View Full Version : Soft Plastics nth QLD
jaredluke
23-10-2008, 07:27 PM
What jighead sizes would everyone recommend for Nth qld? I will be doing one offshore trip so what is the go on jighead weights for this? I will be fishing from either mission beach or cairns. Also how many SP should I take, I will mainly be fishing from the shore, but as stated previously will be doing the odd offshore trip. And where can I fsih in Cairns?
phatty
23-10-2008, 11:25 PM
theres no certain size or weight that i think anyone can exactly recommend to you.
take a wide range of jigheads in various weights and hook sizes so you can fish arange of different depths and styles of fishing.
as for how many plastics? youll for through a few (heaps) so again take a wide range of different sizes and colour and styles.
sometimes what caught fish yesterday.. wont catch you anything today.
Dunkxx
24-10-2008, 07:14 AM
gday,
I agree with phatty's advice above but if you are desperate for an answer Ive been using 3.5g (1/8 oz) jig heads for flicking lures around NQ river banks and rock walls with vairied success as per advice above. There are different styles i use too. Snagless for rock walls / reef like areas and conventional jigheads for estuaries.
For amount of SP's, it i was forced to give a number id say 2-3 packets BUT it depends alot on how many snags you get.
Where to fish from Cairns? I'm a bit bias towards on-shore /estaury fishing Theres a billion places.
The only thing i can reccomend with great confidence is that you should talk to the people at the local takle shop about all of this when you get the plastics.
good luck mate and take some photos for us