View Full Version : First Deep Sea Charter

snelly1971
06-11-2008, 08:35 PM
I started my own Fishing Charter Business recently and the first trip went well. Conditions were good with a lazy 2.5 meter swell with no wind. We fished mainly in 90 fathoms and the customers had a great time. There were 10 stripey trumpter caught, 2 gummy shark , 30 Morwong, 10 crayfish, and 1 giant crab caught for the day.

Cheers Mick

06-11-2008, 08:39 PM
Gotta be happy with that!

06-11-2008, 08:43 PM
Congratulations Mick and nice fish. Thanks for sharing your report.

Wags

dfox
06-11-2008, 09:18 PM
Well done mick! How good are those giant crabs! Makes our muddies look small, good luck in your latest venture ... foxy

hookinin
06-11-2008, 09:30 PM
Hope all keeps going as well as the first trip and great to see the report. Always good to see some different fish and crabs.
Cheers Gaven

06-11-2008, 09:52 PM
Great stuff mick!!!

I get down your way every few years, your now on the list of things to do!;) Unless that bloody west coast weather has other ideas:P

Kendall249
06-11-2008, 10:11 PM
Well done Mick, hope all goes well with the new charter business and keep the reports coming.

Cheers Kendall

06-11-2008, 10:25 PM
Looks like some happy campers onboard that charter Mick...nice work..

How far off the coast did you have to go to get the fish...?

Sure is a ripper of a crab...how much do they weigh...???

07-11-2008, 06:05 AM
Thanks for the great report and pics.
Best of luck with the new venture, those fish, crayfish and that crab would have ensured some very happy punters!

snelly1971
07-11-2008, 06:27 AM
Looks like some happy campers onboard that charter Mick...nice work..

How far off the coast did you have to go to get the fish...?

Sure is a ripper of a crab...how much do they weigh...???

We were 17 NM out, the crab weighed 6kg

07-11-2008, 04:54 PM
Mick,

Glad to see you finally got her up and running mate. I hope the weather holds well for you over the summer while the tourists are around. God knows Strahan needs a good charter fishing option.

We'll be down in Jan by the looks of it. Barry said he and Wakey got into a few last night as the change moved through - before that the crays were a bit scarce this week.

What depth did you drop the pot mate. I've always wanted to eat a giant crab but was too cheap to shell out the hard earned.

snelly1971
07-11-2008, 05:48 PM
Mick,

Glad to see you finally got her up and running mate. I hope the weather holds well for you over the summer while the tourists are around. God knows Strahan needs a good charter fishing option.

We'll be down in Jan by the looks of it. Barry said he and Wakey got into a few last night as the change moved through - before that the crays were a bit scarce this week.

What depth did you drop the pot mate. I've always wanted to eat a giant crab but was too cheap to shell out the hard earned.

90+ fathom the pot was set in for 4 hrs. I found a rather large rock by itself a little while ago and it holds stripey trumpeter all the time, I bet my left nut it also holds more crabs, and maybe some huge monster deep water CRAYS...

Benny01
07-11-2008, 06:40 PM
in the first pic of the sounder(and the others aswel) what exactly are u looking for

Benno1
07-11-2008, 06:43 PM
happy faces...good to see...i hope every one of your trips is like this one (well maybe a bit better :P)...i can almost taste those crays...mmmmm garlic butter :D
thanks for the piccies and report...all the best in your new venture :D

Mrs Benno1

snelly1971
07-11-2008, 08:29 PM
in the first pic of the sounder(and the others aswel) what exactly are u looking for

If you notice , the bottom is really thick, ...This to me , is what we call cray bottom, and you can also see that I have run over a ledge.
On the left hand side of the sounder, it is set on Bottom Lock, whenever I see those Streaky Blue/ Yellow, and sometimes red streaks, it means Fish, Fish ,Fish

Vitamin Sea
08-11-2008, 07:54 AM
Well done Mick and welcome back.

Hope you do well.

PS; What do the crabs east like? sure are big suckers.

Bill

Vindicator
08-11-2008, 08:40 AM
Good on ya Mick, some nice fish and crays there. Good luck in the charter business, kep going like that and you'll be fully booked.

Kezza

snelly1971
08-11-2008, 05:13 PM
Well done Mick and welcome back.

Hope you do well.

PS; What do the crabs east like? sure are big suckers.

Bill

Crabs eat very well, they are alot sweeter than crayfish, they make great patties

tfish
08-11-2008, 06:08 PM
great report. never seen a crab like that before. cheers for the report!!

The_Tub
10-11-2008, 07:28 PM
Hi mick

looks like you've got a good thing going there,good fish and a massive crab,i'm just wondering if anyone knows where you can get those lobby pots from,i'd like to get some and take off evans head where i fish alot:) any info would be appreciated

hope your charter bussiness goes well flat seas heaps of fish!

cheers mal

snelly1971
10-11-2008, 10:02 PM
Hi mick

looks like you've got a good thing going there,good fish and a massive crab,i'm just wondering if anyone knows where you can get those lobby pots from,i'd like to get some and take off evans head where i fish alot:) any info would be appreciated

hope your charter bussiness goes well flat seas heaps of fish!

cheers mal

Hi Mal, I am not sure if you can buy them up there, but if you can, get hold of a fold up coff/ Pot. they are the best for catching crabs, and even cays. I will post a picture of mine. I just purchased 2 today from Ch Smith Marine here in Launceston , I think they were $210

11-11-2008, 06:59 AM
Great to see you back in action. The charter business should be a goer:) . I know I would jump at the chance to get into a few of the species you have down there.
That monster could make quite a few Crab sangas;D