View Full Version : Help a brother out!

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 10:38 AM
Okay, so I'm actually female, but you get my point.

[By the way, do I smell? No one seems to be chatting with me :'( :'( 0

Anyway, so I've just started out. Mainly because my almost bang on 3 year old wants to fish, and I don't mind it either.

So! I'm asking what are your 'must have' things in your tackle box?

I've probably gone and done all the 'wrong' things here but I bought one of those 300 piece tackle box kits, and also some sort of Jarvis Walker [I wonder if saying 'Jarvis Walker is tantamount to swearing here, oops] that has all manner of pocket knives and line clippers and filleting knives etc in it.

I've got sinkers. I've got far too many hooks I'm sure, I've got some sort of beads that came with the kit.

Don't know much about lures. Are they easy?

coucho
11-11-2008, 10:53 AM
Pobble,
Firstly its great to see that your getting you young fella into fishing.

Before anyone can recomend much as to what you need we really need to know what type of fishing you do? salt water after bream fresh after bass.
don't worry what people say about jarvis walker gear either it is a great inexpensive way get yourself started but if you find yourself getting more serious then i would step up slowly.
One thing I recommend you do take with you when you fish though is at the very least a basic first aid kit pays esspecially with little ones around. also a set of long nose pliers should be in you kit. lures are great esspecially the sof plastics but can take some getting used to I would maybe get some but don't depend soely on them untill you have the knack of them as it can be very boring for a little man to be catching nothing on lures.
bait jigs and live bait can also be lots of fun for kids and you will often get much better results using live and fresh bait as well as the fun of catching them

Little grey men
11-11-2008, 10:55 AM
G'day Pobblebonk,
It can take a while to get the right gear together.
Depending on what type of fishing you want to do, but I'm guessing that if your going to fish with your lil person you'll just be after bream, whiting, things like that.
A good pair of fishing pliers to remove hooks. Pointy nosed ones are good to reach into the fishes mouth.
A range of general tackle naturally, which you should have being a 300 piece set.
A good sharp knife for cutting bait and cleaning fish.
A small cutting board is also handy for bait cutting.
All of these things can be kept in a bucket.
Take a tea towel, this can be used to hold fish, and to wipe your hands on, also good to wet and lay fish on to remove hooks.
A camera to capture the look on the young ones face as they're holding their first fish.
A small first aid kit.....on that note it can be a good idea to crush the barbs on the childs hooks. If they go in it will be much easier to get back out again. Use the pliers to crush the barbs.
Lures are easy to use after a little practice. They add another element to fishing...instead of just sitting around waiting for a bite, your actually out hunting the fish. Soft plastics are a good way to begin your lure fishing. A good tackle store can set you up with the right gear. A nice little graphite rod with a suitable reel and good light line will make using them much more enjoyable.
Having said that you don't have to spend heaps to get started. You can find rods and reels in Kmart that will do the job.
Hope you and yours have a blast.

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:02 AM
Pobble,
Firstly its great to see that your getting you young fella into fishing.

Before anyone can recomend much as to what you need we really need to know what type of fishing you do? salt water after bream fresh after bass.
don't worry what people say about jarvis walker gear either it is a great inexpensive way get yourself started but if you find yourself getting more serious then i would step up slowly.
One thing I recommend you do take with you when you fish though is at the very least a basic first aid kit pays esspecially with little ones around. also a set of long nose pliers should be in you kit. lures are great esspecially the sof plastics but can take some getting used to I would maybe get some but don't depend soely on them untill you have the knack of them as it can be very boring for a little man to be catching nothing on lures.
bait jigs and live bait can also be lots of fun for kids and you will often get much better results using live and fresh bait as well as the fun of catching them

Thanks for your reply!

I'd be nice to go out fishing somewhere where there's something decent to catch, but as it is, I'm shorebased and I've asked around here a bit but no one seems to be wanting to give up their secrets! :P

Salt water or freshwater - I'm someone who likes a bit of variety and it certainly would make Mr Chicken [yes, that's his name] a bit more interested if there's a change of scenery about.

Well I think my rod is a Jarvis Walker one, cost about $60, bought it years ago!

I just bought him the other weekend just a simple kids rod and reel, Jarvis Walker, cost about $16.

Yep, I have a first aid kit that lives in my car on a permanet basis! Because I do a lot of bushwalking too, and I loooooooooove camping, not to mention having Mr Chicken around.

Yep, the kit had long nose pliers in it.

I did get some plastic lures in it, I should probably take a picture of it and show it, because someone might be able to explain to me what they are and how I'm supposed to use them.

I am however, going to Coffs for a week in January, and most likely fishing off the jetty - do you recommend lures for that or just plain old bait?

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:07 AM
G'day Pobblebonk,
It can take a while to get the right gear together.
Depending on what type of fishing you want to do, but I'm guessing that if your going to fish with your lil person you'll just be after bream, whiting, things like that.
A good pair of fishing pliers to remove hooks. Pointy nosed ones are good to reach into the fishes mouth.
A range of general tackle naturally, which you should have being a 300 piece set.
A good sharp knife for cutting bait and cleaning fish.
A small cutting board is also handy for bait cutting.
All of these things can be kept in a bucket.
Take a tea towel, this can be used to hold fish, and to wipe your hands on, also good to wet and lay fish on to remove hooks.
A camera to capture the look on the young ones face as they're holding their first fish.
A small first aid kit.....on that note it can be a good idea to crush the barbs on the childs hooks. If they go in it will be much easier to get back out again. Use the pliers to crush the barbs.
Lures are easy to use after a little practice. They add another element to fishing...instead of just sitting around waiting for a bite, your actually out hunting the fish. Soft plastics are a good way to begin your lure fishing. A good tackle store can set you up with the right gear. A nice little graphite rod with a suitable reel and good light line will make using them much more enjoyable.
Having said that you don't have to spend heaps to get started. You can find rods and reels in Kmart that will do the job.
Hope you and yours have a blast.

Thanks! Love your avatar, by the way.

I would really love to actually catch SOMETHING awesome. My father got me a trip on a fishing charter for my 21st birthday and that was so much fun, but since I don't have a boat [a nice little tinny would be nice] I'm limited.

Camera lives permanently in my handbag.

I'd really like to see how lures go!

coucho
11-11-2008, 11:11 AM
Coffs jetty is a great spot for kids and a great chance of getting some good fish there as well. I would recommend you use bait there and in the summer target whiting with a smallish hook and either prawns or worms for bait simple rig with a sinker running on a main line to a swivel with a longish leader of 40 cm or so to your hook.
There is a carnaval on at the jetty right over the school holidays with rides for the kids on daily basis( weather permitting) and fire works new years eve its a good way to spend a new years with the kids too.

11-11-2008, 11:14 AM
Pobblebonk,

Do you own any books? I don't know what you should be reading, as I didn't learn my basic fishing that way, but I'm sure there are books at your local bookshop that will help you get started.

Also where in Oz are you based?

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:15 AM
Coffs jetty is a great spot for kids and a great chance of getting some good fish there as well. I would recommend you use bait there and in the summer target whiting with a smallish hook and either prawns or worms for bait simple rig with a sinker running on a main line to a swivel with a longish leader of 40 cm or so to your hook.
There is a carnaval on at the jetty right over the school holidays with rides for the kids on daily basis( weather permitting) and fire works new years eve its a good way to spend a new years with the kids too.

Cheers! I might just have to accost the hardcore fishermen for the tackle advice.

STUIE63
11-11-2008, 11:15 AM
Little grey men has covered it but I would like to add wear sunglasses yourself and the little tacker (Mr Chicken) as it is a safety thing with hooks and things not just the bright sun . I think plain old bait is good from a jetty but don't buy your prawns from a tackle shop unless they are fresh local prawns . I buy green prawns from a seafood shop (eating quality) somedays it is worthwhile to peel them but ask queations on where to go land based in a specific area and I'm sure the locals will help with suggestions . sometimes the where is right but the when is wrong so when you catch fish take note of tides ,time of day moon as well or ask when you get the advice

stonecold
11-11-2008, 11:18 AM
G'Day P,

Ahhh kids and fishing...hours of entertainment.....you dont need anything fancy and they like catching the tiddlers just as much as the keepers, actually a procession of tiddlers keeps em interested longer. A favourite kids outing of mine is to head down to the local boat ramp. Mix a loaf of bread up in a bucket with some salt water. Throw a couple of handfulls in, next to the fish cleaning tables is best, and wait for a few minutes then repeat. It shouldnt take long before you have a swarm of bream feeding. You'll see them on the surface slurping down the bread. Have your rod rigged with a small hook maybe a size 8. Mould a bit of bread onto it and throw it in with the berly, If you leave one end of your breadball a little (i'll call it fluffed up), it will float fairly naturally. You dont need any sinker. Watch the bread and when it floats out of the berly bring it in and repeat...that is provided a bream hasnt scoffed it.......if that fails the little fella will have fun feeding the seagull with bread.
I'll be in Coffs for a week or so in January with the family if you want some tips let me know.

Cheers Mark

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:22 AM
Pobblebonk,

Do you own any books? I don't know what you should be reading, as I didn't learn my basic fishing that way, but I'm sure there are books at your local bookshop that will help you get started.

Also where in Oz are you based?

Thanks Tim. I suppose I could head over to the Angus & Robertson and have a captain cook at what they've got in the way of fishing manuals etc. And no jokes about getting 'Fishing for Dummies'! *wags finger*

I DO however have the Tide Guide. Ha! Don't have a clue how to use it except that it's got good pictures of fish for IDing and good diagrams for how to rig up your line for trying to catch xyz fish.

I'm in Brisbane. Good ol' Brisbane.

Pete62
11-11-2008, 11:22 AM
Ah, the boy's r in a very giving mood today......always willing to help a "Brother" out;)
Some very good tips there, but as the father of 2 kid's I am not too sure about the Jetty over your xmas hols, unless u intend to tether Mr Chicken to the rail I think u would spend more time worrying about him "looking" over the edge than actually fishing.
My tip would be to option for a safer spot like Boambee Reserve, which is on the road towards Sawtell. Good safe spot for the kid's, plenty of whiting, bream and flatties to keep the little one amused and he can play around in the shallows if he get's bored fishing. Also playgrounds and BBQ facilities.
For fresh bait, there is a Bait n Tackle shop down in the Jetty area on Orlando street.
By the way, happy Birthday for Sunday, maybe u will get a BCF voucher.
Cheer's Pete

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:28 AM
Little grey men has covered it but I would like to add wear sunglasses yourself and the little tacker (Mr Chicken) as it is a safety thing with hooks and things not just the bright sun . I think plain old bait is good from a jetty but don't buy your prawns from a tackle shop unless they are fresh local prawns . I buy green prawns from a seafood shop (eating quality) somedays it is worthwhile to peel them but ask queations on where to go land based in a specific area and I'm sure the locals will help with suggestions . sometimes the where is right but the when is wrong so when you catch fish take note of tides ,time of day moon as well or ask when you get the advice

Sunnies! Good advice. I think I'll have start the negotiations with Mr Chicken to wear them.

G'Day P,

Ahhh kids and fishing...hours of entertainment.....you dont need anything fancy and they like catching the tiddlers just as much as the keepers, actually a procession of tiddlers keeps em interested longer. A favourite kids outing of mine is to head down to the local boat ramp. Mix a loaf of bread up in a bucket with some salt water. Throw a couple of handfulls in, next to the fish cleaning tables is best, and wait for a few minutes then repeat. It shouldnt take long before you have a swarm of bream feeding. You'll see them on the surface slurping down the bread. Have your rod rigged with a small hook maybe a size 8. Mould a bit of bread onto it and throw it in with the berly, If you leave one end of your breadball a little (i'll call it fluffed up), it will float fairly naturally. You dont need any sinker. Watch the bread and when it floats out of the berly bring it in and repeat...that is provided a bream hasnt scoffed it.......if that fails the little fella will have fun feeding the seagull with bread.
I'll be in Coffs for a week or so in January with the family if you want some tips let me know.

Cheers Mark

Yes please, I'm heading down around the 11th or something.

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 11:43 AM
Ah, the boy's r in a very giving mood today......always willing to help a "Brother" out;)
Some very good tips there, but as the father of 2 kid's I am not too sure about the Jetty over your xmas hols, unless u intend to tether Mr Chicken to the rail I think u would spend more time worrying about him "looking" over the edge than actually fishing.
My tip would be to option for a safer spot like Boambee Reserve, which is on the road towards Sawtell. Good safe spot for the kid's, plenty of whiting, bream and flatties to keep the little one amused and he can play around in the shallows if he get's bored fishing. Also playgrounds and BBQ facilities.
For fresh bait, there is a Bait n Tackle shop down in the Jetty area on Orlando street.
By the way, happy Birthday for Sunday, maybe u will get a BCF voucher.
Cheer's Pete

I'm actually loving that I'm getting some replies! No one was replying to me previously. It's been really quite helpful.

Well, Mr Chicken is not your average 2-3 year old - hasn't hit the terrible twos, and isn't the type of kid who should be nicknamed 'Destructor' or 'Obliterator' or 'Death Wish', so he should be okay on the jetty, I think. I hope!

BUT, Boambee Reserve sounds PERFECT, so we might head there instead.

Thanks for the birthday wishes, I should update my sig because it was last Sunday and I'm now sadly 28.

And I've already spent far too much money already at BCF buying all the gear I'm going to need for camping in January.

11-11-2008, 12:03 PM
Brisbane Northside or Southside? I will send a PM with a spot on the Northside of Brisbane up Redcliffe way.

I think 'Stonecold's' suggestion is very good. Heaps of burley - bread is good - to get the fish feeding and some visual stimulation for junior. He will love catching the little fish, even if he has to release them.

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 12:07 PM
Brisbane Northside or Southside? I will send a PM with a spot on the Northside of Brisbane up Redcliffe way.

I think 'Stonecold's' suggestion is very good. Heaps of burley - bread is good - to get the fish feeding and some visual stimulation for junior. He will love catching the little fish, even if he has to release them.

Cheers! Actually I'm over on the west side. Send your PM though, because we can travel anywhere.

We actually would always throw the fish back in.

Fish'n Junky
11-11-2008, 12:43 PM
Hi Pobbs & Mr Chicken!
There's a name he'll deny all memory of just prior to his 21st!;D

The guys have pretty well covered it from what I can see, so I have little to add except that it would be wise to familiarise yourself with the more "hurty" species such as happy moments, and catfish etc as as you know which ones to try to avoid touching completely. There is nothing worse than a youngster copping a spine from a happy moment. Guaranteed to put them off fishing for life...

Good luck! Post your pics and tales of success for all of us to enjoy!

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 12:47 PM
Hi Pobbs & Mr Chicken!
There's a name he'll deny all memory of just prior to his 21st!;D

The guys have pretty well covered it from what I can see, so I have little to add except that it would be wise to familiarise yourself with the more "hurty" species such as happy moments, and catfish etc as as you know which ones to try to avoid touching completely. There is nothing worse than a youngster copping a spine from a happy moment. Guaranteed to put them off fishing for life...

Good luck! Post your pics and tales of success for all of us to enjoy!

Mate, by his 21st I'll have converted the 'Mr Chicken' to 'Rooster' for maximum embarassment. ;D

Yep, caught many a catfish in my time (and at one session on the Brisbane River, I remember as soon as the line when in, there was a catty on the end of it, the scabs).

STUIE63
11-11-2008, 12:56 PM
One more thought what about joining a fishing club surely there is one or two down in Brisbane that are family friendly for Mr Chicken maybe ring them up and ask . don't forget most fisherman and fisherwomen have got kids and there is nothing better than the smile on a kids face when they catch a fish

wilcara
11-11-2008, 01:20 PM
Dear Pobblebonk and Mr Chicken,

You are crazy. I love it. Good luck and I hope somebody helps you out: an afternoon with a fisher to show you both the ropes will be worth ten books. I think that those "everything in it" kits are an excellent starting point. Also might I be so bold as to suggest that maybe you could carefully squash the barbs flat on Mr Chicken's hooks with your new pliers, just in case.... It might make things easier?

Keep us informed Ms Pobblebonk; we are keenly following you both. Must see a pic of Mr Chicken with a fish soon too.

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 01:31 PM
One more thought what about joining a fishing club surely there is one or two down in Brisbane that are family friendly for Mr Chicken maybe ring them up and ask . don't forget most fisherman and fisherwomen have got kids and there is nothing better than the smile on a kids face when they catch a fish

Fishing club, eh? I think it's much safer for me to just make a complete tool of myself when no one else is watching...

Dear Pobblebonk and Mr Chicken,

You are crazy. I love it. Good luck and I hope somebody helps you out: an afternoon with a fisher to show you both the ropes will be worth ten books. I think that those "everything in it" kits are an excellent starting point. Also might I be so bold as to suggest that maybe you could carefully squash the barbs flat on Mr Chicken's hooks with your new pliers, just in case.... It might make things easier?

Keep us informed Ms Pobblebonk; we are keenly following you both. Must see a pic of Mr Chicken with a fish soon too.

Crazy like Forrest Gump. Except, no strange jogging across the country.

Mr Chicken's at a point where he's not putting the bait on himself, but a bit of barb squashing sounds like a nice way to spend the afternoon. ;D

First time he want fishing he threw all our prawns into the water... Ahhh I still remember the icy cold water on my legs as I went in to retrieve them.

fishingnottaken
11-11-2008, 01:33 PM
there's been some great advice given, the only thing i could add is maybe start with a handline, it;s a lot more tactile and simpler way for him and you both to fish, take lots of burley even if it's just bread to stir the bream up, use small hooks and light gear to ease him in as he'll love catching any fish no matter the size. if you ever need someone to head out with and you're down gold coast way you're welcome to come out with my daughter and i, she's 6 but she's been fishing since she was 2 and loves fihsing with other kids.

STUIE63
11-11-2008, 01:36 PM
[quote=Pobblebonk;926874]Fishing club, eh? I think it's much safer for me to just make a complete tool of myself when no one else is watching...

I think you might be supprised we all started out not knowing alot

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 01:41 PM
there's been some great advice given, the only thing i could add is maybe start with a handline, it;s a lot more tactile and simpler way for him and you both to fish, take lots of burley even if it's just bread to stir the bream up, use small hooks and light gear to ease him in as he'll love catching any fish no matter the size. if you ever need someone to head out with and you're down gold coast way you're welcome to come out with my daughter and i, she's 6 but she's been fishing since she was 2 and loves fihsing with other kids.

Awesome. I've got a handline.

My problem is WHERE to fish, too. You know? Catfish are great for catching on the Brisbane River... but where else can I go?

Fishing club, eh? I think it's much safer for me to just make a complete tool of myself when no one else is watching...

I think you might be supprised we all started out not knowing alot

Well I had a look at the Blue Fin site, but it's under construction.

Little grey men
11-11-2008, 01:50 PM
Thanks! Love your avatar, by the way.

Cheers....my six year old fishing buddy took that shot. Nothing better than fishing with your kid I reckon. When he gets bored with fishing he picks up the camera.
He started when he was four and has caught some serious fish. His best to date is a 92cm barra :o . We don't use a boat and usually just sneak around the estuaries or North Pine Dam occasionally.
A spot we enjoy for a relaxing fish is on the southern side of the hornibrook bridge,
heading down towards North Pine River. There's a few BBQ areas there and the place has a little beach, a rockwall, a creek and sandy flats all in one area.It's really pleasant. My little bloke loves wearing his wetshoes and walking out in the shallow water chasing whiting. Well worth a look. Just don't let him walk in front as there are also a few little rays there.
Redcliffe also has heaps of kid friendly fishing spots. We've found many over the last couple of years. Pretty much anywhere along the front of Recliffe, you can get bream on small pieces of fresh peeled prawn.
My three year old girl is starting to ask me about going fishing now...time to get a little pink fishing rod for my princess.:)
Oh yeh, a little scoop net will keep him amused and teach him heaps about little sea creatures.

wilcara
11-11-2008, 01:58 PM
I would imagine it could be a bit intimidating for Ms Pobblebonk to turn up to a new club on her own.

She has plenty of kind offers from here but does she know who they are from?

Mmmm... not sure of the answer. Is it that hard to find a fish in the northern climes?

I have always found if fishing from a jetty that there are heaps of people who know so much more than I do and can't help but tell me. I agree though that it may or may not be the best place for a threester.

Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 02:07 PM
Cheers....my six year old fishing buddy took that shot. Nothing better than fishing with your kid I reckon. When he gets bored with fishing he picks up the camera.
He started when he was four and has caught some serious fish. His best to date is a 92cm barra :o . We don't use a boat and usually just sneak around the estuaries or North Pine Dam occasionally.
A spot we enjoy for a relaxing fish is on the southern side of the hornibrook bride,
heading down towards North Pine River. There's a few BBQ areas there and the place has a little beach, a rockwall, a creek and sandy flats all in one area.It's really pleasant. My little bloke loves wearing his wetshoes and walking out in the shallow water chasing whiting. Well worth a look. Just don't let him walk in front as there are also a few little rays there.
Redcliffe also has heaps of kid friendly fishing spots. We've found many over the last couple of years. Pretty much anywhere along the front of Recliffe, you can get bream on small pieces of fresh peeled prawn.
My three year old girl is starting to ask me about going fishing now...time to get a little pink fishing rod for my princess.:)
Oh yeh, a little scoop net will keep him amused and teach him heaps about little sea creatures.

Your six year old took that!!! *faints* Well done him!

Thanks. I am wanting to check out North Pine Dam. And go up that way.

I have seen some pink rods at K-Mart when I bought Mr Chicken his rod. Maybe Santa can leave one under the tree for her? And thanks for the tip about the scoop net. Another thing Santa can put under the tree [that's after he breaks into my house].

I would imagine it could be a bit intimidating for Ms Pobblebonk to turn up to a new club on her own.

She has plenty of kind offers from here but does she know who they are from?

Mmmm... not sure of the answer. Is it that hard to find a fish in the northern climes?

I have always found if fishing from a jetty that there are heaps of people who know so much more than I do and can't help but tell me. I agree though that it may or may not be the best place for a threester.

Yeah, but sometimes the jetty folk get a bit intimidating themselves. Like, have you ever been fishing on a jetty, and there's some person on there who dutifully smiles at you as you walk past, and you know, you just know that secretly they're thinking "If that person catches MY fish..."

wilcara
11-11-2008, 06:14 PM
I usually... ok absolutely always without fail.... cop some horrible smart @rse ten year old that won't leave me alone, wants to tell me everything about everything. He will probably catch some small fish and feel the need to smash it to bits on something to show me how clever he is. Don't get me wrong I love kids and love teaching them stuff but I always cop the ones everyone hates. I guess they aren't allowed at home either, which is why they are at the jetty picking on me.

Apollo
11-11-2008, 11:29 PM
Pobbs

I fish whenever I can with my 3yr old daughter and she has caught several whitings and five bream so far. We fish from our canoe, jetties and shore. She originally started with a $20 jarvis walker combo, but we found the rod a bit heavy and long for her. I have since put a bit smaller rod on the reel for her, but I have a strong feeling that Santa might be getting her a little pink 4'6" rod for Christmas.. She has the 300 piece tackle box and loves it. It has all that you need to get the Chicken man into fishing. We stick to bread and prawns (no cutting up) for bait and use softplastics. She has caught fish on all of them. I have made plenty of mistakes, but she loves going. Couple points I think worth making. Plenty of sunscreen and water. Aim for smaller fish. 1-2 hours is about it for them to remain interested (even if catching fish). I don't fish from any jetty that I can't reach in quickly to extract her if she goes in. Coffs is a pretty high jetty! Try to keep away from busy jetties. Take no gear that you aren't ok to lose in the drink. Consider tethering their rod with a bit of VB cord or similar. Ensure your sense of humour is primed beforehand and enjoy. Take a cheap camera (or look carefully after you good one) - see below photo of my daughters first fish.
sum

12-11-2008, 04:34 AM
why not come along to the Southern Bay M&G at the end of this month...have a chat to a few AF members and pick up some pointers etc.

12-11-2008, 05:28 AM
I usually... ok absolutely always without fail.... cop some horrible smart @rse ten year old that won't leave me alone

Oh, Mate, I feel your pain. Last time I fished land based was at Wivenhoe. Some poor munchkin hassled me all morning while his parents slept off their hangovers from the VERY late night the night before.

Hey Mista, what bait are you using? Hey Mista, can I have a fish? Hey Mista, can I pull in the next one? Hey Mista, Hey Mista, Hey Mista.... I was pulling in heaps of little green speckled things, and chucking them at my Pelican friend occasionally, or chucking them back. Just wanted some peace, you know?

So I bought a boat.

12-11-2008, 07:21 AM
If you have a car, grab a copy of this months Bush n Beach magazine. There's a bit of a write up on Tallebudgera Creek on the Gold Coast. Great spot, plenty of fish to keep the little one interested.

wilcara
12-11-2008, 08:37 AM
Hey Mista, what bait are you using? Hey Mista, can I have a fish? Hey Mista, can I pull in the next one? Hey Mista, Hey Mista, Hey Mista.... I was pulling in heaps of little green speckled things, and chucking them at my Pelican friend occasionally, or chucking them back. Just wanted some peace, you know?

I'm with ya Timmy.... Man I am so with ya I'm having flashbacks! :-/

Pobblebonk
12-11-2008, 09:03 AM
I usually... ok absolutely always without fail.... cop some horrible smart @rse ten year old that won't leave me alone, wants to tell me everything about everything. He will probably catch some small fish and feel the need to smash it to bits on something to show me how clever he is. Don't get me wrong I love kids and love teaching them stuff but I always cop the ones everyone hates. I guess they aren't allowed at home either, which is why they are at the jetty picking on me.

*runs screaming from the thread* Just stop! I'm going to have nightmares!

Pobbs

I fish whenever I can with my 3yr old daughter and she has caught several whitings and five bream so far. We fish from our canoe, jetties and shore. She originally started with a $20 jarvis walker combo, but we found the rod a bit heavy and long for her. I have since put a bit smaller rod on the reel for her, but I have a strong feeling that Santa might be getting her a little pink 4'6" rod for Christmas.. She has the 300 piece tackle box and loves it. It has all that you need to get the Chicken man into fishing. We stick to bread and prawns (no cutting up) for bait and use softplastics. She has caught fish on all of them. I have made plenty of mistakes, but she loves going. Couple points I think worth making. Plenty of sunscreen and water. Aim for smaller fish. 1-2 hours is about it for them to remain interested (even if catching fish). I don't fish from any jetty that I can't reach in quickly to extract her if she goes in. Coffs is a pretty high jetty! Try to keep away from busy jetties. Take no gear that you aren't ok to lose in the drink. Consider tethering their rod with a bit of VB cord or similar. Ensure your sense of humour is primed beforehand and enjoy. Take a cheap camera (or look carefully after you good one) - see below photo of my daughters first fish.
sum

Nice pic! Thanks, yeah I'll check out the jetty when I'm down there, but I think someone else mentioned Boambee Reserve so that's looking pretty good for us for fishing Coffs. Although a trip to the jetty is still planned. Um... you know, I feel like such a dork, but are there only specific places you can do the bread burly and bait thing?

why not come along to the Southern Bay M&G at the end of this month...have a chat to a few AF members and pick up some pointers etc.

Yep, okay, is there a thread somewhere here that gives the details? I've got a bit of a busy month ahead, the three remaining of the four Christmas functions planned by my workplace are coming up this month, and then I'm in Melbourne for a night in a few weeks. Hopefully I can come!

Oh, Mate, I feel your pain. Last time I fished land based was at Wivenhoe. Some poor munchkin hassled me all morning while his parents slept off their hangovers from the VERY late night the night before.

So I bought a boat.

That's quite sad really, isn't it? While they're sleeping off their hangovers, their son's just amusing himself. Bit scary when you think about it, and how long he might have been 'missing' before they noticed. Not so fun for you of course, but just plain sad.

Pobblebonk
12-11-2008, 10:35 AM
If you have a car, grab a copy of this months Bush n Beach magazine. There's a bit of a write up on Tallebudgera Creek on the Gold Coast. Great spot, plenty of fish to keep the little one interested.

Thanks, got myself a copy.

12-11-2008, 11:40 AM
Nice pic! Thanks, yeah I'll check out the jetty when I'm down there, but I think someone else mentioned Boambee Reserve so that's looking pretty good for us for fishing Coffs.
If your going down that way why not stop at Evans Head for a sticky-beak?
Great little village where Mr Chicken can fish safely pretty well anywhere along the river.
Yabbi's are easy to get for bait and if you go off season the crowds aren't there.
Accommodation is easy to get as well off season.
That's where I learnt to fish. Well it was the beginning of the learning process anyways. ::)

12-11-2008, 11:57 AM
After squiz at that avatar I feel somewhatcompelled to throw a suggestion in:)

Dohles (sp) rocks, has good foreshore/parking/grass and quite good fishing within a casting distance of the shore, flathead, whiting, bream, toadies...all of the tiddlers and bites to perk a youngster up and possibly pull something in, small longshanked whiting sized hooks and sand worms will/should see a few fish come ashore.

Pobblebonk
12-11-2008, 12:17 PM
If your going down that way why not stop at Evans Head for a sticky-beak?
Great little village where Mr Chicken can fish safely pretty well anywhere along the river.
Yabbi's are easy to get for bait and if you go off season the crowds aren't there.
Accommodation is easy to get as well off season.
That's where I learnt to fish. Well it was the beginning of the learning process anyways. ::)

Evans Heads? Where abouts is that. I suppose I should just Google Map it, is it enroute to Coffs from Brisbane because that would be a nice break from the drive for the both of us. I'll have to look it up - thanks for your suggestion.

After squiz at that avatar I feel somewhatcompelled to throw a suggestion in:)

Dohles (sp) rocks, has good foreshore/parking/grass and quite good fishing within a casting distance of the shore, flathead, whiting, bream, toadies...all of the tiddlers and bites to perk a youngster up and possibly pull something in, small longshanked whiting sized hooks and sand worms will/should see a few fish come ashore.

Dohles Rocks as in North Brisbane way?

I think I'll take Mr Chicken fishing again on Saturday weather permitting.

fishingnottaken
12-11-2008, 01:03 PM
Awesome. I've got a handline.

My problem is WHERE to fish, too. You know? Catfish are great for catching on the Brisbane River... but where else can I go?

catfish are everywhere, the best way to beat them is to use the freshest bait possible or even live bait, there's a few area's around logan and a fishing platform at yatla which is ideal to fish from and catch lots of bread and butter fish but that mioght be too south for you. try burleying up to attract more of your target species before sending your line out that way your odds of getting a catfish decrease

12-11-2008, 02:04 PM
Yeah thats the place, it's been a while since I lived in that region, things change, heading north, first off ramp after the pine river bridge should see you almost there, hope someone can chime in with more up to date directions. A packet of preserved worms, just enough on the hook to cover the bend, a few 40m moves if quiet at any particular spot for a while and you should see a couple of fish for fun from the foreshore there, tide matters.

Hope they have not bulldozed the foreshore since to put a marine education institution or something like instead::)

12-11-2008, 04:43 PM
Evans Heads? Where abouts is that. I suppose I should just Google Map it, is it enroute to Coffs from Brisbane because that would be a nice break from the drive for the both of us. I'll have to look it up - thanks for your suggestion.

Evans is about 1/2 way between Brisbane and Coffs.
It's about 1/2 hr south of Ballina.
You turn off at Broadwater or Woodburn to get there.
You won't be disappointed going there.

The first picture is looking from the south side of the river towards the township. You can fish pretty well anywhere along the banks on both sides here.
The ocean is over the other side of the pine trees in the background.
And the second picture is looking the other way up the river. There's a National Park that you can go into to fish the southern bank as well (towards the left of the picture)

Apollo
12-11-2008, 08:25 PM
[quote=

Nice pic! Thanks, yeah I'll check out the jetty when I'm down there, but I think someone else mentioned Boambee Reserve so that's looking pretty good for us for fishing Coffs. Although a trip to the jetty is still planned. Um... you know, I feel like such a dork, but are there only specific places you can do the bread burly and bait thing?

You can pretty much use bread for berly and bait in most bays, rivers and creeks. Its cheap, available anywhere and so is worth a go. My 3yr old usually eats a few slices along the way.

BrandonH
13-11-2008, 02:27 PM
Dohles rocks is my local ramp:) below is a map I snapped from the web showing you the highway and road to dohles rocks, it also shows you the Brighton park area witch is where little grey men mentioned earlier (I have marked on the map in red the places of interest for you too). I actually grew up fishing around Brighton!! every weekend and most afternoons were spent down around that bridge::)

Decker park on the other side of the bridge is a nice place too with a kids playground, if you were wanting to fish from here you would be better of going on a high tide because at low the sand banks go out a loooong way;) Its not as bad on the Brighton park side as the channel comes a bit closer to the southern bank near where a little creek comes out.

GL with your fishing!! its great to see a mum and her little boy keen to get into fishing!!!

Brandon...

Pobblebonk
13-11-2008, 02:42 PM
Dohles rocks is my local ramp:) below is a map I snapped from the web showing you the highway and road to dohles rocks, it also shows you the Brighton park area witch is where little grey men mentioned earlier (I have marked on the map in red the places of interest for you too). I actually grew up fishing around Brighton!! every weekend and most afternoons were spent down around that bridge::)

Decker park on the other side of the bridge is a nice place too with a kids playground, if you were wanting to fish from here you would be better of going on a high tide because at low the sand banks go out a loooong way;) Its not as bad on the Brighton park side as the channel comes a bit closer to the southern bank near where a little creek comes out.

GL with your fishing!! its great to see a mum and her little boy keen to get into fishing!!!

Brandon...

Thanks very much for that. You guys really are so helpful. It makes things much easier for me - I'll be taking Mr Chicken to these places on Saturday for a fish, the weather is meant to be good. Now, I have one of those high tide guides you get from the newsagent, is there a website where you can sort of get all this information from with locations?

BrandonH
13-11-2008, 03:21 PM
you will need to look under the Brisbane bar section of your tide guide for the moreton bay area, it will vary though depending on where your fishing. Dohles Rocks is only about 5-10mins max difference from the Brisbane bar so it won't make much difference for you.

this is probably the site I use the most for wind and weather info, it also has a tide chart thats a little hard to read but great having all that info on the one page :)

http://www.seabreeze.com.au/graphs/qld.asp

Ausfish has a weather links page witch has a stack of useful sites on it too ;)

http://www.ausfish.com.au/weather.shtml

Brandon...