstar
25-11-2008, 10:27 PM
As Nuggstar said Hotrods seems to make some nice sticks or another option I'd consider is looking at a blank made up by Wheezer on this site (if he still does them) - bloke knows his stuff, :)
he's right there wheezer makes a kick ass rod, iv got one and it is my turn to rod, magic to use. he barra fishes heaps to so he will no what ya want and will make a weapon for ya.