View Full Version : Camping on Fraser

wayno60
09-11-2008, 08:39 PM
Was thinking of heading over to Fraser in Feb, thought we would go after the xmas rush, just wondering how is the crowd/traffic then.??
Also is it best go over from Hervey bay or from Inskip point?

For Steve
10-11-2008, 10:34 AM
G'day wayno60,

IMO it will be fine outside of the school holidays. If you're heading to Fraser from SEQ, Inskip Point would be the go. Have you decided where you'll be staying once you get there?

Brad

Pobblebonk
10-11-2008, 11:57 AM
What he said ^^

I've camped at Fraser, and Central Station. They have caged areas for your food there up high so the dingo's can't get at them. Also, remember to completely close your tent and lock it with a padlock because dingos can open tents - I've seen it first hand! [They were apparently after my mate's chocolate]

Make sure you see Lake MacKenzie, Eli Creek and the Champagne Pools.

Good luck, have fun, I'm seething with jealousy.

wayno60
10-11-2008, 06:16 PM
steve, this will be our first trip over so i was planing on seeing the whole lot.....couple of day here, a couple of days there.....
any spot of interest i should see.....??

For Steve
10-11-2008, 09:38 PM
steve, this will be our first trip over so i was planing on seeing the whole lot.....couple of day here, a couple of days there.....
any spot of interest i should see.....??

G'day mate,

I love talking about this stuff so here's a few questions for some more info and I'll give you my thoughts.

How long you going for?
Any kids?
Beach camping with no facilities or more formalised camping grounds with toilets, showers etc?
Taking a generator?
Tent, camper trailer?

At a minimum I'd definitely recommend a visit to the Champayne Pools on Indian Head, a day trip to Lake McKenzie, a walk around the Maheno Wreck, a swim at Eli Creek, and fishing off Waddy Point/Indian Head and the surf gutters.

You'll have a blast mate. I reckon you'll start planning the next trip as soon as you get back.

Brad

wayno60
10-11-2008, 11:49 PM
How long you going for?............ 3 maybe 4 weeks
Any kids? ......no, long gone
Beach camping with no facilities or more formalised camping grounds with toilets, showers etc? .......both
Taking a generator?........ can do
Tent, camper trailer?.........roof top tent and boat

For Steve
11-11-2008, 10:50 AM
How long you going for?............ 3 maybe 4 weeks
Any kids? ......no, long gone
Beach camping with no facilities or more formalised camping grounds with toilets, showers etc? .......both
Taking a generator?........ can do
Tent, camper trailer?.........roof top tent and boat

Fantastic. 3 maybe 4 weeks - I'm so jealous.

I'd be tempted to keep it simple and have 4 camps - 2 on the west side and 2 on the eastern side. You'd be able to do full day or half day trips to see all the sights.

On the east side I'd do a week beach camping at Eli camping area (just south of Eli Creek) and a week at Waddy Point top campground.

On the west side, I'd do a week at somewhere up the northern end (maybe Wathumba) and a week at the southern end (maybe Ungowa). The mozzies and sandflies can get pretty thick on the western side in the warmer months. I haven't camped in these areas for a few years so others may have better suggestions.

What sort of boat you taking? Trailer or car topper?

Brad

wayno60
11-11-2008, 05:37 PM
car topper........

are there any good maps online with all these place on it??

also the ol girl wants to know are the dingo's a prob or not???

For Steve
11-11-2008, 06:13 PM
Ok, the car topper will be great for the western side. If conditions suit you could even launch on the eastern side, on the northern edge of Waddy Point. It's protected from S/SE wind/swell.

Here's a link to the EPA website for Fraser. There's lots of the info you need and a link to a map here. http://www.epa.qld.gov.au/parks_and_forests/find_a_park_or_forest/fraser_island_great_sandy_national_park/#camping_and_accommodation

The dingoes can be a problem and the rangers enforce dingo safe strategies - mainly just common sense stuff like food and rubbish in lockable boxes etc. However, on our most recent trip we didn't see a dingo in the whole 6 days. One of the campgrounds I mentioned is Waddy Point Top campground. It has a dingo fence to keep them out.

Plan your longer beach drives for the 2 hours either side of low tide and take it steady crossing the several creeks that come out onto the beach. The Manta Ray barge from Inskip Point to Fraser is $90 return. No need to book - just rock up and drive onto the green and yellow one.

Brad

wayno60
11-11-2008, 08:42 PM
Brad, ever thought of becoming a travel agent??

mate thanks for all the info, plenty of reading for me....

chisel
12-11-2008, 10:21 PM
All the above is good advice. February would be one of the quieter months for sure. You'll still get a few backpackers I suppose but the heat puts many off.
You might be unlucky and get a plague of march flies that time of year. Luckily you have the time to move camp if that happens (no idea where the best spots are to avoid them though - perhaps up near Ocean lake).
I'd probably recommend a beach camp just north of Eurong, and another just north of Waddy. Plenty to see and do in both areas.

12-11-2008, 11:08 PM
Take a bottle of RID for the march flies. They will still annoy the shit out of you but the wont bite you. The disappear after dark.

Places that must be seen:
Eli Creek
The creek at central station (name escapes me)
Lake Mackenzie (alwasy busy, boomajin is just as good)
Lake Boomajin
Champagne pools
Indian HEad
The turtles at Lake Allom
Lake Wabby
Maheno.

I have never made it further than champagne pools, was supposed to head up to sandy cape at last christmas but we got evacuated cause of the tropical low. Probably go again in the new year. I have been 3 time already this year and never get sick of the place.

Slider
13-11-2008, 07:02 AM
MarSh flies guaranteed in Feb but less of north of Indian Head. Good chance of some ordinary weather that time of year and I'd be looking at Awinya Ck as a west side escape from south easterlies - plenty of flathead, whiting and bream about there and fantastic location to camp + no backpackers. Just sand flies.

Just_chips
15-11-2008, 10:33 AM
Try and get yourself a copy of Brad Mcarthys Dirty Weekends in South East Queensland - Fraser Island The Essential Vistors Guide.

Loads of info on tracks locations etc.

Book can be found at www.dirtyweekends.com.au (http://www.dirtyweekends.com.au)

You can also contact Brad direct, he is a very approachable bloke who works most half of the year as Plumber and the other half for tourism queensland with his books.

Kev