View Full Version : Is this the driver.... or vechile???

Seaking
31-10-2008, 05:01 PM
Poodroo and friends will enjoy this....

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=McW8GR79OdE

Good for a giggle.

Kendall249
31-10-2008, 09:59 PM
would you expect any better from a Patrol:P ;D

BenDover
01-11-2008, 07:35 AM
There is something wrong with his patrol. The rear wheels stop and start spinning. Lsd is stuffed...

PATROLS RULE...

01-11-2008, 05:04 PM
You all know what the Spanish meaning of Pajero is don't ya's?? ::)

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=pajero

01-11-2008, 08:10 PM
You all know what the Spanish meaning of Pajero is don't ya's?? ::)

http://www.urbandictionary.com/define.php?term=pajero

sure explains a lot

01-11-2008, 08:43 PM
classic!!!...

02-11-2008, 11:56 AM
this is a vid of probably the best performing pajero i've ever seen, to bad they all dont go this well

Ps im sure poodroo will love the paint job

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=Ok1qRuLPnlQ

02-11-2008, 01:39 PM

Love your work Ian, that was priceless ;)

BenDover
02-11-2008, 02:02 PM
ah ha haaaa.... Thats the best ive ever seen a pajero go.

02-11-2008, 09:33 PM
Gees the bugger in the video had me fooled for a little while until I put the bifocals onto coke bottle setting.
After all the work I would have been very very careful with the little rip snorter.

02-11-2008, 09:49 PM
Video of off roading never captures the angles properly, but even so, I couldnt understand why a Corolla with a decent run up couldnt get up there...not sure what the hell was going on in that vid. Vids are only as good as the whole story. I could for example show you some from my last week up at Fraser - going through Indian Head at just above idle, in the same spots that GU Patrols, 80 and 100 series cruisers were being stuck...right there on video...and take the piss and say it was Discovery power, but the truth of it was probably a combination of technique and the fact that the big tyres on these other trucks probably were not aired down enough (although their diffs do hang down a long way compared to the rest of the undercarriage which cannot help)...but still a funny vid posted here!

02-11-2008, 10:07 PM
My guess is a little ring ting ting suzuki - the old 2 st one would have crawled up no worries, weight is good on very solid ground, the Paj is lighter so did it easier OR has lockers...good auto lockers are a nice and sneaky mod:)

02-11-2008, 10:13 PM
Video of off roading never captures the angles properly, but even so, I couldnt understand why a Corolla with a decent run up couldnt get up there...not sure what the hell was going on in that vid. Vids are only as good as the whole story. I could for example show you some from my last week up at Fraser - going through Indian Head at just above idle, in the same spots that GU Patrols, 80 and 100 series cruisers were being stuck...right there on video...and take the piss and say it was Discovery power, but the truth of it was probably a combination of technique and the fact that the big tyres on these other trucks probably were not aired down enough (although their diffs do hang down a long way compared to the rest of the undercarriage which cannot help)...but still a funny vid posted here!

How low where your tyres? I will happily go down to 10-12psi, never seen a problem from it on sand - ever, just drive to suit at all times no matter how hard the sand becomes. Makes a right mess of the competition who often think that 16 is too low.

03-11-2008, 07:21 AM
FNQ - me and my mate both in manual V8 series II Discoveries were running 265/70/16s with 20 pounds per corner. No need to go lower in the Discos with those tyres and it makes easy work of all conditions. I have towed a 2 tonn dual axle van in soft sand on Straddie before....that got a lot of looks.

I am surprised by the view of a lot of people who believe the TV adverts that their trucks are unstoppable without lowering pressures. You could go to Fraser after rain and have no problems with higher pressures, but go when its utterly powdery like 2 weeks ago when I went, when no rain for months and cut up from tourists and you have problems without airing down.

03-11-2008, 07:28 AM
...of course in soft sand in particular when you drop the pressures you lower the diffs relative to the sand, and if its IFS you drop the arms close to the sand. Its a trade off but lower pressures are the go of course.

BenDover
03-11-2008, 11:30 AM
Yup, I have a patrol now. And 16" rims are shit. Yes they do handle better on the road during cornering. The story i got was first 15's dont fit "lie 1" and that they need the air around the disc's for better coolling "lie 2". But off road, they just dont bubble enough. Have you ever seen 35x12.5 15's on 15 x 10" rims at 7 psi? We use 4-5 psi in the bush on hill climbs.

It used to be 35's min for the bush and 33's min for the beach. But with the number of 4x4's these days It 37's for the bush and 35"s for the beach so you dont diff out.

03-11-2008, 11:48 AM
FNQ - me and my mate both in manual V8 series II Discoveries were running 265/70/16s with 20 pounds per corner. No need to go lower in the Discos with those tyres and it makes easy work of all conditions. I have towed a 2 tonn dual axle van in soft sand on Straddie before....that got a lot of looks.

I am surprised by the view of a lot of people who believe the TV adverts that their trucks are unstoppable without lowering pressures. You could go to Fraser after rain and have no problems with higher pressures, but go when its utterly powdery like 2 weeks ago when I went, when no rain for months and cut up from tourists and you have problems without airing down.

True and Frazer the last time I visited didn't have a speed limit...if only because it was not enforced fully so airing right down was a disadvantage to long distance travel.

I think one of the solid advantages you car has over the narrower vehicles is the squareness of it's track (at least I think they are), narrower ratio tracks pitch and roll and actively dig down in the process, reason why the older patrol and bundera etc could run rings around the older Hilux's in the sand with same driver.

03-11-2008, 12:17 PM
Bendover...when I towed the dual axle 2 ton van I had 29 inch tyres on....glad I now have 30.5's and they were a dream at Fraser. I think it depends on your vehicle (and weight) - certainly taller is always better, but a min of 35 inch is getting serious for sand work...and in Qld at least on a lot of 4wds still illegal unfortunately. I am happy with 30.5-31 inch and that will probably do me.

BenDover
03-11-2008, 01:27 PM
But thats the thing ozscott, i gave my dad my bravo 31" tyres and rims in 16's off my patrol when i bought it (for his hilux). Which in real life where only 29". Different manufacturers make different size tyres in 16's. And although the tyres have the same 3 ply sidewalls. 16s just DO NOT BUBBLE. The weight is a big issue. But Im only talking patrol cruiser and landrover, all loaded. The big boys. The difference being on the beach. With 35 15's. No 4wd needed to be engadged, 2wd is fine (rear locker). Less work on your engine and better fuel economy. the LONGER the wheel spread and WIDER the better. Just float across the top with out digging at all.

I was at fraser in feb. After the big storms. Nagala rock where im passable. No sand at all. There where 1 set of tyre tracks but they stopped when they got to the massive drop off on the other side. After that I was even scrapping with 33's across the rocks for about 2 k's. 35's would have been great.

.:::stotty:::.
03-11-2008, 02:08 PM
Seriosly though, you dont need 35inch for the beach! Road tyres are better for the beach anyway, they dont dig in and they gluide over the sand, not dig in like muddies. My 33inch muddies were fine on the SE islands once i let them down to 16psi and i never looked like getting bogged once.

03-11-2008, 02:30 PM
Fair enough mate - I cannot test mine in 2WD 'cause its constant 4wd. Certainly though 35s would have a nice kind angle where the tyre approaches the sand and a nice long footprint which is great for sand work.

BenDover
03-11-2008, 02:42 PM
ok im uploading some footage for you.
Scotty - Muddies chew out tracks like no tomorrow. I never use them for the beach, at's the best. Not to mention how much fuel and horse power muddies suck. You dont need 35's for the beach very true, but they are the best, you cant deny that.

BenDover
03-11-2008, 04:17 PM
ok, This is after i finished with the new engine in my patrol. All i had done at this stage was 5" lifted springs and shocks (drop boxes, brake lines, sway bars pins etc) set the back up and 33's in 16's.

Such a simple thing as a big storm with 5 metre waves and this is what nagala rocks looked like. Body clearance was fine but i was diffing out bigtime all the way to the light house over very harsh exposed rocks (basically rock crawling) and was the first truck to go after the storms. Body clearance was ok. I know people can argue that 33's (16's) compaired to 35's (15's) only give you 25mm of diff clearance, but it doesnt work like that when tyres are deflaited. Makes a BIG difference. I wasnt happy with 16's at all compaired to 35's (15's) in the sand!!! Even 33's in 15's (the same tyres) would have made a difference to on the beach in the soft stuff. Noticed it straight away after i got off the ferry. Is was nowhere near as good.

But to note, when i went again to fraser 4 weeks later, all the sand was back and it was fine.

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=xZG6kdJj-4c

03-11-2008, 05:04 PM
Nice vid mate. Yep thats pretty rough, particularly taking into account that it always looks more tame than it really is on vid.

03-11-2008, 05:16 PM
Hey Ben

Muddies come into there own when trying to pull something heavy mate! As the trailer starts to sink becomming an anchor the muddies cut through the loose stuff and give you real traction on the hard sand underneath provided you have the clearance they can be a real asset so can lockers , but i been told by many on here that they also are a waste of time on the sand, B/S! It's amazing what can be skull draged through the loose stuff provided your running gear is up to it! Love my nissan!

BenDover
03-11-2008, 05:51 PM
:) I dont tow anything mate. I just remember the huge rooster tails my muds used to throw on the beach. If you have muds already then hey, use them.

This isnt much but i was trying to find something to compare with. This is when i went back 4 weeks later and threw my 35's (15's) on. Its a collapsed virt sand bank. About as steep as you can drive up. Listen to the V8 engine and how effortlessly the tyre go up in 2 wheel drive. ps. sorry for not editing the vids.

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=gb6ETCQpvFo

BenDover
03-11-2008, 05:54 PM
PS> THIS IS HOW TUFF YOU NEED TO MAKE YOUR TRUCKS. AWSOME!!! I WANT A COMP TRUCK AGAIN SO BAD NOW. IT HAS CRUISERS, RANGIES, PATROLS, SUZUKIS.... LOOK AT THE TYRE RUTS AND ASK YOURSELF IF 37'S WOULD MAKE IT THROUGH??

http://au.youtube.com/watch?v=o7hDh4gr4qU&feature=related

.:::stotty:::.
03-11-2008, 06:13 PM
I wasnt sayin 35 arnt better, but 33 are just fine.

BTW my new set of tyres at the end of this month are going to be 35 baja claws, so im defently not sayin 35 are shit.

But people on here with there arverage toyota hilux or stock patrol you dont need to buy a 4inch lift kit and some 35inch tyres to enjoy fraser or moreton or even bribie insland ect.

Thanks matt.

shano
03-11-2008, 06:14 PM
hey ben ,was that a bit of kickboxing practice at the start of the first vid?

03-11-2008, 06:51 PM
Interesting comments Finding Time. I found towing the big van that the traction control on the Disco worked to my advantage...some people dont like traction control in sand, but heaps of throttle makes it crab walk nicely at lower speeds and keep up momentum instead of spinning one wheel at the front axle and one at the rear to start to bog in. The lockers would tend to have a similar effect when towing to TC.

BenD - yep nice vid. My brother does the short course tuff truck challenges with success. He is building up a County cut down into a ute back. The 327 chev motor is back in with 400+ hp and the dual transfer cases and Simex are on, along with the mandatory lift etc.

BenDover
03-11-2008, 11:20 PM
stotty - I was more trying to talk about the rim size and difference in performance. Any 4x4 can make it up the beach. and 33 15's are more than enough (usually). But if someone is looking to upgrade tire size etc.. Its good advice. I had 33's and i was out gunned. Even dragged the ass on the inland tracks in the tyre ruts and board drop offs. So for peice of mind 35's are the go. I only got 33's for the road "more power less petrol" but ill stick my bigger set for the beach.

Shano - mauy thai brother.

Oz scott - drool... Dont you just love the old V8's that can run upside down on gas? But if he wants to win ditch the centerpede's. they are good for turning but not in straight line grip. Super swamper ssx's ;).

rig_dude
05-11-2008, 05:23 PM
Useless nissan drivers and cheating diff locked mitsy drivers. I dunno........what ever happened to fair game?

06-11-2008, 12:15 PM
Nah just a better driver taking a better line.

06-11-2008, 04:13 PM
yep- thats more than half the battle mate (driver)