View Full Version : Ladies of Ausfish...
Benno1
24-10-2008, 10:00 AM
Just a thought put forward by another one of the many upstanding blokes here on Ausfish... *coughcoughSleepyGregcough* :P ...a thread that the wives/girlfriends of members and also lady members can drop in...say Gday...post a few piccies...its not about keeping the boys out...just bringing more ladies in...some may feel a bit intimidated by all the blokes in here...Ausfish is a great mob of ppl...helpful...knowledgable and most of all friendly...another place to keep informed about all the fishing opportunities out there (Redcliffe Billfish Tournament) next year for example...all that being said...what do you think other members (male or female) and of course Steve...*ahem*...Mr Ausfish :D
Mrs Benno1
sleepygreg
25-10-2008, 01:13 AM
(sheepishly skulks into the thread) Go get em Mrs Benno. I think this would be a very beneficial forum. There are many gals out there that love their fishing. I skippered my boat for a number of years so my sis could fish in our club tournaments....won a couple of AOY trophies as well. Now my ten year old niece is following in her footsteps.....very competent on snaring some nice flathead with hardbodies. Will be weaning her onto the pelagics in the bay over the next year or two, then we will be venturing into the deep blue. ALL the people in my extended family love their fishing.....guys and gals....all are members of ANSA. Every club I have been a member of has actively promoted Junior and Ladies fishing (one of the reasons I joined them). I see Ausfish as a 'club'. I would like to see us adopt that mindset as well.
sleepygreg
25-10-2008, 01:15 AM
BTW..I think this thread should be in 'General'
sleepygreg
26-10-2008, 01:15 AM
Not this one....GENERAL FISHING CHAT......no one reads the general internet chat and help board.....sheesh....starting to look like an Indian Umpire.
I reckon that they should have a 'Ladies Only' section that can only be accessed by password. Just so they can go & chat amongst themselves as well as join in the general chat. A perfect example was a thread here a short while back with one of the ladies looking for crew to fish a comp. In their own section it would have been seen by those interested instead of being gobbled up by all the other posts in the same thread.
The only reason to password it would be to keep all the extra 'help' from the male members & choking the thread, they could post on the rest of the board as usual for general info..
sleepygreg
27-10-2008, 11:47 PM
I assume that was directed at me DR.
actually, no, it was a generalization. I did not even consider anyone in particular. it's just that on other boards i frequent the ladies are more likely to participate if they have a section to chat among themselves & throw their 2 bobs worth in the main sections as well..
Don't worry, if it was directed at you , you would be in no doubt :P;D
28-10-2008, 09:56 AM
Here's a few ladies that like to be in the lime light ???
sid_fishes
28-10-2008, 05:51 PM
a ladies place to chat, would be well worth the effort i think. gives them the chance to be a part of ausfish without the marcho bullshit.
steve, i think they do have a place here, i hope you can think about it
cheers mate sid
Benno1
28-10-2008, 09:58 PM
189 veiws and only 8 replies...COME ON...PIPE UP!!! :D
Mrs Benno1
ffejsmada
29-10-2008, 10:59 AM
The ladies have got the recipe section, what more do they want?;D
They want equal rights, as it is now, they've got equal rights.
Give them their own little chat section and it becomes disriminatory against us fellas!>:(
We can't win.;)
(please take this post as tounge in cheek);D ;D ;)
I've just gone and put my hard hat on!!!!:P Batten down the hatches!!!!!:o ;)
Benno1
29-10-2008, 11:22 AM
lol you beat me to it Jeff...i was going to make reference to the recipe section...but wanted to keep it serious...but just for a second :P...awwww come on you dont think a few extra ladies and their oppinions/comments would add too the fun around here??? ...no need for the hard hat...i wear big girls pants...:D
Mrs Benno1
sid_fishes
29-10-2008, 06:14 PM
or it could become a hard hat cocktail party, for all to join in
Bear001
29-10-2008, 09:02 PM
Well, Im happy to just contribute/read the forum as it is.
Sorry, but I dont think I need a 'ladies only' section to feel welcome/safe here.
Recently had a trip up to Moreton with great response & help from Ausfish members & I'd like to think that I can help others with my 25yrs odd fishing practice out in my neck of the woods.
Maybe some of the girls just need to toughen up and not be so thin skinned about some of the rubbish that gets thrown around on this forum. There is certainly of lot of unneccesary carrying on, but I choose to just ignore (or laugh) at some of the crap people try on here.
Sorry if I offend any other ladies out there, just my personal opinion.
Cindy
Ausfish
29-10-2008, 11:28 PM
Well put Cindy
There are a lot of ladies on here that join in as anglers, as we all do. Doesn't matter if you are male or female, we are all anglers.
There are also a lot of ladies that don't declare themselves as female, just members with a membername like everyone else.
i think the original purpose of the first post has had happen to it what was being suggested could be avoided. A lot of to & froing about little & the idea has gone down the gurgler.
Benno1
30-10-2008, 09:31 AM
its all good...if you dont ask...you dont know right???...thanks to everyone for their input...appreciate it... :D
Mrs Benno1
sleepygreg
31-10-2008, 12:46 AM
Dissappointed to say the least
Benno1
31-10-2008, 09:01 AM
im not Greg...ive met some nice ppl... (maybe a team mate for next years Lady Fishers :D )...now if you will excuse me...im going to flick some lures around :P...dont know where yet...ill figure that out later...take care mate :D
Mrs Benno1
01-11-2008, 10:30 AM
How come the shiela's (that is said with all the respect and fear that the cook has 'inflicted' upon me) are cooking the BBQ??
Gees...come on boys. What's the world coming too?? :-/
No point in having a girlies only section. Some of the blokes here wear skirts or hide behind them so they'd have to be able to access it.
Jokes aside some of the best fisherpeoples I've ever met are women. My nana was one.
She taught me patience, what to look for for a spot, baits etc.
I have to admit she was one of a kind though. She loved fishing.
She could sit on the wall at Evans all night but would fall asleep before the news if she was at home. That was until I made her a little rod. That kept her up at least until the news was finished.
If it wasn't for her and both my pop's I wouldn't know 1/10 what I know.
My mum isn't too bad either. Ask my dad how she goes in the dams ;D
sleepygreg
03-11-2008, 12:51 AM
I am a bit like a dog with a bone...I will keep knawing away till I get somewhere. I DO believe this idea has merit. So dont you let it die either Mrs Benno. And great to have Finga on your side as well.
With some luck I will be able to be at next years Lady Fishers tournament as a cook/bottlewasher/general helper outerer.
In the meantime...lets get the gals out there fishing.
I am a bit like a dog with a bone...I will keep knawing away till I get somewhere. I DO believe this idea has merit. So dont you let it die either Mrs Benno. And great to have Finga on your side as well.
With some luck I will be able to be at next years Lady Fishers tournament as a cook/bottlewasher/general helper outerer.
In the meantime...lets get the gals out there fishing.
I think the idea has merit as well. :)
Benno1
03-11-2008, 10:27 AM
thanks boys...dont worry i hav'nt given up on the idea...far from it...i know of a few ladies that would really like to do a bit more fishing...but dont like the idea of smelly bait etc...pulling up anchors...reversing trailers...i suggested plastics...got a real funny look mind you :P...then suggested they just "pop into Ausfish for a look" ...plenty of info and helpful ppl in there i says..."but its full of blokes" was one of the replies...i said yes theres quite a few blokes on Ausfish...happy to answer any questions or queries you might have...BUT you'd be pleasantly surprised with the amount of ladies on there as well...smiles all round was the result...so we'll see :D
Mrs Benno1
sleepygreg
04-11-2008, 12:13 AM
I wonder where Roz is these days? Havent heard from her since the footy tipping thread. I think she would be in it!
Pobblebonk
11-11-2008, 10:46 AM
*sneaks in*
Um... Hello. I'm quite keen on fishing *embarassed*
I'm not sure how many other ladies are here? I don't seem to get many responses to my threads so I'm feeling a bit as if maybe my questions are a bit stupid... Sorry about that.
Anyway, here's a picture of me [there's none of me fishing, because I'm always the one behind the camera]:
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s137/miss_alitz/P1000297.jpg
And here's one of my son fishing.
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s137/miss_alitz/IMG_0723.jpg
Benno1
11-11-2008, 11:14 AM
*sneaks in*
Um... Hello. I'm quite keen on fishing *embarassed*
I'm not sure how many other ladies are here? I don't seem to get many responses to my threads so I'm feeling a bit as if maybe my questions are a bit stupid... Sorry about that.
Anyway, here's a picture of me [there's none of me fishing, because I'm always the one behind the camera]:
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s137/miss_alitz/P1000297.jpg
And here's one of my son fishing.
http://i151.photobucket.com/albums/s137/miss_alitz/IMG_0723.jpg
dont be sorry about wanting more info to help you and yours out Pob...its all good...if you dont ask...you dont know right :D
the ladies are here Pob...and we make our presence felt...some veeeery subtle like...others like me...not so much :P...glad to have you around mate :D
Mrs Benno1
themissus
11-11-2008, 12:40 PM
Yep we are forever lurking!!
Welcome to the site!!
As for a Ladies section....personally I'm more than happy with the current set up. Starting out can be a little daunting but once you're in the swing of things it's all good. The majority of guys on the site are extremely supportive of female fishos and will help in anyway they can. To have a section excluding them would be a shame and alot of knowledge and helpful tips and alternate points of view could go begging.
52 weeks(roughly) to the no blokes mrsbenno but who's counting::)
Cheers Kim.
Benno1
11-11-2008, 04:45 PM
Yep we are forever lurking!!
Welcome to the site!!
As for a Ladies section....personally I'm more than happy with the current set up. Starting out can be a little daunting but once you're in the swing of things it's all good. The majority of guys on the site are extremely supportive of female fishos and will help in anyway they can. To have a section excluding them would be a shame and alot of knowledge and helpful tips and alternate points of view could go begging.
52 weeks(roughly) to the no blokes mrsbenno but who's counting::)
Cheers Kim.
not me Kim...heh heh heh!!! :P...pleeeenty of time for me to practice :D
Mrs Benno1
(Sunny)
Pobblebonk
12-11-2008, 06:54 PM
Well I'm glad the womenfolk are here stirring up the men.
*grabs her wooden spoon*
sleepygreg
13-11-2008, 12:19 AM
:-/ Sometimes im not sure who is the stirrer and who is the stirred. But it sure is great to have the Ladies getting involved in all things fishing....and i dont mean as sandwich makers and cleaner upperers >:( . Its great to see you asking the questions Pobs, and im sure there are many more in your situation who would love to know the answers to those questions. Hopefully they are reading these posts without participating, and maybe one day they will feel comfortable enough to post as well. Remeber the old saying 'the only stupid question is the one that isnt asked'.
Sorry Mrs B ...ive hijacked the post again :-X
Pobblebonk
13-11-2008, 07:04 AM
:-/ Sometimes im not sure who is the stirrer and who is the stirred. But it sure is great to have the Ladies getting involved in all things fishing....and i dont mean as sandwich makers and cleaner upperers >:( . Its great to see you asking the questions Pobs, and im sure there are many more in your situation who would love to know the answers to those questions. Hopefully they are reading these posts without participating, and maybe one day they will feel comfortable enough to post as well. Remeber the old saying 'the only stupid question is the one that isnt asked'.
Sorry Mrs B ...ive hijacked the post again :-X
THANK YOU for your words. You know, sure, I know NOTHING really about fishing, so I do feel a bit silly asking these questions, and I'm sure heaps of the old hands who've been fishing since the Cretaceous period are all probably rolling their eyes BUT those that have been more than generous with the information sharing do not know how grateful I am. It's fabulous.
Benno1
13-11-2008, 08:18 AM
youve fit in just fine around here Pobs (Happy Birthday for last Sunday by the way :D )...the more ladies the merrier i recon...even if they only see these the threads i was helped to make and yours Pobs...theyll soon see that its ok to speak up...say Gday and ask stuff :D
its all good Greg not a problem in the world mate :D
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
sleepygreg
14-11-2008, 01:30 AM
:o must have had a daddy look..........checks where it says Pobs birthday is :-/ dammit....Happy birthday to you ;D ......and if ever I can be of help.....just give this old fart a call::) .
14-11-2008, 08:27 AM
......and if ever I can be of help.....just give this old fart a call::) .
What about the rest of us scumbags???? http://www.smileyhut.com/sad/cry2.gif
Pobblebonk
14-11-2008, 08:30 AM
:o must have had a daddy look..........checks where it says Pobs birthday is :-/ dammit....Happy birthday to you ;D ......and if ever I can be of help.....just give this old fart a call::) .
Thank you! It was last Sunday.
And finga, I'm just happy that people are replying to my threads "when you should just get a book". :-[
STUIE63
14-11-2008, 08:39 AM
Thank you! It was last Sunday.
And finga, I'm just happy that people are replying to my threads "when you should just get a book". :-[
Pobbs I think you've got it sussed out the problem with reading a book is you have to read it to find out if it will even answer the questions you want answered and most of them don't . books are written to make money not answer questions . so keep asking away if i can help i will and i think most of ausfish is the same if i don't answer it is because i don't know not because i won't answer questions from a woman
roydsy
14-11-2008, 08:41 AM
I think the current setup is good, and I have met nice people through Ausfish... male and female..... no need for a seperate ladies sections...... now a hotties section, now we are talking (yes I am stirring the pot :P)
roydsy
Little grey men
14-11-2008, 09:49 AM
I think the current setup is good, and I have met nice people through Ausfish... male and female..... no need for a seperate ladies sections...... now a hotties section, now we are talking (yes I am stirring the pot :P)
roydsy
I'd be in that section for sure....... ta dah !!!!
Benno1
14-11-2008, 10:02 AM
lol LGM...Fabio eat ya heart out mate :P
hows about maybe we just keep this thread alive...we're already doin it really...with all the friendly banter :D...dont need a whole "secret section"...with passwords n stuff...any imput on that idea???
Now if ya'll wll excuse me...im going to drown my sorrows in chocolate cake...i lost one of my favey gold bomber lures to some beast in an estuary this morning :'(
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
Yes it seems a bit exclusionary to have a ladies-only section, I don't think it's necessary. I appreciate the spirit in which this idea was put forward though, the intentions were certainly good. :)
I guess the goal is to make the female Ausfish community a little more close knit than it is now. There are so many different sections on this site, with new posts every day, that often we don't run into each other much online.
Perhaps we girls could just add each other to our Buddy List. Then we could check every now and then to see who has started a thread that we can contribute to?
Benno1
14-11-2008, 10:23 AM
good idea Nic...ill get on that riiiiiight NOW!!! :P
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
Pobblebonk
14-11-2008, 10:58 AM
Do the Brisbane ladies of Ausfish wanna get together for a Ladies Only Fish? *shrugs*
Benno1
14-11-2008, 11:26 AM
Pobs if i was on the Gold Coast id be there in a flash!!!...my 2 monkies could play with your Mr Chicken :P...make a fun day of it...when we live on the GC full time...we'll try to arrange something???
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
Pobblebonk
14-11-2008, 11:50 AM
Pobs if i was on the Gold Coast id be there in a flash!!!...my 2 monkies could play with your Mr Chicken :P...make a fun day of it...when we live on the GC full time...we'll try to arrange something???
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
No problem. I live in Brisbane.
it's a pity 'Cougar Island' isn't still up & running,:P then you ladies might change your tune about a ladies only section as well as posting in the regular areas;D
sleepygreg
15-11-2008, 12:22 AM
Great to see a response and some involvement in this thread. My suggestion was never to make it an exclusive ladies only thread with passwords etc. Just a section where the ladies could post about what they wanted to post about.....just like any other section ie..freshwater,camping,4wding......all welcome to join in..but must remain on topic. Sorry for the confusion.
Benno1
15-11-2008, 08:57 AM
just so long as peeps keep popping into the thread and seeing whats being talked about...its fine with me...male or female...its all good :D
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
sleepygreg
17-11-2008, 02:37 AM
thought I better bump it up to keep it on the front page.
17-11-2008, 04:37 AM
It's actually good to see the ladies on Ausfish. For every woman thats on here thats one less man we now that doesn't have to promise the earth to get out and have a fish :D. My GF loves a fish and I'll have to bring her along to a M&G to meet you all.
Benno1
17-11-2008, 08:57 PM
BUMP DE BUMP :D
Mrs Benno1
Sunny
18-11-2008, 01:17 AM
One more thing, she is looking to get her boat licence soon maybe there are a few others that would like to do a group booking in the Brisbane area.
sleepygreg
19-11-2008, 12:16 AM
Top Idea there Lovey, maybe also consider getting a group booking to do the radio licence.
19-11-2008, 10:43 PM
Chris,
my wife would be interested in getting her boat license,
mike
21-11-2008, 12:04 PM
Chris,
my wife would be interested in getting her boat license,
mike
Mate, say goodbye to the boat then ;)
Book my cook as well ;D
I still remember how worried I was about getting my boat licence. I shouldn't have been concerned, it was SO easy! Some of the blokes in my class got questions wrong and the instructor just talked them through it and passed them anyway.
Now I'm worried because those same blokes are out there zooming around the waterways! :uhoh:
So yeah - get your licences girls, it's easy and you'll be making our waterways a safer place!
sleepygreg
28-11-2008, 12:49 AM
Bump....I really do think this thread should be in general.
in it's own section....;D;D;D;D;D::)
Nope the thread is in the right section. It started as a request for a new section on the forum and that has been answered by Ausfish.
sleepygreg
01-12-2008, 02:34 AM
dont know why i bothered really. but it sure explains why the posts are getting fewer on here. and the question was never answered.....just a 'sort of' agreement to someone elses post.
Sorry that your question was never answered clearly. Will try and do that for you.
NO ...... this thread will not be moved to General Chat.
NO ...... there will not be an all female board on Ausfish.
All our female members are very welcome to join into all of the different boards on the forum, and many do.
............... it sure explains why the posts are getting fewer on here .........
Not sure where you get that from as the forum statistics will disagree with you.
Bear001
01-12-2008, 08:49 PM
Thanks Mod - Im all for encouraging shy newcomers to join in - but jeez hasnt this thread gone on long enough! There is no big deal about women fishing, having their own boat, etc etc etc.
It seems odd that SleepyGreg is harping on about this - when a) he is obviously not female, and b) it appears the Ausfish women have responded that they are happy to continue as norm.
Sorry - I dont usually get caught up in the non-fishing banter that goes on - but this one is getting a bit long in the tooth - really?
Thanks MOD for quashing it for once and all!
Cin
Thanks Mod - Im all for encouraging shy newcomers to join in - but jeez hasnt this thread gone on long enough! There is no big deal about women fishing, having their own boat, etc etc etc.
It seems odd that SleepyGreg is harping on about this - when a) he is obviously not female, and b) it appears the Ausfish women have responded that they are happy to continue as norm.
Sorry - I dont usually get caught up in the non-fishing banter that goes on - but this one is getting a bit long in the tooth - really?
Thanks MOD for quashing it for once and all!
Cin
You are welcome.
The disappointing thing is that there is some great stuff in this thread that should have been out on the main boards.
sleepygreg
02-12-2008, 01:13 AM
please accept my apologies for trying to encourage female participation in our sport and forums. It is true I am not female, but I have spent my life encouraging women......and kids of both sexes....to participate in our sport and be able to relate to each other...outside of the 'macho' world of the 'dedicated fisho'.
Mod 5....you have backed up my point with your last sentence in your reply. this thread should have been moved to general.
02-12-2008, 07:54 PM
You are welcome.
The disappointing thing is that there is some great stuff in this thread that should have been out on the main boards.
Naaaaaaaa there's not. I just read the whole thing again and (and it was a tad boring) there isn't anything worth the main stream threads old mate.
Except the bit where some brave, handsome soul said some of the blokes here wear, or should wear, skirts or hide behind them...or words to that effect ::)
I wonder where Roz is these days? Havent heard from her since the footy tipping thread. I think she would be in it!
Hi Greg,
Funny.... I was just thinking about having an '09 tipping comp, most likely will.;D
I've been up at Agnes since early/mid October and have not long returned (I don't have internet access at my house up there) aside from that, losing my #1 fishng partner and mentor.... my dear Dad, has kept me quiet, although you would never know from the M&G.
As for this topic, in my view I don't feel female members should be treated any differently, I strongly feel ladies only fishing comps are the wrong way to go.. and yes I've already made that very clear in other posts, so I will leave that alone. On the other hand ladies, don't let a couple of misogynists (Im sorry if that's a bit strong) ruin it for everyone, prissy females wear a bit thin with me also:( .
Fishing is all about getting out on the water and wetting a line, having a few laughs and drinks at the end of the day (and well into the night if you attend the Agnes M&G):-X . When I take people out fishing in my boat I don't give a rats who or what they are, and it always works both ways, I'm just one of the fishos..that's it!! I'll now get down orf me widdle soap box:P ;)
life is way to short, get out and enjoy;D
cheers r.:)