View Full Version : 105 HZ Toyota cruiser ?

Dug
23-10-2008, 09:01 PM
We are looking at a tow vehicle for a largish van We are sort of looking at the diesel version of the 105 HZ poverty pack from government auctions (Q Fleet )

My thoughts are if we buy something newer with low KM then we can spend the extra money on upgrading it to our specs with turbo / Gas, new suspension and seats etc.

Just wondering if anyone has any thoughts on this vehicle.

We do not plan any heavy off road work just cruising outback tracks with a bit of comfort ;)

snatch
23-10-2008, 09:04 PM
I don't think you can go too far wrong. You should be able to get it for half new price at auctions. They are still a thirsty vehicle though, even in the diesel. 15 ltrs per 100k's is about the best you will see.

I'd try fowles as well as q fleet.

the lobster
23-10-2008, 09:57 PM
The 1HZ (non-turbo) diesels aren't that thirsty. I have an 80 series with a 1HZ and my wifes parents have a 100 series with a 1HZ. Both vehicles regularly pull mid 13s for fuel consumption. If I was getting over 15l/100km regularly I'd have mine at a mechanic to find the problem. Obviously towing increases the fuel consumption but neither of us have a caravan so I can't help you with figures there.

I think that is a decent plan but I'd be a bit wary about adding a turbo to the 1HZ engine. I haven't heard of any common problems with adding a turbo, but it would have to reduce the reliability of the engine, which is the 1HZ's main strength (let's face it, it isn't that powerful or torquey). It wasn't designed to run with a turbo, so I'd be wary. I'd be much more comfortable getting a factory turbo diesel (the 1HD-FTE engine). They're probably not quite as reliable as the 1HZ but I think they'd be far more reliable than a a 1HZ with a turbo bolted to it. You probably won't find many (or any?) at the government auctions so I don't know the best answer.

I'd be more comfortable just getting the 1HZ and resigning to the fact that you'll be taking slow trips, but at least you can be confident that you'll get to your destination.

I'm sure there are people out there who use their 1HZ's to pull big caravans. My advice is join the LCOOL.org forum and have a read on there. Pages and pages of useful info.

matt

Kendall249
23-10-2008, 10:54 PM
HI Dug, I have similar plans when comes to upgrading. I currently have an 80 series with an aftermarket turbo, it currently has 450 thou on the clock. Originally built to tow a horse float. Now I use it to two a 2t boat. They definately need turbo, otherwise abit of a pain in the arse to drive. Particularly on the highway, have trouble keeping speed on small hills. The 100's are no different, just make sure you get the turbo fitted by a reputable agent. Have heard of some safari turbos letting go. I wouldn't have any worries fitting a turbo to a 100 series, would also consider an intercooler kit as well.

You'll get better fuel economy with a turbo as well, as the motor dosen't have to work anywhere near as hard as the N/A version.

Cheers kendall

the lobster
23-10-2008, 11:28 PM
If you are going to go down the after market turbo path, I'll second what Kendall said about getting the turbo fitted by a reputable agent. Definitely don't go for the cheapest one you can find. Do your homework and find someone who does good quality work with good quality components. Be prepared to spend some extra dollars for quality and it will probably save you a few thousand in the long run.

I would get some quotes to get a turbo fitted before you buy the vehicle. Then you can compare the total cost with buying a factory turbo diesel instead of a 1HZ + after market turbo. If there's only a couple of thousand difference when looking at similar age and km vehicles, like I said, I'd be more confident spending the extra and getting the factory TD.

matt

24-10-2008, 01:36 PM
Dug,

great choice. I'd look at just the gas and no turbo first as they are getting some pretty good results going that way.
The 105 s diffs aren't the strongest things going around if you're planning to tow offroad. If you do break them though, an airlocker replaces the damaged parts (generally) cheaper than a new diff can be found, and generally makes them stronger.
Don't let anyone tell you that a turbo'd 1hz will use less fuel. To correctly set up an aftermarket turbo on a 1hz the fuel supply is adjusted and driven hard while towing they'll use almost as much as a T650 Kenworth.
The turbo/intercooled one i've had some experience with was a safari kit - great performance but definitely thirstier.

P.s.

Snatch correct me if I'm wrong but isn't the 1hz the same straight six toyota diesel you were bagging about a month back? I'm confused.

24-10-2008, 01:38 PM
Dug,

4wd monthly did one up from standard to what you're talking about a couple of years back.

It may be worth checking their website for ideas.

They are now 4wd action though.

Dug
24-10-2008, 04:14 PM
Thanks guys lots of good and comforting advice that we are at least heading in the right direction :)

Talking to a few people and they have suggested that running a low boost turbo will give a bit more grunt and fuel economy on road runs they have strongly recommended against any high boost performance turbo.

The low boost runs at a much lower temperature so does not need the inter-cooler.

I also like the idea of the gas /diesel conversion I have heard of some really good and some really BAD conversions being done but think we have a good gas fitter sorted out here.

I think the main thing is this is going to be built for comfort not for speed our only experience with caravans is yelling at them when we are stuck behind one on the highway so we want to be able to sit on 100kph comfortably, pull over and let people past if required, have a slow drive to nice places over most roads and arrive safely.

My days of driving from Brisbane to Sydney and back over a weekend for a party on Saturday night are long past !8-)

Kendall249
24-10-2008, 04:18 PM
Don't let anyone tell you that a turbo'd 1hz will use less fuel. To correctly set up an aftermarket turbo on a 1hz the fuel supply is adjusted and driven hard while towing they'll use almost as much as a T650 Kenworth.

GBC a turbo'd 1HZ will use significantly less fuel than a N/A version, which is particularly noticable during highway driving, I thought this was common knowledge. Which is due to the fact it dosen't labour as much. Of course they will use a greater amount towing and or driven like an idiot, as with any vehicle. Its a bit of overstatement saying that they will use as much as T650.

snatch
24-10-2008, 05:41 PM
If you want reliability, don't turbo it. I skipped over that bit when reading your original post Toyota couldn't get their own turbo version right with this motor.

The non turbo versions run forever.

Having said that, the ones that failed ,failed early in their life so maybe you won't have too many dramas. Kendall, people that turbo a motor generally do so to get the max benefit out of it. Thus using more fuel.

Good luck with the purchase.

Kendall249
24-10-2008, 08:24 PM
Kendall, people that turbo a motor generally do so to get the max benefit out of it. Thus using more fuel.

Hi Snatch, fair enough I can appreciate what your saying. But recently I took one of the mines non-turbo 100 series from Cloncurry to Mt Isa. Cruising on a 100-105kms come to a smallish hill back to about 90 flat to the boards to keep it at that. Makes me appreiciate the turbo'd version as its abit easier to drive and regards to performance It also makes towing 2t plus boat easier, rather than using the extra performance just because you can. Just another point of view.

Kendall

the lobster
24-10-2008, 09:19 PM
Hi Snatch, fair enough I can appreciate what your saying. But recently I took one of the mines non-turbo 100 series from Cloncurry to Mt Isa. Cruising on a 100-105kms come to a smallish hill back to about 90 flat to the boards to keep it at that. Makes me appreiciate the turbo'd version as its abit easier to drive and regards to performance It also makes towing 2t plus boat easier, rather than using the extra performance just because you can. Just another point of view.

Kendall

Sounds like there's something wrong with it to me. I think they need to get the fuel system checked out. Mine doesn't do that. I assume you weren't towing anything???

matt

chisel
24-10-2008, 09:29 PM
Ask on the lcool forums for more detailed info from owners.

I have a 1HD-FTE with auto and it is fantastic but you'll pay $20-25k more for this factory turbo version - and it only comes in IFS although sounds like you aren't wanting a serious offroader so that's probably ok.

Kendall249
24-10-2008, 10:08 PM
Hi Matt, anything possible with the vehicles out there and on the particular day I wasn't towing anything. I wonder about the fuel at times out there and that was wagon with about 100 000 on it .

One other day I was heading back to camp in a 04 trayback non-turbo and struggle to get much above 100, even using 4th. I assumed it might of been a strong headwind, whereas other days there was no probs with the same ute.

Kendall

rooboy98
25-10-2008, 10:03 PM
G'day Dug,

I currently own a 1998 105 series cruiser. Had it for about 6 years now.
After 240,000 kms (with plenty of those kms towing my tinny around while living up in the Territory), I am still more than happy with it.

My rig has a steel bullbar, scrub bars, water tank, dual batts, drawers, winch, roofrack - read heavy - but I reckon the fuel economy is still OK for a vehicle that weighs almost 3 ton.

It averages about 13 litres/100km around town. Best ever was about 12.0 litres / 100kms.

Loaded up and towing my boat (about 800kgs total) pushes this out to about 15 litres/ 100km or even more when pushed harder.

If you're going to be towing a decent load regularly you will find the lack of power out on the highway a real pain in the butt. (especially when you need to overtake after you have been slowed right down by the car in front).

IMO-

GOOD
Reliable, almost bulletproof - well, mine has been at least.
Engine is a simple and proven design with no real flash electro-trickery gadgets to let you down.
Plenty of after market goodies available.
Spares are available pretty much anywhere and blokes know how to fix em out in the sticks when something does go wrong too.
Good fuel range from the 145 litres.
Big and reasonably comfty out on the open road (aftermarket suspension).
Pretty capable when on the dirt.
Live axle front end.
Vinyl floor is easy to mop out. (I have the cloth seats though).

BAD
Price - as in you will still pay alot for that Toyota badge out front. (Compared to the other makes which have alot more extras).
Power for towing out on the highway is ordinary at best. Don't be in a hurry to get anywhere fast.
Push it hard and it will begin to suck some serious juice. Trust me.
Handbrake is crap.
Nothing else really comes to mind but I'm sure others can point out some other things.

Just as a side note, my brother has a 2006 GXL Turbo diesel.
He has gotten 10 litres/100kms out on the highway (unloaded and driven sensibly). Even when pushed the economy is still better than my wagon. Obviously it doesn't have the old 1HZ powering it along though and the power is impressive.
With the soft front end in his truck and the other creature comforts inside; the two vehicles are like chalk and cheese.

Roo.

rooboy98
25-10-2008, 10:09 PM
Sorry, after all that I forgot to mention to be careful when purchasing a 2nd hand 105 series, as plenty of these vehicles obviously see alot of work out in the mines and other such places. I looked at a few before buying my one.

Roo.

Dug
26-10-2008, 10:20 PM
I plan to do as much homework as possible before parting with any cash !!!

My son is working in a mine in WA so I hear stories of what they get up to in the cars over there.

I think the best story he tells is of an engineer and a truck driver ;D

Anyway the engineer gets his wife a job in the mine driving a huge haualpack truck. Some years and 3 children later the wife finds husband playing away with one of the young barmaids in town :( She is incredibly understanding he is mid 40's and she understands he is having a mid life fling so suggests he rent a flat for the barmaid and stay with her a few nights a week and spend weekends at home with her and the kids.

The bloke is happy the barmaid is happy and by the looks of things the wife is happy.

About 9 months later the wife's fully laden haualpack accidently backs over the engineers car crushing it and him into oblivion. Police investigate, she has made no threats, there is absolutely no evidence other than it is an accident, everyone knows what she has done but instead of a jail term she gets a huge payout his insurance and compensation for her loss. The barmaid lost her flat a week later ;) ;D

bigdonk
27-10-2008, 08:08 PM
All i know my 4.2TD 105 series uses 14L/100klm. It has 350 thou on the clock, I give it a service every 5000 and still going strong... Tthere are plenty 105's out there at the right price that havn't seen the dirt will .. I reckon go the 105...

Cheers BD;D