View Full Version : FNQ Trip 2008

Sidewayz
22-10-2008, 09:13 AM
Left Brisbane a month or so ago with the 6.1m AMM on the back of the ute. The plan was to spend a few nights in Mackay then a few nights in Mission Beach with the ultimate destination Cow Bay (just north of the Daintree River 2 hours north of Cairns).

Managed to sneak a fishing trip in at Mackay where we got half a dozen good trout and a couple of macs between 14kg and 18kg. Also lost plenty of good fish.

The weather turned ordinary after the first day so was not able to get a fish in around Mission Beach where we have had some success in the past. Not to worry because the major fishing assault was planned up in Cow Bay.

The weather was pretty ordinary once again when we first arrived but managed to get out one afternoon in my uncles 14ft tinnie and then again the next day out wider in my boat. Over the two days we caught some good GT's on poppers, trout, fingermark and spangled emperor.

The main fishing trip was planned for the week after my missus headed home so once she left we loaded our gear up in my boat and caught up with a local (previously a trout fisho) who still has his 30ft fishing boat. We then headed off for a week of fishing which took us as far north as Ribbon Reef No.1, working our way back south as the week progressed. the first couple of days were good weather but by the end of the trip we had 30kn and 1.5-2 metre swells to contend with.

Over the week we caught a stack of fish including mackeral, longtail tuna, coral trout, maori wrasse, red emperor, nannygai, mangrove jack, spangled emperor, GTs, etc. Was a sensational fishing trip with a top bunch of blokes. Unfortunately i had to leave a couple of days after we got back, with a solid two and a half day drive back to Brissie. It was well worth it though.

Sideways

Sidewayz
22-10-2008, 09:16 AM
Some more photos

22-10-2008, 09:27 AM
Awesome adventure!

I live up there and if I did something like that would come home clean then shrink wrap the entire boat for at least 6 months!

ozbee
22-10-2008, 09:36 AM
dont you love it having to throw the wrasse back only to see it floating dead 30 minutes later . best eating fish thrown away . bugs me as they are not a fish you can target directly . crazy world.......

lethal098
22-10-2008, 09:55 AM
looks like a great trip, nuthin to complain about thats for sure, thanks for the report, well done
cheers lethal

Benno1
22-10-2008, 11:11 AM
heavan...nuff said :D

Mrs Benno1

Benno1
22-10-2008, 11:12 AM
heavan...nuff said :D

Mrs Benno1

chop duster
22-10-2008, 12:29 PM
you get that big trout at night hey? haven't managed that before

pilchardjones
22-10-2008, 12:48 PM
what an awesome trip. thanks for sharing.
steve

Sidewayz
22-10-2008, 04:44 PM
Chop Duster

Yeah we got that trout at night. Found that when there wasn't too much run the deeper water 30+ metres is a better bet for trout and we actually got that trout, the jack and some good nannies at around midnight the first night we were out there. We learnt heaps of the two ex-pros whilst we were out there, especially on how to fish the shallow water bommies and what ground to look for to chase reddies.

Sidewayz

chop duster
22-10-2008, 06:38 PM
Good stuff sideways, good onya mate for showing you a few pointers, always good to take some (note: some) of the guesswork out of fishing, bet he got a few pats on the back after a good session.