View Full Version : How many casts
MeePee_99
06-11-2008, 07:01 AM
I know there are plenty of threads around about Jacks and Snags and so on. But i think this one is a little more interesting and helpful.
How many casts do you have at a particular snag before moving to the next. That is if there was a line of fallen trees from the bank, how many casts would you have at each fallen tree/snag???
MeePee_99
06-11-2008, 07:05 AM
I usually try to get on av 4 -5 casts at a snag, if there are a few snags along a bank, but do more casts if there are less snags. But i usually fish with some in my boat so it equallys about 8-10 cast per snag, but i think i still need more.
If it is a rock wall i can spend up to two hours fishing it if i think/know there are fish in there.
Yab Man
06-11-2008, 07:37 AM
I just went to a seminar with Gavin Dunne and he says that you should only cast once at a snag and move on or you are just wasting youre time, because you have already presented the lure to the fish and if they want it they will take it on the first past
Benno1
06-11-2008, 08:07 AM
i cast 4 times...then move onto the next one...trying my very hardest to get something...damn well anything to take my lure...id take a toadfish atm :P
Mrs Benno1
Peter4
06-11-2008, 08:34 AM
I just went to a seminar with Gavin Dunne and he says that you should only cast once at a snag and move on or you are just wasting youre time, because you have already presented the lure to the fish and if they want it they will take it on the first past
He obviously doesn't fish for barra........sometimes up to 20 casts at the same snag before you get a reaction.
No idea when it comes to jacks.......
06-11-2008, 09:15 AM
He obviously doesn't fish for barra........sometimes up to 20 casts at the same snag before you get a reaction.
No idea when it comes to jacks.......
Fully agree , i guess it depends on the situation, if you know that the snag holds fish i would just keep casting at it all afternoon till it started to work , sometimes they just turn on and conversely turn off for no real reason but if you annoy them long enough they'll bite!
Yab Man
06-11-2008, 11:49 AM
im just repating what he recomends
he seams to know what hes talking about buy looking at his fishing results
http://www.fishingmonthly.com.au/tournaments/tournament-pg1/somersetchallenge.html
06-11-2008, 05:44 PM
I keep firing at a likely target until my drift takes me into new territory. Generally I set the lecky to halve the current speed and try to offset the winds effects so it can be anything from three to ten casts at a snag. I will seldom motor back up to a snag for a second shot unless i have a good follow or missed take by something special.
Usually it will take me about 2-3 hours per kilometre of snag zones.
nuggstar
06-11-2008, 06:39 PM
for jacks i cast and cast and cast at the snag untill my arm gets sore, for bream only 1 to 3 casts most of the time, with the bream i get you only get one chance.
scoota_74
06-11-2008, 07:21 PM
Yeah just depends on the snag,some you know theres got to be one in there somewhere and you put a couple extra ones in just hoping! And when the next snag up looks soooo good you just cant wait to get over there and flog it to foam.
Creek Vermin
06-11-2008, 07:25 PM
Fishing locally I'll normally throw between half doz and 20 casts per snag, but have spent up to 2 hours casting at the one spot just because there has to be a fish in there. Being persistant has produced a result more often than not. At one spot in the sandy straits I have spent up to 8 hours casting to the same 10 metres of bank. It holds barras and jacks and sometimes the bastaards won't chew. 100 casts with one lure then change and do it again, then have a tow with a coupla hard bods. You almost shiit yourself when one eats it! (Enormous fish live there!) Depends on the mood I'm in, whether to hit a number of snags quickly or flog an area that has been working. It's good to mix it up. Even contemplating a serious livie session tomorrow for a change. Might have to catch a cab home!
ronnien
06-11-2008, 07:32 PM
heaps & heaps, i give them a good working over... with a few different lures.
what works one day might not work the next, with h/b & s/p.
ron.
rc@hinze
06-11-2008, 08:39 PM
Dont know much about Jacks but with bass and barra I do as ronnein says try different types of lures and presentations.
stessco
06-11-2008, 09:28 PM
i only cast one or two times into a snag, depands on how good the cast is at the snag.
killitfillit
07-11-2008, 06:05 PM
usually a few casts until i get the presentation i am after and move on but might return later with a different type of lure or stage of tide.
Cammy
07-11-2008, 10:09 PM
I give as many casts as i want depends on the mood im in......
Cam
08-11-2008, 08:51 PM
I figure that if you pepper the hell out of a snag, you are educating the fish on that particular lure and retrieve you are using. Mostly if thye fish has not taken it in the first few casts he either is not interested or your retrieve/lure style is not appealing. Why educate them intensively into ignoring future presentations.
I mean if it was you and there was this particular flashy lure comes past your nose 20 times and you eventually take a swipe and it stings the hell outa your gob I would doubt you would ever touch anything resmbling it again.