View Full Version : g'day from the uk.

Rocket01
01-11-2008, 03:46 AM
Well after 2 long years I got my visas last week and arrive in sunny Palm Cove with my family on the 13th November.

I've been lucky enough to fish some great locations around the world including Africa, America and New Zealand , but I can't wait to start fishing the coast of Australia and catch some of the wonderful fish you have in your country.

So if anyone wishes to let a pom join them boat or shore fishing, it would be appreciated.

So fish beware!!!!! The Rocket will soon be here :)

Haji-Baba
01-11-2008, 07:28 AM
Bring your shotgun with you so you can go fishing for Crarp.

Have fun Haji-Baba

Braddles
01-11-2008, 08:07 AM
Welcome Rocket - what a lovely part of the coast line you have picked to live. This time of year will see you melting I think...having come from the UK..... Palm Cove (I am assuming the Palm Cove near Cairns??) is just a magical place.... Been their on holidays and loved it. Great fishing both from the beach, and out on the close reefs. Watch out for the crocs and stingers though at this time of year.

I am in Brisbane, but I am sure it wont be too long before you meet some locals to share their knowledge!

Enjoy and good luck with the move!

Brad

Stan53
01-11-2008, 10:40 AM
If you have come to target Barramundi - It is closed season in the rivers and elsewhere until 1st February 2009. If you are chasing them you will have to go to a Dam/Impoundment such as Lake Tinaroo. Whoever you go with will need knowledge of that area. I have put my boat away until February (except for sight seeing trips) and am doing an upgrade to the casting decks and floor.

You can fish the estuary for other species but you must throw back any barramundi you catch accidentally.;D

The best people to see if you are looking for a guided trip would be Bransfords Tackle they are at Clifton beach which is near Palm Cove (It is on the highway as you drive towards Palm Cove from Cairns. They can put you onto the best guides for Lake Tinaroo and other areas. Also the gentlemen at Tackle World in Cairns will also be able to steer you in the right direction.

Other than that I would try to get a boat out to the reef where you can bottom fish for Coral Trout etc. or top fish for Spanish Mackrel or other pelagic species.

Bring lots of sunscreen and protective clothing against the sun. Have fun :)

slyman
01-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Watch out for the crocs and stingers though at this time of year.

Brad

and its cyclone season... ;D

welcome to australia rocket!

Braddles
01-11-2008, 11:22 AM
and its cyclone season... ;D

welcome to australia rocket!

I didnt wanna scare him too much lol.. Shall we tell him about the monster highly venemous water snakes that can leap into the boat too? hehehe :P

Ozie_3
01-11-2008, 01:34 PM
what about the notorius DROP-BEARS ??
:)

catfishkid
01-11-2008, 03:51 PM
And crocks strategically placed by the EPA;D

slyman
01-11-2008, 03:55 PM
blue-ringed octopii...

stone fish...

venomous snakes on land...

bird eating spiders...

redbacks on the dunny seat...

irikanji...

plovers...

magpies...

::) ;D

seriously, you'll be fine!!!

Rocket01
01-11-2008, 04:07 PM
blue-ringed octopii...

stone fish...

venomous snakes on land...

bird eating spiders...

redbacks on the dunny seat...

irikanji...

plovers...

magpies...

::) ;D

seriously, you'll be fine!!!

Do they all taste nice then ;)

slyman
01-11-2008, 04:50 PM
Depends on how you prepare them mate! ;D

As long as you wash them down with a cold lemonade they are great!

Rocket01
01-11-2008, 04:59 PM
Depends on how you prepare them mate! ;D

As long as you wash them down with a cold lemonade they are great!
I prefer them raw followed by a nice cup of english tea ;D ;D ;D

01-11-2008, 06:44 PM
anyone who has fished some of the """tamer"" waters of Africa wont have a problem,,,,,, if anything you'll get bored with our nasties and probably end up keeping a few as pets

fishel
01-11-2008, 06:47 PM
I prefer them raw followed by a nice cup of english tea ;D ;D ;D

I SEE YOU HAVE A GOOD SENSE OF HUMOUR. YOU'LL DO WILL WITH THIS LOT.

WELCOME, AND I HOPE YOU ENJOY YOUR STAY AND DO SOME UNREAL FISHING - OR SHOULD IT BE REEL FISHING!

REGARDS ELEANOR