View Full Version : Navara ST-X 2.5TD towing consumption

gofishin
04-11-2008, 10:22 PM
Thought my fuel consumption figures (towing) for the recent 1770 trip might interest some Ausfishers looking at the Navara D40 as a tow vehicle. Mine is a 2006 ST-X 2.5TD 6sp (with canopy & bike roof racks).

Previous average for 42,232km @ 4118L gives 9.7 L/100km combined city/highway driving, incl many local towing trips plus maybe 6 - 8 return trips to the Goldie over the last 2 yrs (6.1m alloy bowrider). Best ever economy was 8.5L/100km, worst was 11.5L/100km (every tank fill recorded, no previous towing figures recorded).

Towing my new rig up to 1770 I took it a bit easy @80-90 kmh (raining - prolly 85kmh average) with a few stops to check brakes/bearings etc etc, mostly 4 & 5th. Average consumption was 14.7L/100km for ~500km.

Trip back from Agnes to Forest Glen @95 – 105kmh, average consumption 17.5L/100km. Mostly 5th but a bit in 6th on down hills & in flat sections of the 110 kmh limit where she was happy in 6th @105kmh or more.

BMT laden weight would have been approx 2500 – 2650kg up to Bundy (alloy trailer), where I filled her up (+200L). Had the missus & kids + all gear & tools for a weeks boating holiday, and 4 bikes (2 on roof). So the Navara would have been fairly close to GCM!

Not bad consumption for a little oiler towing a heavy rig.

Brendon
PS Interested in comparisons to the diesel auto version, next time I may get the auto – getting lazy;D

BLOOEY
04-11-2008, 10:32 PM
Thanks brendan, I like those first stats. Buying the d22 with the same engine myself. And my boat is a lot lighter than yours. Ben

The-easyrider
05-11-2008, 09:01 PM
thats some good figures the last time I towed the boat to monduran I got 18.3L/100ks with a GU patrol 4.2L sitting on 100-110 with 4 guys and all nessacery camping gear and refreshments and full fuel tanks , boat was a 525 stacer easyrider. Have been thinking about the navara as a replacement although that pic of the bent one has got me wondering

backlash08
11-11-2008, 05:07 PM
Hi gofishin,
I have the oil burner auto pathfinder 08 model and tow close to 3T with it, as only new car (and boat) I havnt kept records of fuel burn except to say that it appears rather good on fuel at around the 90-95 kph when towing.
I will get some figures and post them for interest

White Pointer
11-11-2008, 08:45 PM

This is a good thread. I would like to see it maintained for a while.

I have a 2007 Rodeo diesel/auto which I bought to tow a new boat. Without the boat (which I haven't got yet) I'm burning 9.6lt /100Km in peak hour traffic. It has produced a best of 8.6 and a worst of 10.4.

It's much better than our 2002 Discovery TD5/Auto which just burns 11lt/100Km no matter how you drive it.

The issue with diesels has always been over-fueling. Generally speaking, if you see black smoke the engine is being overfuelled and part burned fuel comes out the exhaust as smoke. But also means topping up the sump with unburned fuel and soot.

New diesels shouldn't blow smoke unless they're cold.

Drive your diesel like a Morris Minor. Know where your turbo spools up and stay in gear to maximum torque then change up and down to keep it in the torque band. Resist holding a gear as you would in a petrol for revs. Diesels love torque and hate reves out of their torque range.

Post fuel economy figures in response to this. Let's see who can win!

White Pointer

11-11-2008, 09:39 PM
Great consumption there Gofishin!

My mate has the same boat and between 1770 and brisbane he used over 250l , god knows what that amounts to in l/per km but it's BIG. In fact his truck, up and back used more that the boat for the whole week. The big v8 landcruiser hardly knows the 685 is behind it but the fuel gauge does!

11-11-2008, 10:52 PM
I am towing my boat (only a 4.5 polycraft) to townsville this sat behind my 2.5 Nav. I a have an auto, will keep detailed records and see how it goes.

gofishin
12-11-2008, 04:41 PM
Yes Ben & ER, both the D22 & D40 are a good truck. I wouldn't worry too much about the bent one - we don't know the loading situation as to how it got like that. Whatever it was I'm sure it wouldn't have mattered what badge was on it;) .

Clee, nice looking Fisher mate. Yep, interested in your auto figures (you too Andy for your trip).

WP, that's pretty good for an auto i would have thought.

Ian, :o :o ...that's over 50 L/100km (based on a 500km distance). Wow! Glad i'm not filling that tank up.

Orrsum
14-11-2008, 02:42 PM
Thanks Gofishin, im currently looking at trading the 03 TD5 disco on a Navara, and those specs are pretty good, nice rig too

Goldfinch
24-11-2008, 11:30 AM
Hey Brendon,
I have a very similar rig but in the Auto version with a Haines Hunter Classic 600 (Approx 2.3tonne). Only had it for a couple of months and it's great. Will post some fuel figures on next big trip. Where did you get your Navara Canopy from and how much did it cost?
dave

Orrsum
24-11-2008, 02:30 PM
Goldfinch, ARB do roof height canopies in a smooth finish for around $2300.

tropicrows
24-11-2008, 03:03 PM
Good thread Im looking at a Navara next year as well, but it won't be new one. I heard the new toyota are supercharged (diesel or petrol ????) gives better performance all thought the rev range? Anybody got any experance with these units.

24-11-2008, 09:32 PM
I got from 15-17l/100km based on initial receipts. mostly 15 on the way up to townsville, 17 on the way back. Had 4 people in the car, fully loaded plus 4.55 polycraft centre console with approx 50-60l of fuel in the boat at any given time.

I have never got the figures out of my auto Brendon has with his manual, the best I have done is average 12.3l/100km with the best at 10.6l/100km

Orrsum
25-11-2008, 08:01 AM
Tropicrows, the Supercharged Hilux is the new TRD and its only Petrol and only an Auto.

White Pointer
25-11-2008, 09:37 PM

Anyone with a late model Hilux or Rodeo diesel want to post some fuel consumption figures for towing?

White Pointer

gofishin
25-11-2008, 10:30 PM
...Where did you get your Navara Canopy from and how much did it cost?
dave Dave, Orrsum is on the money, it is an ARB canopy. Got it as part of the package & from memory it 'added' 2k to the price. Better quality & fittings then the Cha... brand too. Yes, pls post some figures when you do a trip.

Andy, interesting figures. Thought there might be a litre or two in it (compared to the auto), but it seems there might be more!

jimbamb
12-12-2008, 11:03 AM
Interesting Reading
Just got back from 2000k trip towing 1600kg van behind Mazda 2.5TD
Worst fuel consumption 18.5L 100k
Best Fuel consumption 15.5 L 100k
Couple of things i noted.
Over 100kph used more Up to 3L per 100k
When using CALTEX with 2%biodeisel absolutely worst/power down noticeably.
Using fuel with NO Bio deisel at90kph Best result.
If you didn,t know ALL DEISEL FROM CALTEX NEWCASTLE has 2% BOIDEISEL and as from 2011 ALL deisel in NSW will be 2% biodeisel.

snatch
12-12-2008, 07:33 PM
Good thread Im looking at a Navara next year as well, but it won't be new one. I heard the new toyota are supercharged (diesel or petrol ????) gives better performance all thought the rev range? Anybody got any experance with these units.

I will be looking to sell mine in the new year at some point. It is the rx however it is fitted with many extras and when sold will still be under factory waranty. Just thought I'd let you know.

It will be excellent buyiing when sold. It has the arb flush line canopy mentioned back further.

Some details.
3# years old in MArch but has one year extended warranty

Currently 40,000ks

Cruise control fitted, bullbar towbar and safety pack.

6 speed . 2.5 ltr New clutch pressure plate and flywheel fitted 4 months ago under warranty. The early build models had a different clutch that didnt like towing so they changed it.

Anyway, back on topic, it tows like a dream now. I would not hesitate to recommend the d40 to anyone.

White Pointer
12-12-2008, 09:06 PM
Interesting Reading
Just got back from 2000k trip towing 1600kg van behind Mazda 2.5TD
Worst fuel consumption 18.5L 100k
Best Fuel consumption 15.5 L 100k
Couple of things i noted.
Over 100kph used more Up to 3L per 100k
When using CALTEX with 2%biodeisel absolutely worst/power down noticeably.
Using fuel with NO Bio deisel at90kph Best result.
If you didn,t know ALL DEISEL FROM CALTEX NEWCASTLE has 2% BOIDEISEL and as from 2011 ALL deisel in NSW will be 2% biodeisel.

Very useful information. I've been looking forward to bio-diesel introduction because it is supposed to improve the lubrication quality of diesel since sulphur was removed.

Where petrols need octane for bang, diesels need cetane and bio-diesel has the potential improve, not retard this performance.

Any fuel consumption updates on Rodeos/Colorados and HiLuxes anyone?

White Pointer

Wahoo
15-12-2008, 08:30 AM
Hi gofishin,
I have the oil burner auto pathfinder 08 model and tow close to 3T with it, as only new car (and boat) I havnt kept records of fuel burn except to say that it appears rather good on fuel at around the 90-95 kph when towing.
I will get some figures and post them for interest

Clee, have same parthy, my BMT is just on 2t, 98kph and was useing 11.3l per 100ks

15-12-2008, 08:45 AM
Quickie on the two colorados we got.

3l 2wd twin cab manual: between 8 and 9 litres per hundred consistent.

3l 4wd twin cab auto - 11 per hundred consistent carrying load and towing builders trailer around town.

each has about 5000 kms on them now.

My 4wd has had the suspension thrown away and replaced with some that can handle a large static constant load ( about 400 kg). It rode fine empty, but the stylesides come with a lighter duty suspension setup than the cab/chassis. The extra weight probably accounts for fair chunk of the extra fuel - it's also 300kg heavier than the 2wd anyway and auto to boot.

snatch
18-12-2008, 10:26 AM
I was reading a 4x4 magazine whilst waiting for a doctor on Tuesday. There was a letters section in there regarding some d40 2.5's using an average of 15 ltrs per 100k's and how they couldn't find the cause. Best economy was 14 Lp100k on the highway.

Clearly there is a fault in these vehicles. I came back from Cooktown to Cairns on Sunday and managed 8.7 ltrs per 100ks with the cruise control set to 110 (perhaps a little more but you never know who's reading). That figure was obtained with my aircon on (this is the tropics after all) and all of my tiling gear in the back. Upwards of 100 kg with glues and mortar.

My average consumption with zero highway driving around Cairns is 10.5-11 ltrs. I ain't exactly driving miss daisy either.

Pretty good for a vehicle that can tow 3 tonne and weighs 2.

backlash08
25-12-2008, 08:57 AM
Guys,
have done some towing now with the pathfinder and the fisher, BMT loaded is around 2.9T, auto pathfinder travelling ~60-90 kph (no highway cruise) using 25 L p 100 klm, one the highway at around 100 using 20 Lp 100Klms over a 150 klm drive so fairly thirsty but handles the towing quiet well
cheers - Craig

wrxhoon
25-12-2008, 10:40 AM
I use a Toy Lancruiser 200 series 4.5lt TTD 6 speed auto., around the city she is thirsty if you give it some stick ( the auto doesn't help). Depending on how many short trips and how much stick anything from 12.5-15/100.
Not towing uses around 10lt /100 @100kmh on the hwy.
Towing the Trophy around 2.8t and loaded truck (all up combo around 6t) she returns about 17/100 at 100kmh . I never have to slow down uphills either.

backlash08
25-12-2008, 11:24 AM
good results for the 200, they are a good thing, wanted one myself but the wife didnt like the size

gofishin
25-12-2008, 07:48 PM
Cheers Clee, not that much more juice than the manual hey. An auto will save a lot of 'clutch work' getting the boat in & out of my driveway;) . Yep, a 200 would be great & would do it sooo easy.

turbostx
31-12-2008, 01:19 PM
G'day all, Ive got 07 diesel manual stx and mine is always around 10l per 100km.
Mine seems only slightly better on the highway just filled yest 550 km for 52 litres
an yet do 600kms around town prob only 61 or 62 litres. Cant really complain about that . Put the Sportfish on the back and it'll jump to around 15l per 100km.
Cheers, Col

White Pointer
15-01-2009, 08:52 PM

I've done some towing over the last few weeks with the 2007 model Rodeo VCDi auto. Regretably only helping others move house - no fun.

Fuel consumption dropped around 10% to 15% which is pretty bad for a diesel. A lot of the work was cold starts and stop/start in traffic and automatic transmission seemed to get lost knowing what gear was best. It might be better driven manually with a big towing load on. Any comments?

I've done the same type of job with my Discovery TD5 auto and it doesn't seem to know that it's towing. The ZF auto quickly adjusts the gear change points to match load and engine maintains constant steady revs and pretty constant fuel consumption.

Any news from new HiLux, Courier, etc, etc owners?

White Pointer

backlash08
17-01-2009, 05:31 AM
Cheers Clee, not that much more juice than the manual hey. An auto will save a lot of 'clutch work' getting the boat in & out of my driveway;) . Yep, a 200 would be great & would do it sooo easy.

thats right GF - a few extra lts isnt much to pay for the 'no clutch' issues as you say, the problem is the pathfinder isnt using enough fuel, why? because this crap weather, no boat towing
cheers - Craig

Malcolm W
18-01-2009, 11:02 AM
Mazda Bt 50, 9-10L to 100k ( 9 on the open road) for everyday driving and 13-14 towing(100kph) a 1500kg pate ally. 6000 on the clock. Seems to be lots of different results for all of the CRD diesels.

gofishin
18-01-2009, 05:11 PM
...the problem is the pathfinder isnt using enough fuel, why? because this crap weather, no boat towing...You can say that again Craig, think I'll start working weekends - boating weather during midweek has been great for a while now...

Definetly an auto next time! Put my foot down to overtake a truck on the Gateway bridge mid last week & whoa...extra revs but no extra go for a moment. Tried to repeat it & yes, clutch slip. Does it pretty easily now even on the flat. Going in for its 50k service this week so I guess it will geta new 'cRutch' too. Suppose I can't complain, some poor buggers have got less than 20k out of their clutches.

Malcolm, drove a BT50 the other week. Nice truck with good low down oomph from the 3L.

snatch
18-01-2009, 05:34 PM
Gofishin press hard and you may get a new one under warranty. I did for my navara after 35,oooks. If you pathfinder is one of the early ones (late 05..early 06) they had a dodgy clutch in them and nissan know about it.

Infact they replaced the clutch, pressure plate and flywheel.

backlash08
19-01-2009, 08:54 AM
You can say that again Craig, think I'll start working weekends - boating weather during midweek has been great for a while now...

Definetly an auto next time! Put my foot down to overtake a truck on the Gateway bridge mid last week & whoa...extra revs but no extra go for a moment. Tried to repeat it & yes, clutch slip. Does it pretty easily now even on the flat. Going in for its 50k service this week so I guess it will geta new 'cRutch' too. Suppose I can't complain, some poor buggers have got less than 20k out of their clutches.

Malcolm, drove a BT50 the other week. Nice truck with good low down oomph from the 3L.

good luck with the new clutch GF and good luck with some weather soon!!
cheers - Craig

gofishin
22-01-2009, 10:03 PM
A new cRutch under wty soon , thanks Mr Nissan, and I didn't even need to use my angry voice. Said it was 3/4's shot & they're replacing the complete assembly.
Brendon

White Pointer
22-01-2009, 11:53 PM

Glad to see this exchange of notes about Nissan warranty resolution

Where's the fuel consumption data?

I feel that my dealer has adjusted the EFI on the Rodeo VCDi 3.0lt to overfuel the engine. Fuel consumption is down 13% since the last service and it's blowing black smoke on gear changes.

White Pointer

backlash08
23-01-2009, 12:47 PM
good news on the clutch GF, good on nissan

backlash08
25-01-2009, 05:42 PM
guys, 200 klm on the highway at 95 -105 towing 'backlash' (2900kgs) averaged 21lts/100klms - happy with that and thought you might be interested
cheers - Craig

BigE
25-01-2009, 06:33 PM
Just for some contrast a Dual fuel rig
2.7 Hilux on LPG (one of the new VSI systems) towing 1100 kg of 1/2 cab 55 lts of gas take me 400kms not sure what that works out to per 100ks but at 46 cents a liter who cares? incidently the VSI LPG system actually goes harder than when on petrol which was a nice susprise and the fuel use is about the same on both fuels.

Happy Camper
BigE

27-01-2009, 03:18 PM
Funny you should mention that white pointer,

I just got back from Moreton Island where the Colorado has returned me 16.6 l per 100.

Some of the driving was soft-ish stuff, but nothing the auto box couldn't handle easily in third.

I was thinking I was going a little batty with the last few fill-ups, but I'm now recalculating my fuel requirements for an upcoming Simpson desert trip.

I haven't seen 11/100 since it got serviced last.:(

ellicat
09-02-2010, 11:11 PM
A new cRutch under wty soon , thanks Mr Nissan, and I didn't even need to use my angry voice. Said it was 3/4's shot & they're replacing the complete assembly.
Brendon

Hey Gofishin, Which Nissan dealer did you get the satisfaction from ? Not happy with the service from where I bought/take mine and am already having nightmares about the arguments I'll be having when I tell them about the 22000km clutch problems.
Does anyone else find reverse gear too fast ?

Sorry to go off-topic, but not sure the question's worth it's own thread.

10-02-2010, 06:45 AM
Yep. I agree reverse should be way lower than it is. I find myself in low range quite often when reversing.

Cabnt wait to see how long my clutch lasts!!! (17K in 6 months so far)

gofishin
10-02-2010, 10:29 PM
Hey Gofishin, Which Nissan dealer did you get the satisfaction from ?...Does anyone else find reverse gear too fast ?...Wynnum Nissan, I think the road they are on is called Tingal Rd, and yes, too fast for a small cube oiler. I recently put new shoes on her, and you can notice the extra diam of the new tyres. I had forgotten how tall the gearing felt until now!

ellicat
10-02-2010, 11:51 PM
Thanks for the feedback. I too use low range now. It's hard enough to see out the back thru the 3 layers of dark tinting (with canopy) without having to deal with speed lol

16-02-2010, 10:14 PM
Yep. I agree reverse should be way lower than it is. I find myself in low range quite often when reversing.

Cabnt wait to see how long my clutch lasts!!! (17K in 6 months so far)

Hey gary, I've put 28,858 on the Colorado to date.

17th july 09 delivery and now 16th Feb....... 7 months....:o

9.3ltrs / 100................... and 14.8ltrs / 100 towing 2 ton of boat.

Navara was getting 11.2ltrs / 100 unloaded and 17 towing the boat.

keepitreel
17-02-2010, 11:12 AM
Old man just had a new clutch put in his STX at 26000km. He opted for the heavy duty pack which was installed by a nissan stealer and they have refused to cover it under warranty as it is a non nissan clutch assembly. He argued that he didn't want another of the genuine ones and be back in another 25k but to no avail.
One week after having the clutch fitted it was back in for a new gear box as it kept jumping out of 5th. Gearbox was replaced under warranty, ute is now for sale!